Sports Direct

Sports Direct is a retailer. They sell sportswear and trainers for women, men and children.

sportsdirect.com

Sports Direct job reviews

Showing 86 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    my co workers are insanely nice

    Worst thing

    we sometimes don’t get told when our breaks are, don’t get the shifts off that we asked for and sometimes aren’t able to book of certain days

    1.8

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people and have a good relationship with my colleagues

    Worst thing

    Meeting rude customers

    6.0

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    My coworkers and the perks of getting a discount for items.

    Worst thing

    Ever changing rota and getting asked at last minute to do shifts leaving you in a tight spot because you need the money but you either have plans or are tired.
    Also managers on your back to bring up sales on certain items
    Customers are very rude to till shift because they are the people that have to break the news of no refunds only credit notes and anything that the customer is upset about they complain to the 17 year old cashier about and managers tell you not to call them to deal with a difficult customer. The minority of staff are students and the public expects a lot from them. The company don't seem to care about the abuse their staff receives due to the stores policy of no refunds. It's the company vs the employee vs the customer, there is no loyalty for their employees.

    1.6

    Sports Direct Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Interaction with colleagues and customers

    Worst thing

    Stockroom space

    9.6

    Sports Direct Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s fun

    Worst thing

    Not that many hours

    8.9

    Sports Direct Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Management, 0 hour contract, under staffed

    1.8

    Sports Direct Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    I like serving people most especially good customers

    Worst thing

    complaints of customers of not getting refunds..

    7.8

    Sports Direct Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    easy to learn

    Worst thing

    some colleagues

    6.4

    Sports Direct Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Progression. Team ethic

    Worst thing

    Long hours

    8.4

    Sports Direct Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Not repetitive. Team is relatively close

    Worst thing

    Awful hours. Under paid

    6.1

    Sports Direct Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.

    Worst thing

    The rude customers

    7.8

    Sports Direct Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    People you work with
    Easy work
    Discount

    Worst thing

    Pay
    Rude customers
    Short shifts so not as much pay

    7.6

    Sports Direct Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The benefits are pretty decent, since you get 20% off at Flannels, House of Fraser and Game etc.

    Worst thing

    The company doesn’t give a flying fudge about anybody below head office. Even though the actual staff within the shops are the face of the company and back bone, they don’t even let us have the AC or heating on. YES I’M SERIOUS! I have picture proof of the signs within the backrooms. We’re treated like robots and not humans, nothing more than numbers on a page to them. The management within the shops are even worse. Okay, fair enough the higher ups don’t care about us, but shouldn’t the management, who know the staff personally actually care? I mean Mike Ashley doesn’t know of me personally but my manager does? Maybe they don’t care because they get commissions and bonuses of the less hours they use. Because everybody is hired on a zero contract hours basis, if the store was to have 500 hours disposable in a week, and they only use 400, the rest of the 100 is given partly to the managers as the company save money on hours, and this acts as an incentive to work harder on the management. Now, who does this affect… Oh, right, the EMPLOYEES!! Not only does that mean less money for the staff, but also more stress as there is less people to do the work, and the work still needs to get done. But to be fair, if you’re looking for a job as a student to pass the time, it won’t be that bad as long as you keep your head down and not get too attached to anything. The pay is average but not as good as supermarkets. Overall, after working for Amazon, Tesco and JD Sports, Sports Direct is at the BOTTOM OF THE LIST. :)

    1.1

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    I'm l ft all be to get in with it

    Worst thing

    Changing start times every day

    9.8

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff discount and the commission

    2.3

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people that work their

    Worst thing

    THE PAY

    5.5

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and managers

    Worst thing

    Angry customers
    Pay rate should go up a bit like up to £6.00 per hour at least

    6.9

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Decent hours , time off and employee perks.

    Worst thing

    It gets extremely busy during the holidays

    8.5

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Holiday pay, staff discount and commission

    2.3

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    People that I work with and the environment we are in

    Worst thing

    Pay issues and Payroll issues are regular

    6.0

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    colleagues

    Worst thing

    sometimes stressful and can’t keep up

    5.5

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Great place to make new friends and have a laugh whilst getting a good start learning the basics of customer service.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes workloads can be quite heavy and management expect a lot from you but sometimes workloads can be near impossible to complete in the given time frame in between serving and other tasks.

    6.4

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and generally customers are respectful

    Worst thing

    The pay and tasks are often rushed because higher ups demand a lot from each store

    8.0

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The discounts and the staff

    Worst thing

    The customers and the work sometimes

    7.0

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It works around college hours and gives me loads of free time

    Worst thing

    Customers

    7.6

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    easy to get
    quick work

    Worst thing

    terrible pay
    heavy workload
    over rota
    only rota a week before
    lack of communication
    work past pay
    get payed a month later

    1.6

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people (apart from the manger)

    Worst thing

    The manger

    1.8

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people/colleagues everyone is so easy to talk to

    Worst thing

    The pay
    It being a 0hour contract but expected to work 16+hours

    2.8

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    I like the staff that I work with

    Worst thing

    I get paid minimum to do a lot of work that people who are being paid more wouldn’t do
    I have too many hours on top of full time college so I don’t get much time to do things for myself or even struggle to fit in eating some days because I just don’t have the time

    1.6

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Very lucky to work with great people and have great management

    6.0

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the people u work with

    Worst thing

    the money

    4.1

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Discount of company

    Worst thing

    Not good pay, extremely boring

    2.1

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Everyone who works with you is around the same age

    Worst thing

    Management doesn’t care about anything other than money

    1.4

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    Some of the managers have no respect

    4.3

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you meet and work with

    Worst thing

    Long hours, loads of work, understaffed, rude customers

    2.6

    Sports Direct Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Small commission good discounts good management

    Worst thing

    Low wage, 0 hours

    4.9

    Sports Direct Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Commission and co-workerz

    Worst thing

    People and sometimes lack of support

    3.0

    Sports Direct Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Some good people I work with, easy, can always get time off

    Worst thing

    Management is awful. And disrespectful

    3.9

    Sports Direct Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    the people i work with, they’re funny and kind and make the little things better

    Worst thing

    customers that think being rude because you work in sports direct is acceptable
    and the pay, regardless of my age i should be paid the same as a 19 year old, and lord knows mike ashley has the money for it

    7.0

    Sports Direct Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendships made and the ease to work with other staff and managers

    Worst thing

    Rude and entitled customers

    8.8

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendly managers and colleagues.
    Medium paced environment. Learn new things and talk to new people everyday

    Worst thing

    Hours.
    Pay isn’t great

    7.8

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    the team is really nice

    Worst thing

    it can be boring and tedious

    8.4

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Nothing, only reason for work is money

    Worst thing

    People and upper management, questionable safety, easy to get injured

    4.1

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2021

  • Worst thing

    The 0 hour contract, the changing schedules without being informed, the poor pay compared to other jobs in the area. Having to work at 110% all day or one of the MANY managers will tell you to do some actual work (without seeing you grind for the last 3 hours)

    1.1

    Sports Direct Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay and left alone to get on

    Worst thing

    Extremely poor communication and ridiculously disorganised and unwilling to progress. Set in their ways

    3.5

    Sports Direct Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff are amazing, it’s like one big family

    Worst thing

    The long hours

    5.0

    Sports Direct Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours easy work staff discount

    Worst thing

    It’s boring, pay is rubbish compared to other places stressful when busy. If your good at your job you get to do everyone else’s job as well

    4.1

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Job security, my colleagues, new opportunities, the responsibilities I am entrusted with and despite the companies reputation you are generally treated fairly and with reason.

    Worst thing

    Shift work that includes early mornings and evenings makes getting into a routine and making plans in advance difficult. Sadly the business has a somewhat negative reputation/image which can make others look down on you for being an employee of the company.

    8.6

    Sports Direct Supervisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with . Managing daily duty’s your self ( see below )

    Worst thing

    Management trying to micro manage what we do when the don’t really understand our job or responsibilities .

    7.8

    Sports Direct Yard shunter, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with good colleagues
    Discount
    Commission opportunities

    Worst thing

    Lack of hours
    Heat is far too much to bear
    Standing too long leads to pain

    5.0

    Sports Direct Employee, February 2021

🤫 We’re not like other job sites…

Dismiss

Every job on Breakroom is backed by ratings and reviews from 254,545 people (and counting).