The Range

The Range is a variety retailer. They sell leisure, garden and home products.

therange.co.uk

The Range job reviews

Showing 99 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    My work colleagues are some of the nicest people I've ever had to work with.

    Worst thing

    The fact that the owner doesn't care about his staff at all,saying 'if they dont like it, they know where the door is' is probably one of the most dismissive statements a person can make.

    4.1

    The Range Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    People are nice can get stressfull when we have loads of stock and no where to put it

    Worst thing

    When we have to much stock and we cant get through it cause its that busy

    8.6

    The Range Employee, February 2022

97 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Some of the staff

    Worst thing

    Manger's ,admin, back to work interview even having one day off staff shortage one person three jobs

    1.9

    The Range Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The actual staff environment

    Worst thing

    The management and unorganisation

    1.4

    The Range Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.

    Worst thing

    Management and the rules that head office puts in place

    6.0

    The Range Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The money and some of my colleagues

    3.2

    The Range Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of my coworkers are actually nice

    1.2

    The Range Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly colleagues

    Worst thing

    Very Long wait to receive staff discount

    7.6

    The Range Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff you work with

    1.9

    The Range Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy job

    Worst thing

    Underpaid, too stressful, rude customers and rude staff

    4.1

    The Range Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Never enough staff, under paid, rude customers and colleagues all the time, managers are rude

    2.8

    The Range Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people u work with are nice

    Worst thing

    So un organised get warnings for having time off

    1.7

    The Range Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Near my home

    Worst thing

    I have to stand all the time

    8.9

    The Range Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff are friendly

    Worst thing

    Often it is too busy to take breaks on time

    9.2

    The Range Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    the managers, the hours, the staff, the customers, the hours, the rota

    1.0

    The Range Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The other members of staff are nice

    Worst thing

    Staying late to clean and tidy

    4.5

    The Range Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent people

    Worst thing

    Sexual harassment
    Not treated like human
    Strict employers
    No benefits
    Maximum hours
    Minimum wage
    Exploits workers
    High turnover

    1.0

    The Range Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Organising my department, keeping on top of all paperwork, stock and cleaning

    1.1

    The Range Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Going home. Other normal-ranked staff on the floor. A couple exceptionally nice managers in the office. Bad mouthing the store to customers.

    Worst thing

    - The pay. £8.36 for a lot of heavy lifting, bending down low, pulling heavy pallet trucks, having to have extensive product knowledge because....

    -nothing in the store is priced correctly. Barcodes go missing and "pre-pricing" (the price stickers on the item), when it comes from The Range itself, will inevitably be wrong - something priced for £19.99 will end up as £25.99 because of head office increasing the prices without bothering to update the sticker price on the stock - which means you then have to awkwardly explain this to every disgruntled customer that passes and pray the supervisor is in a good mood and thus will lower the price of the item. Woe is you if the sticker has been drawn over with cheap marker or the supervisor does not feel like reducing it.

    - Being treated like a school child (talked down to, scolded for having a phone, not allowed card, keys, loose change or even chewing gum in your pockets -- note also you are subject to personal searches upon the whims of management and can be fired for having the "wrong thing" on you at the wrong time - which can be as little as a 50p pack of noodles without a receipt.)

    1.5

    The Range Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The other staff members on the shop floor.

    Worst thing

    The pay.

    1.1

    The Range Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Going home
    The people

    Worst thing

    Every single thing. Never work here if you can avoid it. If you can't avoid it, immediately start looking for other jobs so you can get out of there

    1.2

    The Range Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Best thing about working at The Range is the staff discount

    Worst thing

    Uncaring management,if your Ill your still expected to come into work

    1.8

    The Range Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The heat, the shop, too much stock, lack of communication. Head office doesnt care.

    1.7

    The Range Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The fellow staff

    Worst thing

    Not knowing what is happening across the company or for the next weeks shifts

    2.6

    The Range Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Not being appreciated

    6.0

    The Range Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Interacting with colleagues and customers.

    Worst thing

    Working on the tills, pricing

    7.1

    The Range Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Everything from pay to condition

    1.1

    The Range Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Not treated with respect. They expect staff to bend over backwards for them but won't help staff when they need it.

    1.0

    The Range Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Other members of staff,closeness to home

    Worst thing

    Working untill 9PM up to 4 nights a week,working weekends,hard to arrange dr appointments

    2.0

    The Range Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff

    Worst thing

    Too much to do and never enough time

    1.6

    The Range Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Some staff

    Worst thing

    Management, pay , hours of work, no respect, stress of the job

    1.1

    The Range Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping customers

    Worst thing

    The staff and the money

    3.4

    The Range Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with are incredible and are always great to have a laugh and a talk with.

    Worst thing

    Head office don’t seem to understand the day to day work in the store

    5.5

    The Range Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The shop floor workers

    Worst thing

    The managers and lack of organisation

    1.7

    The Range Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Having to work two late shifts a week, as a single parent sometimes I can't do this and end up having to call in

    7.5

    The Range Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    Shifts, managers, lack of training and lack of communication with head office

    1.2

    The Range Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Right now there is nothing good about my job
    I use to enjoy going into work every day but no longer

    Worst thing

    To many mangers in a short time, now you don't know if when you arrive into work if you will be dismissed

    1.4

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff are very friendly, its easy to get along with everyone (mostly). Since the shop is so big I get my 10,000 steps in every shift.

    Worst thing

    Its heavy going, and there are too many responsibilities for what you are paid. You are working stock, being questioned by customers, pricing, being given tasks from head-office and working as relief staff for the checkouts all at the same time. Its an exhausting process learning how the place works, and the range clearly does not respect their employees.

    1.9

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues late shifts

    Worst thing

    Late finishes

    5.5

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Just like the it

    Worst thing

    Travel

    8.0

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    I like the people I work with on my level, everyone is really nice.

    Worst thing

    It stresses me out a lot. Management doesn’t seem to care about mental health, they seem to be oblivious about mental breakdowns. When I’m trying my best they’re always saying ‘quicker quicker quicker’, it just seems like my best isn’t enough for them. They also threaten to fire us for making little mistakes.

    2.4

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    It used to be quite relaxed, with great people. Not anymore.

    Worst thing

    Jarring management, rubbish money, no flexibility, no care, profits before people, strict regime and alienating everyone they seem to come across.

    1.4

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work and the mgt team

    Worst thing

    The amount of f stock you have to work.

    7.6

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people are lovely and the job itself isnt too difficult.

    Worst thing

    The hours, the minimum wage

    7.8

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Some people work with are great people

    2.3

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Getting to speak to customers and being able to go home knowing I’ve done my best to help someone and I enjoy it becuse it was a fast paced job and I’m a active person so I enjoy constantly doing something

    Worst thing

    The way some people treat you but and the end of the day you have to what your told and get along with it

    5.0

    The Range Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The best thing is job security and the people I work with.

    Worst thing

    The worst things are the Range employ too few staff, causing staff to be stressed and customers not getting the attention they deserve.
    Since opening 16 months ago there has been a massive turnover of staff due to dissatisfaction with th company.

    2.6

    The Range Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I have made some lovely friends who are colleagues, the customers are nice too

    Worst thing

    Management not backing you up or caring if I'm run off my feet

    3.4

    The Range Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Something to keep me busy

    Worst thing

    Errors from other departments that affect me

    7.3

    The Range Employee, April 2021

  • Worst thing

    The pay. The customers. And head office caring more about making a profit than caring about their staff during pandemics and thanking us with one extra week holiday

    1.6

    The Range Employee, April 2021