Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
4.9

Mitchells & Butlers

Mitchells & Butlers job reviews

Showing 71 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Nothing I can’t wait to find a new job love cooking but NOT here

    1.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Social aspect of the job
    Good people
    Flexible shifts
    OK pay in regards to the industry as a whole
    The actual job is quite fun and every day is different
    Rewarding when guests are happy and you get good feedback.

    Worst thing

    Unsociable hours
    Work too much
    Difficult to stay in contact with friends and family
    Often expected to work without breaks and over my hours (unpaid)
    Little recognition for doing a good job but immediately noticed and bought up on any small mistake
    Constantly short staffed
    Contacted and expected to do things on days off - can never really switch off
    Lack of training when you start - thrown into deep end

    4.0

    Employee, September 2021

69 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Worst thing

    People with no life experience being put into senior beaurecratic roles

    3.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with a great team

    Worst thing

    The shift patterns and hours

    6.5

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with are more like extended family, we can laugh and cry together. The job is fun most of the time.

    Worst thing

    It is stressful, physically demanding, and have ended up in tears a few times due to some guests. Not great if you have physical problems, the plates and drinks are heavy to carry and can cause long term damage to hands and wrists.

    6.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people and the people I work with.

    Worst thing

    Small minority of people that are impatient and rude. Supply issues with getting stock due to covid

    7.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    team is close

    Worst thing

    short staffed over worked no work life balance

    2.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Great fun and tight team. We are helping each other not only at work but also in real life.

    Worst thing

    Long working hours sometimes. Very hard to balance family and social life while working. Pay not too great for the amount of work required.

    6.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with are great always look out for each other and help each other out.

    Worst thing

    The hours are ridiculous, I’m contracted for 48 hours which is a lot of hours to start with, the pay isn’t great. I have to work 12 hour shifts without a break, sometimes working 7-8 days in a row without a day off and I feel like higher management don’t care that we work ourselves to the bone they just add more and more on more on. Sometimes they give guests 50% off mon-wed and we still only get 33%. Most of the time just feel like a number and not a valued employee.

    3.7

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Made great friends working in O’Neill’s (customers and staff)

    Worst thing

    Unorganised, leave you in the dark with everything, including giving us our rota the day before the week begins. Very toxic environment, management are bully’s and make you feel awful for doing anything that even slightly inconveniences them and don’t care about your mental or physical health

    2.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    Not having enough staff to work in the kitchen when you have large bookings

    3.4

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team,
    Progression,
    Management

    Worst thing

    Pay rates,
    Head office

    8.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The other staff are fun

    Worst thing

    sexual assault in the workplace by customers is overlooked and i get many more hours than i’m contacted to do, whilst on minimum wage

    5.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team i work with in the kitchen

    Worst thing

    The head office now stop penny pinching

    3.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Short notice of shifts

    3.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    No breaks, even on a 12 hour shift

    5.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The public

    Worst thing

    Working with mangers who don't do there jobs

    2.6

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Team that I work with, trying lots of different food, fast paced atmosphere

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff, working 60+ weeks without a choice, not getting breaks on busy shifts.

    3.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Nice location

    Worst thing

    Got paid a lot lower than expected. On the website I applied for it was stated to be 8.91 per hour but instead I’m being paid 6.87 per hour instead

    4.5

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team are fantastic to work with

    Worst thing

    The hours are long and the customers are quite often rude

    5.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Great team
    Great benefits
    Good pay

    Worst thing

    Can be stressful sometimes

    7.6

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    I manage my time what to do. My manager give me free hand cause he trusts me.

    7.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff discount

    Worst thing

    Hours can be unpredictable and may have to stay late

    3.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Stressful , not enough staff allowed to be put on shift

    5.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours can be catered to your availability.
    Discounts and benefits.
    Team moral mostly high

    Worst thing

    Sometimes lack of staff

    6.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I enjoy the job itself.

    Worst thing

    No breaks, no support, understaffed, poor pay, no service or tips, lack of respect.

    2.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent pay - good benefits

    Worst thing

    Long hours

    7.0

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I can create my rota and I love working in hospitality.

    Worst thing

    Unsocial hours, shifts and weekends, special days.

    6.7

    GM, March 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Budgets

    3.3

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexibility, fun, stretching

    Worst thing

    Long shifts, physically hard

    7.0

    Kitchen manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Great team and support from the company

    Worst thing

    Not enough labour

    7.0

    Kitchen manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Everyday is different

    Worst thing

    Poor management

    3.8

    Team leader, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Rota short notice

    5.1

    Supervisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible, generally able to work more or less hours if needed

    Worst thing

    Poor pay, busy, hard to get breaks you are entitled to

    5.5

    Front of house staff, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Cooking everyday is different

    Worst thing

    Unsociable hours

    7.0

    Kitchen manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The team, how personable our pub is and making friends with the regulars

    Worst thing

    The stress of rude customers, food being of quality and on time, other staff not pulling their weight

    8.0

    Shift supervisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Fantastic team members

    Worst thing

    Working weekends

    8.2

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible Rita, great pets once we can use again

    Worst thing

    Pressures suing COVID and safety regulations.

    8.1

    Kitchen manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The flexibility to pick my rota and to meet new people daily

    Worst thing

    Can become repetitive but I’ve been in the industry for 17 years

    8.6

    Assistant manager, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    The regional managers, poor company to work for.

    2.4

    Manager, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Lots of mini perks. 33% off your entire tab provided you buy at least 1 main meal

    Worst thing

    Impersonal online training, minimum wage (expected), 100% controlled from head office, awful internal promotion procedures

    3.8

    Supervisor, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting different people

    Worst thing

    Budgets and targets

    5.5

    General manager, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Good customer service and working hard for my company.

    5.3

    Team leader chef, January 2021

  • Best thing

    hours suit me as best they can right now

    Worst thing

    its hard expecially at the minute our hours are all over the place and there's alot more rules than there use to be people arnt always understanding and can be hard to get people to follow the rules

    6.7

    Chef, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Speaking to new people every day

    Worst thing

    Customers who know better

    6.2

    Shift supervisor, November 2020

  • Best thing

    kitchen team is great.

    Worst thing

    FOH team dont listen, don't communicate with BOH, and when we tried to, what we say goes through one ear and out the other.

    3.3

    Apprentice, November 2020

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Working extra hours/days for free
    No breaks
    Last minute rotas
    Lack of communication

    3.7

    Senior chef de partie, October 2020

  • Best thing

    Making people happy

    Worst thing

    Working over Christmas

    5.2

    Shift supervisor, October 2020

  • Best thing

    Team work

    Worst thing

    Long hours and pressure of been constantly busy with no rest periods

    5.2

    Kitchen manager, September 2020

  • Best thing

    the team

    Worst thing

    the hours, the customers and the lack of staff on every shift

    3.0

    Kitchen team leader, September 2020