Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

B&M job reviews

Showing 234 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    We get verbally abused on a daily basis, customers have zero respect for the staff, we don't get paid anywhere near our worth, we don't even get 2 days off at Xmas as we are back open on boxing day, zero family time after making them a fortune right up to the death on xmas eve...the list goes on!

    1.8

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy to do

    Worst thing

    Shift times

    7.9

    Employee, September 2021

232 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    Some Work colleagues are great

    Worst thing

    Poor management,
    Bad health and safety
    Unclean and staff and management don't care.
    Expected to do 2 or 3 peoples work by yourself,
    Permanently understaffed,
    Some work colleagues get away with doing nothing all shift,
    Staff members acting like management when they're not management

    2.1

    Employee, September 2021

  • Worst thing

    Can't pick the list is to big

    1.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    3.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Nothing your expected to do everything but get know acknowledgement

    Worst thing

    Working for little respect

    2.6

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Early shifts, control of my Warehouse and work life balance.

    Worst thing

    Pay could be better.

    8.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    They are very flexible for parents and when they can work

    Worst thing

    Management don't appreciate you and no way of progressing your career

    5.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Worst thing

    Poor technology. Targets too high.

    4.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers and colleagues

    Worst thing

    Been put more work on top of you and expecting it done when your only the one working deliveries and been shouted for sorting codes and seeing to customers as well. Very stressed 😫

    2.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The only good thing is the employees.

    Worst thing

    No communication between management as well as between management and the staff. Boss micromanages

    3.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Always have a good laugh with the staff.

    Worst thing

    The pay is way behind other stores. Stores also have a limit to how much they can spend on toiletries, PPE etc.. Ranging from £10 a week to larger stores around £30 I believe.

    6.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Team attitude
    Some freedom to set own agenda

    Worst thing

    Technology
    Training
    Systems & Procedures
    Logistics

    4.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Low hrs always pressured to perform un achievable goals

    4.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours aren't too bad

    Worst thing

    Management aren't the greatest, no communication

    3.3

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Hours

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff, pay.

    7.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    The staff are not stock rotation as I keep finding out of date stock on the shelfs. Some as 3 months I have spoken with the management but it looks like they don't care.

    4.9

    Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Team management don't really care about your wellfare; if you are there you need to get the job done. I can't take emergency calls

    3.6

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    A couple of people I work with

    Worst thing

    Hardly any overtime. When interview and started was told be overtime. If there was overtime was cancelled that week. Or if picked extra shift other shift was taken off

    2.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Unsure what’s coming next

    7.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Rota cant plan anything, company doesn't care about employees or family life

    2.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Used to love it, but now, there is absolutely nothing that is good.

    Worst thing

    Almost everything. Bad management, bad HR, bad pay for workload, no respect given. Gossiping is rife. Nowhere to turn with problems. Basically hell on earth.

    2.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Being treated the same as the lowest common denominator

    6.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Doing the job I do

    5.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    How welcoming it is

    Worst thing

    The app confuses me a little

    8.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s a good first job because it gives you an experience

    4.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Get to do a bit of everything. i.e. Be on tills and be on floor

    Worst thing

    The pay is only minimum wage

    5.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    working on the till and filling the shelves wen quiet

    Worst thing

    getting told that my job was only seasonal not permanent

    1.6

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The career progression.

    Worst thing

    Rainy day as we have garden centre

    8.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people i worked with and thats it.

    Worst thing

    The pay, the schedules.

    3.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with.

    Worst thing

    Having to work every Saturday, never getting 2 days off together so there is no end to the week.

    4.4

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Love my team

    Worst thing

    Not enough hours

    4.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    some of the colleuges i work with

    Worst thing

    not being respected

    3.3

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Good for job but get out a soon as possible

    Worst thing

    No hours, rubbish hours, last minute changes to the rota like day before shift was meant to happen can be stressful mangers can be very sarcastic but mean it at same time can also be quite nasty

    6.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    I have my own department's to look after which I love and I work with some amazing colleagues

    Worst thing

    Customers who steal

    7.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Worst thing

    No health & safety and very dirty and poor leadership

    1.5

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The atmosphere, the care from other colegues

    8.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team I work with management good

    Worst thing

    Pay

    9.0

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Constant demands

    3.4

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    It's a job an u get paid

    Worst thing

    Place of work / the work hours/ the cold / the dust

    3.7

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Great people and really comfortable environment with great easy going job

    Worst thing

    Some days are stressful and some aren’t without a warning

    8.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Other members of staff and the customers

    Worst thing

    The pay

    8.5

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    No trouble

    Worst thing

    Less hours work

    9.1

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people and what I do

    Worst thing

    Some customers are just rude and horrible

    7.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Doing more work with less poeple working

    5.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Good job, never have to worry about not getting hours or getting paid properly, everyone is really friendly and it feels like a family

    Worst thing

    Minimum wage. I work on tills and we are often short staffed, which can be stressful. No sick pay as I don't earn enough to qualify.

    7.9

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleague, Breaks and Leaving

    Worst thing

    Favouritism

    4.8

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people on my team.

    Worst thing

    Zero communication

    3.7

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff and customers are really friendly

    Worst thing

    The stress of wondering if everything was OK the day before

    4.2

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The people that work there.

    Worst thing

    The amount of work expected and the speed expected

    3.3

    Employee, May 2021