Argos

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Argos hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Argos is a catalogue retailer. They sell a range of products, including jewellery, toys and technology.

argos.co.uk

Argos job reviews

Showing 119 reviews

  • Best thing

    The pay and my colleagues

    Worst thing

    It can get very boring

    8.0

    Argos Sales assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Having people interactions and meeting new lovely people.

    Worst thing

    Hitting care & card targets which is impossible at the moment with the way the world is going

    4.7

    Argos Customer service assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with are nice and hard working!

    Worst thing

    Management are terrible and do NOT listen to you. No work life balance. Holiday is hard to book and controlled.

    2.0

    Argos Sales advisor, November 2022

  • Best thing

    The Pay, people and discount (extra on payday)

    Worst thing

    You need a brain to understand complicated things like insurance and credit checks- can be confusing

    8.9

    Argos Customer assistant, November 2022

  • Best thing

    Receiving positive customer feedback personally to myself

    Worst thing

    Understaffed, over worked, lack of training for new starters and being spoken to rudely without manners by certain managers

    3.2

    Argos Sales advisor, October 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some of the people

    Worst thing

    Same people work every Sunday

    3.3

    Argos Employee, September 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    The hours and making my life unsociable

    3.5

    Argos Store colleague, September 2022

  • Best thing

    It’s just nice at the moment

    9.7

    Argos Sales assistant, August 2022

  • Best thing

    The people i work with

    Worst thing

    customers

    4.5

    Argos Sales assistant, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Colleagues and some managers

    Worst thing

    Too much pressure to sell argos cards and extended warranties

    8.0

    Argos Customer advisor, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The staff i work with.

    Worst thing

    Last minute changes to my rota, i am made to do jobs that i have told management i’d prefer not to.

    5.5

    Argos Customer advisor, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Most of the people I work with are nice. There's a variety of things to do.

    2.4

    Argos Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay and the team I work with.

    Worst thing

    Some of the customers can be really entitled. They also take it out on you when your short staffed.
    The pressure of getting care and Argos cards.

    9.8

    Argos Customer assistant, June 2022

  • Best thing

    I can enjoy working with the team, sometimes I can have a headphone in when it's time to grind

    Worst thing

    Always dont have enough staff to get the job done

    8.4

    Argos Stock assistant, June 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy

    Worst thing

    Mind numbingly boring and no respect

    1.3

    Argos Employee, June 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Meeting customer and helping them

    Worst thing

    Lates

    7.3

    Argos Customer assistant, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    The lack of customers

    9.4

    Argos Customer advisor, April 2022

  • Best thing

    the pay

    Worst thing

    having to actually work

    9.2

    Argos Customer advisor, March 2022

  • Best thing

    focus, being helpful

    Worst thing

    Sexually harrassed, throughout the day on trying to sit down, being asked to go into unsafe area. Horrfic daily sexism.

    1.1

    Argos Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Our particular store has great management, though I do believe Argos fosters a good work environment.

    Worst thing

    The technology and hardware we have to get the job done is sometimes lacking.

    9.4

    Argos Retail assistant, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    It’s very easy and great pay

    Worst thing

    Some customers are annoying

    9.6

    Argos Customer advisor, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    The hours.
    I work in store in store, my shifts are always evenings. So don’t see much of the family

    7.6

    Argos Customer advisor, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Working in a team

    Worst thing

    When you give certain managers an inch they’ll take a mile with you

    7.1

    Argos Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Under staffed at times

    7.3

    Argos Delivery driver, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Other colleagues

    Worst thing

    Customers. & management expecting you to drop & give up everything for the job. Don’t expect you to have a life outside the job

    2.1

    Argos Customer advisor, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Other team members

    Worst thing

    Toxic management, no confidentiality, unrealistic targets, pestering you when off sick. Twenty year olds as team leaders, with no people management experience.

    4.6

    Argos Customer advisor, February 2022

  • Best thing

    No real difficult tasks, training takes no time at all, managers are very lenient with holidays and days off

    Worst thing

    Having to deal with all the financial services stuff, impossible to swap shifts with people

    7.5

    Argos Customer advisor, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Laid back atomosphere

    Worst thing

    Heavy lifting

    8.6

    Argos Sales assistant, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Working from home

    Worst thing

    Literally everything else. Poor management, equipment, treating staff like numbers and not people

    1.8

    Argos Customer service, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay, easy work life balance

    Worst thing

    Sometimes hours get cut

    8.6

    Argos Employee, January 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Confidence building job with a great team

    Worst thing

    Lots of financial jargon

    9.5

    Argos Customer advisor, January 2022

  • Best thing

    the team, the managers, how organised. if you make a mistake they don’t punish you

    Worst thing

    the customers can be very rude and abusive.

    9.8

    Argos Retail assistant, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay not to bad

    Worst thing

    5 percent of staff doing 95 percent of the work

    4.5

    Argos Stock assistant, January 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with are great and we all get on really well as a team. This extends to a regional perspective where everyone knows each other and would cover another store if necessary. Regional manager is very present, popping in at least once every 2 weeks and deals with all problems very quickly if they can't be dealt with in store. The benefits are really good and we get discount of technology, food etc. There are good opportunities to progress even if you don't have any qualifications with vacancies popping up regularly in a variety of different fields. Furthermore, I have been there 2 years and have been promoted to a responsible colleague role. It's a very flexible working environment so if you need a certain day off then they'll just change you to a different day - shifts vary by week so you get good variety of working lates and earlies or if you prefer to work a specific time of day then they'll happily comply.

    5.0

    Argos Customer advisor, January 2022

  • Best thing

    People and variety: e.g. one day on headset picking the next on shop-floor next on click and collect desk and staff friendly and welcoming

    6.6

    Argos Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Some of the colleagues and the staff discount

    Worst thing

    The customers
    Management
    Unrealistic targets for shop that is not very popular all year around

    1.6

    Argos Sales assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    important experiences. never bored.

    Worst thing

    stressful. exhausting. rude customers.

    5.5

    Argos Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Team spirit and support

    Worst thing

    Tiring and long hours

    9.4

    Argos Sales assistant, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    The management don't respect the fact you may not want to work overtime. No chance of moving to a different role within the store for e.g. stockroom to tills even though other people are. Inconsistencies with rules between every manager which causes issues.

    1.8

    Argos Stock assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay, benefits, managerial and team are not stressful

    Worst thing

    Customers are often unreasonable and stressful

    7.7

    Argos Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Good money! Has been good with holidays and time off

    Worst thing

    Changed weekly hours to every Saturday and Sunday after being there for 3 years.

    6.0

    Argos Customer advisor, December 2021

  • Best thing

    good pay for a young age and laid back work

    9.8

    Argos Retail assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    All staff are so friendly especially as I’m the youngest worker I was worried I’d be judged. I get the same pay as everyone which is really good for my age it’s a fun job with good breaks and the training is amazing.

    Worst thing

    The people who come to the store can be abit different and rude but the customer is always right so gotta agree with them and apologise when you feel like telling them to do one aha

    9.5

    Argos Sales assistant, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people that i work with
    How easy it is to request days that you cant do off

    Worst thing

    Managers forget how busy it can be and have told young staff to get off phones while they go on theirs and allow the older staff too
    They seem to put younger staff in on weekends never really adult staff

    8.2

    Argos Customer advisor, December 2021

  • Best thing

    people are brilliant, pretty easy, hours r good

    Worst thing

    either very busy or very boring

    7.3

    Argos Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Interaction with customers

    Worst thing

    Every one thinks there a manager

    4.1

    Argos Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Know my job well

    Worst thing

    Having to be fully flex after being on a fixed contract

    8.4

    Argos Sales advisor, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Good company to work for,very flexible if you require time off or you have an appointment

    9.5

    Argos Delivery driver, October 2021

  • Best thing

    Working on your own once out driving

    1.8

    Argos Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    The team I work with.

    Worst thing

    Area manager cutting hours, leaving us short staffed during busy times.

    9.5

    Argos General assistant, August 2021