Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
6.9

John Lewis & Partners

John Lewis & Partners job reviews

Showing 81 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Discount
    Lots of young people working with me

    Worst thing

    Never get time off that I need
    Unsociable hours
    Unpaid breaks
    Rude managers

    5.0

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Possible to have a balance between work and education. The staff are brilliant. There a lot of employee benefits.

    6.2

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

79 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    1.5 hour breaks

    Worst thing

    Steel Toe cap boots

    8.1

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Benefits, security in the job.

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff.

    7.2

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Co workers

    Worst thing

    Having to deal with entitled customers

    8.3

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Not enough security getting blamed for theft and for things that are not part of my job

    5.0

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Standing up all day

    8.4

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Free lunch if you are lucky enough to get your break at the right time

    Worst thing

    Stress, no training, managers don’t even introduce themselves, you are thrown into a department and expected to learn the ins and outs on your own, customers are rude and entitled

    2.4

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    I don't need to travel to work, as I work at home.

    5.5

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Freedom

    Worst thing

    Environment management and the job is heavy

    5.5

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    It honestly isn’t a great employer that everyone thinks it is

    4.6

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The other partners

    Worst thing

    Bad management

    3.8

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    I love the people within John Lewis they’re like my extended family. It’s what’s kept me there and I loved what I did in the past before lock downs. Have adapted for the current situation.

    Worst thing

    Head office and new management have’t got a clue. Understand difficult times but don’t treat people like numbers. We are losing so much experienced hard working partners in customer service across the partnership it’s showing!

    3.8

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    I like the people I work with

    Worst thing

    I'm expected to do everything without question

    4.5

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people and socialising

    Worst thing

    Nasty customers. Too busy and not enough staff

    6.4

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Great team , everyone mucks in... good benefits ie discount on goods.

    Worst thing

    Often left on own... pay....online training I strugglecwith

    6.6

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Serving customers

    Worst thing

    Being moved to a different department that you are not confident in

    8.3

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Clean easy work.

    Worst thing

    Early starts. Long hours. No respect from management. Treated like a number .

    5.0

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Customers are rude. The board are too far removed as are buying teams

    6.3

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Engaging with customers

    Worst thing

    Short staff

    7.9

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with. The benefits.

    Worst thing

    Doing other people's work.

    6.6

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Great team and enjoy my job

    Worst thing

    None

    9.5

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with, the creativity, the trust

    Worst thing

    Pay not good, politics, uncertainty about thefuture

    8.9

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Customer contact is the best this includes internal and external customers l love the diversity dealing with the customers requests and delivering excellent service also supporting partners working as a team I also appreciate my partner discount it is the best

    Worst thing

    Probably working in the basement because you can not see outside no windows no fresh air.

    8.1

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The company and how it operates from top down - No E2E ownership across process

    4.2

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Not having enough time to do job

    7.5

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Understaffed

    9.0

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Respectful people , such as Supervisors
    Easy job

    9.0

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    You are your own boss on the road.

    Worst thing

    Managers/ head office not taken on mew ideas on how to improve business..

    5.2

    John Lewis & Partners Technician, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I enjoy the team I work with

    Worst thing

    Delivery loads. Lack of space

    5.5

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Rude customer
    Information overload

    7.9

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    The amount of things we are expected to do.

    8.0

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The Partnership
    Nice people
    Discount

    Worst thing

    Constant changes
    New leadership team
    Encourage people to take job demotion/less pay

    6.8

    John Lewis & Partners PA, March 2021

  • Best thing

    It used to be a partnership ,but it isn’t really anymore

    5.2

    John Lewis & Partners Sales advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Near home, holidays

    Worst thing

    Other people

    7.9

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Being part of a team

    Worst thing

    Not many roles for part timers

    9.5

    John Lewis & Partners Warehouse operative, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people. The company attitude to equality. Being listened to

    9.4

    John Lewis & Partners Sales assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendships with colleagues
    Generally partners are well looked after

    Worst thing

    I’m not valued as much as others

    6.1

    John Lewis & Partners Team manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours

    Worst thing

    Know breaks on a 4 half hour shift

    8.4

    John Lewis & Partners Catering assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Great colleagues, great training and approachable management

    9.5

    John Lewis & Partners Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    It's like a family
    Discount

    8.5

    John Lewis & Partners Retail assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Working 4 days a week

    Worst thing

    Shift cancellation

    4.5

    John Lewis & Partners 7.5t driver, January 2021

  • Best thing

    It's a relatively stress free environment. The hours are good. Perks are good.

    Worst thing

    Management treat you like your a nobody. They don't listen to ideas and concerns that you have.

    7.0

    John Lewis & Partners Technical support, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The heavy lifting

    6.5

    John Lewis & Partners Visual merchandiser, December 2020

  • Best thing

    John Lewis is the best retailer if you have to work i retail

    Worst thing

    Getting time off

    6.4

    John Lewis & Partners Retail assistant, November 2020

  • Best thing

    I get to surround myself with wonderful people, employees and customers alike

    8.8

    John Lewis & Partners Selling assistant, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Finishing time

    Worst thing

    working with un trianed people

    5.2

    John Lewis & Partners Delivery driver, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Secure, regular pay good company to work for.

    6.8

    John Lewis & Partners Supermarket assistant, October 2020

  • Best thing

    Sunday off

    Worst thing

    No over but other partner get it and heavy lifting

    5.5

    John Lewis & Partners Technician, October 2020

  • Best thing

    The personal journey I’ve been on

    Worst thing

    People

    8.1

    John Lewis & Partners Department manager, September 2020