McColls

McColls is a convenience store operator in the UK.

mccolls.co.uk

McColls job reviews

Showing 84 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Management and team

    Worst thing

    Store open to late.

    6.0

    McColls Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with the public

    Worst thing

    Lack of communication with head office

    3.4

    McColls Employee, April 2022

82 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Working with good manager colleagues

    Worst thing

    Working with customers not wearing mask and head office not implemented it

    8.2

    McColls Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Some customers are nice

    Worst thing

    Being bullied

    1.9

    McColls Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping the customers

    Worst thing

    Terrible management.
    Single man working.
    Scary evenings alone in the shop.
    Several attempted robberies.

    1.1

    McColls Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Customers

    Worst thing

    Standing for long periods of time

    9.3

    McColls Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Close relation ships with colleagues and customers, easy job to do

    Worst thing

    Overworked, underpaid and unappreciated

    1.2

    McColls Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Store team are great people and lovely to work with

    Worst thing

    More and more expected and hours constantly cut. Understaffed so always stressful. Can't do every expected with staffing hours

    2.0

    McColls Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff discount

    Worst thing

    Too many tasks given to do

    2.3

    McColls Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues are like family

    Worst thing

    Very Poorly paid, poor scores on missed gap counts for stock we don't sell yet. Planner gram designers don't have product knowledge.. warm beers. Late nights early mornings.

    1.5

    McColls Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The People we get to see Everyday

    Worst thing

    The insecurity

    1.8

    McColls Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Lone working for over 12 hours without breaks.
    Unpaid overtime.
    No assistance from head office.

    1.2

    McColls Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with and the regular customers who are lovely really make the day better

    1.9

    McColls Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Work collegues and some of the customers, a pleasure to serve and help.

    Worst thing

    Bosses don't care, taken advantage of good staff. A lot of really nasty customers and no security so very stressful. Stupid hours.

    1.5

    McColls Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    some of the staff and customers are nice

    Worst thing

    they take advantage of how much you can work, it’s not safe and constantly being harassed

    1.1

    McColls Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Work colleagues

    Worst thing

    No set breaks

    5.0

    McColls Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Upper management not knowing what's going on

    5.0

    McColls Employee, January 2022

  • Worst thing

    Low pay no communication multiple jobs for no extra pay

    2.4

    McColls Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The colleagues

    Worst thing

    Amount of work

    8.5

    McColls Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The pay

    8.4

    McColls Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the people

    Worst thing

    hours and traveling

    6.6

    McColls Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff are all friendly

    Worst thing

    Unsafe place to work especially evening shifts multiple assaults on staff members and police are there frequently

    3.7

    McColls Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Working as a team

    Worst thing

    Lack of decent staff room

    8.8

    McColls Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    5.0

    McColls Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    A good job for the community and a nice calm place to work.

    Worst thing

    A general disconect between the shops and headoffice.

    8.4

    McColls Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Everything mccolls head office really don't care

    1.5

    McColls Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Near my home, colleagues are nice

    Worst thing

    The pay is low and no feedback

    5.5

    McColls Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Working from 5.30am to 6.15pm seven days a week without having a break during the day as no staff and no one would help from other stores

    4.1

    McColls Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with we have a good team.

    Worst thing

    The manager and head office don’t seam to care about the staff as long as the work is done that’s all they care about

    4.5

    McColls Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Only the location

    Worst thing

    Bad management and company aren't worried about safety especially at the moment with COVid

    1.3

    McColls Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Regular customers who make my day proper team work sometimes

    Worst thing

    No set rota no work home life balance on just about every weekend no social life because of it

    3.0

    McColls Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    There’s a lot of bullying going on

    2.3

    McColls Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Being paid

    Worst thing

    The hours not knowing when your working changing my shifts at the drop of a hat

    2.4

    McColls Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    You work in a shop which sells food so you don't waste what little time you have for a break by going to the shop.. lol

    Worst thing

    The lack of maintenance, lack of staff, low pay and minimal company benefits, overworked and underappreciated, dealing with ID and customers can be difficult due to aggression, overall just a stressful and run-down environment.

    1.1

    McColls Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    Low pay. Overworked. Shifts are changed at short notice without warning

    1.1

    McColls Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Serving customers and making them.laugh

    Worst thing

    Ignorant customers and none mask wearing

    5.5

    McColls Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    People i work with

    Worst thing

    Working alone ,late shifts ,

    2.6

    McColls Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Laughing with the customers and solving problems

    2.4

    McColls Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    There are no good things

    Worst thing

    Getting threatened by people with weapons, being harassed by coworkers, not receiving fair. COmpensation

    1.0

    McColls Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    I love meeting people, keeping busy, having my suggestions listened to.

    Worst thing

    Low pay, over expected performance from head office, unsocial hours no breaks. No stable hours.

    2.0

    McColls Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    get rota on sunday week starts the next day

    1.2

    McColls Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I take pride in my work

    Worst thing

    Supervisors

    2.0

    McColls Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    My customers

    Worst thing

    Responsible for other people's mistakes

    4.1

    McColls Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    The shifts I would like to work in the morning but I’d like to work my shifts together instead of every other day I’d like Monday, Tuesday , Wednesday and whenever really

    2.3

    McColls Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    People: atmosphere

    Worst thing

    Not enough hours to get the job done properly

    7.8

    McColls Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Being able to help the community

    Worst thing

    Having to deal with abuse violence and Armed robbery’s
    And the company not doing anything to keep us safe

    1.1

    McColls Manager, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Work colleagues

    Worst thing

    Shoplifter and robberies

    5.5

    McColls Retail assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and most regular customers

    1.3

    McColls Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff i work with

    Worst thing

    Pay and late ights

    2.4

    McColls Supervisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Team around me and some customers

    Worst thing

    Lone working, no support from management, nothing ever gets fixed. Really feel they don’t care about you.

    1.2

    McColls Store manager, March 2021