Compass Group

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Compass Group hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Compass Group is a food service company.

compass-group.co.uk

Compass Group job reviews

Showing 101 reviews

  • Best thing

    Customer is saying the food is nice

    3.5

    Compass Group Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Hours with holidays. Plus no split shifts

    Worst thing

    The staff attitudes at the school. Plus poor management.

    6.4

    Compass Group Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Supervisor is nice.

    Worst thing

    We are servilery understaffed and our manager keep adding work on the team even though we told him we could do it and he said we will figure it out and he still hasn't 4 months on. He also tell us to stop telling people we are understaffed if we don't get round to going their clean.

    4.8

    Compass Group Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Perks
    Good easy job for the money

    Worst thing

    Location managers can often favourite there own locations at the cost of the others the oversee

    6.0

    Compass Group Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay for someone under 18

    Worst thing

    Overworking students who need time off to revise

    4.6

    Compass Group Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    meet new people

    Worst thing

    managers are sometimes bad, stressful and tiring, you ache everywhere

    7.8

    Compass Group Employee, May 2022

  • Worst thing

    Low pay, not enough time at end of shift to do everything so you have to do unpaid overtime or face disciplinary for not closing down correctly

    1.5

    Compass Group Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff members who you work with

    Worst thing

    Long days and busy work loads

    6.8

    Compass Group Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Hours and money

    Worst thing

    Not knowing where I am sometimes

    8.4

    Compass Group Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Working with a great team, feeling appreciated

    Worst thing

    Not getting breaks, increasing workload

    8.2

    Compass Group Employee, March 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The location

    Worst thing

    Constant hours missing from our payslips every week. Salary staff are constantly of sick leaving non salary staff to work compass are a shambles

    3.4

    Compass Group Employee, March 2022

  • Worst thing

    Managers
    Do not care about staff

    1.8

    Compass Group Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Seeing the children's faces when choosing their lunch .

    Worst thing

    Not having time off in term time

    9.7

    Compass Group Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    I really enjoy working with some of my fellow porters.
    I really like meeting the paitents too.

    Worst thing

    The supervisors.
    They can't create a rota correctly.
    The have there favourites too.

    1.3

    Compass Group Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    They take breaks off your pay, but you don’t get a break.

    2.8

    Compass Group Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The customers and meeting new people

    Worst thing

    The supervisors

    6.7

    Compass Group Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible to my availability

    Worst thing

    Can be too stressful

    8.0

    Compass Group Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Depends on the sector but one I work in is great

    Worst thing

    Progression for location

    9.6

    Compass Group Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the managers are very lovely.

    Worst thing

    The uniform

    8.6

    Compass Group Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    3.50 to get food when you are on long shift

    Worst thing

    Unfair shifts I always get put on closing shift.
    Hard to get in touch with the mangers.
    Don't get listened to
    Get busy on closing shift with only 2 people working

    1.3

    Compass Group Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people I cook & serve food too.

    Worst thing

    The staff who work for compass

    2.1

    Compass Group Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Location

    Worst thing

    Too many hours, too much stress, not enough suoport

    2.5

    Compass Group Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    good shift and helping colleagues

    Worst thing

    past phase work

    9.0

    Compass Group Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Customer service meeting people

    Worst thing

    0 hours

    6.8

    Compass Group Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    Long hours as understaffed. Rota only a week in advance and full of errors. Can't plan ahead for appointments and mini breaks. Expected to do the same amount of work with nearly half the staff. Expected to work days off or do overtime due to lack of staff

    3.9

    Compass Group Employee, September 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The uncertainty of the future and lacking in structure

    8.8

    Compass Group Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and every day is different

    Worst thing

    50 hrs a week is hard on family life

    9.4

    Compass Group Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Small tight team almost family like and can get to know the customers

    2.3

    Compass Group Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Being stuck in a dead end.

    6.4

    Compass Group Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Serving the customers every day

    Worst thing

    Not listened to by management

    4.3

    Compass Group Employee, August 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Ppl i work with

    Worst thing

    Communication

    2.0

    Compass Group Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The financial opportunities that have be made during the pandemic.

    1.5

    Compass Group Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with, are lovely

    Worst thing

    Always short staffed and having to do jobs that aren't in my contract

    1.8

    Compass Group Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people similar age

    Worst thing

    Very repetitive

    7.6

    Compass Group Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    My work collegues

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting and pulling roll cages from lower level store room

    1.9

    Compass Group Employee, July 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Great team and customers

    Worst thing

    To many hours to much pressure because of staff shortage

    6.0

    Compass Group Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    No respect for staff . They put more and more and don't get appreciated for what you do.

    1.5

    Compass Group Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Monday Friday shift

    Worst thing

    No much progression

    8.4

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    The management, the customers, the workplace, the amount of work we have to do for the money, the money is terribly

    1.5

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I work on my own

    5.5

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Working on the ward we work as a family making sure our patients are cared for and looked after

    Worst thing

    Compass who run it

    3.0

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I work alone and a lot of doctors and nurses are very friendly and helpful

    Worst thing

    Expecting me to clean 28 rooms to a high standard in 3hrs very difficult

    8.4

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Work life balance. Decent pay . No evenings . Minimal weekends

    Worst thing

    No perks. No employee discounts. No employee meal allowance. For a ftse 100 company . Very poor.

    9.0

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    A degree of autonomy and running the business as if your own

    Worst thing

    They ask way too much for way too little. It isn't actually your own business in terms of how it benefits you so why behave as if it is in terms of stress and hours?

    2.4

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Working on my own, no break, feeling stressed

    4.2

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Being a chef/manager and left to get on with it

    10

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Love of what I cook

    Worst thing

    Not given enough help when needed at times

    7.8

    Compass Group Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Work load, no peogression, salary

    3.5

    Compass Group Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Not got any issues

    8.0

    Compass Group Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Cleaning up after people

    7.5

    Compass Group Employee, May 2021