WHSmith

WHSmith is a retailer. They sell books, stationery, magazines, newspapers, entertainment products and confectionery.

whsmith.co.uk

WHSmith job reviews

Showing 56 reviews from:

  • Worst thing

    Being expected to do management-level tasks yet being paid minimum wage. Being overloaded with pressure from head office who have no idea what it’s actually like working in the stores. Management hiring too many college-age people who can’t often cover shifts because they have college commitments, so you end up working when you’re ill.

    3.4

    WHSmith Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The people, they are lovely to work with.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes not enough tasks to do.

    9.4

    WHSmith Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Collegues and the discounts

    Worst thing

    Supervisors on minimum wage no key holders allowance short staffed the damage to the buildings is just a Horrid waiting going on a year to get a leak fixed which is damaging stock on shop floor the bounce backs with stupidly long dates that get thrown back at staff as there was the same thing that came out the week before head office has no idea how the shops run and give unrealistic targets to get in a day customers are disgustingly behaved in store and that’s just scratching the surface

    2.6

    WHSmith Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the colleagues and the fact my manager is flexable

    Worst thing

    Head Office are so far removed from the store fronts its unbelievable. They have unrealistic expectations, the communication is poor, they cut staff budgets yet find the money to pay massive bonuses for the top, the cluster managers and regional managers contradict and are often rude and expect more (not to mention the general bigoted and racist comments they make)

    You'll more than likely be running and entire store short staffed despite the work load and expected results.

    Any additional responsibilities and training you are given comes with no additional pay

    The vast majoritity of store leaders are merely coasting by with 0 consequences

    Dealing with irate customers due to the greedy and uncompetetitive pricing of the products is daily

    Any issues with the building or equipment are slow to be rectified, if at all. The company simply isn't interested in investing in the stores or making sure basics such as heating/hot water are working, not to mention the general state of disrepair of the stores

    Noone seems to have any idea whats going on at any given time

    Poor pay compaired to a lot of other retail jobs

    2.8

    WHSmith Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with
    The weird interactions I have or witness

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    8.9

    WHSmith Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Airport is good to work in

    Worst thing

    Management, boarding cards, angry customers, impatient business men, made to feel worthless, conglomerate bullying

    2.3

    WHSmith Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with Books, my colleagues

    Worst thing

    managers

    5.5

    WHSmith Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The old people are nice sometimes

    Worst thing

    Get screamed at for the pieces

    3.0

    WHSmith Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The relationship with the team

    Worst thing

    The heating doesn’t work, minimum wage sucks lol and some customers need serious help 😭

    7.6

    WHSmith Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Underpay, try to not pay you properly at times

    1.0

    WHSmith Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount on drinks

    Worst thing

    Low pay, bad managers, bad communication, i haven't actually signed a contract.

    4.1

    WHSmith Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    The company and the fact that everyone above doesn't understand how the store works.

    2.3

    WHSmith Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    The upper management is toxic

    2.6

    WHSmith Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    staff members

    Worst thing

    most times there’s not much to do and too many staff are there to do such little tasks

    3.9

    WHSmith Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    The customers

    6.4

    WHSmith Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers. Having a chat with them some can be really nice, depends on the day and time

    Worst thing

    Management and fake, two faced staff

    1.2

    WHSmith Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Basically get on with things myself since I now know what needs to be done on a daily basis

    Worst thing

    Rude customers, unhygienic colleagues.

    4.1

    WHSmith Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The constant stress
    Little pay for the responsibility
    Lone working
    High expectations from management with few staff

    1.7

    WHSmith Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Being able to help people, making friends

    Worst thing

    Rude customers, expected to do everything, higher management boss people around and make you feel like you don't do things right, shouted at for forgetting to scan bounce backs

    4.7

    WHSmith Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    In the Post Office there are a variety of services and jobs to do. It keeps the day varied and interesting. Also get to help people everyday.

    Worst thing

    The company itself.

    8.0

    WHSmith Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff. Stressful working. Too much work load when we have limited staff. Not paid for experience and the roles we do. Nasty, rude customers.

    6.0

    WHSmith Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    The job as a whole!!

    2.7

    WHSmith Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The discount but it doesn't cover most things

    Worst thing

    I don't know where to start, overall horrible, it's corrupt and only hire family and friends as management

    1.1

    WHSmith Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    you get paid, and sometimes it’s actually right!

    Worst thing

    managers are incredibly lazy and get away with murder
    no staff which means customers are constantly angry because of long wait times at the post office
    pay is below living wage
    holidays are booked at manager’s discretion, which means they’re rarely distributed fairly

    1.1

    WHSmith Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    people I work with

    Worst thing

    customers with no respect or manners

    5.5

    WHSmith Employee, September 2021

  • Worst thing

    Underpaid no support from upper management

    2.8

    WHSmith Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers and some of the colleagues

    Worst thing

    The unprofessional conduct of managers

    2.8

    WHSmith Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    My work colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Being called on your days off, stress, a lot of customers are rude, we are expected to do managerial tasks without managers pay, barely any training, you have to figure things out yourself. Managers aren’t trained. Cluster managers are unwilling to help even though it’s their job to. And I’ll say stress again just to make it clear.

    1.5

    WHSmith Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff and some of the customers

    Worst thing

    Rude and obnoxious customers

    2.8

    WHSmith Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Co-workers are really nice

    Worst thing

    The pay

    6.1

    WHSmith Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    you can learn new skills

    Worst thing

    stressful, shift changes, low pay

    2.1

    WHSmith Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    8.9

    WHSmith Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff discount,meeting new people

    Worst thing

    Management

    1.3

    WHSmith Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy, friendly, located in a clean nice friendly area.

    8.2

    WHSmith Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues are great, especially fellow students

    Worst thing

    Head office prioritises certain issues that take a lot of time to amend, and don’t seem to take into consideration how understaffed we are. Students like myself are heavily relied upon to take on extra shifts due to understaffing during the week, and I feel guilty as I have to put my studies first and can’t always take on extra hours during term time.

    5.0

    WHSmith Sales assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    We get to know people

    Worst thing

    Long hours and because of covid less customers after 6

    2.6

    WHSmith Team leader, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Self managed

    Worst thing

    Pay and workload

    6.2

    WHSmith Store manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Love the goods I sell, I'm geeky so working in a bookshop is nice.

    Worst thing

    Low pay
    No value
    Bad customers
    Lack of management

    1.3

    WHSmith Sales assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Work load
    Little support
    No mental health wellbeing being given

    4.8

    WHSmith Manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    I get to run my store as I think best. I'm trusted

    Worst thing

    Covid

    9.9

    WHSmith Store manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Challenges and working with the public

    Worst thing

    Systems, ho communications

    3.2

    WHSmith Store manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff team

    Worst thing

    Boring repetitive work and sometimes pressure to get things done

    3.0

    WHSmith Shop assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    9.0

    WHSmith General assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    I work on my own

    Worst thing

    working out side in all weather

    9.0

    WHSmith Employee, January 2021

  • Best thing

    I love the people I work with and how well I get on with all of them

    Worst thing

    The pay is a bit low but that’s only because I’m currently a full-time student under the age of 18

    9.6

    WHSmith Sales assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy and convenient for me because shifts are short and are after school hours

    Worst thing

    Strict management, co-workers/management can be hard to work with

    5.0

    WHSmith Sales assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Making people smile, and colleagues are some of the kindest, funniest people I know

    Worst thing

    Pay, unrealistic expectations from head office and management, it’s truly thankless work

    1.5

    WHSmith Sales assistant, October 2020

  • Best thing

    The staff I work with

    Worst thing

    The pay

    1.5

    WHSmith Team leader, August 2020

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and manager are good, variety of work tasks.

    Worst thing

    Some head office priorities seem unreasonable or illogical from a store worker perspective.

    6.6

    WHSmith Sales assistant, July 2020

  • Best thing

    I get some weekends off

    Worst thing

    Head office changing things every five minutes

    2.8

    WHSmith Sales assistant, July 2020

🤫 We’re not like other job sites…

Dismiss

Every job on Breakroom is backed by ratings and reviews from 255,984 people (and counting).