Sainsbury’s

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Sainsbury’s hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Sainsbury’s is the third largest supermarket chain in the UK.

sainsburys.co.uk

Sainsbury’s job reviews

Showing 730 reviews

  • Best thing

    Certain members of staff are more like family late shifts so don't have to worry about child care

    Worst thing

    Management don't listen

    5.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, August 2022

  • Worst thing

    Pressure of making sure all the delivery is worked.
    Others getting away with doing little or no work.
    Expecting multiple jobs such as code checking, damages & delivery to be worked in a little time frame.

    6.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Don’t have to see customer

    Worst thing

    Manager not doing there jobs

    6.8

    Sainsbury’s Shift, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy job love driving and spend most of the time out in my own

    Worst thing

    Mangers are unexperienced and when left with a problem leave to there staff to sort out or if we’re busy they walk off to the office to have a cuppa

    5.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you get to work around

    Worst thing

    The poor loading conditions and getting stuck with bad jobs

    4.8

    Sainsbury’s General assistant, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Lifting

    Worst thing

    Coming in and seeing new manager

    4.9

    Sainsbury’s Online assistant, July 2022

  • Worst thing

    Toxic colleagues who bring others down especially with disabilities and mental health issues

    4.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Worst thing

    No staff so the pressure is on you without any benefits. Breaks are time slotted with no say in them. Forced to be multi-skilled without extra pay with those skills. If you're sick, you get a disciplinary. Management can cause £100's of damage with no problems but they'll take away your pay at any given chance.

    2.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Having a good relationship with colleagues

    Worst thing

    Early starts

    9.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Being out on the road delivering to customers.

    Worst thing

    Being late leaving the store when it's not your fault.

    8.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    Everything the company doesn’t care for you at all, so underpaid, no staff no sense of achievement.

    2.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Some friends

    Worst thing

    Mangers
    The way we are spoken too
    The training
    The expectation
    The stress
    The goals
    The unrealistic things that are expected to be achieved in four hours

    1.1

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The co-workers

    Worst thing

    Understaffed, stressful, too many targets, too much pressure added.

    6.4

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Ease of workload

    Worst thing

    Mardy customers
    Mardy workers
    Stressed out management

    5.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Working nights

    Worst thing

    Demanding and hard work especially if deliveries are late

    8.7

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    - I'm popular with staff
    - I'm trained in multiple departments so have improved my skill base

    Worst thing

    - some members of management take you for granted

    8.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The rate of pay is good

    Worst thing

    Management have no communication and don’t understand individual needs

    4.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Worst thing

    Customers, Lack of respect from magement and no understanding when University commitments take priority

    5.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    The customers, not enough pay

    8.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Being out on the road delivering the best customer service

    Worst thing

    Finishing early and not getting paid

    9.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people who I work with are brilliant

    Worst thing

    Some people get paid the same as myself for doing so much less work

    9.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The hours i work

    Worst thing

    No help or gratitude

    2.1

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Best thing about the job is the people I work with

    Worst thing

    Management ain't the best and don't feel appreciated for the actual amount of work I do always leaves us short staffed then we're expected to do the job of 3 people

    3.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues!

    Worst thing

    No staff. Penny pinching company

    4.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The other colleagues I work with

    Worst thing

    The manager and the way they treat us

    3.4

    Sainsbury’s Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The Colleagues that I work with

    Worst thing

    The managers that we have

    3.7

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with people and interacting and helping colleagues and customers

    Worst thing

    Working weekends

    8.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting people.
    Helping the elderly and infirmed.

    Worst thing

    Loading panic before setting out on a delivery.

    8.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount.

    Worst thing

    Management not understanding when you say no to working days you don't do.

    4.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    knowing where the good food

    6.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Staff discount

    Worst thing

    For Sick leave you have to call in for each day, understaffed

    8.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    People i work with

    Worst thing

    Early morning shifts

    9.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Met some brilliant people

    Worst thing

    Pay is pathetic vs

    4.1

    Sainsbury’s Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s easy and has nice people

    Worst thing

    The managers

    1.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    My role is fairly simple to carry out, and overall the job is decent.

    Worst thing

    You often get overloaded with various tasks due to lack of staff. For instance: I'm the primary code checker, however it will sometimes fall to me to take care of deliveries because I'm one of a few colleagues trained on the back door, taking time away from my code checking. I can't put in 100% when I'm split between two completely different tasks.

    6.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some staff
    Close to home
    Discount

    Worst thing

    Management within departments and store
    Sexism
    Creepy / inappropriate staff & management
    Incompetent staff members
    Under staffed - over worked
    Double standards
    Cleanliness
    Little to no training - very few multi role staff
    Lack of progression
    Racism
    No job security for students

    3.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Managers don’t even know how to do the job

    2.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The teams you can work within can make the day much more enjoyable

    Worst thing

    This job is unkind to parents as they don't often account for childcare or even outside commitments. Upper management don't sometimew seem to take into account various shifts across the week and doesn't take complaints seriously

    2.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay
    Colleagues
    Flexibility for students

    Worst thing

    Management
    Work load
    Customers

    5.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Fairly simple work

    Worst thing

    Holidays are horrendous management are too demanding without offering solutions

    3.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    As night shift, no customers

    Worst thing

    Sometimes expected to do more than what is physically possible
    Short staffed
    The company is really tight on sick days

    6.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Management don't talk with each other on decision

    9.4

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The people who work there

    7.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff members are like family.

    Worst thing

    Late at night it can be very quiet. And it is open till 11pm but should only be 10pm.

    9.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The breaks

    Worst thing

    The manager waiting for me outside of the bathroom

    6.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It’s a permanent job and PST is ok

    Worst thing

    No respect always try do things behind closed doors never thank you or help you progress

    5.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly staff

    Variation in job roles

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff
    (no overtime and people being asked to take unpaid leave when sainsburys are reporting record profits)

    People aren't treated the same or fairly

    Run on excuses

    7.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with everyone and getting alot. True friendhship.

    Worst thing

    The store has lack of staff. It's busy and it gets stressfull at times especially when we dont have the staff.

    7.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    I know my hours I get paid for every hour I do.
    The other staff/ managers are 😃 great

    Worst thing

    Can be boring but so can all jobs

    10

    Sainsbury’s Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Current dept manager has time for you. Keep changing managers

    Worst thing

    Can't voice your concerns

    7.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, April 2022