Asda

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Asda hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Asda is a supermarket chain in the UK.

asda.com

Asda job reviews

Showing 912 reviews

  • Best thing

    Great team ethic
    Rolling rota means I know what I’ll be working in the next month/2 months ect
    Rewarding

    Worst thing

    High pressure to get everything done with fewer colleagues
    Central management team do not seem to understand what it’s like to work in store

    9.5

    Asda Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The hours I work

    Worst thing

    The people I work with.

    7.0

    Asda Home shopper, August 2022

  • Best thing

    It's easy work

    Worst thing

    Customer getting in the way

    6.8

    Asda Customer advisor, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay and work with nice people

    7.8

    Asda Shop assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    I've made great friends and it's given me good experience

    Worst thing

    The managers. We are understaffed, underpaid and disrespected.

    1.8

    Asda Employee, August 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some the people I work with

    Worst thing

    The management team needs sorted have no clue on how to run a shop always cutting hours times are hard enough as it is without having no hours

    3.0

    Asda Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Work friends

    Worst thing

    The job it's not hardwork it's unfair work , no compassion or care for staff by management, job makes you ill

    2.6

    Asda Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The people
    The work itself isn't very demanding

    Worst thing

    Flexibility

    9.8

    Asda Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Worst thing

    Entering the building
    Customers
    Colleagues not pulling their weight and getting away with it
    Myself doing other colleagues and managers don't mind me doing so.

    4.6

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Keeps you busy
    Something to do if you feel like on your day off you want to work you are grateful access to do so
    Some managers are lovely

    Worst thing

    Delivery
    How the store is looked after by customers/staff
    Nothing is kept an eye on properly

    4.5

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    You are your own boss when out on the road

    Worst thing

    management, lack of communication

    4.6

    Asda Delivery driver, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Chats with customers

    Worst thing

    Rude drunk late night customers

    3.4

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Jobs flexible

    Worst thing

    Low pay low morale equipment is in short supply

    4.2

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Constant supply of work, no fears of cutting hours etc.

    Worst thing

    Not enough staff to complete the work properly so always rushed, corners cut, therefore no pride can be taken in what you are doing.

    2.4

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Flexible working hours usually

    Worst thing

    Managers have a power complex, normal colleagues who think there in charge have a power complex, no consequence’s for actions at any level

    4.2

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Worst thing

    Stress , some members of staff

    3.9

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Other collegues

    Worst thing

    The managers and toxic environment

    2.3

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Drive to my music

    Worst thing

    No aircon

    3.7

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Getting paid and some coworkers

    4.9

    Asda Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    good pay

    Worst thing

    - holidays are always declined if you work on home shopping department due to lack of staff
    - physically straining

    5.0

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It keeps a roof over my head and have learned to deal with certain situations in a more professional manner.

    Worst thing

    The abuse from customers and threats. People think they can talk to you how they want because you’re wearing a uniform and breaks are too short.

    3.4

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    People you get to work with

    Worst thing

    Under staffed

    4.6

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Management

    1.1

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Being out on the road

    Worst thing

    Hours each week vary

    7.1

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Working in a team

    Worst thing

    The ques

    7.1

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Banter between staff

    Worst thing

    Delays making me late and working hard then bored

    5.5

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    the colleagues, shifts that suit me, not too difficult of a job

    Worst thing

    the warehouse is filled with rats and pigeons which terrifies me as they are one of my biggest fears. the shop floor on the other hand is fine. management are never really there as i work evenings and on sunday so i never really have anyone to talk to if i need to change a shift or anything along those lines. Furthermore, we do get 10% discount but i am still waiting to be given my discount card i have asked many times but i have now been there for 8 weeks

    5.0

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Driving each day going from place to place

    Worst thing

    The organisation from the managers

    2.1

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    most of my colleagues are very kind and friendly

    Worst thing

    the management is awful

    3.4

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The small group that I work with
    Some of the customers

    Worst thing

    The small discount
    The unsociable hours
    The pay rate
    No security if we are attacked
    Manager can be selfish/rude
    No one tells you what you’ve done wrong until too late
    Too strict almost unmanageable expectations
    Sometimes managers aren’t understanding

    1.7

    Asda Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The expectation to deliver whilst cutting hours

    1.2

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    10% discount. Yearly pay bonus. Double discount twice a year

    Worst thing

    Short of staff. Too much work to be done in allocated time. Low pay compared to cost of living

    4.2

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Good work/life balance
    Benefits
    Working with friendly colleagues

    Worst thing

    Working with some not so great colleagues

    9.7

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay, the team i work with, job satisfaction

    Worst thing

    Hours, pressure of the role

    6.0

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The high pay for my age

    7.7

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Driving and sort of being my own boss

    Worst thing

    Being delayed that aint my fault

    8.6

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Fellow colleagues, the people I work with are the highlight of the job

    Worst thing

    Job itself, management are awful. Ridiculous pressure on staff due to shortage. Workplace bullying, impossible to take holidays, management refuse allow time off. Culture of colleagues being taken advantage of, toxic working environment, unsafe workplace.

    1.9

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The proximity to my house

    Worst thing

    The managers, the people who shop there, the cleanliness, lack of workers

    1.1

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Not having to speak to customers
    my coworkers
    it’s easy
    the night bonus

    Worst thing

    Waking up at 2am
    repetitive

    9.9

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    The pay, the management, the 12+ hour shifts, lack of communication, no compassion or respect from those higher up

    2.3

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Colleagues who within store are amazing; the online department in asda is difficult and everyone pulls together to get it done

    Worst thing

    No management
    Nothing from management is ever followed through
    Talk to you like dirt

    3.2

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Team work and being able to book shifts off if needed

    Worst thing

    Customers complaints and management can be a bit disrespectful

    6.9

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Great colleagues and progression is easy

    Worst thing

    Often colleagues feel left behind

    7.8

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    It's easy enough to work through the day but still full of unnecessary hassle

    Worst thing

    Management is unorganised

    6.6

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    I get left alone to do my job and make it look good

    Worst thing

    Being sent to Help someone that's being paid the same about as me and does not even an hours worth of work and being sent to E-Com because the managers there can't do the job properly

    7.0

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The care you give people

    Worst thing

    Stress

    1.9

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s a job regular income pays bills

    Worst thing

    Stressful lack of staff struggle to get things done

    5.0

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues

    Worst thing

    Management is awful, don’t understand anything about the shop. Blame often gets passed down to the employees.

    2.8

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The girls I work with

    Worst thing

    The Management. The lack of people to complete our jobs. The constant cutting of hours. The firm no longer thinks of its staff.

    1.2

    Asda Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Managers changing rotas and hours and not being able to get holiday

    1.6

    Asda Employee, May 2022