Asda

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Asda hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Asda is a supermarket chain in the UK.

asda.com

Asda job reviews

Showing 909 reviews

  • Best thing

    Helping

    Worst thing

    Not getting respect sometimes

    5.5

    Asda Cleaner, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Having a laugh with other colleagues not being pushed to get everything done

    Worst thing

    Pay and sick pay
    Unable to change shifts have to do shift swap which a lot of people don’t want to do

    7.8

    Asda Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Trying to assist work colleagues in day to day duties

    Worst thing

    Our managers don't care bout colleagues or customers

    2.8

    Asda Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Works around my uni hours

    Worst thing

    Stressful, you never know when you’re going to finish

    5.5

    Asda Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    That I can go home after 7am to care for my husband

    Worst thing

    Stress about pick getting pick rate targets

    4.3

    Asda Employee, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    8 hours and go home

    Worst thing

    Management, equality, not doing things by the book, being in chilled environment

    6.0

    Asda Warehouse operative, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Working with my friends, and the hours as I am part time and work early, nice leaving early every shift when it's available, discount card to use in their supermarkets.

    Worst thing

    Management treat employees with no respect, used to let people have half/early finishes, now it's a rare thing, hard to book off holiday. Breaks are bad as they are 10mins so we have to be careful as we are on timer with our headset, you might as well have a 3min break and then walk about 3 mins to get back into the warehouse. You don't get paid for sickness unless you have been with them for 3 or more years, I had a foot injury recently and had to call in sick for one day as I don't get paid for it, didn't want to loose more money, and even when being back at work I was in agony for a whole week, not a care with the team leaders, and even when I asked to work 4 hours to rest my foot, turns out I couldn't use my leiu or holiday to cover me. Also unfair for all staff during Xmas and new years as they had to work throughout and didn't get a chance to go home early.

    4.3

    Asda Warehouse operative, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Colleagues
    Reduction products
    Straightforward work tasks

    Worst thing

    Heavy workload (sometimes)
    Annoying customers

    9.0

    Asda Crew member, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Other people I work with

    Worst thing

    Horrible management, pushing us to do more and more hard job they never done. Racism, really bad discrimination for women from shift manager. Really unsafe conditions for work just to keep number up.

    5.5

    Asda Warehouse operative, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Different very day

    Worst thing

    Nasty customers

    9.4

    Asda Checkout operator, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Good shifts (early starts,early finish)

    Worst thing

    Bad management......favouritism...if your face fits......

    5.5

    Asda Colleague, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The team I work with is great

    Worst thing

    Sometimes poor management leads to them putting stress on me and sometimes the employees have to clean up their mess

    7.3

    Asda Sales assistant, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The colleagues are really supportive and friendly.

    Worst thing

    Management treat you with no respect, have no organisation and no idea what they are doing. Not enough staff or equipment to do jobs needed.

    1.8

    Asda Warehouse operative, January 2023

  • Best thing

    Flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Lack of support from managers

    5.5

    Asda Employee, January 2023

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    The night manager he's lazy and goes from one person to another tail telling and there no planning and brings more colleagues in when he's in so it looks bad on section leaders.

    4.6

    Asda Employee, January 2023

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The team I work with

    Worst thing

    Abuse off customers

    3.9

    Asda Customer service, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues, pay is alright and days off are easy to get if need be.

    Worst thing

    Only 10% discount. Lack of benefits for working there and lack of communication from higher held position staff sometimes can't be helped they are under pressure so understandable they have so much going on.

    4.5

    Asda Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    work with some good people

    Worst thing

    some management are rude & don’t care about you as a person. get anxious calling in sick the way some management go on.

    2.1

    Asda Sales assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The discount, nice collueges and some if the section leaders being helpful.

    Worst thing

    Constantly being called to an area in which I have no contracted hours to, no one cares when you're stressed, people messing up things when they've been told the way it works. A lots more..

    5.0

    Asda Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Pension.flexibilty

    Worst thing

    Safety. The ammount of deliverys not shared equally. Your run not being ready in time. Expected to work later than on contract.

    5.0

    Asda Delivery driver, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Hours
    No life balance
    No overtime rates for extra hours
    No respect

    2.0

    Asda Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The customers and everydays different,nice place to work.

    Worst thing

    It's stressful sometimes,not enough staff at times.

    6.0

    Asda Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Good team

    Worst thing

    Not enough benefits

    7.8

    Asda Optical assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Leaving the place at the end of my shift

    Worst thing

    The employees and managers.
    Lack of union representation
    Poor management
    Aggressive and rude staff

    1.8

    Asda Shop assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    making new friends. boosting your confidence. the treats we get on pay day.

    Worst thing

    stressful customers, not very patient customers

    9.6

    Asda Employee, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Being able to get exclusive products first

    Worst thing

    Management and limits on certain products

    1.8

    Asda Customer service assistant, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Enjoy working with people and communicating

    Worst thing

    The people.

    6.4

    Asda Checkout operator, December 2022

  • Best thing

    The Colleges

    Worst thing

    The management aren’t very helpful

    5.0

    Asda Employee, December 2022

  • Best thing

    It's always busy

    Worst thing

    Staff. Pay. Pressure.

    3.5

    Asda Pharmacy dispenser, December 2022

  • Best thing

    Good colleagues

    Worst thing

    Not paid enough , short staffed , long weekly hours

    8.9

    Asda Supervisor, December 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    The stress and workload

    4.9

    Asda Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Nothing just working with good people

    Worst thing

    Management work place settings moral cleanliness

    3.7

    Asda Store colleague, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Great range of diverse personalities

    Worst thing

    Not getting breaks, doing everything and anything especially when we are short staffed

    7.6

    Asda Section leader, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The majority of staff I work with are lovely. Pay isn’t bad with night supplement. Staff discount.

    Worst thing

    Never actually had any training. Shop isn’t secure. Given more work than what there are staff.

    5.5

    Asda Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Out driving every day

    Worst thing

    Shortage in staff, managers think they can put more deliveries on us when they're not in the same area

    3.0

    Asda Delivery driver, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The customers as I see them on a daily and I help them with makes my day better

    Worst thing

    Constant covering for other colleagues and the roads can be dangerous for our jobs especially of the Van's arent unit to standard

    1.3

    Asda Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Sort of relaxing

    Worst thing

    The waking up time

    6.8

    Asda Store assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    I'm left alone, it's not a hard working job, just requires a bit of effort

    Worst thing

    It's boring, your doing the same thing everyday with not much changing over time.

    5.5

    Asda Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    they aren't pushy about changing your hours, you can choose when your breaks are. Management will defend you against rude customers and they're not overbearing or overly critical. I've made some friends too. I'm also payed above minimum wage and I'm happy to have a contract.

    Worst thing

    I'm on self checkouts, and its a lot of standing around doing nothing so I get very bored- till work is as expected but the tills are missing buttons and the conveyor doesn't always work properly- stressful when you're trying to be fast! breaks are long enough but unpaid- and the breakroom is upstairs.

    The managers are stalling signing me up for the app we use to book time off. Frustrating as I need to start booking off christmas.

    8.0

    Asda Store assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Satisfying

    Worst thing

    Attitude of other employees and teamwork

    5.0

    Asda Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Staff you work with help you (especially since training really isn’t given)

    Worst thing

    Never received staff discount
    Management are disorganised and rude towards staff (nightmare to phone in sick for people at this particular location)

    3.2

    Asda Customer assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    My rota never changes.

    Worst thing

    Constantly moving. Customers come first

    6.7

    Asda Employee, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Going home.
    Friendships made.

    Worst thing

    Treat smaller stores like they are superstores so endlessly sending too much stock to deal with.
    Area managers on your case because you got to much stock
    No security in mornings so you don't feel safe.
    Good colleagues are constantly put on while rubbish colleagues are never reprimanded.
    Area mangers having a say of what goes where even though they do not work in a shop anymore.
    Can never get holidays you want

    3.9

    Asda Shop assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    the pay
    some frieldly staff

    Worst thing

    no payed breaks
    can’t finish one job
    get told can’t talk

    3.4

    Asda Shop assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The breaks.

    Worst thing

    Everyone is always seam to be in a grumpy mood and always complaining about what you do

    8.0

    Asda Employee, November 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Asda discounts. Company vehicle

    Worst thing

    Poor pay, staff management. No proper breaks.

    1.1

    Asda Delivery driver, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Do work your own way and don't need to rely on others.

    Worst thing

    Lots of moving about and no time to rest other than breaks

    9.0

    Asda Warehouse operative, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy for a lot of money

    9.1

    Asda Store assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The money and some other staff are nice

    Worst thing

    Lots it’s hours, a lot of stress and managers don’t really care about college well-fair

    4.6

    Asda Checkout operator, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Going home at 2pm

    Worst thing

    Starting at 6am

    9.1

    Asda Warehouse operative, October 2022