Find other jobs

Waste operatives

B&M

4.6

Not currently hiring

What do people say about working as a waste operatives at B&M?

There's nobody here yet.

We're waiting for reviews…

When B&M workers have taken our quiz, we will share with you their best things and their worst things about working there.

What do other people say about working at B&M?

  • Best thing

    The customers some work colleges

    Worst thing

    Not being appreciated by management

    5.5

    B&M Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The people i work with

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff, not enough training, no communication, management dont know their staff at all

    1.8

    B&M Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    10% off. not very stressful.

    Worst thing

    younger staff members that do short hours are easily forgotten about. (don’t get given uniform, staff ID, forget to tell you your hours ect). your rota can consist of random hours (example 6am-10am one day and then 5pm-9pm another)

    3.0

    B&M Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly coworkers

    Worst thing

    Regular changing of the shop and layout, rarely have the same manager for more than two years or so

    5.5

    B&M Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The ppl I work with

    Worst thing

    Having to much to achieve in the time we have

    1.5

    B&M Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Really nice coworkers
    Very welcoming

    Worst thing

    Rude customers
    Can get very stressful

    2.8

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff discount
    Flexible working

    Worst thing

    Short staffed
    No overtime
    Recruitment bans
    Using holidays to gain hours back to make the store look good
    Using holiday days and making the staff work on that day so they essentially lose pay

    5.5

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Job security and the staff

    Worst thing

    The lack of training, low pay
    No support for mental health in the work place, it can be stressful
    Weak management

    1.6

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues

    Worst thing

    Constant change of management due to area manager forcing them to change stores, no help for loyal/long-term members of staff

    2.8

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Meeting new people

    Worst thing

    Not getting paid enough

    2.6

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    10% discount, some of the fellow coworkers are nice and chill people.

    Worst thing

    Never get to finish when it says your shift ends, booking holidays are almost impossible, understaffed, wasn't fully trained.

    1.6

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Flexibility and not overbearing management

    Worst thing

    Lack of direction

    9.5

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.

    Worst thing

    The store manager full stop.

    1.8

    B&M Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    People

    Worst thing

    It's up to a person who you don't work with the have the final say if you want to move up to a new higher position

    1.6

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff are amazing with the exception of two or three people

    Worst thing

    Workload, they give you what should be 5 people’s work and expect it to be done perfectly in very little time

    2.4

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Everything, manager constantly put pressure on staff ie to cover hours and stay longer, it's personally effecting my college work.

    1.0

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Less depressing than my old job

    Worst thing

    People and to much delivery

    5.5

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    People i work with

    Worst thing

    The manager

    1.2

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    deputy manager is so lovely and easy to get on with and speak too when things aren’t right

    Worst thing

    i feel most managers don’t treat me with respect in my decision when on shift and i’m out in for shifts when i’m in college

    1.0

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the staff are lovely

    Worst thing

    My manager isnt friendly

    2.4

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Some colleagues are good people. That's about it.

    Worst thing

    I'm constantly taken advantage of. Treated differently, singled out/talked about/lied about. I get the worst workloads & my days and hours are so inconsistent. Everyone else has set hours & days for the most part. I get into trouble for things others don't.

    1.2

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Made good friends

    Worst thing

    Management don’t listen to the concerns of the staff.
    They created a guilt complex so you feel bad for calling in sick
    Hardly appreciated for the work you do

    2.4

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly environment

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting,not enough training.

    4.5

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Sometimes a relaxed work place with minimal work load

    Worst thing

    Very confrontational, not enough support and management don’t take in to account any problems reported

    1.1

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Certain staff members

    Worst thing

    The managers, the pay, little to no respect from customers, it’s always cold in the shop and no paid breaks.

    2.6

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Get to help customers out

    Worst thing

    Staff leave u feeling like u did something wrong before ur shift starts

    1.1

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Staff/customer relations

    Worst thing

    Not liking change.there way or no way.

    4.1

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Not being able to book in advance appointments ,

    1.8

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Pulling stuff out in a morning

    7.8

    B&M Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Friendly staff, not too stressful, easy to get along with staff and customers.

    Worst thing

    Gets boring quickly, some heavy lifting.

    9.0

    B&M Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The team i work with

    Worst thing

    Stock take

    9.7

    B&M Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I worked with are amazing, which is why I stayed there so long.

    Worst thing

    There is so much stress with the job.
    The new manager is causing many problems and has caused alot of long term staff to leave.
    I had to leave, I'd worked there five years and it used to be an amazing place to work.

    1.1

    B&M Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Great work colleagues

    Worst thing

    Shifts always changing

    3.7

    B&M Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Its relatively easy and i enjoy contact and chatting with customers

    5.5

    B&M Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The management think they rule your entire world

    2.6

    B&M Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    One of the few full time positions

    Worst thing

    Perfection is expected for slightly above minimum wage. Colleagues can be sacked over small mistakes

    4.1

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    People who I work with

    Worst thing

    Minimum wage
    Manager

    2.0

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of my coworkers and the discount

    Worst thing

    The management team being disrespectful, rude and lazy. The short breaks, no chairs at tills, they depend on part time staff too much I.E. instead of putting a full time or an adult staff member on main till they normally put me or other younger part time staff which is stressful and do not check in

    2.0

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy

    Worst thing

    Hire anybody, managers don’t care about individual skills, only care about getting out on time, left to pick up the slack for others. Impossible to change hours/shifts, keep you until 11/12 at night to clean up when shop closes at 8, generally horrible atmosphere, overworked and underpaid

    1.1

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with a wide range of different people from different cultures

    Worst thing

    Long hard shifts hitting productivity targets

    1.9

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    some of the people

    Worst thing

    the people

    5.0

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Get unwanted overtime and if you ask to go back to contracted hours they say NO. This is especially hard as a student that needs time for classes, studying and a life.

    1.0

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff are amazing

    Worst thing

    Customers treat you like rubbish
    Have to stay late if things aren’t done

    4.9

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff, too much is expected

    3.5

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The employees, everyone there is close like family. you are always welcome and everyone is really kind

    Worst thing

    the customers we tend to get are not usually the happiest, we still give the best customer service:)

    6.0

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The money

    Worst thing

    Causes back and knee pain, Long shifts (12 hours)

    8.4

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The experiance, some members of my team

    Worst thing

    Other members of the team not pulling their weight, stressful understaffed and underpaid

    1.9

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Paid for every min and guaranteed hours.

    Worst thing

    Pay and lack of respect.

    1.5

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Most people are good to work with

    Worst thing

    Moody customers that don’t get their own way (Karen’s)

    5.5

    B&M Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    My managers are really friendly and actually listen to you if you have any issues/queries. They also try to place you where you want to be so you are happier

    Worst thing

    The customers can be rude sometimes

    8.9

    B&M Employee, December 2021

🤫 We’re not like other job sites…

Dismiss

Every job on Breakroom is backed by ratings and reviews from 253,018 people (and counting).