Find other jobs

Porters

Amazon

6.8

Not currently hiring

What do people say about working as a porters at Amazon?

There's nobody here yet.

We're waiting for reviews…

When Amazon workers have taken our quiz, we will share with you their best things and their worst things about working there.

What do other people say about working at Amazon?

  • Best thing

    set shifts

    Worst thing

    not enough hours/ money
    boring /repetitive work
    uncertainty of contract length

    4.7

    Amazon Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    The hours

    Worst thing

    The start and finish times

    7.3

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    2 trainers from my team, and my job which was teaching and teach people how to drive a variety of MHE.

    Worst thing

    Management wise was terrible. Nobody helps in any way. Nobody cares about rules and people are seen as numbers. My schedule which was changed in the last minute and sometimes I had to come at work in less than 20 minutes. People getting promoted just because they know someone or they’re agreeing with the management even if it’s wrong.

    1.1

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Fixed hours/shift pattern. 3 days off a week. 7 weeks holiday

    Worst thing

    Can be boring

    9.6

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    Stressful, long hours and tiring

    5.0

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    4 day weeks
    Great team
    Good progression

    Worst thing

    Can get stressful

    9.9

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Good manager decent work colleagues and job isn't so hard

    Worst thing

    Standing 10hours and pay isn't that great.

    8.7

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    The team I work with.

    Worst thing

    Lack of progression.

    5.5

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    I can challenge myself hourly rates

    Worst thing

    They won't let me cross train because I am only part time

    7.5

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Do work in a relaxed way and never rush

    Worst thing

    Sometimes supervisor behaviour is not good

    9.1

    Amazon Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    voluntary time off

    Worst thing

    Not allowed the shifts you want

    1.7

    Amazon Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay

    Worst thing

    Work on temporary contract

    9.2

    Amazon Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    People who work with you are nice

    Worst thing

    Stressful, you watch the managment squeeze and squeeze to see how many people they can tell to go home for a shift then complain they lack the staff, Issues are brought up but never acknowledged or even mentioned again and are given the Mystical “We’re working on it” title. You come in to work, talk a but to colleagues, eat at the break. And go home

    4.6

    Amazon Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    3 days off a week

    Worst thing

    Not much overtime

    8.6

    Amazon Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Very flexible with hours, holidays and the pay is good when overtime is available.

    Worst thing

    Management are rude and don't support you. Payments have been missed and took far too long to be paid what was owed. Sexual harassment is a known problem, which is mostly from managers/leads.

    8.6

    Amazon Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Stress
    Some of the mangers
    Canteen food

    8.8

    Amazon Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Trained on different things so not doing the same thing all the time

    Worst thing

    Management
    Doing the work of 3 people
    Ridiculously high targets to hit
    No accommodations for people
    Disciplinary actions for minor things
    HR utterly sucks
    People not pulling their weight
    Penalised for coming back from break 1 minute late
    3 minute walking time for a ten minute round trip to canteen for food, eats into well earned break time

    1.8

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Free coffee

    Worst thing

    Treated badly by management and graduate managers, low pay, low job security

    2.8

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Variety of tasks and benefits

    8.0

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    I love what i do at amazon

    3.0

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    40hours fixed and they won’t send you home if they don’t have work

    Worst thing

    Long 10hours shift

    9.8

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The people you work with.

    Worst thing

    Staff are overworked, Pay is basic, Managers and Supervisors treat workers with no respect.

    4.1

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy job

    Worst thing

    Not paid enough, bad work environment, not safe

    3.9

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The routine and expectations don’t change often

    Worst thing

    Time pressure incompetent management unorganised systems disconnect between staff and management

    4.6

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Left alone for most of the time

    Worst thing

    Time pressures
    Extreme micro management
    Long hour days, (10hr shifts)

    7.6

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Get payed well

    Worst thing

    No time off

    5.5

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    5 hours of ‘flexi’ to get away from the place

    Worst thing

    Management treating you as a number, like your opinions aren’t relevant. Making decisions and then blaming the team for the consequences instead of owning up. CONSTANT CIGARETTE BREAKS

    4.9

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Its easy

    Worst thing

    Can get really tiring

    8.2

    Amazon Employee, February 2022

  • Worst thing

    Not proper breaks need to digest food, unpai breaks,

    1.1

    Amazon Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Great unit of opportunity

    Worst thing

    The worst things is nothing

    8.8

    Amazon Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with are friendly

    Worst thing

    Boring

    6.0

    Amazon Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    The independence it brings me.

    Worst thing

    I work nights. Sometimes it is lonely. Some of shift workers not too friendly.

    9.6

    Amazon Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Good pay

    Worst thing

    Its a work place hell. No one to talk to for 12 hours. Stood alone, with a robot. Very depressing. Wouldn't recommend if your already depressed. Supervisors treat you like dirt

    7.6

    Amazon Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Amazing people easy company to work with.

    Worst thing

    Long hours hard to change shifts

    10

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good hours
    Sometimes easy work

    Worst thing

    Not high enough pay
    Rude employees

    9.7

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Flexible, out on the open road, helped out by head office if needed

    Worst thing

    No time for breaks and sometimes high stops. You can take a break but it means you are back later so I rather not take a break and get home for 2pm

    8.6

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Decent money for what is essentially the easiest job ever.
    Decent Benefits.

    Worst thing

    It's very repetitive and standing/walking all day can be tiring.
    Long Shifts.
    Very isolated, can't talk to people for a long time. Working alone.
    The work is not difficult but this does make it mind numbingly boring when doing a 10 hour shift.
    Managers can be bad/annoying. They nit pick, angry for small reasons, don't respond to issues well, don't follow through on things they say they will do. Depends on where you are though I guess.
    Boring.

    7.6

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Social side

    Worst thing

    Management, lack of respect and progression

    1.8

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Nice hours and the work isn't too stressful

    Worst thing

    Alot of walking

    9.5

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Steady work
    Reliable

    Worst thing

    Long shifts
    Sore feet

    7.8

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The customers, the pay

    Worst thing

    Unsocial hours (don’t get home til about 6:30pm) not enough time to set up in morning

    9.1

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Free stuff often
    Activities often
    In my warehouse we have 2 free slushie machine as well as our free coffee/hot chocolate machines

    9.9

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    the people I work with are all lovely

    Worst thing

    I'm often sat with nothing to do for multiple hours

    9.9

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Easy job, get to exercise, I have made lots of friends and good pay

    Worst thing

    Long hours on your feet

    9.8

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Paid holidays. paid extra for overtime up Contracted hours is 40 hours. 40-50 hours is £15 60-60 is double time so £20 an hour

    Worst thing

    Short breaks
    Racism and favouritism
    Usually only kept on as a temporary
    Stressed over speed and quality
    Never give you chance to reason for time idle.

    7.0

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Stay hours

    Worst thing

    Always on your feet

    9.2

    Amazon Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    The people that worked with me were great , but supervision was terrible ,

    Worst thing

    Being punted out the door after an accident

    1.3

    Amazon Employee, November 2021

  • Worst thing

    The amount of parcels I’m expected to deliver

    2.4

    Amazon Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    truly like family and we are great team

    9.9

    Amazon Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Good team work and help when needed

    9.4

    Amazon Employee, November 2021

🤫 We’re not like other job sites…

Dismiss

Every job on Breakroom is backed by ratings and reviews from 252,415 people (and counting).