Wilko

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Wilko hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Wilko is a retailer. They sell food, pet supplies, stationery, homeware and household products.

wilko.com

Wilko job reviews

Showing 154 reviews

  • Best thing

    Discount and people I work with

    Worst thing

    People which do nothing yet get most praise and more hours

    3.4

    Wilko Customer assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with are the best, the manager is lovely and understands we all have families outside of work and commitments etc, upmost respect for her. The job TBf is quite easy, and if I ever need help all I have to do is ask

    Worst thing

    Could do with more pay, more availability of more hours

    10

    Wilko Customer service assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    20% staff discount
    Work with lots of friendly colleagues

    Worst thing

    Management are corrupt
    Never able to take a proper break
    Even on days off expected to answer calls etc
    Too much expected with not enough pay to represent the job role

    2.8

    Wilko Supervisor, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Being on my feet working late at time

    9.7

    Wilko Customer assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Being able to help customers

    Worst thing

    Having to clean the bathroom

    4.1

    Wilko CSA, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    other team members

    Worst thing

    team supervisors bully you and talk down to you, make you feel very small
    manager changes shifts all the time, sometimes just a few days notice so you can never actually plan anything
    expected to do way too much in one day

    1.8

    Wilko Customer service assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The pay could be better

    6.2

    Wilko Customer service assistant, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Some friendly people
    Discount

    Worst thing

    People bullying other people
    As. Managers not doing their job.

    4.8

    Wilko Cashier, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff
    The actual job
    Discount
    Most customers

    Worst thing

    Some customers
    It’s the same thing it’s boring
    Can be stressful

    9.0

    Wilko Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Money

    Worst thing

    No breaks, the endless amount of cleaning up

    2.5

    Wilko Customer service, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    • staff discount
    • Easy work
    • Good Hours

    Worst thing

    • Lack of respect from staff

    2.1

    Wilko Team member, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with a good team.
    Banter is good

    Worst thing

    Shift patterns
    Weekend work
    Keeping busy
    Pay
    Supervisor/management

    6.0

    Wilko Team leader, August 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s chill and keeps me busy

    Worst thing

    It can get boring if it’s quiet

    8.4

    Wilko Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping customers with their every need and putting a smile on their facing if they’re feeling down or lonely.

    Worst thing

    Long shifts, no appreciation. Expects you to do every hour under the sun. Terrible management they only care about themselves just a very toxic work place.

    2.3

    Wilko Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The friendlyness there

    Worst thing

    I have to work 30 min exstra for a brake

    6.0

    Wilko Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The job is easy enough, work stock or work the tills, only hard part is the customers and making sure the staff work together properly

    Worst thing

    Members of management can seem condescending at times, customers are often rude and won’t listen to you. Some members of staff don’t work as hard as they could

    9.5

    Wilko Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff are honestly really nice

    Worst thing

    Abuse from coustmers no security and threats that aren't helped either you feel very unsafe

    2.8

    Wilko Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Team discount
    Bargains
    Team as a whole

    Worst thing

    Non-worrthwile shifts
    Unrealistic at head office

    9.6

    Wilko Customer assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy to change shifts which fits around my schedule

    Worst thing

    Less hours

    8.0

    Wilko Customer assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay

    Worst thing

    Manager, changing rota without informing

    3.9

    Wilko Customer assistant, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    My friends

    Worst thing

    The management and unorganisation

    2.1

    Wilko Retail assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Everyday is diffrent

    Worst thing

    My team not doing there task

    7.8

    Wilko Supervisor, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Some staff members

    Worst thing

    It’s so boring

    1.9

    Wilko Sales assistant, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount
    holidays
    team members

    Worst thing

    Rota
    Self Scan

    9.0

    Wilko Customer service assistant, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Serving customers, having friendly chat with them,informing them about where they can find discounted stock, help them to find what they come for.

    Worst thing

    Less staff,self checkouts, lots of procedures,trainings and 3 hours every day, on one day 4 hours...mostly afternoon.

    2.8

    Wilko CSA, March 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Working every weekend, and loads of sundays, not working many mornings

    7.3

    Wilko CSA, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly place to work.
    Decent place to work on a part time basis.

    Worst thing

    Variable shifts with start times all over the place.
    Level of shop lifting makes it threatening at times, as no real security.

    7.3

    Wilko Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Wilko have just done a pay deal. I am a new employee we have been told we are not entitles to a break even on a 8 hour shift. All the other employees are even on a 4 hour shift. If we wanted a break we have to come in early to make up the time for example on a 8 hour shift they will not pay 7.5 hours so we have to come in half hour early

    4.1

    Wilko Customer team member, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Engaging with my customers.
    Short 3 hour shifts
    Routine

    Worst thing

    Temperature of the shop

    8.7

    Wilko CSA, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The other team members ( excluding managers and sups)

    Worst thing

    Everything else,angers are bullies they have no human empathy its money money and them looking good even though they don't contribute to the going ons on shops floor...I will not let my worst enemy work there

    1.5

    Wilko Customer assistant, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Changes at the last min, no delivery on Mon and Fri, flex layouts

    3.3

    Wilko CSA, February 2022

  • Best thing

    20% off

    Worst thing

    customers too rude. management getting too much

    4.5

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Working from home the support from management and the pay

    Worst thing

    The targets are high but it’s not that much of an issue you get faster with practice it can be daunting when your new to the job

    9.7

    Wilko Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The friendly customers & some team members.

    Worst thing

    Many difficult customers, the lack of variety, set roles, demarcation lines & feeling stressed, not enough staff, staff leaving & not being replaced, always running around like headless chickens!.

    6.0

    Wilko Customer service assistant, February 2022

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Out of Date Picking

    9.0

    Wilko Warehouse operative, January 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Staff Discount
    Great Team
    Easy Shifts

    Worst thing

    Understaffed Tills

    8.2

    Wilko Customer service assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team
    Discount
    Genuinely quite easy work

    Worst thing

    Don’t listen to staff
    Understaffed
    Hire too many students / part timers and expect them to work Full time hours

    3.9

    Wilko Sales assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Relationship with other team members

    Worst thing

    Being put on self scan every shift you do

    6.0

    Wilko Retail assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It pays the bills

    Worst thing

    They expect to much from you as a merchandise r

    6.0

    Wilko Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Getting paid wery

    Worst thing

    No help poor management

    3.0

    Wilko Cleaner, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Worst thing

    Having to work I. The cold because heater is broken every winter ,things that are supposed to be put In place never are

    2.1

    Wilko Retail assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Co-workers are lovely.

    Worst thing

    They will treat you like dirt. Got a absence sanction because I was off taking a covid test that a medical professional had asked me to. Was also threatened to be let go if I was off again, even if it is due to covid.

    1.1

    Wilko Customer service assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Hours, rota, work/life balance poor quality employer, lack of pay

    2.6

    Wilko Warehouse operative, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues, discount and working with stock

    Worst thing

    Customers and management. Not being able to plan anything because my hours constantly change. Constant stress because we don't have enough people to work in the shop

    3.9

    Wilko Sales assistant, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Great management, and great team

    Worst thing

    We do get alot of difficult customers but the team, helps get to still give them the best service they can or more.

    8.0

    Wilko Store assistant, September 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Near home

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff

    4.6

    Wilko CSA, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Not a lot really bad contracts only 3 hr shifts

    Worst thing

    Supervisors speaking to u like a child

    1.9

    Wilko Merchandiser, August 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    No communication

    3.0

    Wilko Customer assistant, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Love my job great staff to work with also always different every day

    Worst thing

    The abuse we get of customer s

    8.9

    Wilko CSA, July 2021

  • Best thing

    I enjoy stacking the shelves, dealing with customers, writing, putting stock out & tidying

    Worst thing

    Dealing with annoying customers, changing the tags

    7.5

    Wilko Customer assistant, July 2021