Tesco

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Tesco hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Tesco is the largest supermarket chain in the UK.

tesco.com

Tesco job reviews

Showing 1,397 reviews

  • Best thing

    The colleagues I work with.

    Worst thing

    No compassion if your on the sick or feel ill. Prices are too high. Availability of items.

    6.0

    Tesco Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The team I work with, I get to work with my friends.

    Worst thing

    Management don’t care about mental health, they don’t care if you don’t get paid properly. Management is terrible

    1.2

    Tesco Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with my friend.

    Worst thing

    Doing other people's job.

    2.6

    Tesco Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Autismo mode so I like stacking shelfs

    8.0

    Tesco Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    It provides hours that works around childcare easily and also has good discounts/perks.
    Fellow staff are supportive of each other and friendly.

    Worst thing

    Managerial staff and higher ups can be toxic and play favourites, often bullying non-favourites.

    2.8

    Tesco Employee, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Easy enough to do, well paid, co workers are easy to get along with

    Worst thing

    Timed to finish jobs, hold ups in aisles

    9.5

    Tesco Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with. Everything else about it is a shamble.

    Worst thing

    You don’t find out anything that is happening until it’s happened. No one really cares about what’s going on.

    6.8

    Tesco Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Discounts and Pay

    Worst thing

    Other staff and customers

    1.9

    Tesco Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Nice people

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff

    7.0

    Tesco Shelf stacker, August 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues. We have a laugh

    Worst thing

    Customers. They're rude, lazy and inconsiderate

    8.7

    Tesco Employee, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It’s close to where I live,
    Decent enough pay

    Worst thing

    Have to do other peoples work without pay,
    Expected to do more than your pay grade,
    Managers not interested

    1.2

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Decent pay

    Worst thing

    Management are clueless

    7.3

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The people to work with

    Worst thing

    Understaffed and hours hard late

    6.8

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount
    Get on well with most colleges (nearly all dont like working there)

    1.1

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The other co workers

    Worst thing

    Management, hours, staff, pay, customers.

    1.9

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I'm outside in the air so as for COVID I've never had it.

    Worst thing

    Can get very boring when there's not lot's to do

    8.0

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The place and be good one days

    Worst thing

    If your face doesn't fit, there's no point

    7.8

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Best things are that it is good for students who want flexible work, nice early hours so you have the rest of your day.

    Worst thing

    1. I work 40 hours when I’m only contracted to 12 and if I ever tell my managers I need a day off or need to do my contracted hours for a week with plenty of notice they cry about it to the point it makes you unfortunately uncomfortable.

    2. I only get one half an hour break (which they time) in a 8 hour shift when the rest of the shop get a hour break.

    3. Managers treat you with no respect at all, worked there 6 year as I’m a student (since col to uni) and Tesco has gone massively down hill in the last few years in regards to respect to their employees. When head office (main boss) comes in all the managers switch up and actually get off their bums.

    4. So many people that work at Tesco have a diminishing mental health due to the lack of respect.

    5. Pay is bad, £10 is short for National living people can barely afford to live and are scraping by every month, if I only get a 30 min break when According to tesco I’m entitled to more and every other department gets to take more why don’t we at least get paid it.

    6. Customers are nasty and managers don’t do enough about it.

    1.9

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Always got overtime

    Worst thing

    Poor management leading to low motivation and later finish times

    6.8

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours
    Good team
    Considerate and friendly boss

    Worst thing

    Work load and then be expect to do a lot of work in such a short amount of time

    Expectations

    Pressure

    4.1

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Easy work

    Worst thing

    Boring too repetitive and not long enough breaks

    6.6

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Flexibility, good pay

    Worst thing

    Hard and physical job

    7.8

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    I get to talk to people

    Worst thing

    Get treated like a replaceable number.

    4.5

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with are lovely.

    Worst thing

    No praise for the hard workers, only for the ones that do nothing.
    Never spoke to the new store manager since he started before Xmas. Been 7months now..
    Want too much from you, they basically want you to flex up constantly and do the job of 3 people in a small amount of time/hours.

    1.7

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    We now get to pick what overtime we work on an app. So we work our contracted shifts, then anything else we want to work we can pick and choose on the app.

    Worst thing

    Always being understaffed and being asked to do other jobs aswell as our own.

    8.6

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    My team leader always checked up on us on shift but were mostly busy themselves. My other colleagues were absolute gems. My pay was up to date and had some good tools at my disposal

    Worst thing

    There was always one shift leader that was rude and grumpy, and sometimes you're late to have a break due to ill prepared queue management.

    9.6

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Not seeing management when out on raod can't moan at you

    Worst thing

    Management pulling people up for silly mistakes that everyone makes. But ignore more important issues

    2.8

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    There are alot of perks and most of the staff are very kind

    Worst thing

    There sickness rules are so strict and awful and work off %

    8.0

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Hourly pay
    Collegue discounts

    Worst thing

    Working on shop floor

    7.3

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Worst thing

    You are over worked and under paid, constantly under a pressure to finish your job

    3.2

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    A shift always goes quick when you can have a laugh with down to earth customers and staff

    Worst thing

    Not being paid correctly and having to wait till the next pay month to receive payment from previous but being massively taxed

    4.6

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Job security
    Flexible contracts
    Discounts

    Worst thing

    Short staffed most of the time
    Customers can be very irritating

    4.9

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    When driving, it feels like youre your own boss. The other drivers are beyond lovely.

    Worst thing

    Management is an absolute nightmare. They make your life hell, rude, and don't believe you and say 'it can't be wrong' when you say you've been paid wrong (later to be proven I was underpaid by half my wage). NOT approachable, no compassion or understanding. 'let go' /contract revoked at the worst possible time

    1.7

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s better than not having a job… but only just

    2.8

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Out and about most of the time, sometimes get extra breaks in between deliveries

    Worst thing

    under appreciated by management, 13 hour shifts, heavy lifting all day, made to stay in store and do jobs that we didn’t agree to when employed

    3.2

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Freedom left to work on your own and not checking up on you

    Worst thing

    Too many tasks and not enough time to do it in

    5.0

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Managers don’t respect colleagues

    4.2

    Tesco Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Social aspect of making friends

    Worst thing

    No security, Constantly abused by customers and criminals.

    2.4

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    Lack of training and co-ordanatin

    7.1

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Being on the road
    Freedom
    Face paced
    Community

    Worst thing

    Travelling there
    Shift patterns

    5.0

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some work colleagues are fun to work with

    Worst thing

    Multiple managers asking you to do several things at once. No one really knows what we do.

    4.2

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The benefits, pay staff community excl. Management

    Worst thing

    Not listened to, arrogant toxic management, little to no support for long term chronic illness

    5.0

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Overtime opportunities

    Worst thing

    The atmosphere is horrible, everything is extremely performance driven and some managers don't know what they're doing at all. There's a lot of favouritism and that makes progressing a lot more difficult.

    4.1

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    interactions with customers and the team that works there

    Worst thing

    customers can be rude and nothing can be done about it

    9.6

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Worst thing

    Nothing is good they never listen to staff and care about things in your life

    2.0

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Bad management, no respect at all for employees, managers think they are a cut above everyone else. Your feelings, emotions and mental health are NOT taken into consideration.

    Worst thing

    The Managers and staff welfare.

    1.7

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Set shifts

    Worst thing

    Understaffed and not recognised for the amount of work that goes in for such a low payed job. More and more responsibilities added with no extra perks and little training.

    3.0

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    the staff members

    Worst thing

    the work load for the day and the incredible unrealistic time frames you are given to complete the tasks

    1.1

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting people I like working with

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff and poor priority management

    2.8

    Tesco Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Customer delivery driver is a stress free job you getvtold to practice safe driving and get told to take your time in between drops and that's why I would recomend this job

    Worst thing

    There is no need to stress about the bad perks to this job because there are none

    9.8

    Tesco Employee, June 2022