Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

Spar job reviews

Showing 81 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The other staff that I work with,

    Worst thing

    No security so quite often get abuse and threats from unruly customers and head office don’t give a stuff

    4.0

    Employee, May 2021

    • £9.12 per hour
    • 55–64 years old
  • Best thing

    I enjoy the social customer care I give . Also work with good people

    Worst thing

    Over stretched off what expected to do on shift , not enough staff on to keep shop up to standard that required .

    3.7

    Employee, May 2021

    • £9.12 per hour
    • 55–64 years old
  • Best thing

    some of my team workers are great , proximity to home as i walk , regular customers in the early mornings ,

    6.3

    Employee, May 2021

    • £8.91 per hour
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    Work with some good staff

    6.1

    Employee, May 2021

    • £8.91 per hour
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    Close to home

    Worst thing

    Stressful at times

    5.1

    Employee, April 2021

    • £8.95 per hour
    • 55–64 years old
  • Best thing

    No travelling to work as local to me

    Worst thing

    Working until 10.00pm

    5.5

    Employee, April 2021

    • £8.91 per hour
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    It’s local retail,my shifts are short

    Worst thing

    Rarely have a manager present,so we have a lot of responsibility.

    4.6

    Employee, April 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 55–64 years old
  • Best thing

    The staff and the costumers

    Worst thing

    No breaks

    2.5

    Sales assistant, March 2021

    • £8.78 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Love my job and working as a tem

    Worst thing

    Horrible customers

    8.9

    Sales assistant, March 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    The expectation to be a key holder with those responsibilities on minimum wage

    5.1

    Part time sales assistant, March 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Lovely people good staff and shifts in advance

    Worst thing

    No respect never take on ideas lazy people never punished

    3.3

    Sales assistant, March 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Meeting different people

    Worst thing

    Can be boring

    10.0

    Employee, March 2021

    • Manages people
    • £9.50 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Staff are great good hours

    Worst thing

    Pressure to get more sales with less staff

    7.2

    Employee, March 2021

    • Manages people
    • £20,000 per year, working a 39 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The team I work on shifts with and most customers

    Worst thing

    Higher up managers don't seem to listen and poor pay

    4.2

    Sales assistant, March 2021

    • £8.00 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    The pay and conditions

    2.6

    Employee, February 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The daily contact with customers

    Worst thing

    Staff not getting along & management ignoring problems

    5.5

    Supervisor, February 2021

    • £8.91 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Colleagues, meeting new people, keeping busy

    Worst thing

    Ignorant customers

    8.2

    Store assistant, February 2021

    • £9.00 per hour
  • Best thing

    It's fun, easy to progress all about the team you are with though :)

    Worst thing

    Not worst thing, unreliable cover, I'm the responsible one. :)

    7.2

    Sales assistant, February 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The customers and staff

    Worst thing

    Customers

    4.7

    Sales assistant, February 2021

    • Manages people
    • £8.78 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The staff are fab

    Worst thing

    People

    7.6

    Employee, February 2021

    • £8.81 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Our team of staff and meeting different people

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff to do hours , covid, head office not understanding what it like to work in the shop

    4.7

    Store assistant, January 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    Working in a store where their are sisters and step mum

    6.6

    Till assistant, January 2021

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The people and customers I work with

    Worst thing

    Knowing I’m under paid

    7.2

    Supervisor, January 2021

    • Manages people
    • £9.50 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Good bunch of people

    Worst thing

    Can be very quiet and boring

    7.9

    Customer assistant, January 2021

    • £9.30 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Everyone’s nice

    Worst thing

    Shifts are too long

    5.2

    Customer advisor, January 2021

    • £6.85 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    My team is amazing. And I'm just left to get on with my job.

    Worst thing

    Head office seem to think they are to good for retail and look down on us

    6.6

    Assistant manager, January 2021

    • Manages people
    • £22,400 per year, working a 35 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Worst thing

    The money / working hours

    4.8

    Customer assistant, December 2020

    • £6.29 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Proximity to home and nice people

    Worst thing

    Involves some heavy lifting and late night s

    7.2

    Customer assistant, December 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Freedom

    Worst thing

    Early starts, long hours, handball

    6.5

    HGV driver, December 2020

    • £12.00 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Best thing about my job is the customers, after a while you create a bond with local customers, friends with work mates.

    Worst thing

    A lot of gossiping and stirring the pot from other staff. Talking behind people’s backs, unprofessional behaviour in the work place

    5.7

    Sales assistant, November 2020

    • £6.45 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Within walking distance of home.
    Some staff great to work with and when they are on shift it's actually a good job
    Customers and locals you get friendly with and see daily.
    If they had stuck to the agreed number of hours per week as arranged, discussed and they said I would do every week it would work perfectly around college.
    Staff discount for items bought in shop is nice.

    Worst thing

    Awful supervisors and managers bullying, harassing, constantly adding you to extra shifts on the rota without asking first making you have to keep telling them you can't work so it makes you look unwilling or lazy.

    Supervisors never covering the extra few shifts when needed and organising rotas to suit. Making you feel bad for asking them to help when there are long queues for tills and letting you get complaints from angry customers left waiting. Making you feel incompetent if you persevere and they have to come and serve on the tills as though it's only ever you that can't manage.

    Texts, calls and emails at all hours sometimes all night.

    2.4

    CUSTOMER ASSISTANT, November 2020

    • £8.45 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Able to do my job around university, manager is understanding and accommodating when doing the rota

    Worst thing

    Some management don't understand how the shop works, staff are allowed to be lazy and one manager is controlling

    4.6

    Customer Advisor, November 2020

    • £7.85 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Worst thing

    Told you are being constantly watched
    Everyone treated differently

    4.3

    Shop assistant, October 2020

    • £9.00 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Customers

    Worst thing

    Work load and others peoples stress

    4.0

    Sales assistant, September 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.45 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Working with people I like

    Worst thing

    Having to do an 8 hour shift with only a 20 min break. Suffering painful feet because I have to stand long periods of time at a till

    5.2

    Customer assistant, August 2020

    • £6.45 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    My colleagues make work enjoyable,

    Worst thing

    My manager constantly messages me even on my days off about work, there’s no escape from her, her texts are quite often very rude and abrupt. She also doesn’t appreciate the hard work my colleagues and I out in but does praise the ones who do very little

    3.4

    General assistant, July 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My hours are set hours because i have a disabled child

    Worst thing

    My manager

    3.1

    Cashier, July 2020

    • £8.73 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Manager rarely here at same time as me.
    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Shift patterns
    Pay

    6.0

    Team leader, July 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.73 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Easy

    Worst thing

    Don’t get paid enough

    8.8

    Sales assistant, June 2020

    • £9.80 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Easy work

    Worst thing

    Lazy co-workers and poor pay

    5.5

    General assistant, June 2020

    • £6.45 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    I am my own boss in the hours I work

    Worst thing

    It’s chaos

    4.9

    Supervisor, May 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.00 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The team I work with.

    Worst thing

    Lack of shift allowance & no sick pay

    8.2

    Night manager, April 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.25 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    No Traveling

    Worst thing

    The lack of respect from management and decent wages

    3.0

    Shift manager, April 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.61 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Staff are always very kind

    Worst thing

    Customers

    8.4

    Customer Advisor, March 2020

    • £6.88 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Great team work and customer's

    Worst thing

    Post office

    6.3

    Store manager, March 2020

    • Manages people
    • £23,400 per year, working a 41 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Sometimes it can be easy

    Worst thing

    Management.

    2.7

    Shop assistant, March 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Variety every day is different

    Worst thing

    Heavy workload and responsibility with not enough hours to use

    5.5

    Store manager, February 2020

    • Manages people
    • £22,300 per year, working a 40 hour week
    • 55–64 years old
  • Best thing

    It's in walking distant to where I live

    Worst thing

    Not being kept informed inspected to do more than is possible

    2.4

    Shop assistant, February 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 55–64 years old
  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Managers not very helpful arranging time off

    4.0

    Shop assistant, February 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    The hours and handy to home

    Worst thing

    No structure

    5.5

    Supervisor, February 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.60 per hour
    • 45–54 years old