NHS

The NHS is the UK’s publicly funded medical and healthcare provider.

nhs.uk

NHS job reviews

Showing 4,125 reviews from:

  • Worst thing

    Everything, unsafe work environment. Stress, worry, having to do the jobs of more than one person, being blamed for the spread of covid. I could go on.

    3.0

    NHS Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    No able to book Holidays at convenient time

    6.1

    NHS Employee, May 2022

4,123 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Patient contact

    Worst thing

    Expectations of patients and their carers

    4.5

    NHS Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The knowledge that you are making a positive difference to a persons life.

    Worst thing

    Not. Enough staff, not enough pay, too much stress, no life

    3.9

    NHS Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping patients

    Worst thing

    Not enough time to complete tasks

    7.5

    NHS Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Caring for people.

    Worst thing

    Being moved on a regular basis to other wards.

    8.2

    NHS Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Being able to help the sick, elderly and vunerable

    Worst thing

    Night shift

    9.8

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Weekly pay choice of hours

    Worst thing

    Long shifts and boring

    8.9

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    I love patient centred care and making patients feel important to me

    Worst thing

    Communication

    8.0

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Job satisfaction, knowing I make a difference.

    Worst thing

    The stress.

    6.8

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Near to were I live

    Worst thing

    Long hours

    1.8

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    1 work colleague

    Worst thing

    Manager
    Rota
    Work colleagues

    3.4

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Dynamic, own caseload to manage.
    Work in a good team.
    Respected role

    Worst thing

    Surrounded by death.
    Low morale.

    9.0

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Not too stressful, can leave work on time

    Worst thing

    Managers are not very knowledgeable about what each team member do

    6.2

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Sick pay

    Worst thing

    The long hours

    8.5

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The patients and staff.

    Worst thing

    Stress, hours, lack of pay, overbooked theatre lists.

    3.7

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Patients are amazing

    Worst thing

    Intractable and miserable manager

    8.2

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    My team and line manager. I'm always encouraged to contribute in meetings and feel like I can be heard

    Worst thing

    People getting paid more in management positions despite us doing the hard work on the ground

    8.4

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Some people f my work colleagues are great

    Worst thing

    The other work colleagues.

    5.5

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    My patients and my team

    Worst thing

    Stress underpaid and long 13 hour shifts

    8.4

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Collegues, making a difference to families

    Worst thing

    KpIs

    9.6

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Looking after patients and giving back

    Worst thing

    Long hours, working nights, not having good teamwork. Demanding patients

    7.3

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Team work

    Worst thing

    Overwhelmed with patient queries, that Gps could deal with but tell patients to call us as they are under our department at the hospital

    7.1

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The variety of tasks

    Worst thing

    The public

    7.0

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping people, being there for people at there most vulnerable knowing that you care! Some people you meet and a couple of colleagues i work with that have hearts! X

    Worst thing

    Being treated like your nothing, people on higher bands think they can be rood and don't want to do anything just sit giving out orders! And some don't have any respect or can't be bothered to care for patients at all!

    2.6

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people and lots and lots of opportunities, support to progress and develop

    Worst thing

    Not a lot to do at times

    9.9

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Working 3 days per week working with a friendly team enjoy meeting new patients

    9.1

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Individual job on the computer

    Worst thing

    Lack of communication, stressful situations with co workers

    8.0

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Caring for people who are ill or need surgery

    9.9

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Cannot work from home

    7.3

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues and when staffing levels are as they should be it is an absolute privilege and to look after some of the most vulnerable patients

    Worst thing

    Angry, confused patients restrained in a totally unsuitable environment for long after medical fit. Being hit and abused and fearful of aggression. Feeling frustrated and distressed for those poor people. 50% or less staffing levels unsafe. COVID risks high.

    1.6

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Its different every day,rewarding

    Worst thing

    Travelling and meeting patients on first visit,and not always treated with respect from patients

    8.2

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Days off free uniform

    Worst thing

    Patients are stressful

    9.8

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and other workers throughout the hospital

    Worst thing

    Management and the stress they put upon us.
    Sharing toilet facilities with too many staff members

    3.7

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Good team work

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff

    7.5

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping others and supporting patients through COVID-19

    Worst thing

    During difficult times not being able to take time out , short staffed

    3.7

    NHS Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    work mates

    Worst thing

    management other staff

    1.1

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Mybparients my colleagues

    Worst thing

    Other teams

    6.6

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Your direct nursing team are usually fantastic.

    Worst thing

    The thankless work. You burn your body out only to be verbally and physically abused by patients, visitors and relatives. Worst job I've ever had

    1.5

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Caring for people when there most vunerable

    Worst thing

    Never enough staff

    7.1

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping others

    Worst thing

    Lack of staffing and low pay

    2.6

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Team work
    Helping the patient
    Job satisfaction

    Worst thing

    During COVID watching people die, feeling helpless.

    8.4

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Team I work with

    Worst thing

    Violence and aggression and lack of support

    3.2

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Work mainly away from management

    Worst thing

    Management

    4.1

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Worst thing

    Patient abuse on a daily basis

    8.0

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Skills, trust of the team I work with, working relationship with the doctors and midwives.

    Worst thing

    No progression for band 2 staff especially in maternity services. If you progress you have to leave your area or trust altogether. No support for those who want to progress to the profession. Not properly banded for the role I do.

    2.8

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Seeing people get better

    Worst thing

    Time pressures

    6.3

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Job satisfaction

    Worst thing

    Sometimes shirt staff

    9.9

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with patients is very rewarding

    Worst thing

    Never have the time to do a really good job

    1.5

    NHS Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    freedom to do my job

    Worst thing

    boring

    8.6

    NHS Employee, March 2022