Do you get paid breaks in your current job?

Costa Coffee job reviews

Showing 94 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    I got on with some of the team well, free drinks and I had fun making drinks for customers. I had a good pay.

    Worst thing

    I had a rude barista maestro. The shifts were difficult, sometimes I had to do a closing shift and then an opening shift the next day and I worked at a branch with a closing time of 10pm.

    5.8

    Employee, April 2021

    • £9.21 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    the team are amazing

    Worst thing

    it’s sometimes stressful

    7.8

    Employee, April 2021

    • £9.11 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    Some nice staff

    Worst thing

    Extreme sales pressure.
    Promotions making it extremely hard to do job efficiently and effectively. Head office has no idea how tough sales are to push. Constant work related emails/texts on days off. Late shifts so unsociable hours. Constant rota changes. No work/life balance

    1.6

    Employee, April 2021

    • £9.11 per hour
  • Worst thing

    Staff are treated with no respect

    1.9

    Employee, April 2021

    • £30,000 per year, working a 38 hour week
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    Set my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Rude customer

    6.1

    Employee, April 2021

    • Manages people
    • £22,000 per year, working a 40 hour week
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    good pay, decent benefits, nice team.

    Worst thing

    head office cutting hours, being short staffed.

    7.9

    Employee, April 2021

    • Manages people
    • £9.44 per hour
  • Best thing

    Every day is a learning day .

    6.7

    Employee, March 2021

    • £10.20 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My colleagues and discount

    Worst thing

    The pay

    5.0

    Barista, March 2021

    • £6.45 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Doing my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Higher management and customers

    4.9

    Store manager, March 2021

    • Manages people
    • £26,000 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    Head office creating to many changes

    7.8

    Barista maestro, March 2021

    • £9.68 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The team I work with - we’ve become like a family for the 1.5 years I’ve worked with them. The company as a whole is good to work for, with clear career progress

    Worst thing

    Staffing issues - we sometimes feel like we don’t have enough staff to cope with the business of the store, especially on weekends at peak hours. It also feels like head office don’t really take our comments into account

    7.3

    Barista, March 2021

    • £8.92 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    The atmosphere my work mates and I do enjoy making the drinks

    Worst thing

    How busy it can get and how rude the general public are towards you

    7.0

    Employee, March 2021

    • Manages people
    • £9.30 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Free drinks, half price food. Great training resources and progression opportunities. Friendly diverse teams, lovely stores. Clear management structure. Company is investing heavily in new technologies. Flexible shifts/contracts.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be very difficult and frustrating. Long days. Very strict policy and procedures/standards. Payroll aren’t brilliant, they often mess things up especially around furlough.

    6.1

    Store manager, February 2021

    • Manages people
    • £24,800 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    It's a fun place to be and work.

    Worst thing

    Lots to learn. Continuously changing.

    5.0

    Store manager, February 2021

    • Manages people
    • £23,000 per year, working a 45 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Make people happy, and be appreciated

    Worst thing

    Dealing with rude people

    6.6

    Barista maestro, February 2021

    • Manages people
    • £9.55 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Staff

    Worst thing

    Customers
    Head office don’t listen to us as employees

    5.5

    Barista, February 2021

    • £9.22 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Not being tied to one place of work

    Worst thing

    To many things to to remember due to another of changes

    3.3

    Employee, February 2021

    • £28,500 per year, working a 40 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Meeting new customers and loyal customers working in a great environment

    Worst thing

    Pay and a lot of demands to achieve the impossible

    8.1

    Manager, January 2021

    • Manages people
    • £27,000 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My team, how supportive head office are

    Worst thing

    People who have children get priority over the rota’s

    7.9

    Employee, January 2021

    • £9.25 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    I love customer service and being a barista. Fast paced and social work suits me.

    Worst thing

    General lack of attention and care from head office who set unrealistically high expectations for store employees.

    3.3

    Barista maestro, December 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.14 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Pay, friendly staff and we are kept safe from covid.

    Worst thing

    Difficult customers and costa check

    7.0

    Barista, December 2020

    • £9.22 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    The perks, pay and hours

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    8.3

    Barista, December 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Other staff

    Worst thing

    Customers
    Targets
    Company doesn’t care about staff

    3.8

    Barista, December 2020

    • £9.21 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    The people- i get along with my collegues

    Worst thing

    The sress caused by working in fast food

    6.1

    Barista, November 2020

    • £9.02 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Good pay for age

    Worst thing

    It’s not well set up for how busy it is

    4.2

    Barista, November 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    The perks, the pay and the ease of changing shifts if needed

    Worst thing

    The customers being rude at times

    8.2

    Skilled Barista, November 2020

    • £9.21 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    Staff, manager and pay

    Worst thing

    Sometimes very stressful and fast paced

    7.9

    Barista Skilled, November 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    Using skills to craft drinks and make them look and taste great for customers
    Free Coffee all day every day

    Worst thing

    Pay
    Hours
    Lack off team support
    Too fast paced

    4.5

    Barista, November 2020

    • £9.22 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    The people I work with and I enjoy doing what I do.

    Worst thing

    The stress I get.

    6.6

    Barista, November 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    Good team, mostly nice customers

    Worst thing

    Stress

    5.7

    Barista Maestro, November 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.75 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Flexible

    Worst thing

    Hard to get extra hours at the moment

    8.6

    Barista, October 2020

    • £9.00 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Staff, The regular customers

    Worst thing

    Supported by manager but not high ups, always pressure from high ups

    5.0

    Assistant manager, October 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.97 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Meeting customer's and rhe people i work with

    Worst thing

    the pressure and the expectations

    4.4

    Barista, September 2020

    • £8.71 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    The lack of support from above, not enough labour to have enough people working making the workload more stressful. Constantly running around exhausted

    4.6

    Store manager, September 2020

    • Manages people
    • £29,100 per year, working a 50 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    making coffees, talking to customers.

    Worst thing

    management, pay, hours.

    2.4

    Barista maestro, September 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.70 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Worst thing

    Area management
    We can be replaced too easily

    6.5

    Assistant manager, August 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.70 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Free drinks on shift

    Worst thing

    Lack of communication

    3.8

    Barista, July 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My team
    Doing my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Last minute paperwork/reports requested
    Constant pressure to increase sales
    Daily reports to complete
    Constant unhappy customers with ‘company lead’ complaints

    7.5

    Store manager, July 2020

    • Manages people
    • £25,000 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Have a friendly team

    Worst thing

    Bad pay

    4.6

    Barista, June 2020

    • £8.50 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The pay the hours the team

    8.6

    Barista, June 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    Per hour rate

    Worst thing

    Customer
    Hours
    Working days

    2.6

    Shift manager, May 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.45 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Worst thing

    Hard work , overtime no breaks

    2.3

    Manager, March 2020

    • Manages people
    • £25,500 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Customers and team

    Worst thing

    Some customers and having hours stripped out

    7.9

    Manager, March 2020

    • Manages people
    • £26,500 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Early shifts

    Worst thing

    The rude customers talking down to you.

    3.0

    Supervisor, March 2020

    • £9.06 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Flexibility

    Worst thing

    Pay, poor staffing - difficult to cover for sickness

    6.2

    Barista, March 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    Early mornings, ridiculous targets

    5.8

    Assistant manager, March 2020

    • Manages people
    • £10.26 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    amazing working with multi culture. and my job it's just so easy with all the tools we are getting to help us.

    Worst thing

    nothing negative I could say that's why I been there over 6 years.

    8.9

    Assistant manager, February 2020

    • Manages people
    • £11.66 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
  • Best thing

    The banter with customers

    Worst thing

    The rudeness and down right arrogance of customers

    3.4

    Team member, February 2020

    • £8.41 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
  • Best thing

    The people I work directly with

    Worst thing

    Tight labour budget, overstretched, stressful to meet targets, head office unrealistic

    4.2

    Barista, February 2020

    • £8.41 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
  • Best thing

    Happy at work

    Worst thing

    Work weekends

    7.0

    Manager, February 2020

    • Manages people
    • £11.50 per hour
    • 34–44 years old