South Western Railway

South Western Railway is a train operator. They run train services across Greater London, Surrey, Hampshire, Dorset and Berkshire.

southwesternrailway.com

South Western Railway job reviews

  • Best thing

    Free travel on certain train company

    Worst thing

    I don’t like my job at all it’s boring and managers has not tried to help me move up

    5.5

    South Western Railway Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay, benefits

    Worst thing

    3 shift system, no account for elderley staff

    9.2

    South Western Railway Employee, October 2021

16 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Every day is fundamentally different, I work with varied people from different backgrounds. The pay is great, we get ample leave and a fantastic pension.

    We also get excellent travel benefits.

    Worst thing

    Late night weekends with drunk passengers.

    Shift work.

    9.9

    South Western Railway Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Getting to make my own choices

    Worst thing

    Communication

    9.4

    South Western Railway Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay & benefits

    Worst thing

    Incredibly toxic environment, management team completely out of touch with staff & constantly arguing among themselves. Staff wellbeing ignored, bullying rampant.

    3.0

    South Western Railway Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people.

    Worst thing

    Meeting abusive people.

    9.5

    South Western Railway Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team, challenging and always busy

    Worst thing

    Shift work

    6.7

    South Western Railway Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Set hours, no 2 says the same

    Worst thing

    Passengers.......or at least the ones without tickets!

    9.9

    South Western Railway Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The job is easy and local with short early hours. Free travel as a perk. You are not stuck inside but working outside.

    Worst thing

    When train disruptions you as the front face of the company will get the customers complaints and frustrations. Lots of standing on the spot. Can be cold and windy and rainy. Railways have hierarchical systems and until you’ve been there a while you will be at the bottom of the pecking order.

    8.7

    South Western Railway Dispatcher, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Good and well paid

    Worst thing

    Nights

    9.6

    South Western Railway Manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    4 day week. No stress and always know what shifts you're working.

    9.6

    South Western Railway Train driver, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay, time off, final salary pension, full sick pay

    Worst thing

    Shifts, not choosing holiday,

    8.4

    South Western Railway Train driver, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Time off, 4 day week, pension, pay

    Worst thing

    Shifts changing by 2 hours with 36 hour notice, not choosing own annual leave dates,

    7.3

    South Western Railway Train driver, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Pay
    Team environment
    Each day is different

    Worst thing

    Shifts
    Angry passengers
    Alone working

    9.8

    South Western Railway Guard, November 2020

  • Best thing

    the money, the pension and the time off.

    Worst thing

    the higher management and management not understanding the job

    9.9

    South Western Railway Train driver, July 2020

  • Best thing

    high pay

    Worst thing

    no choice in holiday dates

    3.5

    South Western Railway Commerical guard, July 2020

  • Best thing

    Only actually work a few hours of what I'm scheduled to.
    Shifts were we are paid to sit spare.

    Worst thing

    Lots of free time whilst on the job, O her Guards who moan about how bad things are when they don't know how bad it is outside the railway.

    9.4

    South Western Railway Commercial guard, April 2020

  • Best thing

    The money

    Worst thing

    The people
    The shifts

    7.0

    South Western Railway Train operator, March 2020