Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
6.0

Tesco

Tesco job reviews

Showing 1,096 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    It's a very relaxed environment once you've gotten the hang of everything you're doing and the people you work with. The work is pretty good for the pay you get, especially if you do Sundays or nights. Hours are very flexible and the mangers can be great banter which makes you feel much more comfortable.

    Worst thing

    I was extremely ill for a week and half and had taken time off after almost passing out during a shift when trying to work despite my illness, this time off lead to my mangers decision to let me go but played it off to me as them feeling that I just wasn't a great fit for the company despite my known fast working pace. There was also an unreal about of drama and gossip made up about colleges including myself and it could cause large rifts in the workplace. I've heard this is very common at Tesco.

    6.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Many students so you make friends easily
    Everyone’s really chill
    Can book overtime in any department as long as you train
    Get paid more when you train in different departments
    Manager and team leaders are really nice

    Worst thing

    Just make sure you’re flexible with your hours- you don’t need to work so many days a week, it can be weekends. They’ll ask you to do overtime but you’re not obliged to remember.
    Don’t feel like you’ll get fired or they’ll hate you if you don’t flex up to do overtime- learn how to say no it’s fine

    9.0

    Employee, December 2021

1,094 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    The Colleagues

    The pay is above minimum wage. I’ve had to work harder for less from other jobs, so it’s not too bad.

    Worst thing

    We have no manager and it’s been like that for a while !!!! Our department has been falling to pieces. Hours have been cut like mad and other managers from other departments are clueless about how fnf works. So as a whole it’s been chaotic and its been quite draining for us staff.

    7.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good discount
    Partly flexible

    Worst thing

    Management don’t care about staff
    Management have no respect for regular staff
    Expected to drop everything to stay past your shift when they are busy
    Wages department often make errors on payslips, and it takes months to get any money they owe you back

    4.7

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Same schedule almost every week

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting almost all shift long, different kind of breaks depending on how the employer is hired.

    3.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay
    Sociable
    People you work with
    Active

    Worst thing

    Short staffed
    Responsibility

    5.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The best thing is working with such nice and friendly people

    Worst thing

    Having to deal with hard and challenging customers

    5.7

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Can be very rewarding hitting targets and making a customers visit enjoyable

    Worst thing

    When staff sickness and holiday leaves you with a skeleton crew and your job becomes unachievable due to lack of staff

    4.7

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Team work on departments

    Worst thing

    Manager role doesn't have enough hours to do our job properly get no job satisfaction

    3.3

    Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    Bad pay tesco is turning in to Amzon with out the pay .
    Work load is unmanageable.
    All the general assistant who work at tesco are stressed due to lack of staff bad communication from managers and companie who rely on Facebook to keep staff updated with company news .
    No rewards for hard work.
    You do get a bonus but it doesn't reflect your hard work and time .
    There is no real way to progress in the company.

    2.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with and the customer

    3.7

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Being art of a team

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting

    6.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Well paid, decent employer with paid holidays and perks.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes heavy lifting.

    8.3

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with a good team

    8.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Driving around West Sussex and meeting the custimers

    7.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Can be quite stressful at times

    7.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    It's extremely close to home.

    Worst thing

    Although on a flexi contract there is nothing flexible about it!

    2.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    i can do my job well and am left to do so

    4.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Cheeky customers

    8.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers are friendly and always say hello when they are shopping

    Worst thing

    Managers not understanding how heavy the daily workload is.

    2.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours, staff, and the job

    Worst thing

    Things not being done right before me

    7.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff discount and getting to connect with customers

    Worst thing

    The fact that we always have to rush, most times there is no time for proper quality service.

    5.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Having to get up early

    7.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    90% of the customers.

    Worst thing

    The other 10% of the customers.

    7.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with, they are the best group

    Worst thing

    The hours, it’s retail, what do you expect

    5.7

    Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    Pressure of short staff and extra work

    3.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    customer service and colleague interaction.

    8.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the satisfaction of doing a good job

    Worst thing

    Being pressured into doing 2-3 people's job just because I'm good at mine

    2.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers are lovely compared to hospitality

    Worst thing

    They can never get the wages right. Anxiety every 4 weeks. Staff underpaid.

    3.6

    Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    Being spoken to like an idiot undervalued but expected to get on with your job regardless

    2.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The team
    Going home

    Worst thing

    Always have to be on call
    It's your fault if not enough people turn up to work even though they refuse to have more then 2 staff members in at any point
    Having to do the job of 3 people whilst only being paid for one person
    No investment in staff
    Being encouraged not to take breaks as the workload is to high

    2.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    There is always something to do each day no day is the same

    Worst thing

    Sometimes don't get treated like a human

    8.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers and staff are mostly friendly

    Worst thing

    Certain customers and shop lifter's

    6.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay is good compared to other supermarkets

    Worst thing

    Very bullying atmosphere. Team leaders suck up to managers and treat customer assistants very badly. Also managers don't try to help staff at all, nor give us rotas more than 24hrs in advance so you can't plan anything

    1.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    People in my shop are great

    Worst thing

    No staff doing the work of 3 people

    3.8

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Local

    Worst thing

    Early starts and late finishes

    4.9

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours, staff benefits

    Worst thing

    Not always listen too by management

    6.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Lifetime stable job.

    Worst thing

    Stress, work so hard then take advantaged of then others don’t work hard . Under-appreciated the list goes on.

    3.8

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The job itself

    Worst thing

    Team members i work with

    2.1

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Some people are lovely

    Worst thing

    Been left alone, no team work,

    4.2

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours to suit family life

    Worst thing

    Work load increasing without consultation
    Lack of communication and finding out that time and a half was being cut to time and a quarter for Sunday’s through a newspaper article!

    5.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Management

    5.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    I work with a great team

    6.8

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Pressure put upon us. Staff cuts.

    6.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The Wednesday customers, the people I work with

    Worst thing

    The managers

    3.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting a variety of different people

    Worst thing

    No respect from managers and they don’t listen to issues we have

    4.7

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    It keeps me active, motivated and I’m able to learn new more things

    Worst thing

    The hourly payments and being part time and temporal

    7.6

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with some great people, and not having to commute far for work.

    Worst thing

    Always short staffed, and the work expected of you seems to get more and more constantly. Head office obviously don't care about the shop floor staff. For example, they got rid of cleaners in the height of the pandemic. The pay isn't great for whats expected of you.

    4.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours suits in the day and the pay is OK

    Worst thing

    Time of day I start

    5.2

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Convenient location
    Easy work

    Worst thing

    Its boring
    No opportunity to advance
    Not a mixed cultural environment

    6.1

    Employee, October 2021