Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
5.9

Marks & Spencer

Marks & Spencer job reviews

Showing 357 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    You talk to customer and have friendly co workers

    Worst thing

    The it software are is not up to it should be , The staff area is not always clean ,never get a long meeting with your boss and you might do have do extra so get see your boss .

    7.8

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Work colleagues and customers

    Worst thing

    Customers

    8.0

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

355 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    its close to where i live , discount is useful

    Worst thing

    the management and not knowing when i am working next

    3.0

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Amazing and friendly team, good management with lots of communication, great pay for customer assistants (particularly for students like me), with 20% staff discount it’s a great part time job, would definitely recommend!!!

    Worst thing

    Sometimes can be stressful and fast paced at time (especially working in hospitality like me) but not always, breaks aren’t paid.

    8.4

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    nice people, different things to do

    Worst thing

    often stressful

    5.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Good salary

    Worst thing

    Not considerate or flexible to employees

    3.8

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff members apart from management

    Worst thing

    Managers barely let you talk

    5.7

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Fun at times with banter with the managers

    Worst thing

    Sometimes a bit under- appreciated
    Pay is sometimes wrong and is difficult to sort out
    Have to do 4 peoples jobs

    4.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    I work in a great team

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff considering how much busier we've got.

    6.4

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the people I work with

    Worst thing

    Not being kept informed, and they don’t care about you as a person

    4.9

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Every day is different

    Worst thing

    No security guards.

    7.2

    Marks & Spencer Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    the pay, colleagues

    Worst thing

    most of the people the shop attracts are rude, unexpected changes to your rota, very hard to get a day off

    4.9

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s easy work

    Worst thing

    Working stock is a bit annoying when of customers are around and it’s a bit repetitive.

    7.4

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Break

    Worst thing

    Micromanagement.
    Disrespect.
    Abuse from managers and colleagues.
    You report a manager and they defend them without taking allegations seriously.
    Get abuse from customers and store manager more concerned with getting a bad review instead of how the staff was treated.

    2.1

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    customers

    Worst thing

    management, long shifts, not feeling welcome by collegues

    2.6

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay and the people are nice

    Worst thing

    Management is shocking, takes ages for anything to be done and managers are rude.

    6.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with and customer

    Worst thing

    Trying to please everyone

    8.9

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Home life balance
    Discount

    Worst thing

    New vanguard hours
    Shifts can change at a moments notice

    4.7

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Great food fast hours and fun when busy

    8.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Benefits and the other workers. When you are working early shifts, having some funny people and nice people around you helps.

    Worst thing

    Management just change your shifts to suit their needs without asking and when you say you can't do them, they have a go saying that you have to find a person to cover for it. Sometimes it became quite toxic with the managers and staff and people didn't want to ask managers questions as people were shouted at for simply not knowing how to do a task because they hadn't been taught it. Customers can be really rude and have a go at you for things that aren't your fault.

    2.2

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers and the team are great !

    9.4

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay for under 18s

    Worst thing

    The shifts they put the young employees on. Weekend shifts rarely change either and they often but you on for both weekend days (this is hard as a student as you have hardly any free time then especially with the times of the shifts)

    2.2

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff

    Worst thing

    The customers can be rude, we are often understaffed especially when it’s busy

    8.7

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    As operations usually we get to set our own breaks and work around delivery times and set times which jobs need to be completed by, so it gives you independence and the managers build trust with you if you do it well. Also the 20% staff discount is a life saver with FTO (food to order) and covers everything M&S hold including expensive clothing brands such as Jaeger. Really helpful for ‘treat yourself’ days.

    Clothing managers are lovely and you can really talk to them about your problems without feeling like they’re going to get used against you.

    Store manager is also really reasonable and trusts you to know what you’re doing and will back you on your decision.

    I would recommend joining clothing or the foods department for those looking at jobs.

    Worst thing

    The normal salary is £9.50/hour which isn’t as competitive as M&S will let on in their advertising compared to other retails. I get paid 9.70 because I get an extra 10p per hour for being a first aider and another extra 10p for being a key holder for the store, which is literally nothing for the responsibility expected for both roles. In our store we have escalators and we see some very serious injuries on them, and the first aid training practically only covers cpr and minor bleeds. So for an extra 10p and basic training you’re expected to be an advanced first aider, (luckily I’m already first aid trained), but it does feel very much like you are thrown in the deep end and expected to float.

    In our store in ops the team is basically allowed to be rubbish. It doesn’t function well at all, which means that I’m stressed out most of the time as I’m one of the experienced people in ops and expected to sort it out and manage it despite not being a manager… Unsurprisingly there’s a high turn around rate of staff with many complaints coming from the fact they felt pressured and bullied by managers, as when things get stressful the tendency for managers to just be unreasonable is high.

    As an experienced member of staff and doing usually 7 and a half hours of my shift back to back followed by my unpaid 30 min break, I still get most of the bashing from my department manager over things I’m not responsible for, and then I hear from other people that the same manager complains I’m constantly stressed out… that’s one way to treat the person they rely on…

    In ops it also seems that colleagues which are late/take the piss/whine about others while not working barely get a slap on the wrist, they might get told off but no actual formal warnings will be put in place.

    So really if you work hard you get treated far worse than those who don’t.

    2.1

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The Staff, Discount and Hours

    Worst thing

    Management are alright, but can improve!

    7.8

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues are like one big family.

    Worst thing

    Customers are rude.

    8.3

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the lovely colleagues I get to work with and the customers who treat you with respect

    6.8

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff, pay, decent break times dependent of shift length

    Worst thing

    A lot of backstage politics, favouritism, experienced customer assistants being under-utilised

    4.9

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Always busy

    Worst thing

    Management don't look after their staff.

    3.4

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay and easy going work

    Worst thing

    I never get my shifts on time and it’s so unorganised

    7.4

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Really nice people!
    Very well organised.

    Worst thing

    Customers sometimes being rude, but that’s what happens in retail and is easily sorted by managers.

    10.0

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Great people
    Good discount great pay and decent work hours

    Worst thing

    not enough communication
    Customers who shop and M&S

    6.8

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The amount paid

    Worst thing

    Very rude customers and really low staffed by choice

    4.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent pay

    Worst thing

    Micro-managers
    Lack of respect
    Disrespectful customers
    Breaks often forgotten about
    No flexibility with hours
    Younger staff often given the worst hours

    3.1

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Conversing with the public

    Worst thing

    Standing and too hot

    7.0

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team, never bored

    Worst thing

    Understaffed, Rude customers, got sexually harassed by other staff higher up, stressful

    5.2

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    People you work with
    The pay
    4 weeks holiday

    Worst thing

    The people
    Bad management

    4.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Best is pay for under 16

    Worst thing

    Very boring, long hours, 30 min break for 8 hours unpaid

    6.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Really straight forward

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    7.5

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours, the pay, not difficult job

    Worst thing

    incompetent managers!!!

    6.1

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting lovely customers is actually the best part.
    Some people I work with my age are nice and I speak to them outside of work. Yet it’s only a few because m&s is full of oldies.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be horrible, I got to the point where I’d argue back with them. Security in my work would just watch.

    Other employees, typically the older ones would never help you as you’re younger and new. They’d leave you alone on tills, try to control you they give too much surveillance for being the same level as you.

    The managers can be rude. I was scheduled for an operation and my manager had a go at me that I needed time off. She moved me from her department when I returned, even though I did overtime working everyday for a week crazy hours.

    4.8

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    people
    customers
    co workers
    work tasks

    Worst thing

    hours - shifts

    8.1

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    Costumers are horrible

    6.7

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Get to meet people

    Worst thing

    Awkward customers

    6.8

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff didcount and able to buy good feels on food

    Worst thing

    Not supported in cateet progress

    4.6

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    I’ve made some good friends and I worked there with my boyfriend for a year

    Worst thing

    The customers are entitled and the managers treat you like children and I get so stressed that my hair is falling out

    4.0

    Marks & Spencer Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    5weeks holiday

    Worst thing

    Management.
    Break unpaid.
    Very little security, management expects shop floor staff to put their lives at risk daily to stop theft.
    Uniform that has recently changed

    4.3

    Marks & Spencer Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Up to date technology

    Worst thing

    Management

    2.1

    Marks & Spencer Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    Start time, managers and some customers.

    4.2

    Marks & Spencer Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent pay and operations is the best department to work in, free bakery food at the end of the day, managers supportive, friendly environment and staff. Good training and would defo recommend working here if you are a student

    Worst thing

    Sometimes rushed on the job, contractors that work for M&S are pretty bad at repairing things and there are many things wrong all the time (broken doors, lifts, leaking etc.) Short breaks, No canteen for staff

    8.3

    Marks & Spencer Employee, November 2021