Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
4.9

Hermes

How your job compares

Your personalised rating is missing

?

Breakroom is better when you have all the facts.

Hermes job reviews

Showing 50 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Very flexible hours, very local to me, working outdoors, love my customers

    Worst thing

    Self employed so no holiday or sick pay or benefits

    4.4

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible and lovely customers

    Worst thing

    Ever changing rules and getting the blame if things go etonh

    4.3

    Employee, August 2021

48 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Freedom to work at my own pace,

    Worst thing

    The rain

    3.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues I work with. We are seperate to the rest of the warehouse working as part of the assets team we regulate ourself most of the time.

    Worst thing

    Treated as a number, poorly paid. People only progress by who you know not what you know, and if you keep your mouth shut and don't try to think or give suggestions...just blindly follow orders, mostly from people that don't really know what they are doing, less experienced than yourself.

    5.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Solid reliable work
    Opertunities to progress
    Choice of shifts
    28 days paid holiday
    Overtime paid at higher rate
    Great teams

    Worst thing

    Cold in winter
    Hot in summer

    8.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Work outdoors, flexible hours & above minimum rate

    Worst thing

    Bad weather

    8.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    My customers

    Worst thing

    Getting paid 55p per parcel and the price of diesel

    3.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Waiting to pick up parcels

    4.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Good rates of pay

    Worst thing

    No respect from Hermes , quite stressful

    3.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Dealing with management

    2.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay, guaranteed hours, time and a half for overtime and double for holidays. Lots of great people to work with.

    Worst thing

    Long hours with heavy lifting. Volume of parcels can vary from very easy to very hard each night.

    6.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Your controlling everything...

    Worst thing

    It is depending some times you do have a good day and a bad day

    6.1

    Employee, May 2021

  • Worst thing

    No holidays, no sick pay,no breaks, low wages , parcel rate cuts s every year , no health and safety, work 6 days a week.

    2.6

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    ON THE ROAD ALL DAY

    Worst thing

    LATE DELIVERIES

    3.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    freedom to set own route

    Worst thing

    varied start times due to bad organising in depot

    3.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting customers they are lovely

    1.0

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Fixed timing
    Prompt payment

    Worst thing

    Public transport not available

    7.2

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Peaceful atmosphere sometimes ...

    Worst thing

    Racism.. and higher post being given to only the mangers or supervisors friends which is not fare at all .. and making people work I. 2 different departments without paying extra ( no equality)..

    3.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    It help to motivate me

    Worst thing

    It’s stressful

    6.4

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    When you leave the depot

    Worst thing

    No security

    1.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Driving
    Radio music

    Worst thing

    Loading the lorry

    5.2

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Freedom to work my own hours. Getting to know customers.

    Worst thing

    No control over the number of parcels each day.

    8.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Early finishes

    Worst thing

    6 days a week, no sick pay, no holidays, no pension, no training, no information from management, system crashes almost daily

    2.7

    Courier driver, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The people, it's like family

    Worst thing

    The people, it's like family

    7.4

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Seeing happy customers , talking to the elderly people who feels lonely

    Worst thing

    Nasty customers

    4.4

    Delivery driver, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Local

    Worst thing

    No care for people. Managers not making decisions based on customers but all about profit.

    2.4

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy

    Worst thing

    Little respect at times

    8.7

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Finishing time

    Worst thing

    The companies reputation.

    5.8

    Customer advisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting my customers.

    Worst thing

    Dealing with depot staff, and conditions at sub depots

    3.1

    Courier, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy enough and clean work.

    Worst thing

    Treated differently to EU workers
    Expected to commit two weeks in advance and then get cancelled at 10pm the day before when it's too late to find a shift elsewhere

    4.8

    HGV driver, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Good pay

    Worst thing

    Cool weather and sorting parcels outside

    6.1

    Delivery driver, January 2021

  • Best thing

    You are own boss

    Worst thing

    Finding addresses

    7.6

    Courier, January 2021

  • Best thing

    I enjoy getting home and switching off. Not on call like my previous roles

    Worst thing

    You’re anonymous

    5.0

    Courier driver, January 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s great, I get to drive all over delivering pallets to just a few places daily, and I choose to do just 3 days a week

    9.4

    HGV driver, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Getting paid

    Worst thing

    Never noing if I'm in or not

    1.6

    Distributer, November 2020

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with.

    Worst thing

    The increasing volume

    6.1

    Forklift Driver, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Stop and start when you like

    Worst thing

    Working in the rain

    3.5

    Deliver driver, October 2020

  • Best thing

    The people I meet

    Worst thing

    Working in the rain and snowv

    2.3

    Courier, October 2020

  • Worst thing

    not getting paid for breack

    8.0

    Warehouse, September 2020

  • Best thing

    Night drive

    Worst thing

    Long hours, work to finish

    4.4

    Delivery night driver, July 2020

  • Worst thing

    poor standards, no assistance when needed, unreasonable parcel sizes, poor pay, bad time keeping by delivery drivers to depot

    1.0

    Lifestyle courier, July 2020

  • Best thing

    Job and finished

    Worst thing

    6 Days a week

    2.6

    Courier, July 2020

  • Best thing

    left alone to get on with it

    Worst thing

    wages, only told 1 day in advance what I'm working the next day

    5.5

    hgv 1 driver, April 2020

  • Best thing

    I'm the boss

    Worst thing

    Waiting for manifest

    5.8

    Courier, April 2020

  • Best thing

    • My colleagues - work well as a team, communication is good and the task gets done

    Worst thing

    • On your own initiative, support your self, managers don’t check up on you for the who shift - check your doing okay or if there is any issues going on or anything like that.

    • Never know when you going to start or finish a shift due to no set rota for any set week so that can be a little annoying because you don’t know when at all you will finish.

    • Company doesn’t seem to care about you at all, including your personal health

    • Very repetitive job roles every shift, nothing changes and can always expect the same every day which is boring and can drain down your self esteem and even effect one mental health

    2.0

    Warehouse Operative, March 2020

  • Best thing

    being out and about delivering

    Worst thing

    not starting early enough

    5.9

    courier, March 2020

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Management not helping as much as they could do and the wage for nights being rather low.

    4.0

    Warehouse operative, February 2020

  • Best thing

    Good hours

    Worst thing

    No holiday or sick pay

    3.8

    Courier, December 2019

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The way we work

    4.5

    Parcel sorter, December 2019

  • Best thing

    The money?

    Worst thing

    Not knowing what shift I'm on one week to the next

    4.6

    Courier driver, October 2019