Find your ideal job

Breakroom is here to help you find the job you deserve.

Join Breakroom

Aldi job reviews

Showing 314 reviews from:

  • Best thing

    Getting the jobs done and sometime working as a team

    Worst thing

    Manager and away on the shop floor

    4.5

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    While you may start at 6am, you generally finish at 2pm and therefore can enjoy the rest of the day off. You see your rota 4 weeks in advance. The pay is nice. Colleagues are usually nice people. Training is good. You get used to working fast after a while.

    Worst thing

    6AM starts. Finishing a shift at 6PM and potentially starting the next morning at 6AM. The rota constantly being changed; sometimes with only a weeks notice. Prepare to be worked, HARD. No week is the same; different days and different shifts on a weekly basis. 90% of your holidays for the next year must be booked in the November the year before; trying to plan holidays out can be frusting because of this. If you aren't sweating by the end of a shift you aren't working hard enough.

    7.0

    Employee, September 2021

312 more employees left their honest reviews of this employer…

You can read them by joining Breakroom for free today.

Join Breakroom
  • Best thing

    The people that I work with

    Worst thing

    Constantly working at speed and only having 1 half hour break during 10 hour shifts.

    6.0

    Employee, September 2021

  • Best thing

    The hours work well with having a family

    Worst thing

    It’s not the ideal career

    7.6

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Time goes by fast, good pay rates

    Worst thing

    Stressful

    7.2

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    When you finish your shift and go home.

    Worst thing

    Bad management. No communication. Expects you to always be available if they need extra people to come in short notice. Managers don't respect you.

    3.5

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    My collueges and pay

    Worst thing

    Customers

    7.2

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    Communication with customers, close to my house

    Worst thing

    Unfair management, tasks depend on who is on shift

    5.8

    Employee, August 2021

  • Best thing

    It's rewarding and good pay

    Worst thing

    It's extremely challenging, particularly when there's reduced staff

    7.4

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Busy so time goes relatively quick

    Worst thing

    Everything I suffer with severe anxiety and my job is the majority of the reason

    4.2

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The only perk is getting to the reduced food first. The team is united - in their hatred of the job

    Worst thing

    Literally everything

    4.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    It's like working with your family

    Worst thing

    Late working hours

    6.5

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting people

    Worst thing

    Its late always

    5.8

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay for a store assistant is good for the work required, however don’t underestimate the hard graft. Deputy pay however is ridiculously low considering the amount of responsibilities, and the company tries to keep the extra £4 on top of your hourly wage when you manage the store alone to a minimum

    Worst thing

    Progression seems none existent even though they’re always advertising salaried roles. The responsibilities for a deputy are barely outweighed by an assistant manager but the pay gap is huge. Company targets are unrealistic and cripple the morale of staff

    6.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Variety and the people I work with

    Worst thing

    Nasty customers

    8.0

    Employee, July 2021

  • Best thing

    Advanced schedule

    Worst thing

    Lots of criticism

    6.6

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay

    Worst thing

    Head office not caring about shop staff

    3.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people

    Worst thing

    People calling in sick because can’t get cove

    8.4

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The Staff, everyone is friendly. Most arguments are just banter

    Worst thing

    Can I say Customers?

    9.4

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Horrible customers

    5.8

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Keeps you fit

    Worst thing

    Very very hard work, 12 hour shifts with 1 x 30 min break covering about 25 miles a day walking on shift. The better you perform the more workload you get, lack of good progression often overlooked if your face fits

    2.9

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Money is quite good

    Worst thing

    Stress and pressure on a daily basis

    7.2

    Employee, June 2021

  • Best thing

    Working as a team
    Dealing with customers

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    6.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    always doing something
    Good pay
    enjoyable surroundings

    Worst thing

    busy
    sometimes stressful
    fast paced

    9.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Set shifts, CPC training ect paid for by Aldi. 4 weeks annual sick pay, 4 weeks holiday pay, pension, nice trucks

    Worst thing

    The worst things are more the additional jobs that come with delivering groceries, the shop stockroom are always a mess and often no room so I end up having to make space before I can tip my trailer, the stores are under enough pressure as us drivers and the stockroom becomes our problem cause we need to get the stock off our trailer. Favouritism is also an issue amongst/between Management and Drivers.

    6.7

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    25 hour contract

    Worst thing

    Working weekends

    7.2

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Work life balance

    Worst thing

    Stress at delivery point I.e stores

    8.9

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Management and no work life balance

    3.4

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Everything love working great company great managerd and environment

    Worst thing

    Just the odd lazy person

    9.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Local

    Worst thing

    People I work with

    9.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Fixed shifts

    Worst thing

    No incentives are given, management don’t treat you fairly or with any care.

    5.8

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Work colleagues

    Worst thing

    Long hours, unreasonable deputies, hard tasks for people with bad illness

    5.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    The pay is good. Shifts have been fairly consistent so far.

    Worst thing

    Expected to work at a fast past for long periods of time, which can cause mental and physical strain. Customers can be rude. Other staff can be rude or short tempered when you need help, even though you’re new. Thought I would be doing 15 hours and throughout the interview I was told that was okay, but I have had to work 18-20 hours each week instead, which I was not aware would happen when I took the job.

    5.5

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Ample hours, decent pay for the work, great colleagues.

    Worst thing

    The store runs a tight team so if colleagues calls in sick, the workload can get heavy.

    7.0

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    Some of the other staff are great

    Worst thing

    The rude customers
    And we're supposed to keep quiet and not be rude back

    2.7

    Employee, May 2021

  • Best thing

    No hassle from management left to get on with your work

    7.9

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    Staff rota changing constantly without warning

    3.4

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Money

    Worst thing

    Pressure, expected miracles with not enough time

    4.2

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The fellow staff who you work alongside. Definitely help make the job more fun and less stressful.

    Worst thing

    Some customers can make the job draining. The way pallets are stacked and delivered can be seemingly reckless and end up collapsing or being delivered with smashed products/glass on them.

    7.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Work Place friendships and environment

    Worst thing

    Negativity

    6.1

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Aldi is a great employer love the team work and my job

    Worst thing

    Physical side of things as I get older

    9.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff im friends with

    4.4

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    It’s busy and fast paced ... always on the go .. shifts go really quickly ... some of the team are great others not so ...

    Worst thing

    The manager and store deputies and the lack of manners ... new members of staff treated differently to the old ones ...

    5.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The work , what you do , is very easy and stress free .

    Worst thing

    The guys , deputies, behind the desk they aren't fair to everyone:(

    6.6

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Talking to (most) customers

    Worst thing

    Toxic environment

    4.7

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Possibly the pay and hours. Some of the staff are great to work with.

    4.4

    Store assistant, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The staff

    Worst thing

    Managers expectations and support

    3.5

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    5 on 3 off, the pay

    Worst thing

    Working lots of weekends.

    8.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    Meeting new customers and having a chat when possible I’ve made many friends at work

    Worst thing

    Having to deal with rude customers at this moment of time

    6.8

    Employee, April 2021

  • Best thing

    The team, the managers, the feel good atmosphere.

    Worst thing

    Not having set shifts.

    8.3

    Employee, March 2021