Starbucks

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Starbucks hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies reach the next generation of candidates.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Starbucks is a coffee shop chain. They serve American-style coffee.

starbucks.co.uk

Starbucks job reviews

Showing 173 reviews

  • Best thing

    Some of the people that you work with

    Worst thing

    The manager

    2.8

    Starbucks Employee, April 2024

  • Best thing

    Making drinks

    Worst thing

    The pay, the stress

    3.5

    Starbucks Barista, April 2024

  • Best thing

    My coworkers

    Worst thing

    Unpaid breaks
    work alone when busy

    1.0

    Starbucks Barista, April 2024

  • Best thing

    Free coffees

    Worst thing

    Stress, not able to make enough money

    6.6

    Starbucks Shift leader, March 2024

  • Best thing

    The people you worm with

    Worst thing

    Not a long enough break
    Not enough money
    Too much tax taken off
    Us parents should get more money and benefits

    2.8

    Starbucks Supervisor, February 2024

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The best thing about the job is making new friends and learning about the process of making drinks and serving them.

    Worst thing

    The days tend to get busy easily which can get stressful, customers can also be very rude, foreign students who come into the café can be disruptive. I am usually the one, whenever on shift, to do the cleaning.

    4.5

    Starbucks Barista, February 2024

  • Best thing

    Some of the baristas on my team were a great laugh and made the job slightly more bareable

    Worst thing

    Getting up at 3:45am, how rude and entitles stsbrucks customers are, out of touch management who expect too much but have no idea what's actually going on. Only look at numbers, don't think about the staff, constantly understaffed, constantly stressed. Not worth it.

    2.0

    Starbucks Shift supervisor, February 2024

  • Best thing

    Low entry point; good opportunity to gain experience and social skills

    Worst thing

    Low salary and being disrespected by higher management (district manager and higher)

    8.8

    Starbucks Supervisor, February 2024

  • Best thing

    Fairly flexible
    Not too difficult

    Worst thing

    Not enough pay to live
    No progression
    Poor management
    Physical pain
    Treated like an object by head office and customers
    Terrible for mental health
    No desirable skills gained for future career

    2.6

    Starbucks Barista, February 2024

  • Best thing

    People at the job are nice

    Worst thing

    Districts manger rude and unhelpful same with hr

    3.9

    Starbucks Barista, February 2024

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I get a decent wage and it's relatively easy work

    Worst thing

    The commute and short breaks

    4.2

    Starbucks Supervisor, January 2024

  • Best thing

    How I love to make coffe for customers

    Worst thing

    It’s stressful and tiring

    3.4

    Starbucks Barista, January 2024

  • Best thing

    Friendly colleagues and interacting with regular customers.

    Can be fun to make the drinks and experiment with new recipes

    Worst thing

    Can be very stressful and rushed off feet with not enough staff for busy times
    rude customers and busy times

    8.4

    Starbucks Barista, January 2024

  • Best thing

    The team and the cutomers. Alse the pay is amazing considering itself above the industry rate.

    Worst thing

    It can get busy from time to time and even with enough people scheduled you can feel the load.

    9.6

    Starbucks Shift supervisor, December 2023

  • Best thing

    i enjoy the people i work with and the few customers i can make good connections with

    Worst thing

    the constant stress of up keeping standards all day and if something isn’t good then it’s my fault. i feel very responsible for everything.

    4.1

    Starbucks Barista, November 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Employee benefits and the customers are usually very friendly.

    Worst thing

    The pay and hours.

    1.9

    Starbucks Employee, November 2023

  • Best thing

    The free drinks

    Worst thing

    The management
    The other workers
    The pay

    2.0

    Starbucks Waitress, October 2023

  • Best thing

    Free coffee and friendly cusmotmers

    Worst thing

    Long hours

    9.8

    Starbucks Barista, October 2023

  • Best thing

    The friends i have made at work

    Worst thing

    the poor management, stressful environment, and the way we are spoken to

    1.7

    Starbucks Shift supervisor, October 2023

  • Worst thing

    Manager doesn't respond to emails.
    Supervisors look at emails even though they are meant to be confidential between whoever sends the email and the manager.
    Supervisors seem to think they run the store.
    Rota changes with 24 hours before a shift.
    Rota is rarely more than a week in advance.
    Never seen a tip in my life at the place, instead they are spent on pizza for staff meetings that we aren't even paid to attend.

    5.0

    Starbucks Barista, September 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Staff and manger

    Worst thing

    Rude customers and busy periods

    4.2

    Starbucks Barista, September 2023

  • Best thing

    Making coffee

    Worst thing

    My boss my boss my boss

    1.9

    Starbucks Employee, August 2023

  • Best thing

    Money, friendly.

    Worst thing

    Customers have got worse since lockdown.

    8.7

    Starbucks Supervisor, August 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with, meeting nice customers and regulars, making drinks and having free drinks

    Worst thing

    Not having enough people on shift, pressure to upsell, not feeling appreciated by higher ups for being a good worker, no job benefits, bonuses or paid leave.

    7.3

    Starbucks Supervisor, August 2023

  • Best thing

    Interacting with customers and giving them a good experience, and having banter with my colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Difficult customers, “office politics”, tedious/ unpleasant tasks (cleaning dishes, emptying bins.

    9.0

    Starbucks Supervisor, August 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    the staff members

    Worst thing

    the lack of help with stress

    4.6

    Starbucks Barista, July 2023

  • Best thing

    The perks, the job is enjoyable

    Worst thing

    The people, the supervisors gossip and discuss private information with other baristas, you’re made to feel guilty about calling in sick

    5.5

    Starbucks Barista, June 2023

  • Best thing

    Friendly and helpful management/team

    Worst thing

    Complicated orders

    9.0

    Starbucks Barista, June 2023

  • Best thing

    It’s fun tbh, the free drinks and the people I work with

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    9.9

    Starbucks Barista, June 2023

  • Best thing

    The team is amazing

    Worst thing

    upper management not listening to us

    1.8

    Starbucks Supervisor, May 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people and regular customers,

    Worst thing

    Hours and not enough staff when it’s busy

    2.4

    Starbucks Supervisor, May 2023

  • Best thing

    the work colleagues

    Worst thing

    having to apologise for how members of the public treat/talk to you. having an unapproachable manager who talks to you in an unpleasant manner for the majority of the time you work with them. being unable to take sick days without being made to feel bad for them and lastly having to travel to different stores much further away than the one you’re based at in order to get stock but are not allowed to ask for petrol money instead made to feel bad about even considering that in the first place

    2.0

    Starbucks Barista, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Working with some of the colleagues and talking to the lovely regulars and being able to do latte art

    Worst thing

    Being over worked, understaffed and under appreciated

    1.1

    Starbucks Supervisor, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Very fun environment to work in. The people are lovely, the free drinks and perks are great!

    Worst thing

    A lot of pressure applied without much recognition for hard work.

    7.6

    Starbucks Shift supervisor, April 2023

  • Best thing

    My coworkers are all amazing people

    Worst thing

    Only a few shifts a week

    9.8

    Starbucks Barista, April 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The social aspect

    Worst thing

    The awful management and often being overworked

    1.8

    Starbucks Barista, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Free drinks

    Worst thing

    The aggression from customers

    7.0

    Starbucks Barista, April 2023

  • Best thing

    My team in my store is amazing and my instore manager cares about us

    Worst thing

    Higher ups don’t seems to care too much

    6.0

    Starbucks Barista, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Nice job
    Lovely management
    Free drinks
    Nice enviroment

    Worst thing

    Stressful during rushes
    Zero hour contract
    Would prefer monthly rota

    8.0

    Starbucks Barista, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Free drinks and nice people

    Worst thing

    Low pay

    5.5

    Starbucks Barista, April 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Free coffee, no uniform (just have to wear an apron), guaranteed hours

    Worst thing

    Upper management using fear tactics to threaten staff into working to the point of exhaustion "we will close the store if XYZ profits aren't up" etc, despite being consistantly busy, selling out. Sometimes the shift supervisors were being bullied by management to secretly clock out the baristas if there was a lot of cleaning to get done, so we wouldn't be paid for the time when we HAD to stay a couple hours extra at the end to close the store. End stage capitalism vibes

    1.2

    Starbucks Barista, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Talking with people

    Worst thing

    Big delivery , waking up at 3 in the morning, back pain for stand all the day

    3.4

    Starbucks Supervisor, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Free drinks on shift
    Good team
    They put effort into constantly trying to improve the way things run

    Worst thing

    All depends on your area managers and your franchise , head office incentivise managers to reduce labour, cut expenses and overall don’t seem to care about how the store runs/feels unless it contributes to their bonus.
    The amount of questions you have to ask at the till is ridiculous
    Customers often treat you with disrespect and hostility over things which are outside of your control. I often am made to feel stupid either by head office or customers every shift .

    4.1

    Starbucks Assistant manager, March 2023

  • Best thing

    Leaving at the end of the shift

    Worst thing

    The customers and management

    1.8

    Starbucks Assistant manager, March 2023

  • Best thing

    Free drinks

    Nice customers

    Worst thing

    Constant pressure from management
    Often unfair treatment/ favouritism

    Not enough training
    I don't get a share of tips

    1.1

    Starbucks Barista, March 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Worst thing

    Customers and incompetent upper management

    3.7

    Starbucks Barista, March 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with, lovely customers, constantly on the mover

    Worst thing

    Head office have no idea what happens in theirs stores.
    Just Eat and Uber are a nightmare, systems don’t communicate properly.
    Other stores might not appreciate help when given to them.

    7.3

    Starbucks Shift supervisor, March 2023

  • Best thing

    You get coffee

    Worst thing

    Management, timing, overall Starbucks

    2.8

    Starbucks Barista, March 2023

  • Best thing

    Customer and colleaugue interaction, making beverages,

    Worst thing

    Difficult customers, over-busy

    8.2

    Starbucks Barista, February 2023

  • Best thing

    Free food & drinks on shift and 30% all stuff when you arent working.

    Worst thing

    Sickness policies, bad management, bad recruiting, high staff turn over, no progression unless friends with a manager.

    3.4

    Starbucks Supervisor, February 2023