Serco

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Serco hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Serco is an outsourcing company. They provide services for defence, healthcare and transport industries.

serco.com

Serco job reviews

Showing 47 reviews

  • Best thing

    Pride in what I do

    Worst thing

    Long hours

    8.4

    Serco Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with day to day

    Worst thing

    Not being able to unchange my rota at all wince they changed it again and again

    1.3

    Serco Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The time off

    Worst thing

    Being away from family for so long

    8.0

    Serco Chef, November 2022

  • Best thing

    I really enjoy my job. Every day is different

    Worst thing

    No benefits. Poorly paid. Unsafe. Get sacked if you're off sick too much. No home life. Pressured to work extra hours

    2.3

    Serco Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Other people who I work with

    Worst thing

    The lack of communication from managers

    4.1

    Serco Lifeguard, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The best things about the job is the character development and the experience you get

    Worst thing

    Everything. The job is unsafe, they're understaffed all the time. You are treated as just a number rather than a person. Serco is the definition of "overworked and underpaid"

    1.1

    Serco Employee, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Keeping away from courts

    Worst thing

    Finishing time is not so great

    2.8

    Serco Prison officer, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Senior management

    3.5

    Serco Employee, October 2022

  • Best thing

    I enjoy my job, I don't like how SERCO try to manage it

    Worst thing

    SERCO interference

    5.5

    Serco Employee, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Having offline time approved so you can get a break away from the hectic stress of phones. But it rarely is approved.

    Worst thing

    How you get treated from both: Employees in higher positions and claimants on the phone.
    How strict they are with you needing short breaks away from the phones.
    The lack of respect they have for us in our job title and how badly is can mentally effect you.

    1.8

    Serco Customer advisor, September 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Good people, good managers

    Worst thing

    Draining

    8.8

    Serco Customer advisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    No two days the same

    Worst thing

    Shift work, boredom

    5.0

    Serco Security officer, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Decent pay

    Worst thing

    Not full time hours

    8.6

    Serco Catering assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Good standard of training provided

    Worst thing

    Poor communication, poor operational coordination, lack of overall care for safety of workforce

    4.6

    Serco Prisoner custody officer, July 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Porr mangment and don't know how to do the job

    5.0

    Serco HGV driver, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I love the patients on my ward and the NHS staff I wish we had never been privatized

    Worst thing

    The amount of paper work every thing is closely scrutinized and you will receive a written warning if you make a mistake

    8.0

    Serco Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Very relaxed

    Worst thing

    Lack of training despite working in high-risk areas (covid wards, ICU, NICU, etc.) Hard to understand what is expected of me and what possible risks there are

    6.4

    Serco Domestic cleaner, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Shift pattern means we get a week off every other week
    Respected by managers

    Worst thing

    Lack of communication between shifts and office politics

    4.5

    Serco Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Out in the fresh air not bothered by management too often

    Worst thing

    Cliquey crews if your face doesn't fit you are not in the crew

    3.0

    Serco Refuse collector, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The role provides a good quality of training and takes care of its new recruits by covering expenses, such as travel costs and accommodation during the training period.

    Worst thing

    After passing training there is little support or care from the company. They do not replace uniform that is damaged even in exceptional circumstances, and they often fail to provide you with necessary equipment. Staff members and management can be very 'clicky', quick to point out errors but less keen to teach you the correct way, and they encourage a highly negative atmosphere between staff members. This often culminates in rumours and inappropriate comments made behind the backs of other staff members.

    3.0

    Serco Prisoner custody officer, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Remote work..no travel.costs. variety

    Worst thing

    Hard to move Rota. Take time off.for health appts.. no support.. we give and they take

    1.6

    Serco Call centre agent, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Weekly pay

    Worst thing

    Treatment to employees

    2.0

    Serco Call centre agent, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly Staff

    Worst thing

    Stressful, expected to work long hours in high risk environment

    2.8

    Serco Cleaner, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the ward I work on

    Worst thing

    The time I have to work as its 3 - 8.30

    9.8

    Serco Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s fairly secure through covid

    Worst thing

    Out of touch management, stress, have to get in early or there’s not enough time to do the job required, low pay, very cliquey, not respected and feel like a small pixel in a big picture.......

    4.5

    Serco Employee, August 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    You learn about people, and you can see actually what's happening in the world

    Worst thing

    Not given you safety,like they say on the paperwork

    8.2

    Serco Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people(patients) cheering them up and having a clean ward

    Worst thing

    Working with masks on in the heat we are having just now. Cleaning a full ward on my own when we are short staffed.

    8.6

    Serco Domestic, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Keeping on my
    Walk

    Worst thing

    Not getting enuff day

    1.5

    Serco Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people that I work with and no two days are the same.

    Worst thing

    Lack of communication from management

    1.6

    Serco Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Great place and company to work for

    Worst thing

    None

    10

    Serco Domestic assistant, May 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    We get paid

    Worst thing

    Management don’t care about staff

    2.6

    Serco Facilities, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Steady income

    Worst thing

    To many too list

    2.8

    Serco Refuse collector, March 2021

  • Best thing

    no commute

    Worst thing

    No exercise, stuck at pc all day

    9.8

    Serco Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Fits my life style suits me

    Worst thing

    If short staffed

    9.7

    Serco Duty manager, March 2021

  • Best thing

    My work colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Equality, favouritism not being listened to, management disregard for staff

    1.3

    Serco Prison officer, March 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I'm allowed to manage my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Taken for granted and lack of support when I ask for help

    4.9

    Serco Van driver, February 2021

  • Best thing

    My workmates in my department

    Worst thing

    Being treated as third class

    2.1

    Serco Porter, February 2021

  • Best thing

    My team and manager are amazing

    Worst thing

    Short breaks

    8.6

    Serco Agent, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    The shifts not knowing what time you finish

    2.0

    Serco Prisoner custody officer, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Raport and support with colleagues

    Worst thing

    Long shifts

    1.1

    Serco Prison officer, January 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Management

    7.3

    Serco Administrator, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Higher management

    3.7

    Serco Prisoner custody officer, January 2021

  • Best thing

    You get into your dustcart and get out of the yard and wont often hear from management unless you've made a mistake and once you settle with a crew its like an extension to your family we all look out for each other

    Worst thing

    Corruption in management
    Managers working with severe criminal records
    Unwilling to help you when you need it
    Management making decisions without consulting the crews who do the job every day and wont accept when it wont work

    3.7

    Serco Refuse collector, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Who I work with

    Worst thing

    Unsociable shift patterns, long hours, no over time

    1.3

    Serco Prisoner custody officer, September 2020

  • Best thing

    Secure job

    Worst thing

    Uncertainty for the futer of the business.
    Things change too often.
    No respect from higher management

    6.0

    Serco Detainee custody officer, August 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Know your work pattern

    Worst thing

    Work load and unreasonable job requested

    2.6

    Serco Street cleansing, July 2020

  • Best thing

    Teaching swimming

    Worst thing

    Lack of enthusiasm from other employees

    4.2

    Serco Swimming teacher, July 2020