Poundland

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Poundland hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies reach the next generation of candidates.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Poundland is a discount retailer. The majority of their products are sold for £1.

poundland.co.uk

Poundland job reviews

Showing 116 reviews

  • Best thing

    Doing different things every week

    Worst thing

    Shop lifters

    8.0

    Poundland Sales assistant, February 2024

  • Best thing

    That it isn’t too stressful

    Worst thing

    Disrespectful customers

    8.2

    Poundland Sales assistant, January 2024

  • Best thing

    It is a job

    Worst thing

    No progress

    4.1

    Poundland Employee, January 2024

  • Best thing

    I work with nice people, and have a lot of regular customers

    Worst thing

    I was hired as a sales assistant however only work on the tills. I am often left alone on the shop floor, when some customers can get aggressive and there are many thefts. I received very little training and had to work most things out as I encountered them, being scolded if I made the wrong decision on how to handle something. There is clear favouritism from the manager towards certain members of staff. There is high staff turnover and they find it difficult to hire new people who stick around.

    2.4

    Poundland Sales assistant, November 2023

  • Best thing

    The managers have an open door policy and are always happy to help with any personal problems you may experience

    Worst thing

    Poundland is notorious for shoplifters and. It all stores will have security guards

    9.2

    Poundland Supervisor, October 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Team in store

    Worst thing

    Work life balance
    No support
    Low pay

    2.6

    Poundland Store manager, September 2023

  • Best thing

    Getting the Paycheck

    Worst thing

    Stress,Bad co workers and the hours

    2.5

    Poundland Cashier, August 2023

  • Best thing

    A couple of workable colleagues who make if enjoyable

    Worst thing

    No sick pay ,not enough staff, overworked for position

    4.5

    Poundland Sales assistant, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Working with people

    Worst thing

    Lack of hours
    No one to cover sickness
    High expectations
    Poor pay
    Welfare of colleagues as they say they care but then take guards out of stores to cut costs
    Retail teams lose everything and then they employ more people in head office on massive wages and make new job roles for them

    5.5

    Poundland Store manager, April 2023

  • Best thing

    That it’s not hard work

    Worst thing

    Pay

    6.0

    Poundland Sales assistant, March 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Honestly my co workers, they're great to work with, have a laugh with and talk too. Can really make my day when I'm feeling down.

    Worst thing

    Customers that can see you tidying up the shop floor but continue to mess it up.

    8.4

    Poundland Sales assistant, March 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Management

    2.3

    Poundland Sales assistant, February 2023

  • Best thing

    Helping people get the best possible deals

    Worst thing

    Some staff thinking they are better than others

    8.2

    Poundland Supervisor, February 2023

  • Best thing

    Routine,

    Worst thing

    Clicky, managers attitudes ,never happy and bring people down from the getgo as soon as you turn up

    1.1

    Poundland Cleaner, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Friendly team that I work with and perks of the job like a 10% discount card

    Worst thing

    Customers are sometimes quite rude

    9.1

    Poundland Sales assistant, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It’s a relaxed atmosphere even though it’s nearly Christmas

    Worst thing

    Can’t get boring

    7.7

    Poundland Sales assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the stuff and Customer

    Worst thing

    Some of the stuff and at the moment is being cold as we have to have the doors open

    1.3

    Poundland Sales assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    It's something I enjoy

    Worst thing

    Being put in for random shifts and more hours than I wanted to work

    3.4

    Poundland Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting customers

    Worst thing

    Not enough hours

    6.9

    Poundland Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    That I’m still in education and I have to only do the days I’m available and then it gets held against me I am limited on days if I ask to change a odd day to see a family member and people who arnt supervisors act like they are and gossip about you and constantly feeling like your doing everything wrong at work

    1.5

    Poundland Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Smoke breaks

    Worst thing

    Given job after job when I haven’t finished the previous job

    5.0

    Poundland Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    my colleagues

    Worst thing

    Not enough notice for your rota

    1.1

    Poundland Sales assistant, October 2022

  • Best thing

    My sales assistants I work with

    Worst thing

    My manager and the company

    1.1

    Poundland Supervisor, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Gr8 team gr8 customers

    Worst thing

    Stressful, Undervalued, under appreciated and sometimes unsafe.

    1.2

    Poundland Store Assistant, September 2022

  • Best thing

    My team we get on really well and I have made some very good friends

    Worst thing

    Management do not care for staff area manager has no people skills and just comes in to stir the pot and verbally abuse staff

    1.2

    Poundland Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I get on well with colleagues

    Worst thing

    Certain staff members

    2.6

    Poundland Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Money, and a schedule

    Worst thing

    Bring on my feet with not breaks
    No communication
    I do everything while everyone does notjing

    1.1

    Poundland Store assistant, August 2022

  • Worst thing

    Health and safety risks, no security guards and customers are disrespectful

    1.5

    Poundland Sales assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Some employees

    Worst thing

    The way your spoken to by management
    Advertising your job without knowing
    Discriminate mental health

    1.6

    Poundland Sales assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the employees and nice customers

    Worst thing

    Some employees abd the mean customers

    8.0

    Poundland Sales assistant, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some of the other sales assistants as well as a couple of

    2.6

    Poundland Sales assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Visual merchandising in fashion, the team.

    Worst thing

    Management, company policies, pay, lack of communication, recognition and respect.

    2.1

    Poundland Assistant manager, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The lack of communication. Only being allowed to book whole weeks holidays at a time.

    2.0

    Poundland Sales assistant, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Getting on with members of the team

    Worst thing

    Managers are not doing their part in order to make things fair for everyone! Head office needs to tackle this

    2.3

    Poundland Sales assistant, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Great colleagues

    Worst thing

    Standing all day

    8.0

    Poundland Sales assistant, March 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The best things about Poundland is the discount and you meet different people

    Worst thing

    The worst thing about poundland is the manager they moan about not pressing the buzzer for more staff when their is a cue or they moan if your not quick enough doing your jobs that your asked to do their has been times when I have thought on the way home about quiting

    1.9

    Poundland Sales assistant, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Fellow staff members, friendly customers, getting to do physical work can be very satisfying

    Worst thing

    Managers will let you be abused and screamed at and do nothing, head office want everyone on 0 hour contracts and to keep us desperate for hours so we’ll come in whenever we’re asked. They don’t respect us, just exploit our labour and make our lives unliveable.

    1.5

    Poundland Sales assistant, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Team spirit, the community, staff discount

    Worst thing

    The workload

    8.2

    Poundland Supervisor, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Really kind welcoming staff. Flexibility.

    Worst thing

    Customers

    7.5

    Poundland Sales assistant, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The team
    Understanding between us

    Worst thing

    Shoplifters
    Abuse from customers

    7.0

    Poundland Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Discounts, vouchers

    Worst thing

    No security, constantly getting robbed, standing all day, selling product focus to every customer then getting in trouble if you don’t

    5.5

    Poundland Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    People work with

    Worst thing

    How get spoken to
    How much work is expected of me

    1.5

    Poundland Supervisor, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Nice employees

    Worst thing

    Sometimes short staffed

    7.8

    Poundland Sales assistant, February 2022

  • Best thing

    We all have lots of fun

    Worst thing

    When the place gets to full of people

    9.8

    Poundland Sales assistant, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Managers and staff in charge are brilliant

    Worst thing

    Standing all shift with bad knees

    8.2

    Poundland Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    the team i work with and the job role

    Worst thing

    customers can we quite rude towards staff

    9.2

    Poundland Sales assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    All the colleagues are so nice

    Worst thing

    Sometimes there is nothing to do

    9.3

    Poundland Store assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The team.

    Worst thing

    The equipment and the type of people that shop here

    7.5

    Poundland Sales assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues and the nice customers

    Worst thing

    We get treated poorly by customers and we have no chairs at the till we have to stand the whole time

    3.0

    Poundland Retail assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Delivery shifts when shops is shut

    Worst thing

    Management, hours , being forced to push product focus and getting shouted at if it’s not 7% rotas one day in advance

    1.1

    Poundland Sales assistant, November 2021