GAME

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. GAME hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

GAME is a retailer. They sell video consoles and video games.

game.co.uk

GAME job reviews

Showing 19 reviews

  • Best thing

    The team, it's a good environment

    Worst thing

    Not always getting many hours

    8.9

    GAME Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Discount

    Worst thing

    Too many tasks and targets with not enough staff

    3.4

    GAME Assistant manager, November 2022

  • Best thing

    It's in an environment where many customers and colleagues share a common interest and passion. The stores have changed a lot recently and it feel less like a specialist game shop and more like a generalist, stocking fewer games and focussing on toys and merch, but the passion is still there amongst the staff and they are what make it special.

    Worst thing

    Outdated and inefficient retail processes. There is so much room for improvement in many areas from IT and the till systems, to stock management, staff training and scheduling. A long term lack of investment to keep up with the times and with consumer expectations is an issue. The till and many other systems and services are never user friendly and teeter on the edge of obsolete, which means all the processes and procedures followed each day are slow and inefficient with so much room for errors that require even more time to rectify.

    Staff experience multiple and regular issues throughout each week that waste valuable time that could be better spent focussing on improving customer service, developing staff and improving the overall management of the store.

    2.8

    GAME Assistant manager, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The discount and the team that works there.

    Worst thing

    The people who run head office haven't q clue what's actually going on within each store. Nor do they care, it seems.

    7.0

    GAME Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff Discount

    Worst thing

    Head office communication with its stores is abysmal. There is a constant battle with meeting KPIs where you're almost forced to try and beg the customer. Not everyone wants the same thing and no matter how you phrase it to try and sell it to them, some people just don't care.

    Hours are ridiculous, with current tasks always being added and hardly any extra hours being given you're expected to juggle up to four tasks in one day. Currently on week days we have two managers in. One in the morning and one in the afternoon. What if one of us falls ill or has an accident. There's no consideration for employee health.

    Things are constantly being altered in the way we do things, and we're expected to be able to adapt quick to them. But before we can they are changed once again.

    Recently we've had a large remerch drastically reducing the amount of games we stock and increasing Toys and Boardgames, our already small pool of customers now can no longer fully browse and instead need to ask if we can order from our warehouse.

    3.4

    GAME Assistant manager, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The best thing is the staff discount, and after that working generally in a place that supports my hobbies in the real world

    Worst thing

    You only ever work on your own which is a huge downside and most GAME stores are reduced to concessions within Sports Direct stores.

    5.0

    GAME Assistant manager, July 2022

  • Best thing

    I’ve made some great friends, I like most of the people I work with.

    Worst thing

    You do a lot of work for the amount of pay, the company is also very disorganised and out of touch. People get annoyed when you take holiday and they need to hire more staff, they expect minimal people to do maximum work with minimal pay.

    1.2

    GAME Assistant manager, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff discount, friendly staff

    Worst thing

    Lone working, bad hours, upselling everything with no personal reward for hitting targets

    3.4

    GAME Assistant manager, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The People
    Discount
    Environment

    Worst thing

    Rude customers
    Heavy sales Target

    5.5

    GAME Manager, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Part time hours for childcare

    Worst thing

    Management
    Lack of staff
    No training

    1.3

    GAME Sales assistant, September 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    20% discount

    Worst thing

    Too many tasks to be done and not enough time to complete them. Customer focused but then I have lots of other jobs to do. KPIs are tracked and performance is monitored. The tools are I efficient but head office doesn't care as long as we do the tasks they set.

    2.6

    GAME Assistant manager, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Upper management, forced stress, unrealistic expectations and customers

    4.6

    GAME Assistant manager, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with each day are amazing and a real team.

    Worst thing

    Everything except the team I work with.

    1.6

    GAME Sales assistant, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Team is generally great, most customers are friendly and the work day is predictable.

    Worst thing

    Changing policies so often that it confuses the staff and upsets the customers, we are frequently understaffed, and there are multiple safety hazards that Head Office won't pay to fix.

    2.3

    GAME Assistant manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Policy changes

    8.7

    GAME Sales assistant, December 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    the team

    Worst thing

    lack of hours, too much task, expect unrealistic targets

    4.6

    GAME Assistant manager, November 2020

  • Best thing

    The discount off of new games

    Worst thing

    Everything
    Work load compared to hours
    The people they hire to run the stores

    1.1

    GAME Deputy store manager, March 2020

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Managing day to day

    1.1

    GAME Assistant manager, December 2019

  • Best thing

    Other staff

    Worst thing

    The hour cuts but more upper management being hired despite this

    2.0

    GAME Assistant manager, November 2019