Looking for a job?

Back to Costa Coffee

5.7

Costa Coffee job reviews

Showing 77 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Meeting new customers and loyal customers working in a great environment

    Worst thing

    Pay and a lot of demands to achieve the impossible

    7.9

    Manager, January 2021

    • Manages people
    • £27,000 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    My team, how supportive head office are

    Worst thing

    People who have children get priority over the rota’s

    8.3

    Employee, January 2021

    • £9.25 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    I love customer service and being a barista. Fast paced and social work suits me.

    Worst thing

    General lack of attention and care from head office who set unrealistically high expectations for store employees.

    3.4

    Barista maestro, December 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.14 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Pay, friendly staff and we are kept safe from covid.

    Worst thing

    Difficult customers and costa check

    7.4

    Barista, December 2020

    • £9.22 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The perks, pay and hours

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    8.8

    Barista, December 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Other staff

    Worst thing

    Customers
    Targets
    Company doesn’t care about staff

    4.0

    Barista, December 2020

    • £9.21 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The people- i get along with my collegues

    Worst thing

    The sress caused by working in fast food

    6.4

    Barista, November 2020

    • £9.02 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Good pay for age

    Worst thing

    It’s not well set up for how busy it is

    4.3

    Barista, November 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
    • Less than a year experience
  • Best thing

    The perks, the pay and the ease of changing shifts if needed

    Worst thing

    The customers being rude at times

    8.6

    Skilled Barista, November 2020

    • £9.21 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Staff, manager and pay

    Worst thing

    Sometimes very stressful and fast paced

    8.3

    Barista Skilled, November 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Using skills to craft drinks and make them look and taste great for customers
    Free Coffee all day every day

    Worst thing

    Pay
    Hours
    Lack off team support
    Too fast paced

    4.7

    Barista, November 2020

    • £9.22 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The people I work with and I enjoy doing what I do.

    Worst thing

    The stress I get.

    7.0

    Barista, November 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
    • Less than a year experience
  • Best thing

    Good team, mostly nice customers

    Worst thing

    Stress

    5.5

    Barista Maestro, November 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.75 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Flexible

    Worst thing

    Hard to get extra hours at the moment

    9.0

    Barista, October 2020

    • £9.00 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Staff, The regular customers

    Worst thing

    Supported by manager but not high ups, always pressure from high ups

    4.7

    Assistant manager, October 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.97 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Meeting customer's and rhe people i work with

    Worst thing

    the pressure and the expectations

    4.4

    Barista, September 2020

    • £8.71 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    The lack of support from above, not enough labour to have enough people working making the workload more stressful. Constantly running around exhausted

    4.2

    Store manager, September 2020

    • Manages people
    • £29,100 per year, working a 50 hour week
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    making coffees, talking to customers.

    Worst thing

    management, pay, hours.

    2.5

    Barista maestro, September 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.70 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Worst thing

    Area management
    We can be replaced too easily

    6.3

    Assistant manager, August 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.70 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Free drinks on shift

    Worst thing

    Lack of communication

    4.0

    Barista, July 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    My team
    Doing my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Last minute paperwork/reports requested
    Constant pressure to increase sales
    Daily reports to complete
    Constant unhappy customers with ‘company lead’ complaints

    7.4

    Store manager, July 2020

    • Manages people
    • £25,000 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Have a friendly team

    Worst thing

    Bad pay

    4.9

    Barista, June 2020

    • £8.50 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The pay the hours the team

    9.0

    Barista, June 2020

    • £8.92 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Per hour rate

    Worst thing

    Customer
    Hours
    Working days

    2.1

    Shift manager, May 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.45 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Worst thing

    Hard work , overtime no breaks

    1.7

    Manager, March 2020

    • Manages people
    • £25,500 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Customers and team

    Worst thing

    Some customers and having hours stripped out

    7.8

    Manager, March 2020

    • Manages people
    • £26,500 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Early shifts

    Worst thing

    The rude customers talking down to you.

    2.6

    Supervisor, March 2020

    • £9.06 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Flexibility

    Worst thing

    Pay, poor staffing - difficult to cover for sickness

    6.5

    Barista, March 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    Early mornings, ridiculous targets

    5.5

    Assistant manager, March 2020

    • Manages people
    • £10.26 per hour
    • 25 or older
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    amazing working with multi culture. and my job it's just so easy with all the tools we are getting to help us.

    Worst thing

    nothing negative I could say that's why I been there over 6 years.

    8.8

    Assistant manager, February 2020

    • Manages people
    • £11.66 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The banter with customers

    Worst thing

    The rudeness and down right arrogance of customers

    3.6

    Team member, February 2020

    • £8.41 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The people I work directly with

    Worst thing

    Tight labour budget, overstretched, stressful to meet targets, head office unrealistic

    4.2

    Barista, February 2020

    • £8.41 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Happy at work

    Worst thing

    Work weekends

    6.8

    Manager, February 2020

    • Manages people
    • £11.50 per hour
    • 34–44 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Making people’s day

    Worst thing

    Customers being rude

    7.2

    Barista, February 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
    • Less than a year experience
  • Best thing

    Free drinks
    Good training and development
    Bonus scheme

    Worst thing

    Lack of extra hours

    8.2

    Assistant manager, December 2019

    • Manages people
    • £9.56 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    Everyday is different

    Worst thing

    Unpredictable staff/hiring

    7.4

    Manager, December 2019

    • Manages people
    • £26,000 per year, working a 45 hour week
    • 25–34 years old
    • More than 3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The team are amazing

    Worst thing

    When its busy it sometimes gets stressful

    8.1

    Manager, December 2019

    • £8.86 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
    • Less than a year experience
  • Best thing

    Making coffee

    Worst thing

    Cleaning the toilets

    8.7

    Barista, December 2019

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
    • Less than a year experience
  • Best thing

    Meeting new people

    Worst thing

    4am starts(exclusive to airports)

    7.6

    Barista, December 2019

    • £9.21 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
    • Less than a year experience
  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    Understaffing due to low budgets

    5.2

    Assistant manager, November 2019

    • Manages people
    • £10.56 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
    • 1–3 years experience
  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    Not being supported by the management

    1.6

    Team member, October 2019

    • £8.35 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    I get to teach news skills to the new staff

    Worst thing

    Not been recognized and not bee able to improve to an assistant manager and your manager not supporting you

    4.2

    Barista maestro, October 2019

    • £9.20 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
  • Best thing

    making latte art

    Worst thing

    team work

    2.5

    Barista team leader, October 2019

    • Manages people
    • £10.50 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
  • Best thing

    Making people smile.

    Worst thing

    Horrible customers.

    4.6

    Barista, October 2019

    • £6.25 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    I feel we get little support from senior management, only the blame when we are unable to perform when everyone is stressed, overworked, and overwhelmed

    4.0

    Assistant manager, October 2019

    • Manages people
    • £9.46 per hour
    • 34–44 years old
  • Best thing

    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    Lack of training and pay

    1.0

    Barista, October 2019

    • £6.10 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    Meeting new people

    Worst thing

    Busy queues

    7.8

    Barista, October 2019

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 18–20 years old
  • Best thing

    The customers are so lovely!

    Worst thing

    When there’s a major problem it’s hard to actually get it resolved

    5.5

    Barista, October 2019

    • £7.70 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    My customers are really friendly

    Worst thing

    The manager is too rude

    6.1

    Barista maestro, October 2019

    • £10.06 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Coffee making, staff management

    Worst thing

    To much pressure to set standards

    7.8

    Store manager, October 2019

    • Manages people
    • £26,500 per year, working a 48 hour week
    • 25–34 years old