Toolstation

Claimed profile

Good news! Toolstation has claimed their Breakroom profile.

They care about what their frontline employees think and want to be a good employer.

Dismiss

Toolstation is a retailer. They sell tools, building supplies and accessories.

toolstation.com

Toolstation job reviews

Showing 36 reviews

  • Best thing

    Fun to work and can be laid back
    As a sales assistant not much is demanded of hou

    Worst thing

    Open 7 days a week and open on bank holidays and days where most places are shut

    9.2

    Toolstation Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    the staff

    Worst thing

    how much there is to do

    6.0

    Toolstation Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Being in a warehouse. And not having to tidy up a big store front.

    Worst thing

    Having to keep a big warehouse clean and up to standard for when compliance officers and area managers come to inspect and check the store to see how we are doing or whatever.

    8.3

    Toolstation Sales assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Some customers, some colleagues.
    Discounts when you need them.

    Worst thing

    Zero sick pay. But we collect for macmillan and are constantly pushed to ask for donations so very hypocritical.
    Lazy colleagues. Can get very quiet, we should be able to tailor our store hours in the winter. Seems silly to have people stiff about doing nothing.

    8.7

    Toolstation Employee, December 2022

    1. Reply from Talent Attraction & Recruitment Manager at Toolstation, January 2023

      Hi there, thanks for leaving your review. We are constantly reviewing our benefits and policies and listening to our colleagues feedback. In 2022 we brought about many positive changes to our benefit policies to offer enhanced maternity, paternity, adoption leave etc. We are also in the process of reviewing store opening hours for those stores who don't have as heavy footfall during off peak times. Watch this space! Adele - Talent Attraction & Recruitment Manager.

  • Best thing

    Money

    Worst thing

    Stress , customers, under staffed , over worked

    6.0

    Toolstation Supervisor, September 2022

  • Best thing

    -some staff
    -decent way to change a shift if needed
    -Regular customers are very nice

    Worst thing

    -some staff
    -late opening hours(especially in winter)
    -rude customers

    6.4

    Toolstation Sales assistant, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Going home

    Worst thing

    Arriving at work

    4.5

    Toolstation Employee, August 2022

  • Worst thing

    Dealing with difficult customers that won’t accept that we have procedures to follow.
    Having management that do not understand how difficult it is to talk to some customers.

    3.7

    Toolstation Customer service, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff

    Worst thing

    Lack of stock

    7.5

    Toolstation Supervisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    good mix of retail and warehouse work. high paid for under 21s. most days are different

    Worst thing

    supervisors are incompetent but will act all high and mighty. boring if its quiet. you’ll be guilt tripped into extra hours. career progression doesn’t happen if you’re a student.

    9.4

    Toolstation Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Simple job, easy to learn. Good first step into retail in the DIY/Trade sector

    Worst thing

    Poor break opportunity. Very limited operational budget at store level resulting in a smaller than necessary team

    7.3

    Toolstation Store assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Stress of doing things wrong

    8.4

    Toolstation Sales assistant, May 2022

  • Best thing

    there’s never a boring day, everyday is different. under 21s are paid the same as everyone else!

    Worst thing

    some male customers don’t like young people, especially women, serving them. some of the managers are also very condescending towards young, small, women. during the first week i was often given tasks like laminating whilst the men got to assemble stuff and do the physical tasks, even though i am capable.

    9.8

    Toolstation Sales assistant, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleges

    Worst thing

    People being rude
    Stock
    Delivery

    6.1

    Toolstation Sales assistant, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The team in store are pretty good

    Worst thing

    Customers! Rude.

    6.0

    Toolstation Colleague, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with are so inclusive and even as someone who works remotely, I feel completely apart of a team who has each others backs. They're understanding and allow time to pick up your skills as you go

    Worst thing

    Some customers forget they're speaking to a person and take out the situation happening, on you.
    Sometimes it is difficult when on the same function (eg. Just on phones all day) but when you begin to be trained in emails and webchats, it's much easier to stay focused.

    9.1

    Toolstation Call centre agent, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Good colleagues

    Worst thing

    On feet all day and crazy opening and closing hours

    4.5

    Toolstation Supervisor, February 2022

  • Best thing

    banter with coworkers

    Worst thing

    stress, bad managers, poor planning

    1.2

    Toolstation Supervisor, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours, good rate of pay, very good bonus, great teamwork,

    Worst thing

    Can be short staffed at times

    9.8

    Toolstation Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Toolstation is company which treat you with respect. Looks at you as a person, acknowledge your needs and abilities. Let u progress and help with it. As much as they want you to be flexible they are too.goid place to work.

    Worst thing

    Only bad one is that takes me long to travel there but it was my choice 😸

    9.5

    Toolstation Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff

    Worst thing

    How busy it is

    7.3

    Toolstation Sales assistant, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay, chill environment

    Worst thing

    No sick pay

    9.6

    Toolstation Supervisor, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with the public

    Worst thing

    Colleagues

    2.3

    Toolstation Sales assistant, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible working hours
    Great team
    Good company

    Worst thing

    Deliveries 3 times a week

    7.8

    Toolstation Store manager, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Was week work fixed 6 till 2.

    Worst thing

    Changed it to rotation days including weekend no breaks apart from 30 min dinner.

    2.6

    Toolstation Warehouse operative, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Varied, but easy

    Worst thing

    Higher management say they want feedback, but then don't want to hear it.

    9.0

    Toolstation Store manager, March 2021

  • Best thing

    I love working with people

    Worst thing

    There's never enough time to actually do things properly. Always rushed

    1.8

    Toolstation Sales assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy work

    Worst thing

    Manager
    Working environment
    Short notice of rota change

    2.3

    Toolstation Supervisor, December 2020

  • Best thing

    staff discount

    Worst thing

    lack of job satisfaction and lack of respect.

    3.5

    Toolstation Counter assistant, December 2020

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Long hrs, poor pay,

    5.5

    Toolstation Manager, November 2020

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    Communication from head office is lacking and some of the targets they set out for stores is unrealistic

    8.8

    Toolstation Supervisor, October 2020

  • Best thing

    Majority of our Customers

    Worst thing

    Some customers… the ones that are just never happy and try to get thing for nothing. The manager is clueless

    2.3

    Toolstation Retail supervisor, September 2020

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    Deliveries and lack of communication

    6.0

    Toolstation Supervisor, August 2020

  • Best thing

    employment security as the company is doing well so there is no reason for redundancy (although I do not trust the company not to do it anyway)

    Worst thing

    undue pressures, ridiculous expectations without being given the resources to acheive them. not listened to or being respected. being lied to

    1.6

    Toolstation Store manager, May 2020

  • Best thing

    There isn't any

    Worst thing

    Early start and no sick pay

    3.3

    Toolstation GI Picker, March 2020

  • Best thing

    Easy part time job with a good team of people plus flexibility around university

    Worst thing

    No chance of overtime and minimum wage

    5.5

    Toolstation Store assistant, December 2019