Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
5.6

Halfords

Halfords job reviews

Showing 70 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The team
    Discount

    Worst thing

    Rude customer
    Over worked
    No extra pay for overtime
    No training

    3.8

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    customers

    Worst thing

    long shifts and not long breaks

    7.5

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

68 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The annoying costumers

    8.2

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff are great and easy to get in with.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes the shop is short staffed.

    7.6

    Halfords Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    A young, fun team of people that enjoy their work.

    Worst thing

    On occasions I have ti work long hours and am on my feet all the time. I have a disability and this sometimes makes this difficult. Though my colleagues and manager help to make this easier.

    8.4

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Not that hard to do so its the higher ups mainly do everything

    Worst thing

    You can feel like your left behind and extremely far behind things like everyone has been out on the shop floor working but I have been put in a back room all by myself no one checks in to see if I need more work or how I’m doing

    6.5

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The colleagues

    Worst thing

    The condition of the building and the pay rates for younger staff

    2.4

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s chill

    Worst thing

    Can be stressful

    7.6

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    Pay
    Lack of organisation
    Ladt minute chenges

    3.4

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    i get to learn about cars

    Worst thing

    customers and hard worker. mechanics are unmotivated and dint want to do anything so it’s hard to hit target

    2.4

    Halfords Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people in my team

    Worst thing

    overtime paid at basic wage. Not being able to sit down on a 9 hr shift (except for the 45min break)

    4.2

    Halfords Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The store team is always great to work with

    3.7

    Halfords Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Discount

    Worst thing

    Stress,
    Lack of staff
    Customers treat you poorly
    Managers and higher up treat you poorly

    2.9

    Halfords Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Job and finish most of the time

    Worst thing

    Management expectations

    3.3

    Halfords Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The respect for eachother with the team is amazing, very friendly and almost like family. We talk, laugh, joke, and it makes the day go by nicely.

    Worst thing

    Understaffed, no structure, and having to rely on a team which does not work to the same standards as yourself.

    4.9

    Halfords Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Call center, some of the ideas head office implement, some of the customers, systems/IT

    6.8

    Halfords Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    I have learnt some new skills

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff, being made to feel guilty for not doing overtime everyday except for 1, hours being cut in half, set backs instead of moving up on career. Company doesn't care about it's employers

    2.1

    Halfords Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay day

    Worst thing

    Hours and workloads

    5.5

    Halfords Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Every day is a new challenge

    Worst thing

    To much is expected out of everyone.

    3.1

    Halfords Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The working day is very varied considering its retail, you pick up a lot of multitasking and basic technical skills as you go. When you aren't too run off your feet, you genuinely feel like you can help people with their problems and give them a great experience.

    Worst thing

    Upper management does not understand the complexities of a store day to day, and therefore does not implement the correct improvements in both technology, strategy or performance metrics - almost every change that I have seen the company make in recent years has either worsened the customer experience or made the colleague have to work twice as hard to achieve the same goal.
    Employees don't feel listened to or appreciated, especially when unscientific metrics are being pushed that don't truly represent the performance of a store.
    There is no effort put in to ensure managers are allocating breaks fairly and most colleagues in a 9 hour shift simply have one 20-40 min break 'when they can' and this can really play havoc with health, not to mention the fact that we have gaps in our pay for multiple breaks we don't get. So in essence we are actually getting less than minimum wage per hour on average.
    Employees are simply not paid enough for the job that they do: most staff are almost constantly busy with urgent matters and there is very little downtime, a lack of decent wages also prevents high quality employees form staying or joining.
    Most of the middle management is underqualified in terms of leadership skills.
    Recent months have seen awful changes to employee structure and hour contracts that have made niche workers such as older colleagues forced to leave the company, and a lot of other talented managers have taken redundancies over a job role change - they just feel betrayed by the company.
    Feeling like time has been wasted is a common feeling at Halfords, whether it's on useless menial E-learning tasks that where clearly put together by a 3 year old, or useless menial 'retsil strategy' such as pestering your customer to hand over their personal data or buy into a bad deal. I wish the company would appreciate solid sales tactics again by keeping tabs on upselling and basic product/service attachment.

    2.8

    Halfords Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Work life Balance
    Discounts and benefits

    Worst thing

    Pay

    5.8

    Halfords Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I get to work alone most of the time which I enjoy, but I also work with a great team of colleagues.

    Worst thing

    The area I work is, in my opinion unsafe. Plus I work in all weathers all year round.

    6.1

    Halfords Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    My work place is safe and good

    Worst thing

    Payment

    8.1

    Halfords Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Managers and most work colleagues

    Worst thing

    Higher management

    3.6

    Halfords Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The actual job I'm meant to do

    Worst thing

    Understaffed. Rude, abusive and sometimes violent customers

    3.0

    Halfords Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    People u work with

    Worst thing

    Hours

    4.0

    Halfords Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I love my job

    Worst thing

    Leaving at 5

    10.0

    Halfords Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    None at all! Nothing!

    Worst thing

    All of it. 20 hours plus u paid per week, no breaks, never leave on time, exhausting work, too few staff.

    1.6

    Halfords Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy to climb in management

    6.4

    Halfords Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Guaranteed a wage each month

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff

    3.6

    Halfords Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    Feels like a dictatorship from head office. Act like they listen to concerns but don’t act accordingly. 8 years I’ve watched my store get better & last year I felt we were doing really well. This year the whole company focus appears to have changed to try & impress their shareholders & throw their actual colleagues into despair

    2.1

    Halfords Specialist, March 2021

  • Best thing

    That not everyday is the same day

    Worst thing

    The training of colleagues and staff shortages

    6.4

    Halfords Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    The colleagues are fantastic, hardworking, team players, and the work is interesting.

    Worst thing

    Too much emphasis on constant re structuring and unreasonable targets.

    7.8

    Halfords Customer assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    There's usually something different every day which I find enjoyable, I also have interests in the field I'm working in

    Worst thing

    Working understaffed shifts

    4.9

    Halfords Technician, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Team and manager i work with

    Worst thing

    Targets,not enough colleagues ,too much task

    5.8

    Halfords Deputy manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay day

    Worst thing

    Work load work life balance poor break time

    3.3

    Halfords Technician, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with cars

    Worst thing

    Horrible customers

    3.5

    Halfords Customer advisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people make it a great place, working with your passion/hobby

    Worst thing

    Pay, lack of support, greed from above

    5.2

    Halfords Employee, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The management team and my colleagues

    Worst thing

    Lack of colleagues and large fast customer flow

    8.3

    Halfords Employee, January 2021

  • Best thing

    I love what I do

    Worst thing

    Too many different shift times,people not doing the job properly all the time.no communication with other people.

    5.0

    Halfords Bicycle technician, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Great people. Fantastic banter.

    Worst thing

    Head office with no clue about the job. Ignorant, rude and self entitled customers. Lack of staff and resources. Unsociable hours.

    2.6

    Halfords Technical specialist, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Generally easy

    Worst thing

    Long hours not a lot of staff when does get busy hard to get time off bit more pay would help a lot

    4.4

    Halfords Assistant manager, January 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with is the reason I stay. We all care for each other and try to help each other.

    Worst thing

    A few people that think they are better than the job, the rude and racist customers, answering the phone while serving at the till and having to run around the shop floor to get products for customers all at the same time

    4.4

    Halfords Solutions sales advisor, December 2020

  • Best thing

    Team members.

    Worst thing

    Workloads. Monitoring on lots of different metrics.

    4.5

    Halfords Sales advisor, November 2020

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Lazy people

    7.0

    Halfords Customer advisor, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Different everyday

    Worst thing

    Can be very intense

    6.3

    Halfords Assistant manager, November 2020

  • Best thing

    The store level team. The job tasks can be enjoyable if you like that sort of thing.

    Worst thing

    Running of the company. Not a people company. Big wigs of the company screwing over the little guy. Company makes loads of money so they cut hours and change people's contracts and make them work holidays such as new years day in Scotland. Open longer hours stretching the already stretched staff.

    5.8

    Halfords Assistant manager, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Best things are, flexible hours, very good team and great benefits.

    Worst thing

    Volume of tasks, Low industry pay and I have to travel for training.

    8.1

    Halfords Sales advisor, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Great team to work for

    Worst thing

    The company like to please customers t much and are scared to say no to them.

    8.8

    Halfords Duty manager, November 2020

  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    Management and head office

    6.2

    Halfords Sales Advisor, November 2020