Do you get paid breaks in your current job?

Compass Group job reviews

Showing 50 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The patients and nursing staff

    Worst thing

    The management

    5.2

    Employee, May 2021

    • £9.20 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
  • Best thing

    Lots of training and support and a decent wage

    Worst thing

    Managing a kitchen inside another company

    7.8

    Employee, April 2021

    • £24,000 per year, working a 40 hour week
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    Hours

    Worst thing

    Pay, high expectations that can’t be achieved, working with Miserable people. Everything put on me. Lack of respect. Bullying

    4.7

    Employee, April 2021

    • Manages people
    • £12.00 per hour
    • 45–54 years old
  • Best thing

    The team I work with, we have to rely on each other at times

    Worst thing

    Being spat at, swore at and being hit as well

    7.0

    Employee, March 2021

    • £16,000 per year, working a 44 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Getting recognition for best work practices

    Worst thing

    Workload in office

    5.2

    Employee, March 2021

    • Manages people
    • £30,000 per year, working a 50 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Good salary

    Worst thing

    Lack of proper training and working from home

    5.2

    Employee, February 2021

    • £18,300 per year, working a 21 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The girls I work with and school holidays.

    Worst thing

    Pay

    6.1

    Employee, February 2021

    • £8.20 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The patients you get to meet

    Worst thing

    Working for a company that never backs you up

    6.3

    Domestic, February 2021

    • £9.21 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Other departments

    4.7

    Cook supervisor, February 2021

    • Manages people
    • £9.15 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Regular and continued work

    Worst thing

    At the moment Covid

    6.8

    Domestic, February 2021

    • £9.23 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    I've got a couple of good coworkers that I get on with. We get paid regularly. It's not too far from my house.

    Worst thing

    A few bad coworkers. Uncertainty of shifts as they constantly change last minute. Certain people getting away with not doing the weekend shifts, so those of us who do it without complaint have to just get on with it. Feeling unsupported by supervision/ management. Minimum wage for stressful work.

    4.9

    Catering assistant, February 2021

    • £8.20 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The demand for more work responsibilities for no more recognition

    2.3

    Employee, February 2021

    • Manages people
    • £23,400 per year, working a 40 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Staff I work with.

    Worst thing

    Working 4 x 12 hour nights = 48 but only get paid 42.52 or 3209 depending how your rota falls

    4.0

    Employee, February 2021

    • £9.25 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The life style. Evenings, weekends and bank holidays off and all the school holidays. Only working term time. Spread over pay.

    Worst thing

    Pay compared to my staff. Not enough given the responsibility I have.

    6.1

    Unit manager, February 2021

    • Manages people
    • £8.85 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    I enjoy my job

    Worst thing

    Nothing

    6.8

    Sales assistant, January 2021

    • £9.32 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    I love my job and my work place. The area of my job is in a hospital where all the staff there are great. My work place is a Great place to work, the job itself, my retail Supervisor role I love doing and have from the start nearly 9 years now.

    7.2

    Retail supervisor, January 2021

    • £9.30 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    Under trained middle management

    5.2

    Head chef, January 2021

    • Manages people
    • £16.50 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    I feel like I’m more independent and liked learning something new.

    Worst thing

    Customers can be inappropriate or rude. Sometimes staff say undermining comments.

    3.8

    Receptionist, January 2021

    • £4.55 per hour
    • Under 18 years old
  • Best thing

    I love the team I work with. I like all the girls who work for us

    Worst thing

    Staff shortage and management expecting you to find them!!!

    4.9

    Dinestic supervisor, December 2020

    • Manages people
    • £10.18 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The people I work with & the soldiers I’m proud to care for

    Worst thing

    Losing 2 weeks wages a year because of so called restructuring.

    4.3

    Chef, December 2020

    • £9.65 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Great working with children, always happy and excited to see us.

    Worst thing

    Staff are treated differently depending on whether they fit in with the manager.

    2.1

    Catering assistant, December 2020

    • £8.75 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Staff I work with

    Worst thing

    Long unpaid hours, lack of training, things always changing, having to do paperwork late or at home

    4.0

    Manager, November 2020

    • Manages people
    • £21,500 per year, working a 40 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Annual leave , enhance payment after 8pm

    Worst thing

    Doing the work of 3 people.

    4.4

    Domestic assistant, November 2020

    • £9.00 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Easy 95% of the time

    6.0

    Security officer, November 2020

    • £10.75 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The family feeling get with your team, the managers do really care about you as an employee and you as a person

    Worst thing

    Unsociable hours

    9.3

    General manager, November 2020

    • Manages people
    • £32,000 per year, working a 50 hour week
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Customer service.
    I enjoy this side of the roll.

    7.2

    Supervisor, October 2020

    • Manages people
    • £23,000 per year, working a 36 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Hours

    2.1

    Chef, October 2020

    • Manages people
    • £24,000 per year, working a 60 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the location

    Worst thing

    It’s demanding physically and sometimes can drag on in the afternoon

    6.6

    Cellar porter, October 2020

    • Manages people
    • £10.80 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Love my customers

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff
    Head office making bad decisions
    Money pinching

    4.0

    Retail assistant, September 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Hoildays

    Worst thing

    Other people not pulling weight

    6.1

    Cook, September 2020

    • £9.30 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The team I work with and customers

    Worst thing

    Be made to feel incompetent an inadequate undervalued General lack of respect and being made a scapegoat

    4.2

    Catering supervisor, September 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.71 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    It can get hard

    7.6

    Kitchen assistant, September 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Pay and hours

    Worst thing

    Not enough team work, managers don't seem to know what theyre doing. Too strict. Too many pointless and tedious tasks. Stressful for the type of work we do.

    4.0

    Catering assistant, August 2020

    • £9.30 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Serving military personal at the rehabilitation centre

    Worst thing

    Possible redundancy

    6.1

    Front of house steward, August 2020

    • £8.72 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Works around my child's schooling

    5.8

    Customer service assistant, August 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Meeting new and interesting people

    Worst thing

    Lack of recognition, crap pay

    5.3

    Coffee shop supervisor, August 2020

    • Manages people
    • £8.50 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Finishing at 10pm

    Worst thing

    Working Xmas and bank holidays

    7.6

    Domestic assistant, August 2020

    • £13,000 per year, working a 31 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Worst thing

    Get no respect, appreciation etc

    3.8

    Catering operative, August 2020

    • £8.71 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The hours, Monday to Friday 7am-2/3pm

    Worst thing

    Working environment, everything being piled onto me rather than shared between me and head chef. Miserable people.

    4.0

    Sous chef, July 2020

    • Manages people
    • £12.30 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    easy work

    Worst thing

    not many hours in the day

    7.8

    Kitchen assistant, July 2020

    • £9.30 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Flexible and good staff

    Worst thing

    Being to relyed on

    6.8

    Sous chef, July 2020

    • £10.37 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    My team

    Worst thing

    Lack of staff
    Lack of my managers contract

    3.7

    Cafe bar supervisor/ manager, June 2020

    • Manages people
    • £9.05 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The young people

    Worst thing

    The hours

    5.2

    Residential support worker, June 2020

    • £21,000 per year, working a 40 hour week
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    The customers

    Worst thing

    Theres no team work

    1.6

    Catering assistant, June 2020

    • £7.57 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Some of the people I work with.

    Worst thing

    Rate of pay

    5.0

    Assistant manager, March 2020

    • £9.86 per hour
    • 25 or older
  • Best thing

    Close to home
    Parking free
    Hours

    Worst thing

    Pay isn’t good for what we do
    Don’t get nightshift allowance

    6.8

    Security guard, March 2020

    • £9.33 per hour
    • 25–34 years old
  • Best thing

    Hours I work

    Worst thing

    Never have the right stock, and never know when the manager is getting to work

    2.3

    Catering assistant, February 2020

    • £8.21 per hour
    • 55–64 years old
  • Best thing

    Hours and the people who I work with and the team

    Worst thing

    Get stuck in routine

    8.7

    Chef de partie, February 2020

    • £10.20 per hour
    • 34–44 years old
  • Best thing

    Co workers

    Worst thing

    Management, not guaranteed hours

    6.1

    Hospitality team leader, January 2020

    • £8.75 per hour
    • 21–24 years old
  • Best thing

    Working with my colleagues

    Worst thing

    Pay ....and the stress of the job ...and the hours

    4.4

    Chef, January 2020

    • £9.00 per hour
    • 34–44 years old