Costa Coffee

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Costa Coffee hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Costa Coffee is a coffee shop chain. They specialise in serving Italian coffee.

costa.co.uk

Costa Coffee job reviews

Showing 225 reviews

  • Best thing

    good team

    Worst thing

    customers, staff not looked after so well considering how big of a company

    3.7

    Costa Coffee Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    Customers have no respect they behave like animals

    4.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Bonding with customers

    Worst thing

    Not being understood

    1.3

    Costa Coffee Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Learning a skill whilst working plus perks. Good wage for my age

    Worst thing

    Stress, personality clash with manager

    6.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    Stress and customer

    2.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The team I work for and the staff discount.

    Worst thing

    The really late Rotas and awful management.

    1.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Love my work , love the team I work with

    Worst thing

    I hate rude customers

    8.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The team. Everybody has a laugh, but that’s what makes the job. If you don’t get on with them then you will not enjoy this job at all. However, it’s really good for students because you can do any shifts really, it’s good pay at a young age and there are closing shifts for after college/Uni.

    Worst thing

    The customers. People in hospitality will know how the general public can be, but in a drive thru with an inside store at the same time… wow. Customers are a nighmare and the managers are good if you get along with them. But when they see you rushed off your feet but asking you to keep up with “targets” and cleaning it is stressful.

    4.7

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff
    Discount
    Progressions

    Worst thing

    Checks from head office
    No notice of rota

    7.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    A hand selected number of people

    Worst thing

    poor communication between management

    1.5

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Free coffee and discounts on food

    Worst thing

    Last minute rota changes, being moved to other stores on short notice

    4.7

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    I like making drinks and the team I work with

    Worst thing

    Our manager doesn't truly understand how much work we do and how little we get back from it

    3.2

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Regular customers. The pay and colleagues

    Worst thing

    Over worked, no staff to actually do I can’t actually do my job. Stressful when no one higher up will listen.

    1.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    the discounts are nice

    Worst thing

    our store has no in-store management currently and has supervisors/BMs running the store. they expect a lot of you regardless of what hours you're contracted for. i.e. i requested 25-30 hours per week upon my application and currently work upwards of 35 hours per week.

    1.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Free drinks

    Worst thing

    Cleaning the toilet

    4.5

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Worst thing

    Every single part, bad pay, managers are terrible, always understaffed yet don’t get given enough hours

    2.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    It's fun to interact with people the entire shift. Co workers are really friendly and supportive. It's rewarding to learn new drinks.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be rude.

    9.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Free drinks

    Worst thing

    Underpaid and over worked

    1.5

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    My shop my colleagues in my shop and my custnoers

    Worst thing

    The head office. We’re a franchise

    1.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    How kind everyone is and how well everyone gets on

    9.0

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Good for a student. There’s always a costa out there so transfers are easy

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    8.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Worst thing

    No enough staff to work

    6.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Can be fun at work and most of the people are nice to work with. Fun trying different, new drinks

    Worst thing

    Some managers can be very rude and disrespectful to both other staff and customers. Can't really say anything of a customer is rude or undermining to you

    1.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The team I work with (most of them) when they’re actually in, because a few members are unreliable so we’re constantly understaffed.

    Worst thing

    No free drinks, or discounted food, no perks, not allowed to accept tips, rarely get a thank you from management and higher up. More cons than pros in this job

    4.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    The stress of the store

    6.0

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    the customers

    Worst thing

    the stress of its busy

    3.4

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    I love working with my colleagues, it’s a fun job and we all support each other really well which makes it so much more enjoyable. Everyone is up for a laugh and equally works hard

    Worst thing

    We don’t have enough staff for our store to work properly. Two people have just left but they haven’t been replaced. I’m working 50+ hours each week my contract is 23. I have many weeks with no days off

    4.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    honestly, the money you make and the team i work with

    Worst thing

    there are some rude clients

    9.9

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Discounted stuff. And the environment

    Worst thing

    Cleaning up at the end

    6.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Great Team
    Good Pay
    Amazing benefits
    Nice enviroment

    Worst thing

    Working at a train station often unsafe
    Shifts are not evenly distributed

    5.9

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    work mates

    Worst thing

    manager does nothing to help

    1.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Discount and other baristas are nice

    Worst thing

    The rush hours, the lack of consistency in hours and some customers make you want to quit and/or cry and you will almost always be asked to go in to cover

    2.3

    Costa Coffee Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Customers are nice
    It nice to talk to the people

    Worst thing

    It is very stressful and very busy
    Constant pressure about audits and costa check.

    3.2

    Costa Coffee Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    I work with the best team of people and they're my second family

    Worst thing

    High paced and stressful job, especially working at a drive thru. Customers are getting more demanding and rude all for the sake of a couple of coffees. Long hours take its toll and we only get 30 minute breaks but if its busy than its less as sometimes you'll get called off your break to help as we're also short staffed

    5.5

    Costa Coffee Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Wonderful team
    Discount

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff

    4.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, March 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Drink coffee, make coffee

    Worst thing

    Don't apply if you can't take the heat

    8.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Best thing is working with your team

    Worst thing

    Long hours and because your on salary as manager not being paid for some hours you put in if you have to cover shifts

    3.5

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Its jusr an overall nice place to work, i enjoy it

    8.0

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    close knit team and the staff benefits

    Worst thing

    no sick pay

    3.4

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Literally nothing

    Worst thing

    Low staff everywhere
    Management is disgusting
    Staff are awful people
    Never get the right hours
    Managers play favourites
    They're rude
    It's so unsafe

    1.4

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Really good fun very chilled

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    10

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff, quite a fun job

    Worst thing

    Far too stressful, honestly not worth the mental health decline

    3.7

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Everything
    i would really recommend costa as a first job, the pay is incredible and my team took me under their wing instantly its an amazing place to work

    Worst thing

    some early morning shifts are not so great but you get through it

    9.1

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay for a part time job, staff discount.

    Worst thing

    Rude customers, short staffed, no one gets properly trained, co workers only care about themselves

    4.2

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and most of the customers are great

    Worst thing

    We work until close so it’s not always payed for if we have to work overtime

    7.5

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The customers and the staff

    Worst thing

    The Karen's 😂

    9.9

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Good hours, treated with respect, team are great. Good level of training provided

    Worst thing

    Only get SSP if your ill which is terrible if your full time.
    No support during covid
    Upper management have no idea how to run the shop floor

    9.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s a good laugh and good pay.

    Worst thing

    Customers, management, the company itself, the lack of respect for staff

    5.0

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay
    Young people working their
    Benefits of job

    Worst thing

    Manager. Very poor communication. Doesn’t do anything

    3.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people
    Not being sat at a desk
    Free drinks on shift

    Worst thing

    No work or home life balance
    No paid sick
    Hard to take sick days or holidays
    Always phoned on days off and asked to work
    Abuse from customers
    Long hours and no overtime pay
    Skeleton staff due to lack of budget
    Lack of support from higher up within the company

    1.3

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2022