Aldi

Unclaimed profile

Uh oh. Aldi hasn’t committed to creating great jobs yet.

Breakroom helps companies understand what their employees really think and supports them to be better employers.

If you’re from head office, sign up here to get started on your Breakroom journey.

Claim your profile

Dismiss

Aldi is an international discount supermarket company.

aldi.co.uk

Aldi job reviews

Showing 370 reviews

  • Best thing

    Fun

    Worst thing

    A lot of socialising

    8.9

    Aldi Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    A year notice for holidays

    Rota changes last minute

    Stupid targets

    Supervisors treated like scum

    4.6

    Aldi Employee, August 2022

  • Best thing

    Sometimes people

    Worst thing

    How others can make you feel when u make a small mistake or when certain others are annoyed how they can take it out on others

    8.0

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Best paying supermarket, paid breaks,

    Worst thing

    Very unsocial hours, long hours, can be very boring at times, fast paced, managers always asking you to stay over or work and extra shift

    7.8

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Paid breaks and air con in the summer, unlimited amounts of overtime

    Worst thing

    The management, time crunches, no schedule management, stressful, no consideration for staff, long hours that are made more

    1.4

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Flexible with adapting shifts to your life. Work with some lovely people.

    Worst thing

    Being put on till 1 every single shift for 8 hours while being given a checklist of things that I need to get done by the end of the day but is impossible to complete fully due to constantly having customers. And neck and back pain at the till. Also I've been crying in pain at work before and they really didn't want me to go home.

    6.6

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    The staff is the best thing as we all get a long and have a laugh.

    Worst thing

    Overworked and they are pushing everyone to hard. The managers are not that understand and not always easy to talk to. They don't let us go in early if we have got to be somewhere else.

    2.3

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Team camaraderie, opportunities for progression, challenging but rewarding work.

    Worst thing

    Unsocial days, frustrating levels of communication between different areas of business

    9.8

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Other store assistants are mostly fun to be around and make the job easier. Days go quickly because shifts are usually busy.

    Worst thing

    Management sometimes doesn't take requests on board. E.g asked not to be rota'd onto morning shifts for one week to arrange moving house around work and was still left to start at 6am every day.

    6.0

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Varied tasks each day

    Worst thing

    Constant pressure

    3.9

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    I love my team theres a couple people that make my day

    Worst thing

    Customers but what can you do? People on the team who don't do their share or clean up after themselves and the early mornings

    7.5

    Aldi Employee, July 2022

  • Best thing

    Fast paced never dull

    Worst thing

    Fast paced, high stress

    8.2

    Aldi Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    The people day an go fast

    8.2

    Aldi Employee, June 2022

  • Best thing

    I like the different sections to work E.g. Chiller, ambient etc.

    Worst thing

    The really early starts/late finishes

    9.3

    Aldi Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Paid breaks. Amazing and team based staff members. Different shifts all the time so I’m not always doing the same thing.

    Worst thing

    Sometimes shifts can be extremely long and draining. Not enough hourly productivity allowance, there is always more to be done and not enough staff. Not just at the store I work in but I have seen it in other stores when I have worked there too.

    9.4

    Aldi Employee, May 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The team and the managers are fairly relaxed when you get your jobs done

    Worst thing

    It's a lot of heavy lifting and extremely active, customers also don't treat you like your an actual person because it's a budget supermarket and they look down on you I guess

    6.8

    Aldi Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Manager is understanding

    Worst thing

    The job can get a bit tiring

    9.4

    Aldi Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay, paid breaks.

    Worst thing

    Stressed management.

    8.4

    Aldi Employee, May 2022

  • Best thing

    Some staff are cool and we have 1 or 2 good mangers.

    Worst thing

    Made to work so many different hours, always trying to force you to work over, harrowing you to work. Cant get staff to cover yr till when you need toilet. Aways forcing you to work more than possible, always pushing n some at horrid behaviour.

    1.6

    Aldi Employee, April 2022

  • Best thing

    Paid breaks that are enforced to be taken in full, app for rotas, flexible shift patterns.

    Worst thing

    Everyone area manager and above has no clue whats actually happening in the stores. Store assistants are treated ok but middle store management are treated appalingly.
    Training is almost nonexistent unless you really push for it and then you feel like you're annoying your superiors.

    5.5

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    First dibs on special buys and the app for rotas is very helpful.
    Overall the store assistants are paid well for their job and seem happy with flexibility.

    Worst thing

    Being in management means that you have less flexibility, I don't feel the pay is enough as the store manager always ensures there is a higher level employee so they don't

    5.0

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Being surrounded by a kind, supportive and hard working team

    Worst thing

    The physical demand. Customers not understanding the aldi concept. The 30min break on a 10/12 hour shift.

    8.6

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Pay

    Worst thing

    They don't take in to account being a single parent

    3.7

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    People I work with

    Worst thing

    Rude customers

    9.6

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The team and early mornings without customers in the store

    Worst thing

    Having to sit on a till for 6-8hrs for some shifts. Your legs go dead

    9.6

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The pay, the holidays and the people. My workmates are lovely and are easy to work with.

    Worst thing

    The lack of breaks and the travel time. We only get one 30 minute break for a 10 hour shift, not spectacular but not the end of the world.

    9.5

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    Decent hours if your in the right store,
    Semi flexible, colleagues mostly nice

    Worst thing

    Progression is based on time and place and if your face fits. If your not fast you will be stuck on tills all day. Usually not enough staff. Sometimes will take hours off you if you worked over contract even if they asked you to come in extra.

    3.4

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The lovely management and staff.

    Worst thing

    Occasionally not getting out on time.

    10

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Travel time

    9.9

    Aldi Employee, March 2022

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    The management, the pay, the eccentric hours

    5.0

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The wage

    Worst thing

    Not getting the one day off a week that you ask for but others do

    7.3

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The team

    Worst thing

    Long shifts with a 30 min break

    8.4

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Easy, nearly un managed most of time

    Worst thing

    Stupid regulations n organisations of work.

    7.8

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    The pay and the cool staff (not mangers though, I have never seen such awful management)

    Worst thing

    Managers setting far too high standards that only they can achieve because they have worked there for five plus years and are overly critical on everything you do. Very short breaks. Maximum 7-10 staff in an enormous shop.

    3.2

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Really fast pace makes the day go by really fast

    Worst thing

    The time expectations of certain tasks

    8.6

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Great team. Lovely people to work with

    Worst thing

    Communication is atrocious. The chance of promotion is virtually zero

    9.1

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Some of the people, easy to learn job

    Worst thing

    Some of the people, managers and customers

    6.0

    Aldi Employee, February 2022

  • Best thing

    Love the people I work with

    Worst thing

    Can feel under pressure sometimes

    9.1

    Aldi Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    the people and the sense of teamwork and ability to have a social workplace

    Worst thing

    the expectations placed on us even as new starters is a lot to handle

    8.0

    Aldi Employee, January 2022

  • Best thing

    Paid break

    Worst thing

    Everything. It is extremely stressful and managers speak to staff like they are nothing. I am constantly penalised for having a physical disability as I can’t work as fast as others. Terrible place to work

    1.8

    Aldi Employee, December 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    Pay, flexible hours

    Worst thing

    Poor communication, narrow mindedness, views not listened to

    9.1

    Aldi Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Good environment to work in. Although that goes off the team in on the day.

    Worst thing

    Store assistants and Deputy Managers do not get the respect they deserve

    9.8

    Aldi Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Time flys as you are always looking ahead for the next task

    Worst thing

    Struggle to have a structured lifestyle

    8.2

    Aldi Employee, December 2021

  • Best thing

    Job is very varied

    Worst thing

    Management don't care.
    Customer are agressive

    4.6

    Aldi Employee, December 2021

  • Worst thing

    Unprofessional managers/area managers... horrible/abusive customers, no discount,paid only one 15 min break, lifting heavy stock, work all forms of jobs around the store, board everyday not paid enough

    1.5

    Aldi Employee, November 2021

  • Want to reply to reviews as an employer? Claim your profile
  • Best thing

    The team are amazing, we support each other and get stuck in to get the job done

    4.7

    Aldi Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    Paid breaks, always something to do

    Worst thing

    Sweeping occasionally, lifting heavy objects

    9.4

    Aldi Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    The people I work with

    Worst thing

    Long hours and short staffed

    7.6

    Aldi Employee, November 2021

  • Best thing

    ????
    It used to be a good place to work for but, over the past 4 years it has deteriorated

    Worst thing

    If you want less than 30 hrs and are willing to be a drone without a family / social life , then this is the job for you.

    3.4

    Aldi Employee, October 2021

  • Best thing

    I use to love my job but it si hard now

    Worst thing

    Just going in

    3.7

    Aldi Employee, October 2021