Find other jobs

Manager

Smyths Toys

4.3

Not currently hiring

What do people say about working as a manager at Smyths Toys?

There's nobody here yet.

We're waiting for reviews…

When Smyths Toys workers have taken our quiz, we will share with you their best things and their worst things about working there.

What do other people say about working at Smyths Toys?

  • Best thing

    Good talking to customers, you get some nice people thaybyou work with,

    Worst thing

    Managers and some of the colleagues are rude, they gossip behind your back especially if your new, they lie about the pay, always make you feel bad if you have to adjust a shift, don’t really care about you, only pick out what you do that’s wrong, have a go at you if they don’t like something but do it themselves, just not a nice place to work. They’re only nice to you when you join but as your employment goes on they really don’t care

    2.3

    Smyths Toys Employee, March 2022

  • Worst thing

    Management, feeling like you have a place, or are part of the team, new members getting more hours than you, pay

    1.2

    Smyths Toys Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Talking to the children

    Worst thing

    People lying to your face

    7.8

    Smyths Toys Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    the staff are really rude

    1.7

    Smyths Toys Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Steady income

    Worst thing

    Customers, work load

    4.6

    Smyths Toys Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Underplayed but expected to overwork. Managers like to cause drama and always Gossip about staff as well as never believe you’re sick and make you feel bad for taking time off

    1.1

    Smyths Toys Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy work.

    Worst thing

    No career progression opportunities

    7.1

    Smyths Toys Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Using my sales skills to satisfy customers

    Worst thing

    The internal politics

    1.9

    Smyths Toys Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The best thing about the job was helping people

    Worst thing

    They didn't take into consideration that if my daughter wasn't well I couldn't work because I am a single mother with not much help

    1.9

    Smyths Toys Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Very good/ understanding managers.

    Worst thing

    Rusbbish pay.

    8.0

    Smyths Toys Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    the people you work with, always something to do

    Worst thing

    can be stressful, pay isn't great, not much progression if you don't want to be a manager

    7.6

    Smyths Toys Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Punctual, hardworking and friendly

    Worst thing

    Being isolated due to language barrier

    3.5

    Smyths Toys Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    helping parents make informed decisions on car seats and getting excited with them choosing things for their baby.
    seeing the love between new parents as well as the real stressors of parent good

    Worst thing

    paid less than older people that do less than me.
    rotas are always late out.
    cant book days off has to be weeks

    1.8

    Smyths Toys Employee, April 2021

  • Worst thing

    Hostile work environment, no help when needed, expected to do everything and no time to do it

    2.3

    Smyths Toys Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers

    Worst thing

    Favouritism among staff ie unfair shifts working

    2.1

    Smyths Toys Sales assistant, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay good shifts easy going

    Worst thing

    Christmas pay rises dont come often

    8.8

    Smyths Toys Duty manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team

    Worst thing

    Management are impatient and immature at times

    7.5

    Smyths Toys Shop assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Miscommunication often between managers and a bad rota

    1.4

    Smyths Toys Retail assistant, February 2020

  • Best thing

    The people become your family.

    Worst thing

    Demanding, high expectations, long hours

    3.3

    Smyths Toys Supervisor, December 2019

🤫 We’re not like other job sites…

Dismiss

Every job on Breakroom is backed by ratings and reviews from 252,994 people (and counting).