Wilko

Wilko is a retailer. They sell food, pet supplies, stationery, homeware and household products.

wilko.com

Wilko job reviews

Showing 141 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Some staff members

    Worst thing

    It’s so boring

    1.9

    Wilko Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount
    holidays
    team members

    Worst thing

    Rota
    Self Scan

    9.0

    Wilko Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Serving customers, having friendly chat with them,informing them about where they can find discounted stock, help them to find what they come for.

    Worst thing

    Less staff,self checkouts, lots of procedures,trainings and 3 hours every day, on one day 4 hours...mostly afternoon.

    2.8

    Wilko Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Working every weekend, and loads of sundays, not working many mornings

    7.3

    Wilko Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly place to work.
    Decent place to work on a part time basis.

    Worst thing

    Variable shifts with start times all over the place.
    Level of shop lifting makes it threatening at times, as no real security.

    7.3

    Wilko Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Wilko have just done a pay deal. I am a new employee we have been told we are not entitles to a break even on a 8 hour shift. All the other employees are even on a 4 hour shift. If we wanted a break we have to come in early to make up the time for example on a 8 hour shift they will not pay 7.5 hours so we have to come in half hour early

    4.1

    Wilko Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Engaging with my customers.
    Short 3 hour shifts
    Routine

    Worst thing

    Temperature of the shop

    8.7

    Wilko Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The other team members ( excluding managers and sups)

    Worst thing

    Everything else,angers are bullies they have no human empathy its money money and them looking good even though they don't contribute to the going ons on shops floor...I will not let my worst enemy work there

    1.5

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Changes at the last min, no delivery on Mon and Fri, flex layouts

    3.3

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    20% off

    Worst thing

    customers too rude. management getting too much

    4.5

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Working from home the support from management and the pay

    Worst thing

    The targets are high but it’s not that much of an issue you get faster with practice it can be daunting when your new to the job

    9.7

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Underpaid
    Understaffed
    Badly managed
    Level 1 take the brunt of customer anger due to no staff and queues yet managers will never offer any support
    Managment often hide in office
    Management play favourites
    Some people are allowed set shifts for no reason but some people have no choice and cannot change shifts even for hospital appointments

    2.6

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The friendly customers & some team members.

    Worst thing

    Many difficult customers, the lack of variety, set roles, demarcation lines & feeling stressed, not enough staff, staff leaving & not being replaced, always running around like headless chickens!.

    6.0

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Out of Date Picking

    9.0

    Wilko Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff Discount
    Great Team
    Easy Shifts

    Worst thing

    Understaffed Tills

    8.2

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team
    Discount
    Genuinely quite easy work

    Worst thing

    Don’t listen to staff
    Understaffed
    Hire too many students / part timers and expect them to work Full time hours

    3.9

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Relationship with other team members

    Worst thing

    Being put on self scan every shift you do

    6.0

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It pays the bills

    Worst thing

    They expect to much from you as a merchandise r

    6.0

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Getting paid wery

    Worst thing

    No help poor management

    3.0

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Having to work I. The cold because heater is broken every winter ,things that are supposed to be put In place never are

    2.1

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Co-workers are lovely.

    Worst thing

    They will treat you like dirt. Got a absence sanction because I was off taking a covid test that a medical professional had asked me to. Was also threatened to be let go if I was off again, even if it is due to covid.

    1.1

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Some nice members of staff back sta

    1.1

    Wilko Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Hours, rota, work/life balance poor quality employer, lack of pay

    2.6

    Wilko Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues, discount and working with stock

    Worst thing

    Customers and management. Not being able to plan anything because my hours constantly change. Constant stress because we don't have enough people to work in the shop

    3.9

    Wilko Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Great management, and great team

    Worst thing

    We do get alot of difficult customers but the team, helps get to still give them the best service they can or more.

    8.0

    Wilko Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Near home

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff

    4.6

    Wilko Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    No communication

    3.0

    Wilko Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Love my job great staff to work with also always different every day

    Worst thing

    The abuse we get of customer s

    8.9

    Wilko Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    I enjoy stacking the shelves, dealing with customers, writing, putting stock out & tidying

    Worst thing

    Dealing with annoying customers, changing the tags

    7.5

    Wilko Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Customer satisfaction, work colleagues

    Worst thing

    No support

    1.0

    Wilko Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Most customers are lovely and I enjoy interacting with them. Most of my colleagues are great and we look out for each other.

    Worst thing

    The changes. The company is trying to evolve to be like other stores. But it's having the opposite effect. We offered a better customer service before and more loyalty to staff before all these changes.

    2.3

    Wilko Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    Not enough time to complete all jobs

    8.2

    Wilko Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The other staff

    Worst thing

    The management

    3.0

    Wilko Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    No social life , favourites in the rota's

    1.5

    Wilko Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    20% dis count and free coffee

    9.8

    Wilko Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    Being very short of staff

    5.0

    Wilko Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the long standing staff, we’ve been together as colleagues for over 20 years

    Worst thing

    Constant changing of working methods, the older you get , despite your working knowledge or common sense means nothing anymore.

    4.1

    Wilko Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    20% off staff discount and paid breaks

    Worst thing

    Never get the routers in time, shift changes constantly and no sick pay

    2.6

    Wilko Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Security and team

    Worst thing

    Shop lifters, work load

    4.1

    Wilko Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Nice place to work

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    9.4

    Wilko Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I WiFi with

    Worst thing

    Expected to do jobs not trained for and doing numerous jobs at once

    3.9

    Wilko Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping customers to find everything they need

    Worst thing

    Customers taking their frustrations out on staff

    9.2

    Wilko Customer service assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    The team members you work with and the discount.

    Worst thing

    Over worked, stressful, too much emphasis on high targets, not enough staff to run the shop properly, too many tasks for the staff that are in daily, penny pinching company does everything as cheap as possible, out of date and often not working technology, poor management.

    1.5

    Wilko Customer Service Assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Local to home

    Worst thing

    Pressure for poor pay

    5.5

    Wilko Supervisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    most of the team i work with

    Worst thing

    rude customers

    6.0

    Wilko Customer service advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Work colleagues

    Worst thing

    Work and head office not understanding what really happens on the shop floor!

    8.9

    Wilko Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    i get the hours im contracted to and are reasonable shift

    Worst thing

    sometimes feel im put under alot of pressure from workload

    8.0

    Wilko CSA, March 2021

  • Best thing

    My team members we work as a great team and most customers are really lovely

    8.9

    Wilko Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    20% discount card co workers

    Worst thing

    Management, the fact we are just a number we are timed for everything not listened to

    1.7

    Wilko Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Being able to do my own Rota and team work

    Worst thing

    Shoplifters

    9.8

    Wilko Team supervisor, February 2021

🤫 We’re not like other job sites…

Dismiss

Every job on Breakroom is backed by ratings and reviews from 252,374 people (and counting).