Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
5.0

Home Bargains

Home Bargains job reviews

Showing 156 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The colleagues and above average pay

    Worst thing

    Constant pressure from management and then get moaned at about low staff morale. Unpredictable hours

    5.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Non management staff are the best people I've ever met

    Worst thing

    Management
    Fill shifts
    Stressful

    2.8

    Employee, November 2021

154 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Mostely good atmosphere. Friendly staff.

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff in afternoons/Evenings.

    7.6

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    nothing there no respect for all hard work staff don no been there 4 year

    1.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    Unorganised, stressful, very temporary work place

    5.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff
    Location
    Customers

    Worst thing

    Rotas changing frequently
    Only allowed discount in own store
    Late opening
    Continual backshift

    6.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Meet new people

    Worst thing

    Paid weekly

    2.1

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues
    The pay is quite good

    Worst thing

    The shift work when trying to make appointments
    Always being put on the same job all the time eg I am always put on tills (even when I've asked for a change)

    6.1

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Kept busy, with many different jobs to do.

    Worst thing

    Break times feel a bit rushed due to having to buy lunch in a busy store with only half an hour.

    7.5

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Most of the staff are great.

    2.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Other people getting special treatment

    5.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff on same level as me

    Worst thing

    Management - have favourites, ignore requests, don’t listen to what I have to say. Gossip about staff

    2.1

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    No communication

    3.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Being treated badly

    3.3

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The employees

    Worst thing

    The job and managers

    3.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    meeting people and the people I work with. Learning new things everyday.

    Worst thing

    Dealing with rude customers

    8.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The non management team.

    Worst thing

    Unsafe hours between shifts ocassiknly

    4.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Routine

    Worst thing

    Not being able to do extra hours

    5.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendly staff and decent pay

    Worst thing

    Rude customers and tiring shifts

    4.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    Length of shifts can change day after day

    6.6

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleavues

    Worst thing

    The unpaid work, i. Work a full week every month for free

    2.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    some of the people

    Worst thing

    management

    2.5

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Early finish

    Worst thing

    Hard work for the money

    1.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The shifts are unfair

    2.1

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff

    Worst thing

    Being treated like a work horse, hours constantly being cut, no regard from management on what role you want to cover in the shop

    4.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    meeting customers
    building up rapport with customers

    Worst thing

    management

    3.1

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Customer and some staff members

    Worst thing

    Favouritism.
    Managers only promoting friends.

    2.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues, cheap Products, a 10% discount, 20 hour contract with overtime available sometimes if you ask, £7.55 hourly pay so above minimum wage

    Worst thing

    Early starts, managers constantly changing rules, managers having one rule for them one rule for us, different managers saying different rules, was told shifts would vary but don’t, was told we get overtime pay but found out we only get it if we work more than 36/39 hours (can’t remember which), randomly giving NOI forms for stupid reasons such as not folding cardboard (happened to a colleague), no social distancing and probably more things

    3.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Making the store look amazing.

    Worst thing

    Ignorant managers. Uncaring managers. Not being praised enough for the hard work I do.

    3.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Nice friendly team to work with helpful and understanding.

    Worst thing

    Can't increase your hours or get the hours you want.. booking holidays is a nightmare.

    5.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people, friendly customers, easy job

    Worst thing

    Violent customers, not enough hours

    6.3

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with makes the shift go better

    3.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Worst thing

    Everything, it's the worst job I've ever had

    2.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Fast pace and variety

    Worst thing

    Constantly changing rules and colleagues not doing proper job

    5.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Pays the bills.

    Worst thing

    5 am starts and having to pay taxis, cos I don't drive.

    3.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Worst thing

    Managers speaking to you like dirt , and not enough hours to live on or survive. Managers stand around getting paid triple only happy when they get their bonus while staff struggle to put food on the table .disgusting.

    3.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Never know what my finishing time is

    6.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Mostly the staff are great you can have a laugh with them and their all really good people

    Worst thing

    You get bad hours are over worked and management treat you like something on the bottom of their shoe

    2.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with good people

    Worst thing

    Management

    3.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Fast paced, always something to do. Above minimum wage. If you work hard then there's a good chance of progression.

    Worst thing

    Unpaid breaks, work can be physically demanding.

    6.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    some people you work with are good

    Worst thing

    magement and hours

    3.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Some staff

    Worst thing

    Too many to list

    1.8

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    My team is amazing, store is clean, happy staff and customers,

    4.9

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Getting given shifts I can’t do

    3.6

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people i work with are mostly amazing

    Worst thing

    Some customers are very rude

    5.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Exercise

    Worst thing

    Nonstop work for little money

    3.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    It's easy most days

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting management don't care

    3.1

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    easy to pick up shifts

    Worst thing

    customers, stress

    6.0

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Most colleagues are friendly and we don’t get pushed to hard

    6.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Laid back, easy.

    Worst thing

    Lack of hours, never knowing what time we will finnish. Only having one day off at the weekend permenantly

    3.6

    Employee, April 2021