Barclays

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Barclays hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Barclays is a bank. They provide personal banking, corporate banking, wealth and investment management services.

barclays.co.uk

Barclays job reviews

Showing 29 reviews

  • Best thing

    Good environment

    Worst thing

    Just feels like very long hours

    9.7

    Barclays Customer advisor, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Dealing with the public face to face in the branch

    Worst thing

    Dealing with the public on the phones

    8.0

    Barclays Customer assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Nice manager

    Worst thing

    Being on the phone

    9.7

    Barclays Customer advisor, November 2022

  • Worst thing

    For such a big company with policies to be diverse and inclusive, for dynamic working and flexible working and values they follow including respect integrity and stewardship - they don't help people or display the values. Power is given to the wrong people and I don't think higher ups know what's going on.

    1.3

    Barclays Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    My immediate team

    Worst thing

    Higher management in their ivory tower, lack of staff on the ground, inbound taking priority over face to face customers, not enough time to do my job properly

    6.1

    Barclays Cashier, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Benefits for private health

    Worst thing

    Presure for sales

    2.7

    Barclays Cashier, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay is good for what we do. The staff are friendly, the management are transparent around staffing, the direction the bank are moving in, they’re open and honest about everything that’s going on.

    Worst thing

    Abusive customers… although few and far between. Other colleagues under-perfoming.

    9.0

    Barclays Customer care specialist, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues at the same level (not management)

    Worst thing

    Managers not knowing how to manage. Being told to challenge decisions that don't work, then being shot down and ignored.

    1.8

    Barclays Customer advisor, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Micromanagement
    Being treated differently to others
    Witnessing bulling , whistleblowing and no action taken

    2.0

    Barclays Customer advisor, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendly place with various benefits

    Worst thing

    There are no bad points

    10

    Barclays Customer service, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    6 months full sick pay
    Death in service benefit
    Pension

    Worst thing

    Always short staffed
    Expected to do other people's work when they don't complete it
    Micromanage
    Treated like a kid at school
    Targets , they call them aspirations now instead of targets 🤣

    1.8

    Barclays Customer advisor, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The people/clients

    Worst thing

    Force to take a role or lose your job

    3.5

    Barclays PA, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Daytime hours

    Worst thing

    Banks pushing people to online and app.

    7.3

    Barclays Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Friends I have made

    Worst thing

    Stressful , you are treated as a number nor an individual

    2.0

    Barclays Cashier, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Great colleagues

    Worst thing

    Failing technology
    Leadership failing to understand what’s going on at branch level

    8.3

    Barclays Customer advisor, July 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Being constantly on the phone on call after call. Not having enough time to help customers

    8.0

    Barclays Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I feel valued and trusted and I am paid well for the job role I have. I feel that Barclays really cares and looks after their staff.
    I undertake training every week so that I am constantly increasing my knowledge and growing within my role.

    Worst thing

    Frustration with systems and dealing with nasty customers.

    9.9

    Barclays Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff I work with

    Worst thing

    The stress
    The abuse from customers
    The lack of understanding from the higher ups- they are more interested in their vision than what customers telling them

    2.5

    Barclays Customer service, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    To do job meed to work at 119% minimum

    9.7

    Barclays Team leader, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping people when they feel there is nothing can be done. Stopping fraudsters

    Worst thing

    The pressure of the job

    9.6

    Barclays Employee, April 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Security - fraud isn’t reducing any time soon

    Worst thing

    The shifts, the amount of work, the changes without proper information, the pay, the micro management

    7.3

    Barclays Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The flexibility that is available now is much better for those who are happy to move to the new hybrid role.

    Worst thing

    Taking telephony calls even though I had not signed up to the hybrid role. Low pay considering what is expected of the role. Hard to progress for part time employees.

    4.8

    Barclays Essential banker, March 2021

  • Best thing

    I can work from home

    Worst thing

    Customers

    9.0

    Barclays Complaints handler, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Lovely colleagues, nice friendly customers

    Worst thing

    Backstabbing
    Micro management

    2.0

    Barclays Cashier, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Good benefits

    Worst thing

    No progression
    No training

    2.6

    Barclays Personal assistant, December 2020

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The nice and the regular customers

    Worst thing

    Snotty customer attitudes

    8.3

    Barclays Essential banker, September 2020

  • Best thing

    Pay
    Job security

    Worst thing

    Rude customers who look down on you
    Terrible management

    6.2

    Barclays Premier banker, August 2020

  • Best thing

    People I work with
    Benefits

    Worst thing

    Pressure
    Treated like children

    6.2

    Barclays Customer service associate, July 2020

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    Constant feedback saying you're not doing something correct even when you tailor yourself to it and 4 on 4 off shift pattern is a killer

    9.1

    Barclays Apprentice, July 2020