Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
6.9

Waitrose & Partners

Waitrose & Partners job reviews

Showing 182 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Pay, The People, The Managers put a lot of trust in the employees (Don't Micromanage, laissez-faire style of managing)

    Worst thing

    They will be annoyed if you are sick, Stressful, No consideration from the managers of what actually happens when working, Clearing up customer mess

    7.8

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with and how my managers treat we with respect

    Worst thing

    Not a whole lot to be honest can be tiring and repetive sometimes

    9.4

    Employee, January 2022

180 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Just the pay .

    Worst thing

    The management team are extremely rude . We don’t choose out breaks they are assigned to us before the shift even starts. The managers are too intrusive . They do not hand out the roles equally leading to some people feeling overworked whilst others do very little . Blatant favouritism. The customers speak to us as if we are stupid. The managers never defend partners against verbally abusive customers. They don’t really care about your physical or mental health , as long as they make enough money is what matters to them .

    4.2

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    Rude Customers
    Lack of flexibility in what you do there

    8.4

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    discounts and some of the other staff (because you always work the same shifts you get close with other people)

    Worst thing

    poor management, takes ages to get stuff sorted by the managers, some costumers can be really snobby and quite rude and have to book xmas and summer holidays months in advance

    5.8

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Lots of benefits and great pay, also able to do flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Some customers are rude but considerably less than i would have thought

    9.5

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Nice people to work with, good perks.

    Worst thing

    - Managers treat you like an asset rather than person.
    - Barely anyone is trained on service counters so I have to always switch between shopfloor and service which is stressful.
    - Never allows me to get cover for shifts I cannot do.

    4.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and overtime.

    Worst thing

    Customer abuse and not being appreciated.

    4.4

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    John Lewis Discount

    Worst thing

    The managers are very rude and blame you for not completing their impossible tasks even though it’s because they are so understaffed, they will shout at you for speaking and make it an uncomfortable and unpleasant environment. Managers will give you warnings for doing things wrong even though you haven’t been trained on them in the first place.

    2.9

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    super friendly co workers

    Worst thing

    can be boring and customers can be difficult/entitled

    8.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Higher up management have zero brain cells zero business acumen and zero understanding of the importance of technology

    5.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    pay, hours, always lots of overtime to sign up for, co-workers

    Worst thing

    managers are grumpy sometimes, set tasks which aren’t possible in the timeframe given, managers don’t know how to do the jobs that they give you so if you ask for help they can’t really help you

    7.2

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay
    Easy work

    Worst thing

    Un-organised management

    8.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and customers.

    Worst thing

    Rude customers.

    10.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with my best mates

    6.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    often lots of overtime shifts to pick up

    Worst thing

    no respect from mangers
    very little training
    no paid breaks
    often not paid for not leaving on time
    sometimes don’t get breaks

    2.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Benefits, lots of young people

    7.9

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with my friends

    Worst thing

    Managers
    Pay
    Jobs

    4.2

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the pay is good and the people i work with are lovely. it’s not challenging and it’s chill at times but even when it’s busy it’s not awful.

    Worst thing

    when you’re knew you’re kind of forgotten about, i’ve worked there for coming up to 2 months and i still haven’t had proper training in all areas and i don’t have a locker nor do i have a headset. the line manager is never in and i can never contact them with problems and i never got taught how to book days off etc, another partner i work with had to teach me. also my first payslip payed me significantly less than i was expecting and i have been unable to adjust that.

    5.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay, flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Unpaid breaks

    8.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Meet new customers

    Worst thing

    Managers are never around to observe how you work but will scrutinise you for things they have not witnessed

    4.9

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    its an enjoyable job. lots of new jobs amd things to do and usually work with good people.

    Worst thing

    quite unsafe at current shop due to layout of delivery yard and lack of proper tools and equipment ie waterproof coats, gloves, cold weather gear for winter. head office really doesnt understand what we put up with and are seen by many to waste money on things that could.be better spent elsewhere

    6.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Subsidised food in vending machine, partner discount is okay but food is overpriced so not worth it tbh

    3.4

    Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Hard to train in other areas

    6.6

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The benefits

    Worst thing

    A deluded senior board

    6.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with, the pay and benefits.

    Worst thing

    Customers

    8.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The benefits and the people you meet there

    Worst thing

    The stress and the lack of staff and training

    4.3

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The team, the public, the area where I worked at and using the equipment.

    6.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Free out of date food

    Worst thing

    Long hours

    3.0

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Managers understand your job, and how much you are put under responsibility wise

    Worst thing

    No matter how much the customer is in the wrong , customers come first and receive everything they want

    8.6

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Being on the road and making customers happy

    Worst thing

    Bullying in the workplace

    2.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting the public and regular customers on a daily basis

    Worst thing

    Never get away on time after shift ends

    7.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    We get a very good discount and paid sickness I work with nice people

    Worst thing

    It’s a very cold shop
    Customers can be very rude

    8.4

    Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    Doing the same thing all the time

    8.2

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    I love my hours of work and what I do.

    Worst thing

    Picking up other workers’ mess!

    8.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Great friends and regular customers

    Worst thing

    Sometimes in one position for too long. Also not always finish work on time because no staff to cover shift.

    8.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Mixing with the public and enjoying my job

    Worst thing

    Sometimes can be in the same place for a long time without been swapped with a colleague.

    7.9

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping customers.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be very rude and mean to us. We are treated like we are nothing by some people.

    7.0

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    If you are well trained the managers leave you to do what you need,
    if i need more hours I can ask

    Worst thing

    The managment is poor and does not care enough about the staff and dumps all responsibility on team leaders, make you feel guilty for taking sick days off and holiday has to be booked MONTHS in advance for summer.

    4.7

    Employee, August 2021

  • Worst thing

    Very cold inside. Heavy weight items

    6.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours convenience people

    Worst thing

    Hard work money

    9.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Partner Discounts at Waitrose and John Lewis, Subsidised dining at workplace

    Worst thing

    Fixed rotas, unpaid breaks, poor work-life balance

    6.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Customers and management

    6.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Relatively guaranteed shifts.

    Worst thing

    Mismanagement, boredom, disrespected, bad culture, bullying, bad pay, bad communication, stress, abuse from customers.

    5.7

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    No annoying co workers.
    Go at my own pace.

    Worst thing

    Bad route planning.
    Often skip breaks.
    Navigation equipment not fit for purpose.
    Zero chance of career progression unless you get in to the golden circle or are in the top 3 drivers out of over 300 people. Pay review is perfomance based and takes into account all aspects of driving, delivery on time, and arrival back at depot. Sometimes get less than half hour to get back but it takes an hour. Completely out of your control yet this was the only reason my pay didnt change this year.

    6.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Other partners, independence

    Worst thing

    Some extremely poor leadership, managers don't listen, line managers don't care about partners and only care about making themselves look good at the expense of lower level partners

    2.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Under pressure not enough staff. Been told to work 110% never get to finish A job always getting told to go on tills then go on deli the. Get moaned out because stock isunt getting put on shelves

    4.6

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Too much put on one person, taken for granted

    5.9

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    No stress

    Worst thing

    Customer can be rude

    7.6

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Everyone is nice and it’s a friendly environment with lots of respect and trust and if your unsure of something anyone is approachable to ask for help.

    Worst thing

    Lack of resources and sometimes when they ask your to do something with in a time and it’s an impossible expectation.

    7.8

    Employee, June 2021