Sports Direct

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Sports Direct hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies reach the next generation of candidates.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Sports Direct is a retailer. They sell sportswear and trainers for women, men and children.

sportsdirect.com

Sports Direct job reviews

Showing 176 reviews

  • Best thing

    None

    Worst thing

    No double bank holiday pay
    Bad hours
    Last minute calls for work
    Bad environment

    1.3

    Sports Direct Sales associate, April 2024

  • Best thing

    The people who work there are nice and friendly

    Worst thing

    Some Customers are quite rude
    The pay
    Management is very controlling with days off

    2.1

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, February 2024

  • Best thing

    the staff members, the discount and how easy it is to get a holiday

    Worst thing

    Management… don’t listen or understan. always set too many tasks so that you can’t complete them and get made to stay later to finish them. and if it’s less than 15 mins you don’t get payed for it

    2.3

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, February 2024

  • Best thing

    Easy

    Worst thing

    Feel disrespected and lots of favouritism

    1.7

    Sports Direct Shop assistant, February 2024

  • Best thing

    Having a routine

    Worst thing

    Not getting enough hours

    6.4

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, January 2024

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Meeting new people

    Worst thing

    Busy, hours can heavily vary

    5.0

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, January 2024

  • Best thing

    The team members.

    Worst thing

    Cleaning after store closes.

    3.5

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2024

  • Best thing

    Clocking out, friends you make there

    Worst thing

    Underpaid, under staffed, under trained for new staff , the responsibility of a casual sales assistant of any age is the work of a supervisor the company does not care and will cut corners

    1.3

    Sports Direct Customer assistant, January 2024

  • Best thing

    Literally nothing

    Worst thing

    Absolutely everything - under paid, lazy staff, impertinent customers, scammy work schedules

    1.9

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2023

  • Best thing

    nice people

    Worst thing

    too much is asked of me

    3.0

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some of the people I work with are really chill and I have conversations with them. And sometimes I see customers I have served out and about with the product I sold them and that kind of makes me feel accomplished a bit.

    Worst thing

    You are expected to serve multiple customers at once despite the fact that there are 7 stock rooms with shoes in you have to get for different indiduals. So if people come to you with different brands you have to go back and forth and climb up high laders to get what the customer wants and if one new customer arrives on floor I get told basically to come and do my job, despite the fact I’m in the stock rooms for a reason…getting what the customer i’m currently serving wants. And on top of that I’m meant to be doing other tasks through out my shift, that sometimes i just don’t get the time to do.

    1.1

    Sports Direct Floor staff, December 2023

  • Best thing

    Other staff, discount

    Worst thing

    Underpaid, management, sexism, repetitive, boring,

    1.5

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, November 2023

  • Best thing

    Haven’t got anything to say other then I’m employed

    Worst thing

    The lack of real communication
    The hours
    The silly demands
    The fact the don’t give refunds
    The customer abuse

    1.7

    Sports Direct Employee, October 2023

  • Best thing

    Good breaks, job is relatively easy, commission pay on tills, managers are nice

    Worst thing

    low pay compared to other jobs

    8.0

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, October 2023

  • Best thing

    The interactions with customers when working on the till

    Worst thing

    Inconsistency in hours and low pay

    8.7

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, September 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It’s great to work with all the customers on a regular basis and when you’re on tills and it’s quiet and you manage to get time to tidy the shop floor around the tills it makes you feels like a sense of accomplishment

    Worst thing

    Nothing at all

    8.9

    Sports Direct Employee, September 2023

  • Best thing

    It's routine work, majority of the time it's slow paced

    Worst thing

    It's demeaning work, I feel as though I've out grown it and am not moving forward.

    8.0

    Sports Direct Retail assistant, August 2023

  • Worst thing

    The low pay
    Not enough working days

    3.3

    Sports Direct Retail assistant, August 2023

  • Best thing

    - the people you get to work with

    Worst thing

    - having to explain to customers about the store policies for example “we don’t give money back” when they are returning.
    - we need manager codes for everything so you have a long line of people waiting
    - lazy manages
    - just stressful overrall
    - they’ve actually asked for staff to bring in sick notes if you’re ill

    1.4

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, August 2023

  • Best thing

    Colleagues became friends as everyone is so nice!

    Worst thing

    Management contradict each other.

    4.1

    Sports Direct Employee, August 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Easy going.

    Worst thing

    Having rude customers

    7.8

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, August 2023

  • Best thing

    The employees that work there. The breaks

    Worst thing

    How busy it gets and the unfair work loads

    6.6

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, July 2023

  • Best thing

    Have some good colleagues

    Worst thing

    Always understaffed

    6.4

    Sports Direct Employee, July 2023

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    How quiet it is and the pay

    4.6

    Sports Direct Store assistant, June 2023

  • Best thing

    Learning how to get the job done pretty quickly and how to communicate with people

    Worst thing

    Walking all day

    9.5

    Sports Direct Employee, June 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    People I work with, they employ you despite having no prior experience

    Worst thing

    Being on your feet for 6+ hours straight

    7.1

    Sports Direct Retail assistant, June 2023

  • Best thing

    Staff discount and the manager does the Rota to your availability.

    Worst thing

    Pay as your paid just above the minimum wage.
    No refunds policy, so many customers tend to argue.

    3.7

    Sports Direct Employee, June 2023

  • Best thing

    The jobs itself

    Worst thing

    Overworked
    Long hours
    No praise
    Head office don’t care about mental health or the wellbeing of staff in store

    2.8

    Sports Direct Supervisor, June 2023

  • Best thing

    My assistant manager

    Worst thing

    My manager & her son working their treating us all differently to him

    8.2

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with the discounts are really good aswell

    Worst thing

    Shifts can be different everywhere with no warning

    1.8

    Sports Direct Employee, May 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The job is easy if not short staffed.

    Worst thing

    Understaffed all the time, rude coworkers, unorganised management, and I don't get my contracted hours.

    4.6

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Weekly paid and staff discount

    Worst thing

    Poor management, constant changing rotas with no consultation, poor communication

    1.5

    Sports Direct Customer assistant, May 2023

  • Best thing

    My colleagues mostly very good one or two bad

    Worst thing

    Understaffed overworked underpaid

    3.7

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Working with different customers and getting to speak to them all and help them out.
    Rearranging the accessories is quite fun too.
    My supervisor and all other staff

    Worst thing

    The nasty customers you’d get every now and then.
    Short breaks.
    Travel to work

    6.0

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Not enough hours the majority of the time.
    Short breaks.

    7.8

    Sports Direct Employee, March 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The team and people I work with

    Worst thing

    Customers

    6.7

    Sports Direct Supervisor, February 2023

  • Best thing

    Get most weekends off

    Worst thing

    Staff turn over

    2.6

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Some of the people I work with.

    Worst thing

    The management and favouring certain people.

    1.8

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    0 hour contract

    6.4

    Sports Direct Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    coworkers are nice

    Worst thing

    managers don’t treat you like a person
    don’t get paid breaks
    my contract ended and they didn’t bother telling me
    i wasn’t trained properly
    the management don’t bother helping you
    always technical issues with tills

    1.2

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The store manager and manager

    3.4

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    people that work there

    Worst thing

    standing all day hurts your body

    3.5

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Worst thing

    Over worked. Long hours worked over the contracted hourse

    1.4

    Sports Direct Supervisor, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The staff are all friendly and helpful

    Worst thing

    0 hour contract

    6.6

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with
    Discount
    Commission

    Worst thing

    -Pointless breaks,long shifts
    -Getting half hour less than 6hrs to avoid getting a break
    -Having to train people when It's not my job ontop of having to continue to work at normal pace at the same time then being responsible for said person when they do things wrong
    -hard to change shifts that aren't possible to do/need altering
    -20 jobs for 1 person
    -Never leaving on time
    -Customers (there's a lot of rude ones)
    -constantly understaffed
    -it's bare minimum training so you basically go in blind and learn on the job but expected to know what to do
    -I could go on the list is endless...

    1.0

    Sports Direct Employee, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Last min shifts

    5.5

    Sports Direct Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The manager

    3.5

    Sports Direct Store assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Relaxed place to work

    Worst thing

    The hours

    8.2

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Going home

    Worst thing

    Too many jobs work for one person

    2.3

    Sports Direct Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Nice people and environment

    Worst thing

    Managers

    1.5

    Sports Direct Customer service, November 2022