Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

B&Q job reviews

Showing 117 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Change

    Worst thing

    Too much to do

    2.1

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay is ok, keeping busy, holidays,working as a team

    Worst thing

    Too many managers,

    4.9

    Employee, September 2021

115 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    great people

    Worst thing

    repetitive heavy lifting

    8.4

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The customer when they are being nice

    Worst thing

    The customers

    4.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff and pay

    Worst thing

    It's boring

    7.9

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues,job security,

    Worst thing

    Stressed, overworked, too much expected of you. Sacked the replen team and put that work on rhe advisors, where you have to also cover tills, paint mixing, timber cutting , order picking, restocking, trolley collections, tidying, cleaning, order taking, data base accuracy, and answer the phones. Changed working hours from beyween 7 am to 8pm to 6am to 10pm without consultation and cut the pay by around 2.5k with sign new contract or be sacked by cutting sunday pay, cutting bank holiday pay, cutting our location allowance and removing our annual bonus. Made milluons extra through pandemic but forced vulnerable staff back to work after first lockdown then allowed huge crowds into stores without enforcement of mask wearing. Many staff caught covid at work.

    4.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    I am outside for most of the day

    Worst thing

    I get ignored and forgotten about and nobody is aware how much work my job entails.

    5.5

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with. Holiday entitlement. Discount. Company sick pay.

    Worst thing

    Working weekends. Pay.

    7.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexibility,

    Worst thing

    Not enough support or organisation

    6.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with are so kind and lovely, also the pay for my age is great

    Worst thing

    Customers not understanding policies like for example we had a limit on the amount of concrete you could buy and they would be rude and occasionally aggressive when told

    8.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting and helping people

    Worst thing

    The more things that are put on your Job roll , the stress if your meeting targets

    4.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I meet everyday

    Worst thing

    The shifts and travelling

    4.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Warm welcome, staff are lovely, absolutely amazing at what they do and how they help

    Worst thing

    Absolutely nothing

    8.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Nothing

    Worst thing

    No training, Understaffed, stressed, always working weekends and Bank Holidays, management tell you what to do but do nothing themselves, management tell you off if you done something wrong but never give you praise if you are doing well.

    4.7

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Making paint and chatting to customers

    Worst thing

    Cleaning up after others

    8.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people i work with

    Worst thing

    Management expecting more from us while doing very little themselves and reaping all the rewards for our hard work

    5.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    People help when u ask for it

    Worst thing

    Don’t train u when u move department

    6.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Family atmosphere, satisfaction when helping customers.

    Worst thing

    Rude customers that don't listen regarding company policy etc.

    7.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours suit

    Worst thing

    Low pay, not inclusive

    5.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Good hours and respectful management, I’m allowed to get on with my work without being micro managed and take my breaks when I want, management treats me well and therefore I work hard. When I finish I don’t think about work til my next shift starts.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes the building can be too warm as I’m rushing around. Sometimes the stationary I need isn’t available.

    9.4

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours and oay

    Worst thing

    Management, lack of support, too many untrained colleagues, high expectations

    6.3

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours and my co workers.

    Worst thing

    Distance I have to travel to it. Low pay.

    8.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The team spirit is great, I am allowed to be me.

    Worst thing

    The pay is very low for my role, we are constantly having more and more work added to our pile.

    6.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    4 days on 4 days off

    Worst thing

    Traffic, sometimes finish late

    9.3

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    good colleagues, usually good management

    Worst thing

    sometimes management shows favouritism

    8.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting and helping customers

    Worst thing

    Mangement

    4.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The money

    Worst thing

    Hard manual labour

    7.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Great team and pay not bad

    Worst thing

    Management have little respect and you are just a number.

    6.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The camaraderie with colleagues and customers.

    Worst thing

    How busy we've been during the lockdown

    8.1

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    I’ve been able to work with some great co-workers at my level.

    Worst thing

    Poorly trained management. They do t pay enough to attract the people with the right skills to the role and fail to train those they promote into it.

    1.6

    Showroom advisor, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with. I enjoy sharing what I know about bq products and services

    Worst thing

    working till 8

    7.4

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.

    Worst thing

    Long hours and heavy lifting.

    7.9

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy enough and great coworkers

    Worst thing

    It can be very stressful when there’s a lot to do, never really staffed properly, when people leave they don’t replace them

    8.4

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Friendly environment, probably one of the best paying employers in retail in UK. Good hours, good management.

    Worst thing

    Customer assistance can be very stressful.

    9.4

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    Working late shifts

    7.0

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    People you work with

    Worst thing

    Managment

    3.1

    General assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Laid back
    Easy shifts
    Good breaks
    Nice people

    Worst thing

    Mangers all say different things to each other
    Very busy
    Hardly any covid safety regulations

    6.0

    Front end Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    6.5 weeks of paid holidays, regular weekends off, good pension scheme and good benefits

    Worst thing

    Low hourly rate

    8.5

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Good working hours
    Regular customers who you get to know

    Worst thing

    Favouritism
    Poor management
    No praise

    3.7

    Trade sales assistant, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Good breaks, especially for under 18s. E.g. I get half an hour paid break on a four hour shift

    Worst thing

    Constantly juggling tasks and high exposure to customers

    8.0

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    I don’t have to rethink about it when I get home

    Worst thing

    Can be a bit boring

    7.8

    Customer advisor, March 2021

  • Best thing

    It's interesting, and uses my creativity.

    Worst thing

    Can be boring if we're quiet

    10.0

    Employee, March 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues, decent job satisfaction

    Worst thing

    Customer complaints and uncoordinated management

    3.6

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    People. Really close team that generally looks out for each other. Easy to move shifts and get time off at reasonably short notice.

    Worst thing

    A lot to do and not everyone pulls their weight.

    6.5

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The culture, the job and the management.

    Worst thing

    Distance to travel.

    9.1

    Employee, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Sexism, management and customers attitude to women, aggressions and threats from customers.

    1.5

    Customer assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleagues make the job fun, it’s a hard rewarding job

    Worst thing

    Difficult customers

    8.9

    Checkout operator, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Perks and manager and friends

    Worst thing

    Customers

    8.4

    Showroom advisor, February 2021

  • Best thing

    Having a varied job role. The time passes quickly

    Worst thing

    Shift work. It is unnecessary.

    5.5

    Customer assistant, February 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours are regular and occasionally overtime’s available but not compulsory, often bargains are available to staff before customers. 1hour lunch breaks are great and I always take them at a reasonable time. The workplace is local and some colleagues are friendly, there’s often someone who can handle Amy issues customers present to you.

    Worst thing

    Unskilled management team who have their own agendas, often trying to give different instructions through the day. Petty school playground mentality amongst staff and many who bring their outside issues into the workplace. Equipment to carry out different work tasks is very limited preventing effective and satisfactory customer service.

    7.0

    Customer advisor, February 2021