Halfords

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Halfords hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Halfords is a retailer. They sell car parts and accessories, bicycles, touring and camping equipment.

halfords.com

Halfords job reviews

Showing 99 reviews

  • Worst thing

    Being stuck out in the carpark at winter time with no shelter from the cold wind rain or snow.

    5.0

    Halfords Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Close knit team

    Worst thing

    Constant need to hit targets on everything

    3.7

    Halfords Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff I work with and the light hearted chatting

    Worst thing

    Not getting paid for sickness and not having a better rota because we aren’t able to plan well

    3.0

    Halfords Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Chill environment and good pay

    Worst thing

    Management don’t really care and lots of pressure on targets

    6.8

    Halfords Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The actual work that i do on vehicles and work with the team i have..

    Worst thing

    The hours.. working weekends... some staff under skilled.. under trained centre manager.. low pay

    2.5

    Halfords Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Working from home, plenty of hours available for overtime, decent pay rate

    Worst thing

    Can feel alone or unsupported at times, especially with working from home. Customers are rude and abusive. Work rate overwhelming at times

    5.5

    Halfords Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    the staff

    Worst thing

    been payed less than other retail workers even though my job is more skilled

    6.4

    Halfords Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    I get to work with bikes and cars which is what I love doing

    2.4

    Halfords Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The team around you

    Worst thing

    The stress

    4.2

    Halfords Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Learning new things

    Worst thing

    Stress and worrying what’s going to happen though out the day unexpectedly and low level of staff

    5.5

    Halfords Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Works around childcare

    Worst thing

    Staff how job are set

    2.3

    Halfords Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Good hours, Employees are amazing.

    Worst thing

    Long hours
    Not enough pay for a skilled job (Bikehut)
    Understaffed
    You will get sacked if your scores are low (emails off customers)

    2.8

    Halfords Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Other staff members

    Worst thing

    Some customers

    9.8

    Halfords Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the people are great people, and the work can be fulfilling if you know what you are doing and do it well.

    Worst thing

    There are many people who don't really know what they are doing and it really affects everyone. The company has a terrible reputation on social media and I'm often embarrassed to say where I work. We are pushed into capturing customer personal information in order to send targeted emails, and can be reprimanded if we don't hit a certain target.

    4.6

    Halfords Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    - Good amount of hours, plenty of overtime.
    - straight forward job roles.

    Worst thing

    - managers aren't respectful of privacy.
    - one break in the middle of the day.
    - blurred lines of what's appropriate professional behaviour.
    - always expected to work above and beyond your hours.

    1.2

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    People that I work with

    Worst thing

    The people
    My pay
    And my naggy manager

    3.5

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Still talking about cars and my hobbies to customers and the friends I have made

    Worst thing

    Understaffed and heavy workloads

    6.8

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with not management

    Worst thing

    If you are a girl you will get treated differently by older men thinking you know nothing even though they are asking you for help.

    3.2

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s comfortable and easy

    Worst thing

    Mangers

    4.6

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    No staff bullied by manager, hardly any stock always get angry customers

    1.2

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Staff discount
    Hands on

    Worst thing

    Understaffed
    Unrealistic targets to achieve
    Worst call centre

    1.3

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    1 hour breakers over 8 hours
    Large colleague discount
    Flexibility over shifts (Depends on store manager)

    Worst thing

    Incompetent and inconsistent Customer service team
    Stressful if everything isn’t booked correctly
    Heavy workload around the holidays

    6.8

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The relationships between employees and customers

    Worst thing

    Unfair hours, hours being changed without warning or communication
    Lack of communication

    4.9

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    Some customers

    9.1

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Everything poor higher management
    Run on a shoe string

    2.6

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Great perks, great pay and bonuses, team work.

    Worst thing

    Head office not understanding what's happening at hound level and implementing vhanges without understanding the how yhe rollout will effect working environs and morale

    9.2

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Discounts. Paid team excursions.

    Worst thing

    Underpaid for skilled work

    2.3

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with are great as we are all in the same boat really. We all understand what's going off and juts have a good time together.

    2.3

    Halfords Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Every team in all halfords stores is full of lovable and kind people who try hard with the facilities that they are provided with. the best part of my job is by far the relationship that I have built with my colleagues and the respect we've gained for one another

    Worst thing

    Halfords offers a wide range of extensive services and markets their colleagues as "experts" despite the fact that the training they offer is very watered down and inefficient. Most Halfords stores have only a single toolbox and a carpark yet the company expect us to expertly and quickly service multiple vehicles a day.

    7.1

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The team
    Discount

    Worst thing

    Rude customer
    Over worked
    No extra pay for overtime
    No training

    2.6

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    customers

    Worst thing

    long shifts and not long breaks

    8.2

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The annoying costumers

    8.9

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff are great and easy to get in with.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes the shop is short staffed.

    8.7

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    A young, fun team of people that enjoy their work.

    Worst thing

    On occasions I have ti work long hours and am on my feet all the time. I have a disability and this sometimes makes this difficult. Though my colleagues and manager help to make this easier.

    9.4

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Not that hard to do so its the higher ups mainly do everything

    Worst thing

    You can feel like your left behind and extremely far behind things like everyone has been out on the shop floor working but I have been put in a back room all by myself no one checks in to see if I need more work or how I’m doing

    6.7

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The colleagues

    Worst thing

    The condition of the building and the pay rates for younger staff

    1.5

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s chill

    Worst thing

    Can be stressful

    8.7

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    Pay
    Lack of organisation
    Ladt minute chenges

    2.3

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    i get to learn about cars

    Worst thing

    customers and hard worker. mechanics are unmotivated and dint want to do anything so it’s hard to hit target

    1.4

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people in my team

    Worst thing

    overtime paid at basic wage. Not being able to sit down on a 9 hr shift (except for the 45min break)

    3.7

    Halfords Employee, November 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The store team is always great to work with

    2.6

    Halfords Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Discount

    Worst thing

    Stress,
    Lack of staff
    Customers treat you poorly
    Managers and higher up treat you poorly

    1.8

    Halfords Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Job and finish most of the time

    Worst thing

    Management expectations

    2.1

    Halfords Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The respect for eachother with the team is amazing, very friendly and almost like family. We talk, laugh, joke, and it makes the day go by nicely.

    Worst thing

    Understaffed, no structure, and having to rely on a team which does not work to the same standards as yourself.

    4.5

    Halfords Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Call center, some of the ideas head office implement, some of the customers, systems/IT

    8.0

    Halfords Employee, August 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I have learnt some new skills

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff, being made to feel guilty for not doing overtime everyday except for 1, hours being cut in half, set backs instead of moving up on career. Company doesn't care about it's employers

    1.3

    Halfords Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay day

    Worst thing

    Hours and workloads

    5.5

    Halfords Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Every day is a new challenge

    Worst thing

    To much is expected out of everyone.

    2.4

    Halfords Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The working day is very varied considering its retail, you pick up a lot of multitasking and basic technical skills as you go. When you aren't too run off your feet, you genuinely feel like you can help people with their problems and give them a great experience.

    Worst thing

    Upper management does not understand the complexities of a store day to day, and therefore does not implement the correct improvements in both technology, strategy or performance metrics - almost every change that I have seen the company make in recent years has either worsened the customer experience or made the colleague have to work twice as hard to achieve the same goal.
    Employees don't feel listened to or appreciated, especially when unscientific metrics are being pushed that don't truly represent the performance of a store.
    There is no effort put in to ensure managers are allocating breaks fairly and most colleagues in a 9 hour shift simply have one 20-40 min break 'when they can' and this can really play havoc with health, not to mention the fact that we have gaps in our pay for multiple breaks we don't get. So in essence we are actually getting less than minimum wage per hour on average.
    Employees are simply not paid enough for the job that they do: most staff are almost constantly busy with urgent matters and there is very little downtime, a lack of decent wages also prevents high quality employees form staying or joining.
    Most of the middle management is underqualified in terms of leadership skills.
    Recent months have seen awful changes to employee structure and hour contracts that have made niche workers such as older colleagues forced to leave the company, and a lot of other talented managers have taken redundancies over a job role change - they just feel betrayed by the company.
    Feeling like time has been wasted is a common feeling at Halfords, whether it's on useless menial E-learning tasks that where clearly put together by a 3 year old, or useless menial 'retsil strategy' such as pestering your customer to hand over their personal data or buy into a bad deal. I wish the company would appreciate solid sales tactics again by keeping tabs on upselling and basic product/service attachment.

    1.6

    Halfords Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Work life Balance
    Discounts and benefits

    Worst thing

    Pay

    5.5

    Halfords Employee, June 2021