Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
5.4

Compass Group

Compass Group job reviews

Showing 79 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The people I cook & serve food too.

    Worst thing

    The staff who work for compass

    2.8

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Location

    Worst thing

    Too many hours, too much stress, not enough suoport

    3.8

    Employee, October 2021

77 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    good shift and helping colleagues

    Worst thing

    past phase work

    7.9

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Customer service meeting people

    Worst thing

    0 hours

    6.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    Long hours as understaffed. Rota only a week in advance and full of errors. Can't plan ahead for appointments and mini breaks. Expected to do the same amount of work with nearly half the staff. Expected to work days off or do overtime due to lack of staff

    4.6

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The uncertainty of the future and lacking in structure

    7.6

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Small tight team almost family like and can get to know the customers

    3.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Being stuck in a dead end.

    6.3

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Serving the customers every day

    Worst thing

    Not listened to by management

    4.9

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The financial opportunities that have be made during the pandemic.

    2.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with, are lovely

    Worst thing

    Always short staffed and having to do jobs that aren't in my contract

    2.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people similar age

    Worst thing

    Very repetitive

    6.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    My work collegues

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting and pulling roll cages from lower level store room

    3.1

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Great team and customers

    Worst thing

    To many hours to much pressure because of staff shortage

    5.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    No respect for staff . They put more and more and don't get appreciated for what you do.

    2.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Monday Friday shift

    Worst thing

    No much progression

    7.4

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    The management, the customers, the workplace, the amount of work we have to do for the money, the money is terribly

    2.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I work on my own

    5.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Working on the ward we work as a family making sure our patients are cared for and looked after

    Worst thing

    Compass who run it

    4.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I work alone and a lot of doctors and nurses are very friendly and helpful

    Worst thing

    Expecting me to clean 28 rooms to a high standard in 3hrs very difficult

    7.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Work life balance. Decent pay . No evenings . Minimal weekends

    Worst thing

    No perks. No employee discounts. No employee meal allowance. For a ftse 100 company . Very poor.

    7.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    A degree of autonomy and running the business as if your own

    Worst thing

    They ask way too much for way too little. It isn't actually your own business in terms of how it benefits you so why behave as if it is in terms of stress and hours?

    3.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Working on my own, no break, feeling stressed

    5.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Being a chef/manager and left to get on with it

    10.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Love of what I cook

    Worst thing

    Not given enough help when needed at times

    6.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Work load, no peogression, salary

    4.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    Not got any issues

    6.8

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Cleaning up after people

    7.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The patients and nursing staff

    Worst thing

    The management

    5.2

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Lots of training and support and a decent wage

    Worst thing

    Managing a kitchen inside another company

    7.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours

    Worst thing

    Pay, high expectations that can’t be achieved, working with Miserable people. Everything put on me. Lack of respect. Bullying

    4.7

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with, we have to rely on each other at times

    Worst thing

    Being spat at, swore at and being hit as well

    7.0

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Getting recognition for best work practices

    Worst thing

    Workload in office

    5.2

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Good salary

    Worst thing

    Lack of proper training and working from home

    5.2

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The girls I work with and school holidays.

    Worst thing

    Pay

    6.1

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The patients you get to meet

    Worst thing

    Working for a company that never backs you up

    6.3

    Domestic, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Other departments

    4.7

    Cook supervisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Regular and continued work

    Worst thing

    At the moment Covid

    6.8

    Domestic, February 2021

  • Best thing

    I've got a couple of good coworkers that I get on with. We get paid regularly. It's not too far from my house.

    Worst thing

    A few bad coworkers. Uncertainty of shifts as they constantly change last minute. Certain people getting away with not doing the weekend shifts, so those of us who do it without complaint have to just get on with it. Feeling unsupported by supervision/ management. Minimum wage for stressful work.

    4.9

    Catering assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The demand for more work responsibilities for no more recognition

    2.3

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff I work with.

    Worst thing

    Working 4 x 12 hour nights = 48 but only get paid 42.52 or 3209 depending how your rota falls

    4.0

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The life style. Evenings, weekends and bank holidays off and all the school holidays. Only working term time. Spread over pay.

    Worst thing

    Pay compared to my staff. Not enough given the responsibility I have.

    6.1

    Unit manager, February 2021

  • Best thing

    I enjoy my job

    Worst thing

    Nothing

    6.8

    Sales assistant, January 2021

  • Best thing

    I love my job and my work place. The area of my job is in a hospital where all the staff there are great. My work place is a Great place to work, the job itself, my retail Supervisor role I love doing and have from the start nearly 9 years now.

    7.2

    Retail supervisor, January 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    Under trained middle management

    5.2

    Head chef, January 2021

  • Best thing

    I feel like I’m more independent and liked learning something new.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be inappropriate or rude. Sometimes staff say undermining comments.

    3.8

    Receptionist, January 2021

  • Best thing

    I love the team I work with. I like all the girls who work for us

    Worst thing

    Staff shortage and management expecting you to find them!!!

    4.9

    Dinestic supervisor, December 2020

  • Best thing

    The people I work with & the soldiers I’m proud to care for

    Worst thing

    Losing 2 weeks wages a year because of so called restructuring.

    4.3

    Chef, December 2020

  • Best thing

    Great working with children, always happy and excited to see us.

    Worst thing

    Staff are treated differently depending on whether they fit in with the manager.

    2.1

    Catering assistant, December 2020

  • Best thing

    Staff I work with

    Worst thing

    Long unpaid hours, lack of training, things always changing, having to do paperwork late or at home

    4.0

    Manager, November 2020