Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
5.0

B&M

B&M job reviews

Showing 273 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The management think they rule your entire world

    3.8

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    One of the few full time positions

    Worst thing

    Perfection is expected for slightly above minimum wage. Colleagues can be sacked over small mistakes

    4.9

    Employee, December 2021

271 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    People who I work with

    Worst thing

    Minimum wage
    Manager

    3.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of my coworkers and the discount

    Worst thing

    The management team being disrespectful, rude and lazy. The short breaks, no chairs at tills, they depend on part time staff too much I.E. instead of putting a full time or an adult staff member on main till they normally put me or other younger part time staff which is stressful and do not check in

    3.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy

    Worst thing

    Hire anybody, managers don’t care about individual skills, only care about getting out on time, left to pick up the slack for others. Impossible to change hours/shifts, keep you until 11/12 at night to clean up when shop closes at 8, generally horrible atmosphere, overworked and underpaid

    1.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Working with a wide range of different people from different cultures

    Worst thing

    Long hard shifts hitting productivity targets

    3.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    some of the people

    Worst thing

    the people

    5.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Get unwanted overtime and if you ask to go back to contracted hours they say NO. This is especially hard as a student that needs time for classes, studying and a life.

    1.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff are amazing

    Worst thing

    Customers treat you like rubbish
    Have to stay late if things aren’t done

    5.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people who I work with

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff, too much is expected

    4.4

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The employees, everyone there is close like family. you are always welcome and everyone is really kind

    Worst thing

    the customers we tend to get are not usually the happiest, we still give the best customer service:)

    6.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The money

    Worst thing

    Causes back and knee pain, Long shifts (12 hours)

    7.6

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The experiance, some members of my team

    Worst thing

    Other members of the team not pulling their weight, stressful understaffed and underpaid

    3.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Paid for every min and guaranteed hours.

    Worst thing

    Pay and lack of respect.

    2.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Most people are good to work with

    Worst thing

    Moody customers that don’t get their own way (Karen’s)

    6.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    My managers are really friendly and actually listen to you if you have any issues/queries. They also try to place you where you want to be so you are happier

    Worst thing

    The customers can be rude sometimes

    7.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with.

    Worst thing

    It's very busy and not enough staff

    4.7

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Great colleagues

    Worst thing

    We don’t have enough people working at my store and the manager refuses to hire more people

    8.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    More breaks than most retail jobs
    Easy job

    Worst thing

    Management are lazy, not proactive and unable to delegate
    Favouritism
    Unequal opportunities
    Lack of overtime
    16 hours is maximum contract hours
    Minimum wage
    No rewards

    4.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues on my shifts

    Worst thing

    The management

    2.6

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Making new friends that’s about it

    Worst thing

    You are just a number you are tracked on how many pallets you work so if you are set 3 and only complete 2 you get a disciplinary letter sent home and put under watch by your store manger. You constantly get called off your breaks and get set many peoples jobs and expected to get them all completed in the space of one persons job if not competed once again get a disciplinary letter sent home. Man here’s don’t listen to you and is hard to book holidays off or even talk to your mangers. I got a letter sent home because I got my mum to phone in sick for me as I got rushed to hospital early hrs before my shift. Your are treated very unfairly in B&M the manger treats you with next to no respect

    1.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Engaging with customers and making their day happy as well as my own

    Worst thing

    There are no bad pointers about my job role

    8.7

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Varying hours

    3.7

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Interacting with the customers

    Worst thing

    The long hours standing in the one place

    8.1

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The People I Work With

    Worst thing

    Not Guaranteed A Lot Of Hours

    8.9

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Good staff, good hours, decent location.

    Worst thing

    Poor pay and not enough opportunities to progress.

    4.2

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers are very nice

    Worst thing

    Staff not helpful

    1.7

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Hard work low pay

    3.8

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    A great boss, working as a team,

    Worst thing

    Customers

    7.2

    Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The pressure the management put us under

    6.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    workload cannot be completed in timeframe, supervisors and managers are unqualified and incompetent

    1.5

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Some colleagues

    Worst thing

    Management lack of support and structure

    2.6

    Employee, October 2021

  • Worst thing

    Not being listened to about my health problems and alot of favorites

    4.0

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Helping customers and colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Constant standing at the tills.

    3.1

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    People you work with

    Worst thing

    No respect from manager

    3.6

    Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Overall work atmosphere

    Worst thing

    Not enough pay for amount of effort put in

    4.9

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    We get verbally abused on a daily basis, customers have zero respect for the staff, we don't get paid anywhere near our worth, we don't even get 2 days off at Xmas as we are back open on boxing day, zero family time after making them a fortune right up to the death on xmas eve...the list goes on!

    1.8

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy to do

    Worst thing

    Shift times

    7.9

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    Some Work colleagues are great

    Worst thing

    Poor management,
    Bad health and safety
    Unclean and staff and management don't care.
    Expected to do 2 or 3 peoples work by yourself,
    Permanently understaffed,
    Some work colleagues get away with doing nothing all shift,
    Staff members acting like management when they're not management

    2.1

    Employee, September 2021

  • Worst thing

    Can't pick the list is to big

    1.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    3.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Nothing your expected to do everything but get know acknowledgement

    Worst thing

    Working for little respect

    2.6

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Early shifts, control of my Warehouse and work life balance.

    Worst thing

    Pay could be better.

    8.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    They are very flexible for parents and when they can work

    Worst thing

    Management don't appreciate you and no way of progressing your career

    5.0

    Employee, August 2021

  • Worst thing

    Poor technology. Targets too high.

    4.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Customers and colleagues

    Worst thing

    Been put more work on top of you and expecting it done when your only the one working deliveries and been shouted for sorting codes and seeing to customers as well. Very stressed 😫

    2.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The only good thing is the employees.

    Worst thing

    No communication between management as well as between management and the staff. Boss micromanages

    3.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Always have a good laugh with the staff.

    Worst thing

    The pay is way behind other stores. Stores also have a limit to how much they can spend on toiletries, PPE etc.. Ranging from £10 a week to larger stores around £30 I believe.

    6.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Team attitude
    Some freedom to set own agenda

    Worst thing

    Technology
    Training
    Systems & Procedures
    Logistics

    4.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Worst thing

    Low hrs always pressured to perform un achievable goals

    4.2

    Employee, July 2021