Wickes

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Wickes hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Wickes is a retailer. They sell DIY and building supplies.

wickes.co.uk

Wickes job reviews

Showing 41 reviews

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The manual Labour and the constant muscle ache because of this makes it hard to do things I want when not at work

    1.6

    Wickes Picker, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The work to pay ratio , the stress and the rude customers

    2.6

    Wickes Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The customers are the best part really, you'd never think such characters would come into a DIY store

    Worst thing

    The managers are an absolute shambles, and when they're in a bad mood it suddenly becomes everyone else's problem

    1.1

    Wickes Order picker, September 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with and the training

    Worst thing

    A lot of manual labour

    9.7

    Wickes Shop assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    the people i work with

    Worst thing

    long shifts, stress, verbal abuse from customers

    9.1

    Wickes Customer service assistant, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    other staff members

    Worst thing

    retail in general. also sometimes we can’t work more than our contracted hours and overtime is hard to get

    3.4

    Wickes Colleague, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Always something to do
    Not repetitive

    Worst thing

    Have to lift heavy objects
    You tire so easily

    6.4

    Wickes Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Good team to work around apart from management.

    Worst thing

    Not much room for progression only comes round very rarely and if you don't get it with one member of management forget it your never moving up its alot of favourites not your ability to do the job.

    5.0

    Wickes Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    They’re good at being flexible, working specific days when you can’t work others. Some people are nice if you’re lucky. Learn about construction products.

    Worst thing

    Management doesn’t have a clue how to manage people.

    You’re a number and ultimately they don’t really care about you.

    Hard work and can often get easily overloaded with jobs.

    Packaging disintegrates as it’s cheap. When putting tiles on shelves you have to bend awkwardly and it often causes discomfort.

    Too many others to count.

    1.8

    Wickes Supervisor, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The managers and head office

    4.2

    Wickes Customer assistant, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Variation day to day. Most of the colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Cusotmers/public. Taken for granted. Pressure. Unrealistic company targets and expectations.

    5.0

    Wickes Operations manager, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Managment

    4.6

    Wickes Warehouse operative, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    It’s one rule for one one rule for another

    6.7

    Wickes Customer assistant, February 2022

  • Best thing

    People who work there

    Worst thing

    Stress
    Expectations

    2.6

    Wickes Store assistant, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The nasty customers (just like every job).

    9.2

    Wickes Customer assistant, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Repetitive, some aspects of pay is confusing

    3.7

    Wickes Crew member, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the proximity of the workplace to home

    Worst thing

    It gets really quiet sometimes and there isn't enough work to do during the winter months

    8.6

    Wickes Sales assistant, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The friends I made even the ones that have left I am still in contact with

    Worst thing

    The bullying from newly promoted management

    1.5

    Wickes Customer assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    flexibility of hours
    the workload
    the managers

    Worst thing

    the customers - not all the time

    9.2

    Wickes Customer assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Rude customers
    Short staffed
    Not enough time to do this
    Easily overwhelming

    7.1

    Wickes Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    nice calm environment to be in and is rather stress free

    Worst thing

    some times you find yourself doing nothing and it becomes very boring

    8.9

    Wickes Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    Mangers changing shifts or making you come in without telling you even when you said you can’t make it in that day

    2.6

    Wickes Sales assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team and lunch break

    Worst thing

    Sometimes customers

    8.7

    Wickes Cashier, December 2021

  • Best thing

    My other colleagues are so funny

    Worst thing

    The customers being rude and demanding

    7.8

    Wickes Customer service assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Opportunity to get a forklift license

    Worst thing

    Poorly organised
    Managers dont help
    Staff act like children
    Minimum wage

    3.0

    Wickes Kitchen assistant, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some! of the other people working but that’s it

    Worst thing

    The management they have no idea what’s going on and they do nothing

    1.6

    Wickes Shop assistant, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The variety of the workload

    Worst thing

    People's attitudes

    6.4

    Wickes Store assistant, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    Poor pay, shifts no real breaks. Lack of advanced training

    1.2

    Wickes Cashier, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    When we’re expected to stay late without being asked

    4.6

    Wickes Customer assistant, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Different things to do everyday

    Worst thing

    Management

    1.5

    Wickes Customer assistant, May 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Were a close nit family, we all pull together as a team. I'm really happy at work, you always get the odd ones and customers that try to upset the apple cart, but then that's life. I would recommend anyone to work there

    Worst thing

    Dont like been on the till every day, I like to get my hands dirty and crack on on the shop floor

    8.8

    Wickes Sales assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Our team , we get on

    Worst thing

    Covid

    8.2

    Wickes Duty manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Start and finish times

    Worst thing

    Saturdsys

    9.0

    Wickes Warehouse operative, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people and you always get paid on time

    Worst thing

    No over time and no opportunities to better yourself

    3.9

    Wickes Warehouseman, January 2021

  • Best thing

    the team i work with is amazing

    the managers all respect everyone

    there’s always something to do your never left bored

    Worst thing

    unpaid breaks

    7.3

    Wickes Store assistant, December 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Good commission structure and lovely colleagues to work with

    Worst thing

    It can be very slow

    9.4

    Wickes Kitchen and bathroom advisor, July 2020

  • Best thing

    The ppl you work with

    Worst thing

    Extra hours , having to cover long shifts

    3.9

    Wickes Operation managers, June 2020

  • Best thing

    getting up and starting at 7 finishing at 4

    Worst thing

    very physical approx 18000 steps daily and a lot of heavy lifting

    8.0

    Wickes Shop assistant, June 2020

  • Best thing

    It's like a family.
    Safety and well being always first.
    It gives me purpose.

    Worst thing

    Not enough contracted hours.
    Don't pay breaks.

    8.0

    Wickes Duty Manager, April 2020

  • Best thing

    The people & flexability

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    7.1

    Wickes Customer service assistant, February 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Colleagues and customers

    Worst thing

    Early start and late finishes

    8.3

    Wickes Operations manager, February 2020