Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

Iceland job reviews

Showing 154 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Delivering to customers. Getting away from the stoe

    Worst thing

    No respect no promotion

    1.7

    Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    Being expected to accurately pick and safely pack and put away more than two items per minute (128 items per hour) with no allowance made for time walking between aisles or time writing up any necessary labels, also we can't pick only some of an item if we can't find the full amount we need (like if a customer orders 5 bottles of water and we can only find 4 we can't just pick 4 and then save it for someone else to look later, we have to pick none)

    4.0

    Employee, September 2021

152 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Some of the staff

    Worst thing

    Understaffed, too much pressure, don’t always get paid the extra for running the shop in manager’s absence, rude deputy manager

    3.8

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours, reasonable rate of pay.

    Worst thing

    Workloads can be difficult. Sickness staff turnover due to university students. Changeover of stores products quarterly

    8.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    They treat us with respect

    9.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendly people who care about their team and training is a high standard

    Worst thing

    Pay could be better and maybe a 20 discount for staff ! Just saying

    7.9

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    2.1

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The lovely regular customers

    Worst thing

    Not having enough staff to cover breaks

    3.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Speaking to people

    Worst thing

    It can be repetitive

    7.9

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the people are nice.

    Worst thing

    Only getting paid holiday for my contracted hours and not the hours I work, so although I work 25-30 hours a week, I'll only get paid 7.5 hours if I take a week off. This means I cannot afford to take holiday.

    2.6

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues that I’ve made friends with

    Worst thing

    The workload for the low pay, the stress, the customers, the hours

    3.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The work is fun and the people are nice

    Worst thing

    The hours and the pay, it’s hard work for little money

    4.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I'm left alone to get on with it

    5.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Pays the bills

    Worst thing

    Not knowing when you are working

    1.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    2.6

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting general public, team all work together

    5.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Good salary. Weekly pay. Family environment

    Worst thing

    Floor plan changes

    8.5

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Great staff atmosphere

    Worst thing

    Underpaid, lots of hours, no breaks, lack of training

    3.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The support from colleagues not management

    Worst thing

    Not knowing what the manager expected from me no support

    1.6

    Employee, May 2021

  • Worst thing

    Lack of staff on the shopfloor

    2.8

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Freedom to do the job

    Worst thing

    Unpaid and too long breaks

    6.6

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Security and recognition of your hard work

    Worst thing

    Size of area

    9.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The best thing about my job is working as a team . I run the onlines department in my store and love it everyone is amazing and I love helping people

    Worst thing

    Shifts short notice

    7.2

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The team are great and helpful

    3.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    My store manager and team I work with are really good people .

    Worst thing

    I don't think the area manager and up understand the time constraints we have . I believe they should come spend a day with us regularly

    7.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Work

    Worst thing

    The list goes on far too long

    4.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Give a my best and nice job

    Worst thing

    Hard work and do a good job

    8.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Worst thing

    The disorder and lack of organisation in store. Lack of simple things we need every day to do our jobs. We get blamed and have additional pressure put on us when it is the other members of staff not doing their jobs properly - stock numbers, product placement etc.
    Extra targets put in us so we work harder for less money as our shifts finish early. Lack of hygiene, fire doors being blocked, products not being placed in the correct section, damaged goods

    1.7

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    The pay

    5.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Good supportive team

    Worst thing

    Distribution provider is poor

    7.0

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    People are friendly and you get to know new people everyday and very good service

    8.7

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Lots of travel

    Worst thing

    Stress, workload, lifestyle

    2.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with different people everyday

    Worst thing

    Not being appreciated

    3.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    It feels like a family atmosphere

    Worst thing

    People who steal and rob from our store

    5.5

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    If you work nights, you still get your whole day ahead of you. The teams in three of the stores I have worked in were easy to get on with. Some of the managers can be nice. It’s a good job if you don’t want a lot of hours, some weeks you might not get any

    Worst thing

    The lack of hours due to too many staff. They would rather have two people on 4 hour shifts than one person doing an 8 hour shift with a break. The fact that since I have started, I have not been paid for at least 20 hours. The fact that I booked 2 days holidays and didn’t get paid for them. I tried to book a week off multiple times and was refused every time, even though it was for training for a professional job. Some managers can be disrespectful, lazy and make you do the jobs they can’t be bothered with. You will find managers stood in the back talking while there are only 1-2 people on the shop floor struggling to cope. The job is that bad we often have new starters just walking out or not turning up the next day (hence why we are always hiring). You don’t get any benefits other than reward gateway and 10% off food. You don’t get breaks unless you are scheduled 9+ hours (what they call a double shift) which is very rare. There is no clock in/ clock out, it is you work your scheduled hours and pray the manager listens to you when you ask them to add the overtime on

    1.5

    Sales assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay, management most things

    Worst thing

    Rude Customers

    7.6

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy work and good pay and close to home

    8.6

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    My management are very understanding with what is going on at the moment with my circumstances at home I no I can go and talk to them if I need to

    7.0

    Shop assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Great hours, amazing team, friendly staff, I don’t think I have anything bad to say about working there.

    Worst thing

    I don’t think I’ve had a bad experience with working at Iceland.

    8.4

    Cleaner/ checkout, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Finish at 10am so have the whole day free

    1.5

    Online shopper, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Some customers and some staff

    Worst thing

    To much work in little time

    1.5

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Good people

    Worst thing

    Sometimes, to many deliveries.

    7.4

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Being out on the road

    Worst thing

    Being very busy

    7.4

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Friends, shifts, location

    Worst thing

    Unrealistic targets, favouritism,

    4.6

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Relatively easy

    Worst thing

    No consideration from any level of management

    3.0

    Duty manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    The night shifts

    5.8

    Non trade duty manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people i work with it’s like a family and we stay friends even after someone leaves

    Worst thing

    Upper management not listening putting pressure on management to deliver results and when we do bust our buts to achieve this the budget then gets cut as it looks like we can cope with less hours

    4.4

    Senior supervisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping out customers, getting paid, & working with my mum

    Worst thing

    Customers on a bad day

    7.2

    Cashier, February 2021

  • Worst thing

    Not getting enough hours to live, and management not rectifying that

    6.4

    Cashier, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Mixing with different people

    Worst thing

    Constant pressure and admin

    2.8

    Sales assistant, February 2021