Greene King

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Greene King hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies reach the next generation of candidates.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Greene King is a pub, hotel, restaurant and brewery operator. They run Farmhouse Inns, Hungry Horse and Wacky Warehouse.

greeneking.co.uk

Greene King job reviews

Showing 269 reviews

  • Best thing

    Working with a great team that are more friends than co-workers.

    Worst thing

    Minimum wage pay.

    7.6

    Greene King Assistant manager, September 2023

  • Best thing

    that you can transfer to another pub when going to uni, the shifts work well with school

    Worst thing

    the stress and sometimes being understaffed

    6.0

    Greene King Front of house staff, September 2023

  • Best thing

    Working with people

    Worst thing

    High expectations

    5.5

    Greene King Team leader, August 2023

  • Best thing

    Fantastic work ethic. Well looked after.

    Worst thing

    Some shifts are very stressful. We work late nights sometimes with not enough staff.

    7.6

    Greene King Team leader, August 2023

  • Best thing

    Leaving

    Worst thing

    Working/ have to stay untill everything is done

    3.0

    Greene King Employee, August 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Discounts and hours (if your part time)

    Worst thing

    Rubbish pay, sometimes there is unprofessionalism, short breaks, stressful environment.

    1.9

    Greene King Waitress, August 2023

  • Best thing

    Community and my coworkers

    Worst thing

    It can be a bit stressful sometimes

    6.8

    Greene King Bartender, July 2023

  • Best thing

    Meeting new customers
    Working with staff

    Worst thing

    Horrible customers, morning shifts

    6.4

    Greene King Team leader, July 2023

  • Best thing

    I love the people, the guests, the staff. They make my day every day.

    Worst thing

    The extended hours we have to do unpaid.

    2.8

    Greene King Assistant manager, July 2023

  • Best thing

    Good breaks & free food on shift.
    Equal tip sharing.
    Kind and relaxed managers.

    Worst thing

    Cleaning toilets at the end of the night.
    Salaried pay, when closing later than we’re paid.
    Hard too book off holiday without lots of notice.

    6.0

    Greene King Bartender, July 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Running the Cellar

    Worst thing

    Level of stress, as a whole

    8.9

    Greene King Supervisor, July 2023

  • Best thing

    Some of the people you get to work with

    Worst thing

    Overworked, underpaid, demanding, personal connections

    1.0

    Greene King Employee, July 2023

  • Best thing

    staff and customers

    Worst thing

    management, very mistreated by boss, not getting proper breaks

    1.2

    Greene King Team member, July 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with
    The specific pub setup and management are very clued in on the business aspects of the pub
    The customers are fairly friendly in comparison to other venues

    Worst thing

    Greene king as a whole allow pubs to be understaffed in comparison to other companies
    Repairs tend to be ignored at the head office level
    Any employee below the BDM level seem to just be a number rather than a person

    6.4

    Greene King Team leader, June 2023

  • Best thing

    The discounts and benefits

    Worst thing

    The management and the mistreatment and disrespect and bullying of employees especially disabled ones, the lack of shifts and the pay

    1.1

    Greene King Employee, June 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some of the customers and staff are great

    1.5

    Greene King Assistant manager, May 2023

  • Best thing

    The staff

    Worst thing

    The overload of things I need to complete

    2.6

    Greene King Team leader, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Team is friendly. Quite an easy job and get to speak to regulars that are nice.

    Worst thing

    I am not being paid equally, unfair pay.

    1.6

    Greene King FOH team member, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Make a lot of friends in the pub environment and there’s a lot of opportunity to progress

    Worst thing

    Tiring, never get breaks, work overtime without a bonus, late nights, long days, burnt out

    1.5

    Greene King Team leader, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Free and not micromanaged. Lots of creativity

    Worst thing

    Changes in schedules and lack of accommodation for shift needs even with advanced notice

    1.2

    Greene King Team leader, May 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    well it’sa good opportunity to earn for myself, flexible hours

    Worst thing

    it’s stressful and some colleagues don’t do the job well

    6.6

    Greene King Front of house, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Good team and decent pay

    Worst thing

    Long hours and managers are rarely seen

    1.8

    Greene King Kitchen team leader, May 2023

  • Best thing

    It's easy now I'm used to it

    Worst thing

    Boredom
    Lack of communication and progress

    4.2

    Greene King Employee, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people from all walks of life, and being part of a team that’s sometimes like a family

    Worst thing

    Having to deal with the worst aspects of the public and general incompetence

    2.6

    Greene King Team leader, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Some of the people are nice.
    The actual job is easy.
    Some members of management by some I mean one makes you feel respected at work.

    Worst thing

    Team leaders aren’t trained properly and patronise you.
    If a guest is rude to you the management don’t care as long as they are paying.
    People get put on late shifts and then early ones the next day.
    If you call in sick you get shouted at for it.
    No respect from certain members of management.
    Tips are shocking.
    Christmas Day tips aren’t properly divided and managers keep most for their managers days out.

    1.6

    Greene King Front of house, April 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The best thing at my place is the Team I Work with, most of them are amazing, I only have issues with the area manager and the assistant manager.

    Worst thing

    Dealing with horrible customers on a daily basis and being forced to bend my back over to please them just because that's what the area manager demands instead of being able to refuse service.

    6.4

    Greene King Team leader, April 2023

  • Best thing

    I get paid

    Worst thing

    underpaid

    Lack of management

    4.1

    Greene King Chef, April 2023

  • Best thing

    Its flexible and allows you to work unconventional shift patterns and still get paid.

    Worst thing

    Awful head office management apart from their support during covid-19.
    General public are abusive and demanding.
    The pay is awful for a job in which you are regularly demeaned, have hours cut due to trade.
    Next to no progression opportunities.

    3.7

    Greene King Team leader, March 2023

  • Best thing

    The customers
    The hours
    The pay

    Worst thing

    The stress
    The staff
    Cutbacks

    6.8

    Greene King Team leader, March 2023

  • Best thing

    Working as a team with people I like

    Worst thing

    Hours

    6.4

    Greene King Back of house, March 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The discount - that's it

    Worst thing

    Bad general manager, bad area manager, greene king is not a good company to work for, your better off working for stonegate

    5.5

    Greene King Team leader, March 2023

  • Best thing

    regular customers who make you feel valued-

    Worst thing

    expected to close down desserts side of kitchen rest all sauces and refill desserts ..then as theres never any staff after 9 also expected to close resturant get all plates in wipe down tables re menu then u also expected to finish the bar close down so the manager whos always stuck on bar can go cash up really not work the pay doing the job of 3 ppl.
    management if u have an issue with one and go to another cos the other managers there friend they dont want to know or help uresolve issue,management also have clear favourites who always get the hours despite what hours u were promised on interview

    1.9

    Greene King Employee, March 2023

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    Lack of hours, lack of tips (sometimes non existent!), expectations over and above the role you’re being paid for, taking staff for granted, understaffed

    4.3

    Greene King Bar staff, March 2023

  • Best thing

    Discounts and various other benefits are the best thing. My mangers are amazing

    Worst thing

    Forever stressed, understaffed and underfunded. Unpaid breaks.

    3.0

    Greene King Front of house, March 2023

  • Best thing

    50% off food and drinks, free draft drinks and once in a blue moon you’ll be given free food by the chefs

    Worst thing

    Where to begin? Understaffed, underpaid, incompetent employees and managers, being told to do work that your managers should be doing. Working the bar completely alone, whilst preparing drinks for restaurant, whilst serving food, whilst getting stock from downstairs. Basically you will need to develop the ability to be in two places at once if you want to work at Greene King.

    1.2

    Greene King Front of house staff, March 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Very social, your colleagues become like family

    Worst thing

    Unsocial working hours, no consistency with rotas, staff turn over can be often, long working days, altercations with drunk people, low pay for work rate and skill

    6.0

    Greene King Team leader, February 2023

  • Best thing

    Nothing

    Worst thing

    Stress customers unsocial hours

    3.0

    Greene King Front of house, February 2023

  • Best thing

    My work husband

    Worst thing

    The terrible hours

    3.3

    Greene King Front of house, February 2023

  • Best thing

    I enjoy speaking with customers and making customers day

    Worst thing

    The manager isn’t respectful to staff and is power crazy but doesn’t know what he’s doing and we have more knowledge than him

    1.4

    Greene King Team leader, February 2023

  • Best thing

    We make pizzas not Greene kings usual shitty food

    Worst thing

    It can get quite repetitive

    7.3

    Greene King Chef, February 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Love meeting people and making people smile. Great atmosphere sometimes.

    Worst thing

    Managers don’t care about the front line workers.

    2.1

    Greene King Team leader, February 2023

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff hours, managers expected to be constantly working the floor/bar and still run a business

    8.0

    Greene King General manager, February 2023

  • Best thing

    Get to work on my own

    Worst thing

    How staff treat me horribly

    2.1

    Greene King Kitchen porter, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Social side fexible hours

    Worst thing

    Part time staff phoning in sick all the time

    3.0

    Greene King Supervisor, January 2023

  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    The company doesn’t invest when you work so hard

    5.5

    Greene King Team leader, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Aways joking about

    Worst thing

    Don't work as a team

    7.6

    Greene King Kitchen porter, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Interaction with FOH and BOH staff. Also becoming familiar with regulars.

    Worst thing

    Bad customers who aren’t understanding to my job and what control I have in my position

    4.5

    Greene King Waitress, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Pay rises, Daytime regulars are lovely

    Worst thing

    Poor management, toxic workplace, abuse from customers, unpaid labour

    1.9

    Greene King Team leader, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Lovely team mates

    Worst thing

    Incompetent Management

    2.4

    Greene King Team leader, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Not noing what's going on

    4.6

    Greene King Employee, January 2023