One Stop

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. One Stop hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

One Stop is a convenience store company, with locations in England and Wales.

onestop.co.uk

One Stop job reviews

Showing 99 reviews

  • Best thing

    Working with the other lads in lorries all day

    Worst thing

    Long days, stupid planning, dangerous delivery’s

    9.9

    One Stop Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    salary

    Worst thing

    boring, not understanding with personal problems

    2.6

    One Stop Customer service assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    A few good staff members

    Worst thing

    Rude customers that threaten you, shoplifters (all on a daily basis ) no security on the door to help

    1.5

    One Stop Customer service assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff discounts. A few colleagues I work with.

    Worst thing

    Lots of stress due lack of official training. Expected to complete online training on own time at home. Huge amounts of work loads I.e. own job deliveroo, evri and deliveries and if you were busy and not everything is done 100% at end of shift you get grief.

    1.6

    One Stop Customer service assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    People who worked with me were friendly and liked to have nice chats. Fast paced environment. Not judgmental about appearance (piercings/hair colour was fine) and generally hired anyone.

    Worst thing

    Low pay, low hours, depending on which store it either has low contracted hours or a rota that you had to go into the store to see each week and remember when you're working. Environment had a lot of nasty customers, managers didn't help if they harrassed me. Was told I wasn't doing enough/fast enough and when I asked how to do something better or faster I wasn't told - I was left in the dark about how to do anything despite being a student.

    2.6

    One Stop Retail assistant, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    -paid by the hour
    -bond with customers
    -most coworkers are nice to be around
    -quite relaxed and feels comfortable and safe
    -people help with things when needed and understand when you don't know something first few times.
    -shop is clean and organised well.
    -lots of CCTV so if anything bad happened I know it can be checked through.
    -can pick up someone's shift for more experience or money

    Worst thing

    -i don't always get told things so don't feel as respected as the other people with the same job who do
    -not much support for mental health besides "you'll be fine" "just drink some water"
    -people have changed my shifts without asking me for permission first.
    -i feel like a joke as I'm always quite eager and care a lot
    -some men are creeps and people just say "that's just how they are ignore them" instead of actually doing something

    6.7

    One Stop Customer assistant, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Therr is absolutely nothing great about this job

    Worst thing

    Well aside from the numerous amounts of shoplifters we have to deal with everyday and aggressive customers and the shit pay and the way management treat staff like there easily replacable, and how some staff members only work mornings so the shifts arent evenly shared out

    1.0

    One Stop Shift manager, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay is good, the hours are good, and I get a discount, which is nice.

    Worst thing

    It’s quite dull. I do only work 4 hours per shift, but I don’t get a break, so I’m just stood behind the till for around 3 hours per shift. The other hour is usually spent helping stock shelves, but even then that doesn’t happen every time.

    7.1

    One Stop Customer service assistant, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Team is good

    Worst thing

    - god awful maintenance of building
    - higher-ups ignoring h/s violations in the building structure
    - long hours
    - Guilt tripping into overtime
    - pay effectively cut due to inflation
    - poor pay compared to other employers. Claim to balance out with "rewards" program, when most rewards/discount are out of budget for most atm

    1.9

    One Stop Shift leader, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Not too difficult to do, fairly easy going on shift.

    Worst thing

    Long hours standing up with no where to sit.

    5.5

    One Stop Sales assistant, September 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Teamwork, friendliness of Customers, Training Provided

    Worst thing

    Understaffing, cutting corners etc.

    8.2

    One Stop Store assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    It pays the bills. Just.

    Worst thing

    Management.

    1.2

    One Stop Customer assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Easily get overtime.

    Worst thing

    Very hard to get cover for shifts you either need to change or call in sick for.
    There are regular thieves.
    You get called in regularly to cover shifts

    3.7

    One Stop Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with friends

    Worst thing

    Shift leaders

    3.2

    One Stop Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Get to meet some lovely people

    Worst thing

    Staff dont care about one another

    5.0

    One Stop Customer service assistant, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The job is easy

    Worst thing

    Not safe due to shoplifters, outdated store. Policies work again the lowest level staff ie csa's

    1.8

    One Stop Customer service, July 2022

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Customers and the company

    3.3

    One Stop Shift leader, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Some staff and the benefits

    Worst thing

    Sexist mangers

    3.4

    One Stop Shift manager, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Always on the go and get payed more

    9.1

    One Stop CSA, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Serving customers

    Worst thing

    Doing heroes parcels,having to sift through them because they are not in numerical order

    8.0

    One Stop Customer assistant, March 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Getting all stock out

    Worst thing

    Not getting all stock out

    8.7

    One Stop Sales assistant, March 2022

  • Best thing

    I get to go home.

    Worst thing

    Carry colleges and dealing with all the waste I after deal with.

    3.9

    One Stop Warehouse operative, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Certain colleagues I have met and worked with and the discount card.

    Worst thing

    The customers, the lack of communication, the pressure/stress passed down by the managers, the lacking numbers of staff per shift, one person expecting to do 2 person jobs, inconsistent hours, the fear to call in sick as no one ever covers for anyone else so you get the blame for being unfit for work and so on

    1.5

    One Stop Sales assistant, January 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    The stress

    3.7

    One Stop Shift manager, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    It's boring

    3.2

    One Stop Customer assistant, September 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It's close to where I live, there are some perks like staff discount etc.

    Worst thing

    Feeling unsafe due to shoplifters and having no security. Not getting proper breaks as we have to either miss them or eat on the go. Feeling bad for asking to use the toilet because managers are too busy to work the checkouts for 5 minutes when you're not there. Feeling like you can't call in sick when you're ill because you feel guilty that other staff will have to find someone else to cover your shift. Head office, area managers etc have no clue about what's actually going on in store with shoplifters and aggressive customers, they care more about how much money we're making for them more than they do about the staff. You just feel like a number.

    3.0

    One Stop Customer assistant, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with some customers/staff

    Worst thing

    Certain staff members, manager always put themselves first. Lots of gossiping. You become scared to call in sick/ask for holiday

    2.1

    One Stop Sales assistant, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new customers

    Worst thing

    There is not enough support

    2.8

    One Stop Customer assistant, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Some strange some customers

    Worst thing

    Rude people robbery thefts

    1.5

    One Stop Customer assistant, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and customer interaction

    Worst thing

    Trying to do multiple tasks with insufficient time

    3.7

    One Stop Customer assistant, May 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Adding to much to our work & not enough people to help

    3.0

    One Stop Shift manager, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the customers are friendly and so are some of the other employees.

    Worst thing

    Stress, sexism, rape culture, I dont feel safe, no time for myself, aggressive customers and boss.

    1.2

    One Stop Customer assistant, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with my team and customers

    Worst thing

    Shoplifters

    7.1

    One Stop Shift manager, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendly colleagues, good comradery

    Worst thing

    The area managers, lack of concern for staff safety, unsociable hours

    5.5

    One Stop Customer service assistant, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexibility of shifts's should you need time off

    Worst thing

    Pay is abysmal for the job/responsibility

    5.5

    One Stop Shift manager, March 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Great team of staff to work with

    Worst thing

    Late deliveries

    7.8

    One Stop CSA, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Lots of interaction with people. Busy. Lots to do.

    Worst thing

    The travel costs as have to be at work for 5.45am

    3.2

    One Stop Shift manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    My manager, Some of the staff and customers. The delivery guys are great.

    Worst thing

    The pay, hours, some staff, some customers, the stress and lack of security

    3.2

    One Stop Customer assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Manly customers. Get friendly with most of them

    Worst thing

    Clickly staff. Been ignored etc

    6.7

    One Stop Sales assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s local

    Worst thing

    Breaks
    Not enough staff

    4.1

    One Stop Customer assistant, February 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    its a securish job

    Worst thing

    the higher management

    7.0

    One Stop Team manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Interesting, varied, challengingbwing t

    Worst thing

    Being taken for granted. Working the least number of hours when we need more. Made to work on your own at busy periods and trying to juggle three things at once. This causes pressure which results in stress because you are trying to do your best and mistakes can be made, which isn't good in a financial setting!

    3.4

    One Stop Post Office Counter Clerk, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent money for relatively easy work
    Friendly team

    Worst thing

    Rotas are unfair, always end up working evenings and weekends even though shifts are meant to be fairly distributed so everyone does a mix. Rotas are also done relatively last minute so can't plan and often change last minute. Made to feel bad for calling in sick or booking holiday too

    5.5

    One Stop Customer service assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Local to ware I live

    Worst thing

    10 hour shifts

    9.7

    One Stop Warehouse operative, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The majority of fellow colleagues Are respectful to each other and help each other out and create a nice atmosphere

    Worst thing

    Management can get away with threats, timesheet fixing to suit themselves, sit in the office all day whilst lower grade staff run around trying to get everything done then management get bonus’s off the back of the teams work

    5.0

    One Stop Assistant manager, January 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Pay is better than minimum wage

    Worst thing

    Poor management
    Shifts

    3.7

    One Stop Customer service assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    I get short shifts

    Worst thing

    I'm always on my own and they pay wages in cash

    1.9

    One Stop Sales assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent pay (could be better but could be worse).

    Worst thing

    The treatment and lack of respect I feel I get, as well as lack of fair treatment between myself and other co workers.

    8.2

    One Stop VNA driver, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay, hours, colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Can be tiring as there aren’t breaks

    7.8

    One Stop Customer assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s not mentally difficult

    Worst thing

    Long evenings and early mornings

    4.2

    One Stop Customer service assistant, November 2020