Co-op Food

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Co-op Food hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Co-op Food is a food retail co-operative brand used by The Co-operative Group in the UK.

coop.co.uk

Co-op Food job reviews

Showing 457 reviews

  • Best thing

    Staff discounts, holidays,

    Worst thing

    Covering other people shifts, not getting time for yourself,

    6.4

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The team I work with and customer interactions

    Worst thing

    If call in sick, you still usually have to go in dependent on the store size

    7.8

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    High pay, nearby location

    Worst thing

    Long & late hours, lack of flexibility over shifts

    3.7

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Worst thing

    You’re not expected to put yourself in danger to stop theft but then get grilled on why you didn’t stop it happening. Got a knife pulled on me as well as multiple needles. Got my glasses smashed trying to restrain a guy who bit the security guard. Don’t really think I get paid enough for the amount of danger that comes with the area I work in

    2.1

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Plenty of holiday hours
    Closed Christmas day and Easter Sunday

    Worst thing

    Have to work weekends
    No set shifts
    Distinct devide between morning and evening staff
    Management seem to care more about the shop than the staff
    Team leaders don't get to take their full breaks

    3.2

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The pay is decent and rises with inflation (for example this year in April my pay rose from £9.50 to £9.90 an hour) and there are lots of benefits and discounts. In terms of hours, they are very flexible (in that as long as you tell your manager in advance what days you can't/what days you wish to work/when you want to book holiday they are very accommodating) which is great, especially for students. It is also EXTREMELY easy to get overtime (more often than not they will put you on for extra hours). When you first join you will spend a lot of time on your first few shifts completing training on a tablet either in the office or the breakroom but you do get paid for it and they do get you onto the shop floor for at least a few hours before you leave. Thanks to the clock in/out system you get paid for any and all overtime to the exact minute even if it's just a case of staying an extra 10 minutes after your shift is supposed to end, you will get paid for each of those 10 minutes.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be very rude and aggressive (admittedly that's not the company's fault that is the fault of members of the general public being horrible people and is something you will experience in any retail job anywhere around the world), the specific store I work at doesn't have a security guard (the previous store I worked at for the same company did despite being smaller) which makes catching/deterring shoplifters extremely difficult. The headsets you have to wear are uncomfortable. There seems to be a recurring theme of stores being short-staffed (which means work is more stressful and takes longer).

    9.5

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff I work with and the customers

    Worst thing

    Having to work 8 hours a day when I only get paid 7 and a a half as we have a half hour unpaid break that all the managers don’t have time to take, being rushed off your feet (being busy is great though) by having to do delivery, deliveroo and serves customers amongst other things, customers constantly complaining that there isn’t people on the till yet when you are 1-1 it’s hard to be present all the time as I may be out back putting overs from a delivery away and my colleague may be running around getting a deliveroo and the last thing is the constant cuts on hours for staff

    1.6

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Can be repetitive

    9.4

    Co-op Food CTM, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Apart from the people, nothing. It’s hell on earth.

    Worst thing

    Where to start. SAP, not enough hours to run a branch safely, complete disregard of feedback, making the lowest paid workers redundant while announcing more and more senior management/executive roles, adding in more e-commerce services without providing more hours to do them in… I could go on. The gaslighting is the worst though.

    6.0

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    some of the staff are lovely and you can make friends for life there

    1.7

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Flexibility on my availability lots to learn on the job no two days are the same

    Worst thing

    Early and late shifts start and end earlier and later than those of other co-op's around the area

    9.7

    Co-op Food Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    The amount expected for marginal pay increase

    1.2

    Co-op Food Team leader, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay and benefits. Job is boring but easy in essence. Colleagues were good at my store

    Worst thing

    Customers ie shoplifters threatening and attacking us workers and lazy managers

    2.1

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The customer, mostly.

    Worst thing

    Not enough weekends off. Not enough staff. Wage is really low for the amount of work you do.

    3.4

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Career progression opportunities
    Discount
    Decent hourly rate

    Worst thing

    Lack of hours - a lot is expected of us but we’re given a low amount of hours to complete tasks
    Sick policy - first 3 days of sickness unpaid

    6.8

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The pay and some of the people who work with you

    4.1

    Co-op Food Team member, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The discount and flexible shift pattern

    Worst thing

    Lack of respect and understanding from higher management and the constant risk of getting hurt from shop lifters.

    2.3

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Work load for little benefit

    5.5

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues are fantastic and the atmosphere is good, as is the case with most jobs the people make or break it

    Worst thing

    Frequent understaffing which rumoured reports of it still being overstaffed. No control of air conditioning or heating in store which results in shifts being too hot or cold because our area usually differs quite a bit in weather to the surrounding towns. We had almost a month in the winter with no heating which caused general issues, but particularly for a few colleagues with health issues made worse by the cold. The store desperately needs updating. The interior has been outdated in terms of branding for years and there doesn't seem to be a renovation coming. Fridges and freezers stop working semi regularly, it's happened at least a dozen times in the last year and is increasing in frequency. The self-service checkouts are constantly causing issues and arent up to date compared to local competitors like Tesco. The person working the kiosk is constantly having to go over to sort out issues.

    The pay is the worst locally in grocery retail.

    5.0

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The long hours

    8.2

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Staff discount.

    Worst thing

    Understaffed, tricky to plan with rota and random shift times. Holidays 60% allocated.

    1.3

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Flexibility..paid for time there.

    Worst thing

    Shoplifters

    9.4

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The Team
    Variety of Jobs

    Worst thing

    Management
    Hours

    2.6

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the people
    Some of the customers

    Worst thing

    Alway do evenings
    Some of the people
    Location
    Alway work Friday and Saturday evenings

    5.0

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay, 6 weeks holiday

    Worst thing

    Stressful, can’t take proper breaks, not given enough hours to get all the work done and not paid overtime

    2.8

    Co-op Food Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Hours

    2.4

    Co-op Food Employee, June 2022

  • Worst thing

    Everything, especially low pay, understaffed, overworked and abuse from customers.

    3.0

    Co-op Food Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Trust to lead.

    Worst thing

    No breaks.

    8.2

    Co-op Food Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Get the shifts you want
    Equal pay no matter the age

    Worst thing

    Very few staff working at a time
    More holiday would be nice

    8.8

    Co-op Food Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Everyone works as a team
    Inclusion
    Benefits/Discount
    Activities and group events

    Worst thing

    Lack of hours
    Lack of holiday choices
    Lack of being able to get managers to listen about when you need time off

    8.4

    Co-op Food Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Once of of depot in the road the job is hreat

    Worst thing

    Some of the management seem to think the job should come before your life outside of work

    8.6

    Co-op Food Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Having a laugh with customers and just overall good vibes

    2.6

    Co-op Food Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Stressed, over worked, area manager doesn't fully understand how the shop runs

    7.6

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    I'm happy and I enjoy the job and feel happy before, during and after work even if I have had a busy day

    Worst thing

    Sometimes can be short staffer

    9.8

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    If I your with a humours team of colleagues it’s brilliant

    Worst thing

    Grumpy stressed out manager who doesn’t know how to calm down and be kind

    4.6

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Really friendly colleagues and good management.

    Worst thing

    Working in a bigger store often you’ll be running around trying to do 20 things at once.

    9.0

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    my team around me

    Worst thing

    stressful a lot of work

    8.0

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Lack of training, colleagues & structure

    2.8

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues

    Worst thing

    Lack of colleagues
    Lack of structure
    Lack of training

    3.9

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay, Breaks, manager lets me have a say in shifts etc

    Worst thing

    Customers

    9.6

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    serving customers everyday

    Worst thing

    there’s nothing i can complain about

    9.6

    Co-op Food Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff

    Worst thing

    The boss is rude and it has no heating at work

    3.0

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting people, some staff are amazing

    Worst thing

    Management- headoffice lack of consideration towards staff.

    1.8

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues are the best thing about my job.

    Worst thing

    The 10pm finish on some of my shifts 😩

    9.6

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting,helping customers local to home

    Worst thing

    Staff not doing job as asked

    8.7

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Other staff
    Discount

    Worst thing

    Customers
    Toxic working environment
    Stressful
    No time for breaks

    5.0

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Never enough staff during busy times. Schools coming out evenings etc

    4.2

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    It local

    Worst thing

    Bad management, three hour shifts and low pay .

    1.7

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Very social great community interaction

    Worst thing

    Shifts, pay

    9.0

    Co-op Food Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Rude customers, bad manager, 1 to 1 working conditions, very late hours

    2.3

    Co-op Food Employee, March 2022