Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
6.0

Co-op Food

Co-op Food job reviews

Showing 366 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    People who l work withmisra

    Worst thing

    In happy customers

    7.8

    Co-op Food Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay
    Discount
    Holidays

    Worst thing

    Change of work schedule
    Long hours

    6.8

    Co-op Food Employee, January 2022

364 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    The pay, close knit team. As well as selling products you also spend a lot of time helping the community.

    Worst thing

    Quite a lot of crime happens, mainly shoplifters but we still get lots of abuse off customers. Also as a CTL you have time constraints, especially where I work its usually 1-1 so I have to flex my main jobs (date checks, waste, admin etc) with delivery, answering customer queries and helping at the tills.

    6.4

    Co-op Food Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting friendly customers sometimes

    Worst thing

    Not being told that I’m getting no money for maternity leave so end up being stuck with nothing

    3.1

    Co-op Food Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Coming home starting a long shift
    Customers

    4.5

    Co-op Food Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The team you work with
    Pay is good
    All tasks are manageable

    Worst thing

    Sometimes more staff in would be helpful
    Tasks can be repetitive

    9.5

    Co-op Food Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay and other team members

    Worst thing

    Management can be disrespectful
    Stressful sometimes
    Early starts

    7.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    People you work with, easy jobs to do, competitive wages

    4.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Can’t take proper break, sometimes working 8/9 hour shifts with 20 min or less break

    2.9

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff
    Pay
    It's quiet

    Worst thing

    Very boring, time moves slowly
    Not very intense
    Hardly any training

    8.7

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    More like a family than work colleagues . And the managers don't hide in a back office they are on the shop floor doing what needs to be done be it working a till is replenishing shelves

    8.6

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay
    Decent people to work with

    Worst thing

    Workload
    Having to deal with everything alone

    5.8

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers and being part off a team

    Worst thing

    The management not passing information on to their colleagues

    6.8

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The discount you get and the people you work with but obviously that changes store to store.

    Worst thing

    Probably how uninformed head office is and how management higher up do not help out with issues.

    8.4

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay, friendly colleagues

    Worst thing

    Never enough staff working, too much to do with not enough staff

    8.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    friendly team
    great pay

    Worst thing

    rude customers

    8.3

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Generally I think co op treat their staff very well. I like how everyone of the same job role is paid equally regardless of age.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes there is a heavy workload with little staff working at the time -rota would need to be based off deliveries etc

    7.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent pay, some fun colleagues

    Worst thing

    Not enough time to do everything needed, pressure to work through breaks

    5.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the team leaders were really funny

    5.2

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Social interaction

    Worst thing

    Can be tiring as very physical with carrying boxes and shelf stacking

    8.9

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team

    Worst thing

    Depot sending delivery when they want, so ends up late, availability is poor to the customer and colleague so you end up not shopping there.

    5.8

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Treated like garbage by managers, other staff and customers. Expected to do a million jobs at once and in the 4 years I’ve worked there I’ve never had a proper break

    1.6

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    - opportunities to progress
    - i feel supported in my development
    - good benefits

    Worst thing

    - working patterns vary alot
    - managers cant take full break
    - understaffed and hard to cover sickness

    6.6

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy to change shifts, nice people to work with.

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff/hours given to do every task expected to 100% of our ability. Head office don’t care or deal with complaints

    4.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    Worst thing

    The repetition

    6.7

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with are amazing! We all get on really well and it’s like working with a second family!

    Worst thing

    Sometimes when delivery times and dates change this can be stressful and staffing levels may not be scheduled for this

    9.0

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay, it’s the least stressful job ever, good holidays

    Worst thing

    work 6 days a week sometimes, it’s a pain to get managers to take into account your availability, you get paid for your overtime two weeks after base payment

    5.2

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Discount and customers

    Worst thing

    Very rude customers and sometimes violent, no protection from this as well as SO much theft

    5.0

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers& job perks

    Worst thing

    Some other customers.

    6.1

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people and customers

    Worst thing

    Shoplifters

    6.8

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people
    Discounts
    Wage

    Worst thing

    Stress
    Customers
    Not enough people or time to sort things out

    6.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Personally at my store we all get along it’s a nice environment to go into

    Worst thing

    Shoplifters being threatening and the company refuse to get us a security guard even though we get robbed like 2/3 times a day and the people are nasty it feels not safe

    6.0

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Regular customers are always polite.

    Worst thing

    A lot of the time it's stressful as there's not enough staff or hours.
    Constantly having shoplifters and no security

    6.7

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    management don’t understand workloads
    culture of gossip and hearsay

    3.5

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It's a calm work environment with nice colleagues and customers

    Worst thing

    Sometimes I feel I don't have time on top of all my uni work to be working a job but that isn't really anything wrong with the workplace itself

    9.3

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    too much pressure for a part time job- very stressful. Constant blame game & too much gossiping

    2.4

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Making amazing friendships with colleagues, good pay rate for both team leader and team member, easy progression.

    Worst thing

    Managers often don’t get full breaks or any break at all, if you’re a student it’s hard to juggle shifts and student life, some shop locations can get very busy.

    6.1

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good employer. Great team at the local store where I work

    9.4

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    I work in bakery, I get access to the canteen and make myself a coffee or tea whenever I want. Also very manageable to work, you work in your own room and cycling through the jobs is super simple.

    Worst thing

    If you're forgetful, you'll easily miss breaks. I often work 7hr shifts without stopping because I just forget. Also, as much as there is a lot of training, they hand you a lot of responsibility VERY quickly - so I was in full control of a large bakery by myself on my 3rd ever shift.

    8.9

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    One on one working health and safety risk

    4.2

    Co-op Food Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff are amazing

    Worst thing

    Long days sometimes 9 hours with just a half an hour break

    7.4

    Co-op Food Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    You have to be prepared to not be able to always get a break as it gets very busy .and if there only 2 of you then less likely to get a break. But on the whole depends on your manger not a bad place to work for.

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff and 2 of you expected to do a shift of 3 people in an area with a high crime rate and most of the time two women .and your expected to keep eye out for thief's and trouble makers late at night with no proper back up

    4.5

    Co-op Food Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendship and laughs with customers.

    Worst thing

    Shoplifters.
    No security guard
    Often feel unsafe

    4.9

    Co-op Food Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers

    Worst thing

    Head office don't understand the pressure and reduce shop hours weekly

    6.5

    Co-op Food Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Team I work with.. good company

    Worst thing

    Late delivery...

    7.9

    Co-op Food Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Good staff and you can be yourself

    Worst thing

    Customers

    7.4

    Co-op Food Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Benifits and competitive pay been part of a team

    Worst thing

    The hours and somtimes the environment i work in

    6.0

    Co-op Food Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    I like what I do

    Worst thing

    Communication

    7.8

    Co-op Food Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    90% of the customers

    Worst thing

    Not being listened to by certain people

    5.5

    Co-op Food Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    In a close team

    Worst thing

    We are understaffed

    5.2

    Co-op Food Employee, October 2021