Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

Barnardo’s job reviews

Showing 12 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Coworkers, interesting stock to sort through

    Worst thing

    Skeleton staff, expected to recruit volunteers to make up hours, expected to work more than contracted hours with no pay, huge workload and unrealistic targets leading to not being able to take breaks

    2.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The volunteers and some lovely customers

    Worst thing

    No support from higher management
    No understanding of our job roles
    Very stressful
    No breaks, can't take all annual leave
    Sales associate development and follow up on existent therefore left to deal with unsuitable paid staff
    A worthy cause who believe in helping children,just a shame this doesn't extend to their staff and their families

    3.1

    Employee, July 2021

10 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Meeting people.

    Worst thing

    Not being informed of what's happening. The rotas.

    4.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendly supportive colleagues and rewarding work

    Worst thing

    Weekend work

    8.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people. My small team and customers.

    Worst thing

    Bullying hierarchy who are so full of themselves. Awful customers.

    4.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people

    Worst thing

    Targets and pressure from abm

    4.3

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with volunteers and making friends watching them progress

    Worst thing

    Worklife balance, breaks not paid, altho we do not manage to get regular breaks

    2.9

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Having a bond with many of the regular customers and knowing I'm doing something good while employed. I love going through donations as you never know what you'll get

    Worst thing

    You never know what will be in a donation bag

    8.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Compliments from customers. The team I work with.

    Worst thing

    Upper management treating staff badly and forcing jobs onto staff at store level. Unrealistic targets and workload

    3.4

    Sales assistant, October 2020

  • Best thing

    The people I work with and the charity as a whole

    Worst thing

    Ignorant customers

    6.3

    Sales associate, August 2020

  • Best thing

    Freedom to be my own boss

    Worst thing

    Most customers

    7.6

    Store manager, February 2020

  • Best thing

    Working for a charity

    Worst thing

    Never get breaks, dont get paid for the hours worked, dont get back till late so kids already in bed, area managers and higher up dont understand the stress of shop work and just demand, no lunch break as you cant leve the shop

    3.3

    Sales associate, November 2019