Starbucks

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Starbucks hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Starbucks is a coffee shop chain. They serve American-style coffee.

starbucks.co.uk

Starbucks job reviews

Showing 121 reviews

  • Best thing

    good money

    Worst thing

    toxic work place

    2.6

    Starbucks Barista, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Regular friendly customers.

    Worst thing

    Short staffed
    Rude customers
    Sometimes evening shifts can be annoying being away from family.
    Sometimes fall outs and bitching between staff members.

    5.5

    Starbucks Barista, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Not much, sometimes you make friends with the colleagues

    Worst thing

    Rude management, don’t care for their staff, they expect you to drop dead for this job

    1.8

    Starbucks Barista, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The team I work with, the friends I’ve made through work.

    Worst thing

    Short notice of shifts, stressful environment, no staff meals unless you’re a supervisor, sometimes doing the job of three people, short staffed, no training given. Very toxic environment in terms of gossiping, hard to contact management, upper management and supervisors avoid being on the floor helping their team.

    1.9

    Starbucks Barista, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The staff i work with. Easy job

    Worst thing

    Has no AC or heating unit.
    Dont get food for lunch when other companies do.

    8.6

    Starbucks Supervisor, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people, my team and how they are as a person

    Worst thing

    Very, very stressful. Very, very busy and is not enough for necessities or my rent.

    6.0

    Starbucks Barista, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay above average for the same role in other competitors. Very good benefits

    Worst thing

    Can get really busy and stressful

    5.5

    Starbucks Supervisor, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Learning to be more confident and gaining transferable skills

    Worst thing

    Lack of holiday
    Lack of staff
    A free meal on a long shift would be nice, 7am till 5 or 6pm.

    1.8

    Starbucks Barista, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The people i work with

    Worst thing

    When it gets busy it puts you under pressure

    9.7

    Starbucks Barista, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The team other than management

    Worst thing

    Management

    1.5

    Starbucks Employee, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Making products can be fun on occasion

    Worst thing

    Monotonous and on feet for long periods of time
    Rude and demanding customers, the same can be said for a few members of management
    Extremely high turnover
    Constantly chancing schedule
    Hugh turnover means most people are still in the training phases so you can be expected to carry out 2-3 people’s jobs at once
    Poor pay

    1.3

    Starbucks Barista, November 2022

  • Best thing

    I really love the people i work with

    Worst thing

    Rude teenagers, always closing shifts, ask too much of my position, pay could be better

    6.0

    Starbucks Supervisor, November 2022

  • Best thing

    My team is lovely, and theoretically we’re well looked after

    Worst thing

    My store ma

    2.8

    Starbucks Barista, October 2022

  • Best thing

    People are friendly ,calm and relaxing atmosphere when not busy

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    6.4

    Starbucks Barista, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Great for people who like coffee
    Fun work environment
    Good team

    Worst thing

    Pay should be more
    No team building exercises
    Shop open on all holidays (Christmas, New Year’s Eve etc)

    7.8

    Starbucks Barista, October 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Team, perks, and skills learned

    Worst thing

    Can be stressful, lots of cleaning

    7.5

    Starbucks Barista, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    The workload, time constraints, customers, stress

    3.4

    Starbucks Barista, September 2022

  • Best thing

    some staff members

    Worst thing

    certain staff members

    3.2

    Starbucks Supervisor, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff
    The atmosphere

    Worst thing

    Stress
    The inability to refuse service regardless of how we get treated
    The endless targets and expectations which in the long run aren’t maintainable
    Upper management

    5.0

    Starbucks Supervisor, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The team I work with, the pay, the benefits and the supportive atmosphere

    Worst thing

    How stressful it gets when it'd busy and stress due to not having enough staff sometimes

    9.3

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Pay, work people.

    Worst thing

    To much stress because uber, deliveroo and just eat is always busy.

    9.0

    Starbucks Supervisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    You get some really nice regulars and can have a nice conversation with them. If you like the people you work with, you can also have a laugh with them.

    Worst thing

    When it gets busy, people are stressed (including myself). You can also get really nasty customers who kick up a fuss

    8.0

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay, Benefits, Collegues, Holiday pay, proper breaks

    Worst thing

    Understaffed shifts, Hard to change availability and book holiday, Managers hardly answer emails

    6.4

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Very little opportunity to progress my overall career internally

    3.4

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.
    The regular customers.

    Worst thing

    Rate of pay.
    The managers way or no way.
    9:30pm finishes. 5:30am starts.

    3.0

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    making the drinks and learning

    Worst thing

    working with the team

    1.1

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The team you work with

    Worst thing

    the pay, no sick pay and cant always get time off

    5.5

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Best thing

    making friends with the people that you work with, and getting to try all the food and drinks before customers do

    Worst thing

    i often work from home doing things like food orders and rotas because no one else does them which takes up around an hour of my time a week. When im at work people think im lazy if i sit down to do the rota!

    7.8

    Starbucks assistant manager, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay and flexibility of shifts

    Worst thing

    The people

    4.7

    Starbucks Supervisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues are my favourite thing about my job :)))

    Worst thing

    Certain supervisors have favourites so you end up doing the less enjoyable jobs whenever they’re on shift if you aren’t their favourite.

    You can’t have more than 3 days sick in 3 months otherwise you get punished (even with a doctors note)

    Quite a toxic and bitchy environment.

    4.9

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Good team to work with

    Worst thing

    Bad customers

    9.0

    Starbucks Barista, August 2022

  • Best thing

    I work with wine amazing and friendly people and i enjoy making coffee.

    Worst thing

    Drive thru times can make a shift really stressful and closing down staff have to do a lot more than the motioning star for the same pay.

    5.5

    Starbucks Supervisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Free bags of coffee a week and able to sample the new drinks.

    Worst thing

    The customers, the amount of work given to you in a small space of time to get it down, the opening hours and SOME of the staff (not management)

    7.3

    Starbucks Supervisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Possibly the best job I've had, I enjoy being a barista and the pay, as i was underpaid in my last employment.

    Worst thing

    A few management team members are unprofessional and get involved with staff outside of work - including relationships. I heard that previous employees were treated unfairly due to some member's of Management did not like some of the staff's partners and would make fun of it, they would also refuse to put discount on for our family and friends but as it states in our contact, we can apply discount for family/friends, so that goes against our contract. Previous employees are talked about in a disrespectful manner. Many employees left due to new management being appointed around summer last year.

    2.3

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Getting free drinks
    Clocking out

    Worst thing

    Clocking in
    rude customers
    annoying work gossip

    3.5

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Sometimes you can make someone’s day- you don’t know what’s going on in their day. But you can sometimes make them smile and feel a little better

    Worst thing

    They don’t care about you

    They will work you till you till you die and then replace you with your first born

    This job gave me ptsd

    1.3

    Starbucks Supervisor, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The people i work with

    Worst thing

    Management

    6.8

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff are the best thing about it! And the regulars are so nice and chatty

    Worst thing

    Stressful and no lunch break. Just when it's quiet.

    7.1

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Worst thing

    Not having a say in the hours that I work

    5.5

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Best thing

    You'll love certain staff until they're forced to leave under the pressure and disrespect from higher ups!

    Worst thing

    You don't matter. You never did.

    2.8

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Learning full barista training as well as working with a small team allows you to work well, the pace of work is really good, the pay and benefits is really good when working for a corporate store.

    Worst thing

    Franchised stores don’t pay as well and you don’t receive the benefits you would as working for a corporate stores which are usually the stores in the cities. Management at franchises can also be very unhelpful.

    9.6

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The benefits, the pay, the pace

    Worst thing

    Learning all the drinks at first

    8.9

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Making the drinks

    Worst thing

    The unorgansation of the staff and how personal everything can be

    1.3

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Best thing

    I enjoy working with friends

    Worst thing

    Management needs improving however I think this is a store specific thing

    3.7

    Starbucks Barista, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Job and opportunity progression

    Worst thing

    Lack of organisation

    8.9

    Starbucks Barista, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Meeting new people and friendship group

    Worst thing

    Stress and not getting enough for what we have to do

    6.4

    Starbucks Supervisor, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The people, job role

    Worst thing

    Cleaning. Staying later than rota

    8.2

    Starbucks Barista, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Certain staff
    Getting paid

    Worst thing

    Being paid the very last day rather than the last Friday
    No paid breaks
    No meal on shift
    Staff can be disrespectful
    Managers say to depend on others but when it comes down to it they can't be depended upon

    1.7

    Starbucks Supervisor, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Bad schedule if and poor management

    1.9

    Starbucks Supervisor, May 2022

  • Best thing

    My Co workers

    Worst thing

    The limited hours available

    8.0

    Starbucks Barista, May 2022