Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
5.1

Costa Coffee

Costa Coffee job reviews

Showing 134 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Really nice costumers and nice staff members

    Worst thing

    Every man for themselves

    3.0

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    - the team is nice

    Worst thing

    - Dont keep tips
    - Dont get paid if have to stay late

    2.5

    Employee, November 2021

132 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    The local customers were the only thing that kept me going.

    Worst thing

    Anxiety, depression, over worked, underpaid, mental health, bullied by managers, not allowed time off, head office doesn’t care at all.

    1.0

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Working part of a great team and making hand crafted coffee.

    Worst thing

    Busy times over lunch and still delivering good service.

    8.0

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The drinks

    Worst thing

    Having less people on the team due to cutting hours increase stress for other employees

    5.2

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Team members and regular customers

    Worst thing

    Poor management, poor pay, short breaks.

    2.6

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Barista skills gained

    Worst thing

    Management, lack of staff, lack of respect

    3.5

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team, good pay and good benefits

    Worst thing

    Rude customers, who are rewarded for treating staff like poop, expected to do assistant managers job for no extra pay, little or no proper training for new starters now

    4.2

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Interaction with the public

    Worst thing

    Too many demands to meet. Under staffed at all times & still expecting you to run around for the company.

    3.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    It's easy work.

    Worst thing

    Work life balance is non existant

    3.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    Bad pay for the workload. Management are disrespectful

    4.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Spending time with customers, making people smile 😊

    Worst thing

    Finnish late

    8.4

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    People, team, active

    Worst thing

    Stress, inconsistency, cusomers

    5.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Free drinks, good team, making coffee

    Worst thing

    Not enough hours, short staffed, customer service is much worse than before, not enough money for extra work

    4.9

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Making coffee, interacting with the customers, working with my friends.

    3.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Interacting with wide range of people from all backgrounds, getting to be creative.

    Worst thing

    Stressful and busy environment. Disorganised sometimes. Long hours.

    4.6

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Understaffed
    Too much expected of us
    Treat horribly by customers

    2.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Great team
    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    Undervalued
    Expectations too high for pay grade

    5.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    I actually enjoy making coffee and seeing regulars and having a conversation with them.

    Worst thing

    The amount of hours pull at the moment is so much its affecting our morale. Its hard to do so much and still keep haply and hard working when you feel like you're doing 2 people's jobs.

    5.7

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team

    Worst thing

    Unsociable hours, no bank holidays off, no weekends off, too much pressure to upsell things customers don’t want

    4.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The interaction with the public and meeting new people. The training and encouragement you get to improve.

    Worst thing

    It is very hard work and can be stressful at times.

    6.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The team and regular customers!

    2.9

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Stressful and you have to be hard working

    Worst thing

    At moment track and trace

    7.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Ambiance, team, job as a whole

    3.7

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    the hands on work is fun, you get to know your regular customers, improvement shows

    Worst thing

    you get a lot of responsibility you arent paid to do, the extra stress isn’t worth the pay, sometimes extra responsibilities aren’t shared fairly amongst the team

    3.1

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Leaving

    Worst thing

    No proper training, assume I know everything.

    3.3

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Making different drinks

    Worst thing

    Rude people

    2.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The perks
    The opening hours
    The manageress
    The way team is kept up to date

    Worst thing

    Even a 10hr shift is only a half hour break

    7.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Serving customers

    Worst thing

    Manage employees and keep track of the unreasonable targets

    3.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people.

    Worst thing

    Not having time to concentrate on the important things like cleaning and people due to not being given enough hours

    6.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy skill to pick up - making coffee
    Enjoy coffee art

    Worst thing

    Rude members of the public

    6.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I work for my fellow colleagues, that is all.

    Worst thing

    The customers, the hours, the lack of staff, we can't have enough people on shift, we don't have nearly enough time to do everything that needs doing, there are so many different systems running and only 2 people on shift at a time to handle them, the company as a whole is far too focused on profit and not at all on staff welfare, the pay is awful, upper level management don't care about us at all, were seen as totally disposable and treated as less than human

    3.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    Rude, entitled and abusive customers are treated too well by management. We don't feel we have to ability to stand up for ourselves.
    If you have a bad store manager, there is little you can do to solve the situation.
    Staff are often overworked. The standards to which we are expected to make drinks frequently cannot be met in the time we are expected to make them.
    Higher management doesn't seem to care about the mental wellbeing of staff, only about hitting targets.

    4.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Free drinks, discounted food

    Worst thing

    Schedule is done a day before the working week starts, staff don’t know how to do their job properly, always stuck behind late cleaning because it’s so busy the store can shut at 9 and you have half an hour to clean and cash up, can’t have time off if another person is, some people who trained me were quite rude, advised in the first few weeks for our new store opening we wouldn’t be left to lead a shift as new managers, left on our own on the first day, hardly any work life balance

    2.1

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff are amazing, manager works extremely hard and comes in on their days off to make sure everyone is doing alright.

    7.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I enjoy going to work

    Worst thing

    Hard going and extremely busy

    8.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Team as great people with passion and amazing customer service. And also customers which are nice and understanding (sometimes not)

    Worst thing

    Misleading, mismanagement, giving to much to do within short notice time. Big pressure towards internal checks when short of staff, standalone treading.

    2.8

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Talk with customers after serving them

    Worst thing

    Busy time nobody want wait for more the 5 minutes

    5.2

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The work team are close and it is quite a fun job, the discount is really good and most managers are really understanding.

    Worst thing

    The stress of busy hours can get between staff and miscommunication is quite frequent. customers are also quite rude and it’s hard to deal with when you’re young because they like to blame your age on everything. You’re also on your feet for sometimes 9 hours straight for a few days in a row so it can take a toll

    6.2

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    I got on with some of the team well, free drinks and I had fun making drinks for customers. I had a good pay.

    Worst thing

    I had a rude barista maestro. The shifts were difficult, sometimes I had to do a closing shift and then an opening shift the next day and I worked at a branch with a closing time of 10pm.

    5.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    the team are amazing

    Worst thing

    it’s sometimes stressful

    7.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Some nice staff

    Worst thing

    Extreme sales pressure.
    Promotions making it extremely hard to do job efficiently and effectively. Head office has no idea how tough sales are to push. Constant work related emails/texts on days off. Late shifts so unsociable hours. Constant rota changes. No work/life balance

    1.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Worst thing

    Staff are treated with no respect

    1.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Set my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Rude customer

    6.1

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    good pay, decent benefits, nice team.

    Worst thing

    head office cutting hours, being short staffed.

    7.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Every day is a learning day .

    6.7

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues and discount

    Worst thing

    The pay

    5.0

    Barista, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Doing my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Higher management and customers

    4.9

    Store manager, March 2021

  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    Head office creating to many changes

    7.8

    Barista maestro, March 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with - we’ve become like a family for the 1.5 years I’ve worked with them. The company as a whole is good to work for, with clear career progress

    Worst thing

    Staffing issues - we sometimes feel like we don’t have enough staff to cope with the business of the store, especially on weekends at peak hours. It also feels like head office don’t really take our comments into account

    7.3

    Barista, March 2021