Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
6.0

Tesco

Tesco job reviews

Showing 1,087 reviews from:

  • Worst thing

    Bad pay tesco is turning in to Amzon with out the pay .
    Work load is unmanageable.
    All the general assistant who work at tesco are stressed due to lack of staff bad communication from managers and companie who rely on Facebook to keep staff updated with company news .
    No rewards for hard work.
    You do get a bonus but it doesn't reflect your hard work and time .
    There is no real way to progress in the company.

    2.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with and the customer

    3.7

    Employee, November 2021

1,085 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Being art of a team

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting

    6.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Well paid, decent employer with paid holidays and perks.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes heavy lifting.

    8.3

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with a good team

    8.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Driving around West Sussex and meeting the custimers

    7.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Can be quite stressful at times

    7.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    It's extremely close to home.

    Worst thing

    Although on a flexi contract there is nothing flexible about it!

    2.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    i can do my job well and am left to do so

    4.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Cheeky customers

    8.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers are friendly and always say hello when they are shopping

    Worst thing

    Managers not understanding how heavy the daily workload is.

    2.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours, staff, and the job

    Worst thing

    Things not being done right before me

    7.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff discount and getting to connect with customers

    Worst thing

    The fact that we always have to rush, most times there is no time for proper quality service.

    5.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Having to get up early

    7.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    90% of the customers.

    Worst thing

    The other 10% of the customers.

    7.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with, they are the best group

    Worst thing

    The hours, it’s retail, what do you expect

    5.7

    Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    Pressure of short staff and extra work

    3.4

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    customer service and colleague interaction.

    8.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the satisfaction of doing a good job

    Worst thing

    Being pressured into doing 2-3 people's job just because I'm good at mine

    2.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers are lovely compared to hospitality

    Worst thing

    They can never get the wages right. Anxiety every 4 weeks. Staff underpaid.

    3.6

    Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    Being spoken to like an idiot undervalued but expected to get on with your job regardless

    2.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The team
    Going home

    Worst thing

    Always have to be on call
    It's your fault if not enough people turn up to work even though they refuse to have more then 2 staff members in at any point
    Having to do the job of 3 people whilst only being paid for one person
    No investment in staff
    Being encouraged not to take breaks as the workload is to high

    2.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    There is always something to do each day no day is the same

    Worst thing

    Sometimes don't get treated like a human

    8.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers and staff are mostly friendly

    Worst thing

    Certain customers and shop lifter's

    6.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay is good compared to other supermarkets

    Worst thing

    Very bullying atmosphere. Team leaders suck up to managers and treat customer assistants very badly. Also managers don't try to help staff at all, nor give us rotas more than 24hrs in advance so you can't plan anything

    1.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    People in my shop are great

    Worst thing

    No staff doing the work of 3 people

    3.8

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Local

    Worst thing

    Early starts and late finishes

    4.9

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours, staff benefits

    Worst thing

    Not always listen too by management

    6.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Lifetime stable job.

    Worst thing

    Stress, work so hard then take advantaged of then others don’t work hard . Under-appreciated the list goes on.

    3.8

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The job itself

    Worst thing

    Team members i work with

    2.1

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Some people are lovely

    Worst thing

    Been left alone, no team work,

    4.2

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours to suit family life

    Worst thing

    Work load increasing without consultation
    Lack of communication and finding out that time and a half was being cut to time and a quarter for Sunday’s through a newspaper article!

    5.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Management

    5.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    I work with a great team

    6.8

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Pressure put upon us. Staff cuts.

    6.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The Wednesday customers, the people I work with

    Worst thing

    The managers

    3.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting a variety of different people

    Worst thing

    No respect from managers and they don’t listen to issues we have

    4.7

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    It keeps me active, motivated and I’m able to learn new more things

    Worst thing

    The hourly payments and being part time and temporal

    7.6

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with some great people, and not having to commute far for work.

    Worst thing

    Always short staffed, and the work expected of you seems to get more and more constantly. Head office obviously don't care about the shop floor staff. For example, they got rid of cleaners in the height of the pandemic. The pay isn't great for whats expected of you.

    4.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours suits in the day and the pay is OK

    Worst thing

    Time of day I start

    5.2

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Convenient location
    Easy work

    Worst thing

    Its boring
    No opportunity to advance
    Not a mixed cultural environment

    6.1

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Finish at 2pm at the latest, meaning you have a good chunk of the day left.

    Worst thing

    * 6am starts
    * Constantly watched by management.
    * Picking system is built to be 100% against the picker. Helping customers or even going to the toilet negatively affects your work. Managers do not care about this.
    * Unfriendly/ unhelpful managers
    * Managers favour their mates and young, attractive employees and treat everyone else like dirt

    3.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Sometimes easy and good laugh with people treat you right

    Worst thing

    Not a fair on tasks as it is favourite by other managers

    6.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Physically demanding
    Managers don't listen

    7.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Able to work hours around children

    Worst thing

    Low staff morale, no recognition from store manager for job I do pay nor fair for position I'm In.

    7.2

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Lack of hours

    3.8

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Every day is different
    Meeting people
    Out in the fresh air

    7.6

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and selling what I sell

    Worst thing

    My manager, unrespectful customers

    4.9

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues doing the same role

    Worst thing

    Management and customers

    3.4

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s easy, fits in with my home/work balance, get to meet people.

    Worst thing

    Some of the customers are very rude!
    Also we don’t have the correct equipment, and the equipment we do have is not maintained

    8.2

    Employee, September 2021