Tesco

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Tesco hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Tesco is the largest supermarket chain in the UK.

tesco.com

Tesco job reviews

Showing 1,401 reviews

  • Best thing

    my hours

    Worst thing

    not enough staff

    3.0

    Tesco Merchandiser, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Hands on and get to work with everyone

    2.8

    Tesco Shift leader, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Flexibility
    Pay rate

    Worst thing

    High stress
    Under staffed
    Workload increasing over time

    6.0

    Tesco Shift leader, January 2023

  • Best thing

    flexibility

    Worst thing

    consistently taking away perks, not fast enough to keep up with pay and giving extra responsibility, no security in dangerous areas

    7.8

    Tesco Customer assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Ridiculous expectations. Not treated fairly. Favouritism. Given orders

    1.9

    Tesco Manager, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    High pay, same rota every week.

    Worst thing

    Busy understaffed store, high workload, rude customers, rude shift leaders, same rota every week.

    7.3

    Tesco Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Worst thing

    Your manager is either super friendly, understanding, approachable and kind hearted or they are too political, heartless, get angry with you if you phone in sick, force you to come in if you phone in sick, single you out, give you the silent treatment, senior management will brush their behaviour under the carpet or simply not believe you so you can’t/won’t be able to take it to investigation/disciplinary

    5.5

    Tesco Shift leader, January 2023

  • Best thing

    That you walk past your friends and you meet new people

    Worst thing

    Rough hours needy for overtime team leaders/management are bossy and overwork you , hard to get holidays and they don’t want you off sick for more than 2 days

    2.6

    Tesco Customer assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people and having fun

    Worst thing

    Sometimes it’s tiring and gets very repetitive

    9.8

    Tesco Customer assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Hours suit, staff discount

    Worst thing

    Bullying and harassment by managers. Company constantly cuts everything soon the store will open with one person!

    1.5

    Tesco Customer assistant, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    the money and some of my work friends. we also get food in the break rooms, (not very much) but when there are events, we get food brought in for us to have for breakfast/lunch/dinner.

    Worst thing

    the colleagues can be very hit and miss, some of them anyway. the management love to put all the pressure on everyone else so they have an easier shift, which sucks for newcomers or people that have only started earlier in the year.

    3.2

    Tesco Customer assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    my friends / colleagues + the pay

    3.7

    Tesco Personal shopper, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Staff members and discount

    Worst thing

    Managers and customers that take things out of you that’s not in your control.

    1.5

    Tesco Team leader, January 2023

  • Best thing

    They give the same pay as a full time job just for a temporary job

    Worst thing

    Can sometimes make you do something that isn’t necessarily your job

    9.4

    Tesco Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay is okay if you don’t have any fisnicial obligations, otherwise it’s a nightmare.

    Worst thing

    Some managers play power games and disrespect you but most of them are okay. The worst thing is that you can get called to come in at any time, essentially making your contract zero hours.

    1.6

    Tesco Customer assistant, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Being independent and the pay

    Worst thing

    My manager and overworked

    7.1

    Tesco Delivery driver, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with my team

    Worst thing

    Customers
    No paid sick days
    Money being reduced on a Sunday
    Too much work not enough staff

    4.1

    Tesco Customer assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The friendly staff

    Worst thing

    Over worked

    8.4

    Tesco Colleague, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Discounts
    Premium hourly rates for night staff and Sundays
    Being left to your devices
    Different routes most days
    Bonuses during lockdown and annaully

    Worst thing

    Short contracted hours. Regular Extra hours are avaialble but then does not add up on your hoilday allowance so your pay drops when you take your holidays and around Christmas time due to the proportion of over time to contracted hours ratio.
    Poor navigators in vans so you have to you use paid for and free apps on your own phone especially to named houses.
    Working outdoors in poor weather. Tesco expect you to go out in dangerous conditions such as extreme winds and delivery on icy or snowy areas.

    6.0

    Tesco Delivery driver, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Job is as easy as you want it to be

    Worst thing

    Management and poor organisational skill, peoples work ethos and customers, graveyard shifts

    2.3

    Tesco Employee, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    flexible and the people are great

    Worst thing

    gets stressful on busy days and if trained on multiple departments you get thrown about a lot

    6.0

    Tesco Colleague, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount, better pay than most places

    Worst thing

    Managers are very cliquey, they look down on you constantly. If your face fits then you can do whatever you want, otherwise you’re the scapegoat for everything. You can’t go to any management with problems you have because you get ignored completely. Don’t expect mental health support cause it doesn’t exist, if they don’t notice it then it’s not actually there. You can’t get real breaks and managers will make whatever excuses they can for it then blame you for not being able to take them. Can’t take holidays or time off work without being scrutinised and questioned about why you need the time off. Don’t expect to be given more hours as part of your contract cause they don’t want to give you them unless they like you

    1.5

    Tesco Customer assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    When on the road, you don't have manager breathing down your neck

    Worst thing

    If there are not enough delivers u may be asked to work on the shop floor

    9.7

    Tesco Delivery driver, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Great team, fun people, always something to do

    Worst thing

    Annoying customers, sometimes closing shifts gets a bit boring

    9.9

    Tesco Sales assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The expectations of me when other colleagues expectations are lower due to me being a quick and high work ethic person

    6.4

    Tesco Customer assistant, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    people i work with.

    Worst thing

    not being paid for your breaks, holidays you want not allowed if others have booked it already

    5.0

    Tesco Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with are very supportive and work well as a team. If you ever have a problem or a bad day they will notice and will ask what's up?

    Worst thing

    The pay. Although it is currently higher paid than other supermarkets but could still be better.

    8.0

    Tesco Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The best staff, you will always feel so welcomed.

    Worst thing

    Christmas time rush!

    9.7

    Tesco Customer assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Well above minimum wage for my age group, hours are flexible and it is a low stress job.

    Worst thing

    Unpaid breaks.

    9.3

    Tesco Customer assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The discount

    Worst thing

    Hours, managers, rude customer, staff that try and control you

    1.5

    Tesco Employee, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    customers and meeting new people

    Worst thing

    rude customers

    4.2

    Tesco Colleague, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay, great colleagues, easy to get overtime if extra money is needed

    Worst thing

    Some managers have expectations that are way too high

    Some managers are rude for no reason

    Often expected to perform tasks that were not asked to be done

    Physically demanding to an extent (depending on department)

    9.9

    Tesco Customer assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Stable job

    Worst thing

    Lack of equality

    3.4

    Tesco General assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s isn’t too stressful and you get a sense that you are benefiting the community through your work

    Worst thing

    Booking time off

    8.0

    Tesco Pharmacy technician, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    The management treat you poorly expect to much from staff. Never get proper breaks. Always stressed. Would not recommend to anyone if they want to progress. You only progress if your face fits. All the hard workers are over looked and the people who don’t work and suck up get the promotions

    4.7

    Tesco Shift leader, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    Under paid for what i do

    3.2

    Tesco General assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues

    Worst thing

    Customers and management

    2.0

    Tesco Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The colleagues, the environment, the ever changing workload and atmosphere

    Worst thing

    Time scale management, limited resource, cost of living crisis, expectations of head office on management which continues to fall down the trail for colleague expectations

    5.0

    Tesco Shift leader, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and meeting new people

    Worst thing

    The management are unorganised

    2.1

    Tesco Delivery driver, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Being outside. Reaching customers who cant reach our store.

    Worst thing

    Uninterested managers.
    Never a managers fault or reaponsibility. You will be to blame
    Unreasonable expectations

    7.0

    Tesco Delivery driver, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    We are left to just get on and do our job each day unless we need to be told about changes affecting us 🙂

    Worst thing

    When your off sick even if it's scheduled surgery 😢

    9.0

    Tesco Customer assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Most days are straightforward and easy to get used to.

    Worst thing

    Some days can be draining depending on delivery size or if short staffed.

    9.2

    Tesco Customer assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    People taking advantage

    4.5

    Tesco Team leader, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Being your own boss and speaking to loads of people

    Worst thing

    Dealing with managers who have no clue what they’re doing

    4.6

    Tesco Delivery driver, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Good people, most things can be sorted out quickly if you see the right person. Almost always overtime if wanted

    Worst thing

    Some things are left to last minute leaving very fine margins for error often not the fault of staff but tech issues.

    8.0

    Tesco Delivery driver, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some of the colleagues

    Worst thing

    Customers/managers

    4.2

    Tesco Picker, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The team I work with are great and I can't fault them

    9.4

    Tesco Shift leader, November 2022

  • Best thing

    I don't have to deal with arrogant customers as I'm in a Warehouse online picking customers orders.

    Worst thing

    I have to work in a chiller.

    3.2

    Tesco Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    I meet new people everyday

    Worst thing

    It’s none stop all day long

    6.0

    Tesco Cashier, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people and the pay isn’t bad for my age

    9.1

    Tesco Team manager, October 2022