Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom
5.5

Asda

Asda job reviews

Showing 768 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    The people I work with. And meeting the public.

    Worst thing

    Always cold in winter. Boss doesn't show any interest in checkouts Not asked how we r. Do we Ave a any problems if so

    3.3

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy and fun to work with colleges

    Worst thing

    End of a shift

    8.2

    Employee, January 2022

766 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    The pay for being 16 £9.36 is very good

    Worst thing

    Working 6am and didn’t get the best training at first

    5.2

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    some of the colleagues

    Worst thing

    managers are rude

    4.5

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Amazing work colleagues

    Worst thing

    Lack of equipment

    8.2

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    When I get to do the job I trained for as checkout operative

    Worst thing

    Standing for 7 + hours handing masks out

    2.0

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues

    Worst thing

    Customers threatening and abusive behaviour

    5.0

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    some managers are nice

    Worst thing

    they expect a lot out of you

    5.3

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    You aren't actually in the shop so there's no management moaning at you until you get back

    2.0

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues.

    Worst thing

    Poor Management and short staffed.

    3.3

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    My colleagues

    Worst thing

    Rude customers and not enough people in to get the job done as well as we would like

    7.9

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Great team and management who understands that you sometimes can not do absolutely everything in one shift.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes the delivery backstock is very heavy and you dont always manage to work through everything

    6.3

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The pay and management

    6.5

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    great when it goes right

    Worst thing

    management

    3.0

    Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Closed so no customers

    Worst thing

    Unrealistic expectations by management

    3.6

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team, freedom on the road.

    Worst thing

    Physically demanding, Bad pay, upper management have zero understanding about how isolated drivers can feel from the rest of the store teams but expect them to come in and fold towels for 7 hours on Xmas eve instead of just offering it ad a day off.

    5.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Only the colleagues .

    Worst thing

    Managers and section leader don't listen.

    5.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It pays well for what it is.

    Worst thing

    Overtime is often hard to get due to the store being overspent on wages. Some managers are great some have no social skills at all. Lots of long term colleagues have left, barely any replaced and those that have been replaced haven’t been given proper training. Severely understaffed, doing a workload alone that should be for at least 2-3 people.

    4.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent pay & benefits.
    Lots of friendly colleagues.
    Majority of customers are pleasant to interact with.

    Worst thing

    Asda is a poorly ran & underfunded company.
    Bad management.
    Unrealistic expectations.
    Stressful environment.
    Unpaid breaks even though we rarely get to take our full breaks.

    4.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    People
    Money
    Changes every day

    Worst thing

    Managers don’t care
    Customers can be rude

    7.6

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the staff I work with are great
    Plenty of overtime in certain months
    Always doing something so busy

    Worst thing

    Some of the colleagues and managers are bullies
    Not payed enough to deal with what you encounter

    4.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people you work with

    1.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff discount, finishing early

    Worst thing

    Keep expecting more and more. They make us put food back that has been rejected by customers. Sometimes this has been out of the chiller for too long or had stuff spilt over it and we just have to wipe it and put it back on the shelf. Having to deal with rotten food when sorting waste that piles up for weeks.

    3.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with. All so welcoming and kind. The pay is good.

    Worst thing

    I don’t think there are any bad things about it.

    8.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The store managers, and managers in general don’t care one bit about you

    6.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexibility

    Worst thing

    Some people not caring

    9.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team work

    Worst thing

    Not paid enough pèr hour as fuel prices $ cost of living has gone through the roof

    10.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Short staffed, no appreciation and because I work in an Asda living we’re farmed out to other stores during lockdown travel costs weren’t covered and we were treated very poorly during these times by staff and customers. My mental health has suffered because of this

    4.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Always short staffed, staff not trained properly, the workload

    5.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    people i work with

    Worst thing

    people being rude and also the stress

    3.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff are amazing
    Great pay
    Covid pay
    You work the same days and times every week.

    Worst thing

    Management can be difficult only because of stresses placed on them.
    Busy times, especially at Christmas can get very stressful.

    7.6

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay and other colleagues. Quite a casual system

    Worst thing

    Management. Rude costumers. Unproffesionalism

    2.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the people you make good friends

    Worst thing

    how difficult and tiring it can be

    4.7

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Out on the road alone,can work at your own pace within reason..as long as the job is done little Interaction from management...never same day twice always meeting new people travelling to new areas etc

    Worst thing

    As stated above your alone all day..expected to carry heavy weight up multiple stairs/steps offen work through your breaks or end up sitting around waiting for hours...flat rate of pay regardless of hours/days worked..working in all weather's

    4.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Over worked
    Under paid
    Under appreciated
    Corrupt management
    Disrespect off higher in charge
    working a 2/3 person job by yourself

    4.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    The hours and the way you are treated by management

    4.5

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    Hours and shift patterns
    Unrealistic expectations

    4.4

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Best things is pay especially if you’re young.

    Worst thing

    Just left alone without training

    4.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    My hours

    Worst thing

    The stress and worries

    6.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s a really simple job and the pay is good, the managers are really nice and supportive

    Worst thing

    Online pickers are usually finished before your scheduled to finish work, so you have to either go around the shop floor stocking shelves or go home early if you want to.

    8.9

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers are what make my job the best!

    2.3

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff are all friendly

    Worst thing

    Argumentative customers

    8.1

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The opportunities I am given
    My manager

    7.6

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    10% discount, some nice staff/customers, available overtime

    Worst thing

    Lack of proper training, some rude staff/customers, lack of health and safety on the shop floor

    5.8

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Time goes quite quickly as you are always busy

    Worst thing

    Customers are quite rude, stressful on busy days, some managers are bullies

    5.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Staff discount

    Worst thing

    Nothing managers work you to the bone expect you to be able to work 24/7 and not have any sick days and never enough equipment to complete a job correctly

    1.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Colleague discount
    Choice to do overtime

    Worst thing

    Poor recognition
    Unpaid breaks

    4.9

    Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Stress, managers don’t care about colleagues, everything has to be ‘perfect’ if we have a visit from regional managers etc. so they don’t see how it really is, people leave & don’t get replaced so you’re doing 5 peoples jobs, you only get promoted if your face fits not if you’re good at your job.

    5.0

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    My workmates

    Worst thing

    The mad hours

    8.4

    Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    SOME of the staff (I.e new friends)

    Worst thing

    The rest of the staff and mainly the managers

    5.0

    Employee, December 2021