Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

Sainsbury’s job reviews

Showing 466 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    I love being part of a team,I love feeling I,ve accomplished my best.

    Worst thing

    It is very unorganised,alot of the time rotas are wrong,and your on your own at your Bessie's time of the day,which stop you achieving the sales.

    3.4

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff discount

    Worst thing

    Managers treat you like a child

    4.9

    Employee, September 2021

464 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Worst thing

    Too many to list. Disgusting.

    2.6

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible, family friendly

    Worst thing

    Being asked to do more than one person can physically do

    8.6

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    My work colleagues

    Worst thing

    Not enough workers for the amount of labour

    8.0

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Discount, some of the people and going home.

    Worst thing

    Not being appreciated (a thank you goes a long way), going in to work.

    4.9

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay

    Worst thing

    You have to break your back to reach targets. High turn over off staff due to exhaustion.

    3.8

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    contracted hours, discount, same hours every week

    Worst thing

    managers, customers

    5.2

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The colleagues I work with and I enjoy the variety of my department

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting

    6.4

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    It's quiet

    Worst thing

    Constant pressure to do more feeling like the job is under threat otherwise

    7.6

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    My shifts fit in with day to day life.

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff, training, benefits, cuts in hours, single manning at busy times due to being short staffed/hour cuts. Won't give more hours to employ more staff because not enough sales - Can't increase sales because not enough staff!

    2.8

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Convenient location
    Good hours
    Friendly staff

    Worst thing

    Staffing shortages and high turnover of staff

    5.7

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Own bos while on the road

    Worst thing

    Company acts like big brother

    7.2

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Not wearing uniform, having your own work email

    Worst thing

    Box ticking tasks

    6.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The awful pay

    4.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    I like the practical side of it where I do various tasks on the shop floor and work with my team.

    Worst thing

    The customers.

    7.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Working as a team.

    Worst thing

    Dealing with customers every day

    4.7

    Employee, August 2021

  • Worst thing

    Sickness
    People are draining a lot of changes often not needed

    3.1

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    That’s I don’t have to deal with customer complaints

    Worst thing

    Getting up in the middle of the night to go do my job

    6.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Making new friends amd learning new skills.

    Worst thing

    Being treated like a skive.

    4.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Good rate of hourly pay, occasional bonus payments and good working conditions

    Worst thing

    Not enough understanding of situations from managers no communication with staff and management

    4.2

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Nasty / rude people

    7.2

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Short hours

    Worst thing

    No flexibility, no social life

    5.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    You can get on with the job easily. It's hard work but rewarding. Support is always given

    Worst thing

    When not enough stock comes in and you don't have much to do

    9.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The other people

    Worst thing

    Most of it

    5.5

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting

    8.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The wage

    Worst thing

    The amount that has yo be done

    7.6

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    People there and the managers

    Worst thing

    Sometimes time drags on but thats like that for anywhere

    9.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s an easy job to do with little training required but instead need to use your common sense a little bit

    Worst thing

    I don’t believe higher up management really understand how much goes into the job or what customers really want and so often ask things of us that are not actually necessary in the moment thinking that they know best. This makes me feel like I’m wasting time doing a pointless task even if I am getting paid for it because I know I can use my time more efficiently. It also doesn’t help that not everyone is reinforced to behave in the same way so I might be singled out for not doing something however another might not be told or corrected

    4.5

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers and some staff

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff .cutting down staff all the time.they have no idea about mental health.

    3.1

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Best thing about my job is when I am on the road driving.

    Worst thing

    Just about everything.

    7.6

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Dealing with all kinds of customers engaging with customers having a chat making sure they leave the store Happy.

    Worst thing

    Customer complaints.

    8.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Looks good in the CV, inclusive employer

    Worst thing

    Lack of work-life balance, ever changing rotas, unpaid overtime, overworking

    3.1

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The people are nice and the pay is good for what you do

    Worst thing

    Can't progress unless you suck up to management and overwork yourself. Some people don't pull their weight and management does nothing about it. Too many managers that don't communicate with one another so nobody knows what's happening half the time

    6.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Variety of different delivery locations and interesting customers

    Worst thing

    Procedures can make you feel like a number. There are often many changes to the way the business runs

    6.6

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The perks are good

    Worst thing

    In order to get those perks, we have stand on feet for 8 hours.

    2.1

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Payment

    Worst thing

    The targets are too high and it us impoasible to achieve ta 100 percent

    4.6

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The collegues

    Worst thing

    Having to be on your feet constantly

    6.3

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Finishing early in morning

    Worst thing

    Kills my feet

    8.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people, if your face fits you will do well for as long as the person who thinks you are wonderful is around.

    Worst thing

    Stress, mind numbing boredom, never feeling valued or appreciated.

    4.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers. The conversations between us colleagues. The bond between certain customers

    Worst thing

    On my feet all the time or sitting down at the till for hours affects my knees

    7.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Management

    5.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Never have the same day twice

    Worst thing

    It's a hard job with heavy lifting

    9.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and customers

    Worst thing

    Refusing Alcohol

    5.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The customer

    Worst thing

    Lack of labour hours if people off sick or on holiday no cover

    7.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Starting early you get the rest of the day to yourself

    Worst thing

    Continuous chasing us to reach iph = items per hour ..... and stressing some people out over it

    5.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours I work fit in well with my family life.

    Worst thing

    Lack of communication from those above me.

    7.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people, working to a timetable, seeing new places, problem solving

    Worst thing

    Mangers not noticing how hard you work, not having time to see other colleagues, not seeing a manger unless your in trouble. No air con in the vans on very hot days, working weekends, not bring respected for the job

    4.9

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Customer interaction, friendly colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Bad, rude customers. People stealing.

    7.9

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Starting my shift early in the morning and finishing with plenty of the day left.

    Worst thing

    A lot of the people can be incredibly rude.

    7.2

    Employee, July 2021