Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
6.4

Sainsbury’s

Sainsbury’s job reviews

Showing 592 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Talking to customers

    Worst thing

    Not getting off on time

    6.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Get to listen to music and do things during the day that I can

    Worst thing

    Not giving more people full contracts as there are not enough stuff that stick around; Somethings understaffed.

    4.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

590 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    You get paid, generally people are reasonable and compared to some supermarkets I've worked for ok

    Worst thing

    You live in fear of a customer complaint, as the manager will not back you and will take you into a room and basically tear a strip off you threatening your job... doesn't matter how abusive the customer is or if it wasn't your fault they don't want complaints. Same with sick leave genuine or not you have 1% a year above that you will lose your job.

    4.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    such sick people to work with everyone is nice and friendly

    Worst thing

    hours can drag

    8.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    interacting with my community and helping people get what they need/want without it feeling like it takes up my time

    Worst thing

    waking up early/ even tho i still like the organisation

    8.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Get to chat with customers, working in a great team

    Worst thing

    Wet, dark nights and houses with no digns

    7.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Flexible
    Good pay

    Worst thing

    Can be stressful

    7.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Great staff to work with, the management need to know what's going on

    Worst thing

    Late shifts

    5.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Customer interaction I get different questions every time I work if this product is good would I recommend or what would be the best one to get for certain situations

    8.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    the people

    Worst thing

    some managers don’t mind their business

    8.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and customers

    Worst thing

    Manger do not listen or show there faces enough

    5.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay for my age

    Worst thing

    Management
    No communication
    Not that many shifts - not updated on shift changes = loss of hours

    5.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Enjoy the people I work with, can get shifts changed easily, managers are pretty helpful when you ask for their help

    Worst thing

    Lack of training in some areas, never updated in new changes, not good with advancing in the job role if you wish to

    6.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay

    Worst thing

    Toxic environment
    Inflexible

    3.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping customers

    Worst thing

    They don't care about staff wellbeing

    3.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Lack of support

    3.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The colleagues and customers

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    8.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff discount on food you'd buy anyway. Secure job.

    Worst thing

    Management that doesn't do their job and makes your job difficult. They take advantage of you if you work hard along with zero performance initiative make it hell for anyone wanting to work hard.

    2.6

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Unrealistic expectations
    Managers favouritism
    Get treated like a child
    Work load is a lot

    6.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The team members

    Worst thing

    The load needed to be completed within a certain time frame

    5.7

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    I love the people I work with

    6.7

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Everything from the moment you walk in it’s hell on Earth.

    4.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible Hours and colleagues

    Worst thing

    Workload is sometimes so much that it is so stressful and managers don’t recognise that

    6.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Mangers
    Shifts
    Lack of staff
    Stress on younger people

    3.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay is really quite good.
    I get to work with my friend

    Worst thing

    Stressful.
    All training i’ve done was useless for the jobs i do.
    Some of the counter staff are rude and dismissive, i’m a new employee and they all don’t help me out with things i struggle with.
    i’m constantly stressed and since i joined i’ve been dizzy and feeling faint every single day i work.

    2.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    making hot drinks for people and perfecting it

    Worst thing

    stress and the dishwasher when it doesn’t work

    7.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Money

    Worst thing

    The time it takes up

    5.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay and easy

    Worst thing

    Terrible breaks. Only 20 minutes for a 6 hour shift or 30 minutes for 8 hour, isn’t fair

    5.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the people i work with

    Worst thing

    managers not thinking i can do my job properly because i’m u der 18 and female

    5.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the pay

    Worst thing

    hard to book time off
    stressful sometimes
    boring

    6.1

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues are nice

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff, quite physical and tiring when busy

    4.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the pay

    Worst thing

    the workload. most of the time there isn’t enough leaving me bored

    7.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Work feels satisfying when done

    Worst thing

    No support, higher management don’t understand how under staffed we are

    6.3

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Customers

    7.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The pay can be questionable when you’re on the same as everyone and have more responsibility’s than the average colleague

    6.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the people you work with are amazing and become really good friends
    The pay was fair when we were fully staffed, less so now that we work harder to cover the gaps.

    Worst thing

    I specifically load vans in the early morning shift so the 2am wake ups
    The excruciating back pain and body aches
    Losing staff and management not hiring back people because we're over budget
    The constant asking for an extra person to be able to help you in a certain role but management never hire anybody to help despite agreeing with you
    Nobody caring or being allowed to follow risk assessments because we have to work harder because of understaffing
    Hypocritical management having a go for not working hard enough but stands round talking themselves and get verbally pissed off when they have to do some actual hands on work
    Some people doing the absolute bare minimum of work because "why would I when other people will do it"
    Delivery drivers who have designated time to help you but just hide away or watch you struggle instead but get paid more to do so
    The General assistant role is stressful because you have times to meet and everyone else in the grocery online world tries to make your life harder and you get blamed for things going wrong which are out of your control
    THE BACK PAIN

    5.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    Too many heavy things , long hrs eg: on Xmas eve , too much stress and pressure and need to beware of time , not a good job

    6.1

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    other staff members, good pay

    Worst thing

    rude customers every day :(

    8.2

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the pay

    Worst thing

    treated unfairly if you’re young but some supervisors stick up for you

    2.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people my age

    Worst thing

    My mangers

    4.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Few managers are nice and can be understanding if ya tell them the whole story

    6.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good colleagues, relatively easy work, 45 minute break, good managers

    Worst thing

    Long hours overnight but do get used to it.
    Delivery’s can be large at Christmas but managers understand and don’t expect it all to go out

    9.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The management don't have a clue what's going on

    8.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    The managers are horrible and bullies

    2.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The Team spirit in store

    Worst thing

    False sense of security from sainsburys. Hard to progress

    6.8

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff are like family, colleague discount and pay

    Worst thing

    Working New Year’s Day

    9.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers

    Worst thing

    When others do not complete their tasks on time which has a domino effect on the rest of us

    8.9

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping customers and they call you “a little star” 🥰😂

    Worst thing

    It’s the exact same thing for 4 hours. If you enjoy it that’s cool. Also you start work at 4am

    8.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Friends there

    Worst thing

    Managers and useless colleagues

    5.0

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues
    Discount
    Working hours

    Worst thing

    Working hours
    Breaks
    Responsibilitys

    4.5

    Sainsbury’s Employee, December 2021