Costa Coffee

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Costa Coffee hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies reach the next generation of candidates.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Costa Coffee is a coffee shop chain. They specialise in serving Italian coffee.

costa.co.uk

Costa Coffee job reviews

Showing 331 reviews

  • Best thing

    the skill of being a barista and the food is pretty good too. pay is good now its went up

    Worst thing

    customers, schedule, lack of cooperation between staff, management so out of touch - both in store and head office. absolute nightmare job and minimal rewards to show for it

    1.5

    Costa Coffee Barista, April 2024

  • Best thing

    the team

    Worst thing

    the customers and higher management

    3.9

    Costa Coffee Employee, April 2024

  • Best thing

    Good pay and easier than other jobs

    Worst thing

    The manger

    7.0

    Costa Coffee Employee, April 2024

  • Best thing

    learning new things and meeting new people

    Worst thing

    sometimes gets stressful and some rules are ridiculous

    7.6

    Costa Coffee Barista, March 2024

  • Best thing

    Working Monday to Friday

    Worst thing

    Pressure

    6.0

    Costa Coffee Employee, March 2024

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Making coffee is great

    Worst thing

    Everything else

    8.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2024

  • Best thing

    Team work within the baristas, friends I have made

    Worst thing

    Management, treatment by customers, exhausting hours, only half an hour break for 12 hour shifts, no flexibility, punished for being sick

    1.2

    Costa Coffee Employee, February 2024

  • Best thing

    Setting my own schedule.
    Watching my team grow as they learn new skills and build on the ones they have.
    working with a friendly team that are like family.

    Worst thing

    expected to work 40 hours at a minimum and not getting paid for any overtime.
    Asked to come in on my days off if others are sick.
    Bothered on my days off via WhatsApp or phone calls by managers/team.
    Haven’t been able to enjoy a holiday without things going wrong & people contacting me.
    Upper management taking advantage of the team, making them clean up an overflowing toilet with poo running into cafe whilst I was on holiday. Asking us to clean up the store and open asap after a break in over Christmas. Not getting our intruder alarm sorted no matter how much we tell them to. Things breaking around the store and them not fixing it, telling us that someone will be coming soon to fix the issue but they never do.

    7.0

    Costa Coffee Store manager, January 2024

  • Best thing

    Free coffee
    Some lovely regulars

    Worst thing

    Staff
    Head office
    The building

    1.2

    Costa Coffee Assistant manager, January 2024

  • Best thing

    Discount free coffee,

    Worst thing

    Bad management
    Non existent training
    Toxic environment
    Too stressful
    Not enough staff
    Promises to hire more staff never does
    Closing when busy is ridiculous not enough people to help but BMs get all the flack and baristas get away from it

    2.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, January 2024

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    free coffee
    50% off in other stores
    comfy uniform/casual dress other than uniform (trousers/shoes)

    Worst thing

    stress when busy
    nasty customers

    7.1

    Costa Coffee Barista, January 2024

  • Best thing

    Close to home and shifts I get are good

    Worst thing

    Toxic
    Not enough training
    No praise

    3.4

    Costa Coffee Barista, January 2024

  • Best thing

    Regular customers and learning to be creative with drinks

    Worst thing

    Poor management and is rude to staff when your unable to come in on a day off (guilt trip)

    2.6

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Best thing

    absolutely nothing

    Worst thing

    the customers and the people in charge are vile. nobody cares about your mental health at all and instead you’re supposed to allow abuse from customers because you aren’t allowed to defend yourself

    5.5

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Best thing

    Making the drinks

    Worst thing

    The customer

    4.2

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It’s good because work hard earn money and respect

    Worst thing

    Staff working (acting like working) are more than hard workers

    2.5

    Costa Coffee Team leader, December 2023

  • Best thing

    The customers - and the joy they bring

    Worst thing

    My managers taking badly of me behind my back a lot

    3.4

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Best thing

    You’re never stood around bored. It’s nice meeting new customers, and coworkers are typically friendly. Management are quite involved & will do what they can to help you.

    Worst thing

    Customers are awful. The shop is too busy, and nobody (i.e. customers) seems to appreciate how hard the team works to keep things afloat. You’re typically being judged, or given a dirty look, for things well out of your control. It’s always rather stressful, and they’re so desperate for staff they occasionally hire people who can’t even do the job.

    5.0

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Best thing

    I love the customers

    Worst thing

    My manager behavior and unfair attitude with me

    1.5

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Best thing

    I can’t really find a good thing

    Worst thing

    The contracted hours 48 hours per week

    2.3

    Costa Coffee Store manager, December 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The staff
    I like being a barista
    Flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Busy

    9.4

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Best thing

    the friends i’ve made

    Worst thing

    the people i work with who i don’t get along with, being bossed around as i’m the youngest

    8.0

    Costa Coffee Barista, December 2023

  • Best thing

    the people i work with

    Worst thing

    how busy it gets and a lot of work to do

    7.1

    Costa Coffee Barista, November 2023

  • Best thing

    The team and the free drinks

    Worst thing

    Manager not treating people fairly

    4.1

    Costa Coffee Barista, November 2023

  • Best thing

    Other staff members, good pay

    Worst thing

    Sometimes don’t get breaks, manager isn’t the best

    9.0

    Costa Coffee Employee, November 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Getting free drinks and a good environment to work.

    9.9

    Costa Coffee Barista, October 2023

  • Best thing

    Free coffee and the respect

    Worst thing

    Stressful

    8.6

    Costa Coffee Store manager, October 2023

  • Best thing

    Team, flexibility, autonomy

    Worst thing

    No real progression

    8.2

    Costa Coffee Employee, September 2023

  • Best thing

    Fairly well paid, decently easy once you learn the basics

    Worst thing

    No support for management, area managers / CEO’s don’t understand anything about working in stores so they pile pressure on managers to cut hours constantly, nobody is secure in the job.

    Uptight customers give you dogs abuse on the daily.

    Stressful high octane environment from the moment the store opens till the store closes.

    6.7

    Costa Coffee Employee, August 2023

  • Best thing

    Customer interactions are great. The tasks are enjoyable and colleagues are always great to work with.

    Worst thing

    Almost constantly understaffed and underappreciated. Unrealistic goals and tasks set by employer.

    3.7

    Costa Coffee Employee, August 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Working with certain colleagues

    Worst thing

    People get paid more for less responsibility

    4.3

    Costa Coffee Barista, July 2023

  • Best thing

    Doing my own schedule

    Worst thing

    Stress

    2.8

    Costa Coffee Store manager, July 2023

  • Best thing

    making drinks and helping people

    Worst thing

    Awful pay for the amount of work and stress and also not welcomed within the team well(Often scoffed at when you ask for help)

    3.6

    Costa Coffee Barista, July 2023

  • Best thing

    The team, daytime hours

    Worst thing

    Working weekends, unsalaried position

    6.4

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2023

  • Best thing

    Pay is slightly better than competitor rates. Manager is accommodating to everyone’s needs where possible.

    Worst thing

    Store opening hours, earliest start 4:45am

    7.8

    Costa Coffee Supervisor, July 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people I work with, the discount is also good as it allows me to go there off shift and buy nice things I would otherwise avoid because they are too expensive and in my opinion not worth it.

    Worst thing

    The customers are often the most foul people you can come across and will sometimes even report you for doing your job right, just because they don't like it when you tell them no. People expect fast food service but we are not fast food. I am working basically a full time job even though it is only supposed to be part time and I rarely get days off. Hours have been cut meaning that we have to work a lot harder and customer service suffers because we are constantly in a rush when we shouldn't have to be.

    6.4

    Costa Coffee Employee, July 2023

  • Best thing

    the free drinks on shift

    Worst thing

    everything else

    1.2

    Costa Coffee Barista, July 2023

  • Best thing

    team

    Worst thing

    when its busy and stressful

    5.5

    Costa Coffee Barista, June 2023

  • Best thing

    Flexible and good bosses

    Worst thing

    A lot of stealing and constant change of staff

    8.4

    Costa Coffee Manager, June 2023

  • Best thing

    Okay pay

    Worst thing

    1 unpaid half hour break on 12 hour shift
    Make more money than last year but get less staff hours

    2.6

    Costa Coffee Employee, June 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The majority of the team make it a nice place to work and I find a lot of the job enjoyable. The atmosphere is nice as well.

    Worst thing

    There’s a lot to do on closing shifts and normally we run over.

    9.4

    Costa Coffee Barista, June 2023

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    Stress
    Understaffed
    Overworked
    Constant pressure to do more

    2.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2023

  • Best thing

    No much, I would say maybe … I know how to make different coffees. But I do drink coffee myself so …?

    Worst thing

    It’s very stressful, I work in a very busy store so everyday is crazy busy. The company is cutting our hours of every store and we need more people. We always get rude and disrespectful customers so if you take things to heart or can’t deal with the pressure I would not recommend!

    3.9

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2023

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    There's just too much to do

    8.2

    Costa Coffee Employee, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Everyday is challenging!

    Worst thing

    Unreliable managers

    2.4

    Costa Coffee Supervisor, May 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    when the manager isn’t there

    Worst thing

    manger screams in our faces

    1.8

    Costa Coffee Barista, May 2023

  • Best thing

    The team and the fun created.

    Worst thing

    The expectations, sometimes the customers, the minimal labour allowance. The stress.

    5.5

    Costa Coffee Team Leader, May 2023

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours, great staff

    Worst thing

    Lack of training - it took about 1 year for me to be fully comfortable that i knew what to do

    7.8

    Costa Coffee Barista, May 2023

  • Best thing

    making the coffee if you like coffee

    Worst thing

    management and customers. plus the unrealistic standards we’re given

    2.8

    Costa Coffee Employee, April 2023

  • Best thing

    The ppl I work with

    Worst thing

    The bosses

    7.1

    Costa Coffee Barista, April 2023