Fire Service

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Fire Service hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Fire Service is a publicly funded organisation. They respond to fire emergencies.

nationalfirechiefs.org.uk/Fire-and-Rescue-Services

Fire Service job reviews

Showing 41 reviews

  • Best thing

    The blokes

    Worst thing

    Under manned and over worked, no real chance for time off except good will of other blokes. Management

    5.5

    Fire Service Firefighter, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Saving people

    Worst thing

    What we see

    6.7

    Fire Service Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Bonding time with colleagues
    Everyday is different

    Worst thing

    The support is lacking
    Too much to do in such little time
    Overworked

    7.8

    Fire Service Firefighter, October 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay
    The responsibility
    The joy in being able to help
    The family unit you work day and night with

    Worst thing

    Rude people when helping them

    9.9

    Fire Service Firefighter, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with.

    Worst thing

    Seeing some bad sights.

    10

    Fire Service Firefighter, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Getting to help people
    Work in a team
    Shift pattern

    Worst thing

    Senior managers
    Training staff conflicting with information and moving goal posts
    Pay

    9.7

    Fire Service Firefighter, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Helping community,making a difference to troublesome situations

    Worst thing

    Trauma and hurt

    9.8

    Fire Service Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Every day is different

    Worst thing

    Never get Xmas off or special occasions

    3.0

    Fire Service Firefighter, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Good work life balance, no work to do at home.

    Worst thing

    Have to work weekends and nights, but I knew this before applying

    10

    Fire Service Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Shift pattern and banter

    Worst thing

    Senior managers

    7.5

    Fire Service Firefighter, June 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I get to help people
    My team are like family
    I look forwards to going to work

    Worst thing

    When someone dies, they lose loved ones or their property is destroyed
    The salary is poor

    9.9

    Fire Service Firefighter, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping people

    Worst thing

    Seeing bad injuries

    10

    Fire Service Firefighter, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Extremely rewarding work

    Worst thing

    Low pay

    9.8

    Fire Service Firefighter, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Fixing front line equipment

    Worst thing

    Occasionally work load gets abit manic

    9.9

    Fire Service Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Amazing people, amazing place to work.

    Worst thing

    Things/people suffer and that’s why we’re here to help. The fact people suffer is the worst part, but we do what we can to make things right.

    9.9

    Fire Service Firefighter, March 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Assisting the public

    Worst thing

    Long hours and not enough people to carry out tasks effective

    4.6

    Fire Service Crew manager, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexibility, the people I work with, rewarding job

    10

    Fire Service Firefighter, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible, mostly good people to work with

    9.5

    Fire Service Personal assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Saving lives
    Fighting fires

    Worst thing

    Death and deverstation

    9.5

    Fire Service Firefighter, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping community, colleagues

    Worst thing

    Increased workload and pressure from senior management

    8.9

    Fire Service Employee, March 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    We get to go to emergency’s and put out fires and as well as make friends with your crew

    Worst thing

    Chores

    9.2

    Fire Service Firefighter, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team, good shift pattern, money not bad.

    Worst thing

    Other people undermining what we do

    9.9

    Fire Service Employee, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Every day is different

    Worst thing

    Dealing with traumatic incidents

    9.8

    Fire Service Firefighter, January 2021

  • Best thing

    Work life balance, interesting work

    Worst thing

    Poor pay for the work we do. Older member discriminate younger members

    9.9

    Fire Service Firefighter, January 2021

  • Best thing

    well respected

    Worst thing

    poor employer appreciation

    3.7

    Fire Service Watch manager, January 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Helping people

    Worst thing

    Demands on time

    9.7

    Fire Service Station manager, December 2020

  • Best thing

    I joined to use my skills to help people and I still really enjoy that aspect of the job. It's a great feeling when you've just rescued someone, saved their home or cut them from their car and handed them safely over to paramedics. It's what I joined to do

    Worst thing

    The pay isn't enough to support a family or even get a mortgage here in the south east. The take home pay is around £1900 per month. Can be around £2000 if you're on duty on a bank holiday or pick up a shout at the end of a couple of shifts, but that's rare. If you have children you will most certainly need to take on a second job on your off duty days which in turn means you are constantly exhausted.
    It did come with the benefit of a very good pension to compensate for the poor pay, but the government have now taken that away and replaced it with one that pays far less and probably not worth signing up to.
    If you do sign up for it, you'd need to work untill age 60 and do 40 years service for a full pension which would still be much much less than the previous pension and almost certainly unachievable.
    Management are constantly after more work and attack our conditions almost daily. To protect ourselves we have to really be on the ball and consider very carefully what is being asked of us. This has obviously lead to a less than happy work environment unfortunately.
    I don't want to tell people not to join, but be aware this job is being attacked constantly and probably isn't the job you think it is. It certainly isn't the job I joined at the start of my career

    3.0

    Fire Service Firefighter, December 2020

  • Best thing

    shift pattern

    Worst thing

    Dealing with some people

    8.7

    Fire Service Firefighter, December 2020

  • Best thing

    Saving lives

    Worst thing

    Can’t book time off

    7.8

    Fire Service Firefighter, December 2020

  • Best thing

    Shift patterns and time off from work

    Worst thing

    pay is low and lots to learn

    9.9

    Fire Service Fire fighter, November 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Working with a great set of people

    Worst thing

    The polltics

    6.4

    Fire Service Firefighter, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Working as a team

    Worst thing

    The jobs you go to

    9.4

    Fire Service Firefighter, November 2020

  • Best thing

    Different everyday.
    Good people.
    Helping others
    Shift pattern

    Worst thing

    Senior Management
    Salary
    Lack of respect

    7.8

    Fire Service Watch commander, October 2020

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The organisation and night shifts

    4.5

    Fire Service Firefighter, October 2020

  • Best thing

    shift pattern

    Worst thing

    pay has not kept track with cost of living

    10

    Fire Service Firefighter, October 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Helping proole

    Worst thing

    Not getting recognised

    9.3

    Fire Service Firefighter, October 2020

  • Best thing

    No two days are the same

    Worst thing

    Shift work - nights

    9.7

    Fire Service Fire fighter, September 2020

  • Best thing

    Shift pattern. Every day is different

    Worst thing

    Poor annual pay rises

    9.8

    Fire Service Firefighter, August 2020

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Upper management

    5.5

    Fire Service Control room operator, August 2020

  • Best thing

    Helping people and firefighting

    Worst thing

    Dead people

    9.0

    Fire Service Firefighter, June 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Varied , challenging and rewarding

    Worst thing

    Sone of the things we have to deal with professionally and often unsociable hours.

    10

    Fire Service Crew manager, March 2020