Greggs

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Greggs hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Greggs is a bakery chain. They serve sweet and savoury baked goods.

greggs.co.uk

Greggs job reviews

Showing 284 reviews

  • Best thing

    Choosing your own shifts and fast paced, day goes quickly. Pay is good too

    Worst thing

    Pressure on profit controls. Never have enough labour to get the job done and it gets tighter and tighter every year. To the point where you end up working through your breaks or skipping tasks that you consider important food safety tasks. Managers are very tired people, because of this, so days off are spent recovering rather than a day of pleasure. Also when you reach shop manager its very hard to progress to any other role.

    5.5

    Greggs Shop manager, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The people you work with, seeing customers happy, not so much stress.
    You have responsibilities

    Worst thing

    Long long days

    9.3

    Greggs Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Shifts go fast and very routined which I love.

    Worst thing

    Late finishes, understaffed

    7.8

    Greggs Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The stability of hours given

    Worst thing

    The staff turnover, the clientele, the thieves who just grab whatever they like and walk out and how the training isn’t given properly.

    7.7

    Greggs Supervisor, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Nothing

    Worst thing

    Get worked to the ground and treated terribly by everyone above you. Area managers and above are useless.

    3.5

    Greggs Supervisor, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some of the regular customers

    Worst thing

    Some of the things were asked to do and expected to do things I haven’t been shown

    1.5

    Greggs Team member, January 2023

  • Worst thing

    A bullying culture from the team leader position downward.
    Rampant racism and homophoia which supervisors will not report or reprimand anyone for.
    Clear favourite policy in place, if your face fits as it were then you can have days of doing nothing whilst other staff members are made to do the work

    3.2

    Greggs Production operative, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The team members, employees

    Worst thing

    Stressfull

    6.4

    Greggs Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Working with customers

    Worst thing

    The staff

    3.3

    Greggs Team member, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Discount and weekly pay

    Worst thing

    The customers and colleagues are rude and management makes you do everything whilst they do nothing and sit outside

    1.2

    Greggs Team member, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    That I still have one . As I’m told

    Worst thing

    No security . Terrible hours . Told to take a break Evan on 13 hour shift as 5 minutes here and 2 minutes there when it’s unpaid . Head office give people 10 pound gift cards Evan if they’ve assaulted you . A lot of bullying . Group chats that you need to be in go off anytime of day .
    . They’ll probably find I wrote this and take me into the office .

    1.2

    Greggs Supervisor, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Some colleagues are amazing to work with and overall great people

    Worst thing

    2 sick days every 6 months
    Team members only need to work 1 extra hour to earn the same amount as a manager
    General disrespect of lower ranking members from managerial staff

    1.8

    Greggs Team member, December 2022

  • Best thing

    discount

    Worst thing

    Management are bullies, have reported them multiple times due to bullying me and other staff members. disrespectful to customers

    1.9

    Greggs Team member, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount

    Worst thing

    Senior members of staff and strict management- too scared to call in sick

    2.8

    Greggs Team member, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff discount
    Team members

    Worst thing

    Customers
    Pay
    Long hours

    1.2

    Greggs Team member, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Its hard to pin what's good other then the people on the line I work with and one or two of my department college but as a whole it will do for now.

    Worst thing

    The hours, 12 hours, 4on 4off days and nights.
    The pay, we are lowest pay for the industry for the type of work we do.
    The holiday entitlement could be a bit more due to the sacrifice your body&mind takes to weekly change your sleep pattern and function as a normal while still being a parent.

    8.0

    Greggs Maintenance engineer, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff discounts and some of the people I work with

    Worst thing

    The hours needed to work (12 hours) and the lack of descent pay package to compensate the lack of time you spend with family. When you do a 4on4off shift your body never knows whether it’s sleep time or wake time so you eventually go into a sleepy wake mode.

    8.0

    Greggs Maintenance engineer, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Most of the people I work with are lovely and are very willing to help

    Worst thing

    Managers are useless and area managers are even more useless

    3.0

    Greggs Team member, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Great management team to support you, good shifts

    Worst thing

    5am starts, 9pm finishes

    7.3

    Greggs Team leader, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The team members treat each other like family.
    Discount is good.

    Worst thing

    Extremely stressful and can be too overloaded at times.

    6.4

    Greggs Team member, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The shop team

    Worst thing

    Stressful. Lack of staff. Rude customers. Daily theft.

    2.1

    Greggs Team member, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Interacting with the customers

    Worst thing

    When it’s busy

    8.6

    Greggs Customer service assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    50% discount

    Worst thing

    Store management & up have absolutely no respect for anyone but themselves. Always speak down to you as if you’re stupid. They get things wrong and nothing happens, we do something wrong and it’s the end of the world. Rule for them, rule for everyone else. Lazy managers & don’t train properly!

    2.3

    Greggs Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Don’t get many weekends off normally work Saturdays and off Sunday or work all weekend

    Customers are rude sometimes

    7.8

    Greggs Team member, November 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    7.6

    Greggs Team member, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Busy, fast paced environment makes the time fly.

    Worst thing

    Currently (November 2022) paid less than many other unskilled workers. Sometimes too much pressure is applied to work unreasonably fast. Management in many shops isn’t great

    6.4

    Greggs Team member, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay and the workers

    Worst thing

    the Uniform

    6.0

    Greggs Team member, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Three days off

    Worst thing

    Customers verbal abuse

    4.8

    Greggs Team member, October 2022

  • Worst thing

    Bad pay rates, not in like with cost of living. Expect impossible standards at all times and when you struggle to meet the impossible standards you are punished harshly for it. Stressful job. Area Managers don't care. Regional Manager is unaware of the strains that are placed on in store workers.

    3.2

    Greggs Supervisor, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The people and the perks

    Worst thing

    The early starts and often unrealistic expectations

    3.7

    Greggs Employee, October 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Getting to chat to my regulars

    Worst thing

    It’s stressful sometimes

    7.3

    Greggs Team member, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff are really nice to work with.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes some staff members make the job little hard and customers are able to speak bad of us meaning we can't defend ourselves when we ha e rights too

    4.1

    Greggs Team member, October 2022

  • Best thing

    good money, nice people.

    Worst thing

    understaffing

    9.2

    Greggs Team member, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff discount, hours are avaliable to take (but for the wrong reason)

    Worst thing

    Poor management, bad pay rate

    4.1

    Greggs Employee, October 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount and opening times

    Worst thing

    Stress
    Rude customers
    Can't take days off as you need them.
    Expected to work over your hours
    Not enough staff

    1.4

    Greggs Team member, October 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I love what I do, from serving to food prep and even the early mornings.

    Worst thing

    Team members walking off, some team leader not pulling there weight

    9.0

    Greggs Team member, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The constant nice pace of work

    Worst thing

    every one of my shifts start at 6am

    2.8

    Greggs Team member, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Amazing staff everyone is friendly, huge discounts.

    Worst thing

    Gets busy dealing with a lot of customers

    9.8

    Greggs Supervisor, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Paid weekly

    Worst thing

    The pay & attitude of manager

    2.3

    Greggs Team member, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the staff discount are the best things.

    Worst thing

    The higher-ups, they see how busy and stressful it gets in my store, they see everyone coming in early or staying late (unpaid) to get things done but they won't allow us more hours or pay us for that time. There are some really strict punishments, for example if you are about 30mins late its treated as bad as being absent entirely. Also when you start theres a 12week training period in which you are under paid and you can be fired at any time.

    3.7

    Greggs Team member, September 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Not working late nights, bank holiday pay bonus

    Worst thing

    Short staff levels, being given warnings for too many illnesses

    1.5

    Greggs Supervisor, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.
    Staff discount.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be rude.
    Expected to do so much at once.
    Head Office are so disconnected.

    8.8

    Greggs Team member, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay and it's a flexible job for students and parents

    Worst thing

    Management is constantly changing shops and may bring their own staff which leads to a cliquey setting. Soke managers are b***hy and don't train you when you choose to progress.

    4.7

    Greggs Employee, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The 50% discount and some of the staff I work with

    Worst thing

    The costumers, the manager, the stress

    6.4

    Greggs Team member, September 2022

  • Best thing

    Team member are lovely to work with

    Worst thing

    No support, stressed workplace, not enough staff, late hours when no customers in store and have to stay open. Rude customers

    1.1

    Greggs Employee, September 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The relationship I have with colleagues - we all get on like a family

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    6.0

    Greggs Store assistant, September 2022

  • Best thing

    All shops are like family and when they need people to help, other shop always be there to send someone for help.

    Worst thing

    So many thefts and loosing. Beacuse always everything is in front of the door and most of the time theft knows that you can do nothing like ( touch them, grab them or...) so shops are easy to steal. This is makes stuffs uncomfortable and stressful. Even plice comes so late so no evidence and nothing to do.

    2.3

    Greggs Supervisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay for my age 19
    Can progress up the ladder of roles
    Great people and great customers
    Really accommodating

    Worst thing

    A full week of early mornings
    Being understaffed
    Lots to do in little time

    8.8

    Greggs Supervisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Great pay, Great colleagues, Good manager, great staff discount

    9.6

    Greggs Team member, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Manager struggle's to do basic tasks and is inconsistent with his standard's

    4.6

    Greggs Team member, August 2022