Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

Lidl job reviews

Showing 165 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The staff and management are super friendly

    8.9

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the staff

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff, over worked and unrealistic high standards

    3.5

    Employee, September 2021

163 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Strangely enough the customers and the people I work with. Seeing the same faces each day feels rewarding when they're happy to see you.

    Worst thing

    The hours are long and managers expect you to do multiple jobs in a short time frame. Very fast paced.

    6.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Worst thing

    Favourites, lack of progress unless you are friend and family

    2.9

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    That it is close by

    Worst thing

    The manager and the lack of hours

    2.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay for easy, albeit tedious, work.

    Worst thing

    The people and culture in Lidl are toxic.

    3.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay & holidays

    Worst thing

    Life balance

    5.2

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    10% discount, sociable, nice customers

    Worst thing

    Management can't manage properly, lack of training (you just have to get on with it and hope you grasp it quick enough) stress and time pressure, 30 min breaks however long your shift is, (could be 10+ hours) unsociable hours

    3.5

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Our team

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff

    7.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The other customers assistant colleagues

    Worst thing

    Your treated as a number not a person. There's no respect or consideration for you or your time.

    2.1

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Hourly well paid.

    Worst thing

    Too much physicall work.

    5.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The training and development, the physical work involved and the people. Lidl really make you feel part of a family and because of that you work just as hard as they treat you good.

    Worst thing

    Early shifts, 5am starts. Also the running of the store can be quite tight at times leaving not many people to run a store. It's still fun though and I enjoy the challenge

    9.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Unsure if I will hit contract hours week to week

    4.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with, pay

    4.7

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Waking up the morning haven’t fun My job haven’t lot Freand

    Worst thing

    There’s no wors My job

    8.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    decent and reliable pay

    Worst thing

    corruption - managers promote family and friends

    6.3

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay is good

    Worst thing

    Management don't back you up when you need help

    6.7

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay and the discount

    Worst thing

    Never having regular days off every shift is different every day hard to have work life balance

    3.1

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Shift times

    7.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay seems ok

    Worst thing

    Physical work load, heavy lifting and carrying strain on body very high and no support from management

    4.9

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with.

    Worst thing

    The flexibility expected of me to work any hours between 6am and 11pm

    5.3

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s all go, all day every day, never boring and great job satisfaction, very demanding role

    Worst thing

    the saying customers are always right (liessss), honestly customers are the only down side

    7.4

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay, nice colleagues, generous holidays and staff discount also Xmas meal , food gift box and occasional treats

    Worst thing

    Shifts, 6am start or 10.30-11 pm finish, often contacted to cover or change shifts, even when on day off. Boring, repetitive job, fast paced , tiring and relentless from delivery, till work to cleaning toilets. Sent home when store is quiet, resulting in under hours which have to be made up.

    3.6

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Good company to work for, lots of benefits and support

    Worst thing

    Hard work, long hours, tough targets

    8.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    No equal pay
    Bad politics

    3.7

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Hard work & no free time

    7.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Always plenty of work, so shifts don't drag.
    Great team in my store. Can have a laugh while still getting the job done.
    Plenty of variety for work needing done during the day.

    Worst thing

    5am starts.
    Late finishes on middle isle nights, eg start 1pm or 2pm on Wednesday, finish anywhere between 11pm and 2am depending on the amount of items to go out that night.
    Not a great work life balance.
    Unrealistic time frames for completing certain tasks.

    Lidls till closing procedure is the biggest fail I've ever seen in retail. After all these years customers still have no idea the red light means the till is closing, you will be constantly shouting sorry this till is closed, to the customers anger. If only something like a till closed sign you set at the end of the till could solve this, eh?

    6.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with people.

    Worst thing

    Pressure to work very quickly.

    4.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    I like the set hours I work

    Worst thing

    The constant pressure to work faster

    2.8

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Retail is in my DNA customer interaction face to face involvement working with a great team

    8.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    No positive feedback

    2.3

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff discount

    Worst thing

    Constantly threatening
    Unrealistic targets
    Flexible hours contract ignored
    Pulling
    Demoted because you have kids
    No progress because of kids
    Request for Flexible hours around nursery and school refused without reason.
    Refusing to put flexible hours agreement in writing

    3.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay and people

    Worst thing

    Long hours

    6.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    Abusive customers
    Time constraints
    Workload

    6.1

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay; team of colleagues

    Worst thing

    Hours

    3.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Its a job, I like to keep busy to a point.

    Worst thing

    Lack of communications from above, poor training, Head office scared of customer complaints.

    1.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours
    Shift pattern
    Discount

    Worst thing

    motononous work
    Hard targets but achievable
    negative staff sometimes

    7.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexibility and pay

    Worst thing

    Early mornings

    7.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    What you put in you will get back

    Worst thing

    364 days from year are working days

    8.2

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    The amount of work in the time given

    5.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay, flexible

    Worst thing

    Stressful, difficult customers, repetition

    5.2

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Close proximity to where I live

    Worst thing

    The job itself

    3.4

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Working times allow time with family

    Worst thing

    To much pressure put on staff to get things done quickly so they can have less staff working

    7.2

    Customer assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Early start early finish

    Worst thing

    Working conditions

    3.7

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay is good for how much skill the work takes

    7.4

    Store assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay and perks.

    Worst thing

    Customers attitude

    5.2

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    It's good money

    Worst thing

    You need to the work of at least 2 people sometimes 3

    5.2

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Impossible demands.
    Aggressive senior management styles

    6.3

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleague and the charity stuff

    Worst thing

    Lone working, cold, managers

    4.8

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Lots of opportunities to progress if you want it, good pay, exciting to work for a growing company.

    Worst thing

    Poor support from elsewhere in the business e.g poorly stacked pallets, unrealistic expectations seems like they are set by people with no understanding of life on the shop floor.

    6.6

    Shift manager, February 2021