Toby Carvery

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Toby Carvery hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Toby Carvery is a restaurant chain. They are known for serving carvery and roast dinners.

tobycarvery.co.uk

Toby Carvery job reviews

Showing 23 reviews

  • Best thing

    The kitchen staff are amazing with foh and most foh and bar staff are really nice people. The job when people do their work properly makes yours a piece of cake

    Worst thing

    Management suck don't take into account personal circumstances or health issue and choose favourites. Management favourites don't do their own tasks properly leaving the slack for the rest of us. Hours get cut at a drop of the hat or the manager edits your hours to something less than you've worked causing you to lose money. You get gunned for if the manager doesn't like you and are in constant fear of being sacked

    1.2

    Toby Carvery Front of house, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Occasional free food, 15% discount

    Worst thing

    Low pay, management were on and off, chefs would sexualise serving staff,

    3.9

    Toby Carvery Waitress, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Some people

    Worst thing

    The talking down to and telling how crap you are

    1.2

    Toby Carvery Kitchen staff, November 2022

  • Best thing

    I get 30% off the bill at any Mitchell and Butler establishment
    I get a free meal on shift

    Worst thing

    It’s very rare they actually give me the free meal
    When they say you’re bar staff, you’re not just bar staff. You’re also a chef, cleaner, greeter etc.
    The work environment can often become hostile because customers often get argumentative, violent or sexually harrassing
    My manager often lets all the other staff leave early so I’m left to clean up on my own. This can then take up to two hours which I don’t get paid for and I don’t end up leaving until midnight
    Managers don’t take into account that I have other commitments outside of work (e.g. I’m a full time student)
    I’m contracted to work 8 hours a week but often end up working up to 30 hours (plus around 8-10 hours unpaid clean up time)
    The managers haven’t taken my disability into account so often give me tasks that I’m unable to do but end up complaining when I do it wrong.
    I have other friends the same age as me in similar jobs. They do a fraction of the work that I do but make up to four times the amount that I do.

    1.1

    Toby Carvery Bar staff, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff working with

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff

    2.0

    Toby Carvery Team leader, October 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    the friends i’ve made at work

    Worst thing

    dealing with not nice customers

    5.1

    Toby Carvery Waiter, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Its fairly easy once you get the hang of it, and customers can leave good tips

    Worst thing

    The amount of stress is not equal to the level of pay, especially when you see how much customers are paying

    2.7

    Toby Carvery Team member, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The hours and the team

    Worst thing

    Electrics

    3.6

    Toby Carvery Chef, October 2022

  • Best thing

    free food and drink
    the people you work with (sometimes)

    Worst thing

    if you’re under 18 you will be expected to do everyone else’s jobs and not get any recognition

    6.0

    Toby Carvery Employee, October 2022

  • Best thing

    I get to interact with our guests

    Worst thing

    Some guests can be very rude and difficult

    1.2

    Toby Carvery Employee, October 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Free food and drink on shift

    Worst thing

    Sometimes Dnt get breaks
    Toxic work. Colleagues
    Talking crap. About each other behind everyone's bck.
    Lack of respect
    Shifts changed without any notice
    Shifts cancelled last minute if your not needed

    1.8

    Toby Carvery Kitchen assistant, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The environment and job role

    Worst thing

    Sometimes too busy understaffed

    8.0

    Toby Carvery Chef, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Tips and the people

    Worst thing

    Cleaning up after a shift and polishing cutlery

    7.7

    Toby Carvery Front of house, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The nice customers

    Worst thing

    Bad customers

    3.5

    Toby Carvery Front of house staff, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The perks.

    Worst thing

    The lack of respect.

    2.6

    Toby Carvery Team leader, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Free meals
    Decent enough pay for an 18 year old in the kitchen with no prior experience

    Worst thing

    Management

    2.8

    Toby Carvery Kitchen assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Free food, good pay (more than minimum), good training, good team

    Worst thing

    Stress, late notices

    7.1

    Toby Carvery Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    having a laugh with team

    Worst thing

    it’s hard to get a shift covered and you do lots of hours due to not many staff

    3.0

    Toby Carvery Kitchen assistant, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Hot kitchen and very heavy items to carry. And the amount of food in the containers are so heavy

    1.9

    Toby Carvery Kitchen assistant, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The team, the discount

    Worst thing

    The hours and the stress

    6.0

    Toby Carvery Kitchen manager, July 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Always on your toes and preoccupied.
    Managers & FOH and BOH teams are all supportive and will do their best to help you progress

    Worst thing

    Rushed work environment (most kitchens have this though) and late night finishes.

    9.5

    Toby Carvery Chef, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Percentage off meals, shifts to fit family life

    Worst thing

    Heavy duty work, very hot at times, often short staffed

    5.0

    Toby Carvery Kitchen assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    I get to meet loads of people, I love my team, it’s flexible, I get perks and benefits and I love my job.

    Worst thing

    The pressure

    8.0

    Toby Carvery General manager, January 2021