Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
4.9

Subway

Subway job reviews

Showing 66 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Free meal
    Free Uniform

    Worst thing

    Sometimes you can't take a break
    Fining you for simple things
    Inadequate training
    Closing shifts ALONE without having a checklist of what needs done

    5.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Plenty of hours

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff

    2.0

    Employee, November 2021

64 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Freedom of rotas

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff and support

    5.3

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy to get, leg up to another job, can sometimes not be stressful, get to work with a consistent team

    Worst thing

    Can be very stressful, often overworked, below minimum wage, owners are usually clueless

    2.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    Very stressful working with the bosses

    1.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with friends

    Worst thing

    When the owners are in and cause drama or make things awkward in front of customers. Take there stress out ok there employers

    3.1

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    I like the staff members and the work schedule can be flexible if there is enough notice

    Worst thing

    It’s extremely stressful and the amount of work you do does not equate to the amount you get paid

    4.2

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Doing things my own way

    8.1

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Not enough hours in the day

    5.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    people I work with and the ease of the job

    Worst thing

    customers and unpaid breaks, especially since I don't normally take them

    6.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Good manner

    Worst thing

    Not Working with team

    7.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Its flexible, fits nicely around my children's school hours so I dont have to pay for childcare

    2.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The work is great and easy, it’s food I believe in, my team are great and my customers are amazing

    Worst thing

    Pays low

    7.5

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff and customers

    Worst thing

    Pay, not enough staff to cover when people are sick or want time off/holidays, so have to work myself and get unpaid, bonuses are an insult considering the pressure of the expectations they want

    2.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people. Learning new things.

    Worst thing

    Low pay. Not valued by anyone. No contract. Very young people to work with.

    4.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who work there

    Worst thing

    Customers

    7.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    New friends, perks off items, customer service.

    Worst thing

    Disrespectful managers, underpaid for the responsibility I have, staff are always to blame never managers, managers never work or serve on the line.

    2.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    honestly the best things have long gone

    Worst thing

    You work hard for them and 1 issue to make a 1time situation easy and they get angry and dont care for excuses

    3.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    serving good for the customers

    7.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Worst thing

    - sometimes I don’t know if I’m working until the night before the start of a new week as my manager waits until the last minute to send out schedules
    - my manager favorites people who work the day shifts and takes advantage of the closers (giving them a lower wage even though closers have worked at Subway longer)

    1.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy, fun, nice team

    Worst thing

    Fast paced, very busy

    5.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people that I work with

    2.6

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Team work
    How much I get paid
    Independent working

    Worst thing

    Managers

    4.3

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Set my own shifts, works around family, business is doing well. Meals included for free per shift, 50% discount. Generally good team to work with overall

    Worst thing

    Demanding physically and mentally. Pressure on me due to my experience and position. Not enough business structure to staff more appropriately at all times. My staff are zero hour contracts/minimum wage which creates problems sometimes with reliability and retention. Even if I create a good work atmosphere other employers pay competitively. Bank holiday work is compulsory aside from 2 per year. Always 'on call'/'available' for emergencies

    4.0

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    i enjoy doing work and i feel satisfied when i do service to a customer

    Worst thing

    i feel bit stress when there is busy environment

    7.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Fun and amazing customers

    Worst thing

    Not too many works at same time

    8.0

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I can work when I want too
    Free meals
    Good team

    Worst thing

    Very stressful
    Hard to contact the owners of the store
    Told important information by the owners last minute

    5.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I can work minimum hours, manager is friendly and caring

    Worst thing

    Hard to change shifts, minimum wage

    7.0

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Good Experiance. Nice co-workers

    Worst thing

    Unfair management

    4.5

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    I worked with amazing, kind, caring team

    6.3

    Sandwich artist, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Free food
    Sometimes fun

    Worst thing

    Payrate
    Speed

    4.0

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Overworked and under valued

    Worst thing

    Time management

    3.8

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    I like the team and the people I work with

    Worst thing

    I don't like dealing with customers because they're often super rude or entitled

    4.0

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Making sandwiches

    Worst thing

    Washing up and no discount

    3.6

    Sandwich artist, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Money

    Worst thing

    Pretty much everything causes stress

    1.5

    Assistant manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Finishing time

    Worst thing

    Staff not doing the job properly

    4.5

    Assistant manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    the people

    Worst thing

    the actual job and being left alone is horrid

    4.9

    Sandwich artist, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The food and colleagues

    Worst thing

    You can get deducted pay for literally anything which is harsh considering I was on min wage

    4.5

    Sandwich artist, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Not very long hours

    Worst thing

    Sometimes shifts are only 2 hours long, hard to plan around the rota as it’s only given a few days before,

    4.8

    Sandwich artist, February 2021

  • Best thing

    I get experience in a busy environment

    Worst thing

    Bad management, too stressful for minimun wage, little hours and extra time is not paid

    3.0

    Sandwich artist, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Free food
    Get to go on your phone when it's quiet

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    5.5

    Sandwich artist, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy to learn

    Worst thing

    Drivers get there too quick

    6.8

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new customers

    Worst thing

    The hours I get

    7.2

    Employee, January 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Hours not guaranteed
    Loss of money
    Mangers and higher ups looking down on you

    2.1

    Sandwich artist, January 2021

  • Best thing

    You meet new people and everyone is nice

    5.8

    Sandwich artist, January 2021

  • Worst thing

    Don’t work as a team

    3.4

    Assistant manager, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Serve good food, communication with customers

    Worst thing

    Strict labour

    6.4

    Store manager, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Its a job that can be easy to do

    Worst thing

    The general staff get spoken to and treated disrespectfully, depending on what store you are in there can quite often be shortage in staff, so there is a lot more work to be done

    1.5

    Sandwich artist, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with
    The pay
    The actual job

    Worst thing

    The cleaning

    8.4

    Sandwich artist, December 2020

  • Best thing

    Locality, Deliveries are fun, the people, flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Balancing life with work, getting enough shifts/hours, wage

    4.6

    Sandwich artist, December 2020